Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater

Eco-Smart™ Technology, LCD Display and Remote Control
Average Customer Rating:
3.658 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
25 of 41(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Review 1 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark, DE
Date:October 10, 2009

great heater

Pros: quiet, looks great, safety
Cons: none
Model Number: BCH9212-U
"We got a heater for our baby's room to keep her warm at night. The other one we got would heat the room up then shut off, when I got her in the morning her room would be cold again. We got this one to try and it is wonderful. We set the temp to what we wanted and it kept her room that temp all night. I turn it off in the morning and when I turn it back on at night, it remembered what it was set at so I don't have to do anything other than hit the on button. This fan is so quiet, keeps the room at the right temp, the tip over safety is the best feature and best of all the heater looks great.
This is a wonderful heater, I would recommend it to anyone.
"
34 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mount Shasta, CA
Date:December 2, 2010

Nice but with exceptions

Pros: small attractive style, beepless operation, well-made
Cons: cannot set temp between 40 and 65, cannot set heater to run at low power exclusively
Model Number: BCH9212
"I bought this heater (BCH9212) a few days ago and put it to use just last night and there are two things about it that everyone should know. Not that these are serious problems but they are features of the heater that could easily effect a decision. The first thing is that the temperature cannot be set to a specific number between 40 and 65. Upwards from 65 to the max of 85 you can dial or use the remote to set the desired temp in one degree increments. Downwards from 65 the next setting is 40. I just got off the phone with their excellent customer service and this was confirmed. Also, the heater cannot be set to run exclusively at the low power setting (which, on this heater, is 1000 watts, not the typical 750 watts). It has an "Eco-Smart" setting that will automatically cycle between the two power settings to achieve the desired heat setting (65-85). A great, great thing about this heater is that all adjustments are achieved without any beeping sound."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:November 1, 2009

Draws a lot of current it seems

Pros: relatively quiet, nice design, good amount of heat
Cons: not compatible with using a timer
Model Number: BCH9212
"This a good little heater that puts out a good amount of heat (1500W). However my circuit is 15 amp max, and for some reason this heater (12.5 A) causes the fuse to trip. Even with only one light on for the same circuit, it draws too much current for it to be possible to use it unfortunately.
The other thing is that it does not come on with the same setting if power is turned off (e.g. if using a timer), so it is not possible to use a timer for heating a room at certain times, it will only come back on in standby mode. The heater has a timer but it is only for turning the unit off after x hours.
The fan has basically three modes: always on: medium heat ("eco") or high heat; and thermostat controlled. However, in the thermostat mode it runs at full power when it is on, so this causes the circuit to break. Maybe the unit draws more then 1500 W or my circuit breaker trips at less than 15 A. But bottom line, I won't be able to use it, so I will need to return it unfortunately.
The heater is pretty quiet, much more than the forced air that I have in the walls currently."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sonoma County, California
Date:October 15, 2009

Super Heater

Pros: stylish compact does the job
Cons: none
Model Number: BCH9212
"I love this little heater. Puts out a lot of heat. Once my order was placed, it arrived in two days. Operates quietly and has an attractive and sleek design. Perfect for my office. The remote control and number of heating options make this product a great buy."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:October 15, 2009

best ceramic out there

"this heater works so well I hope it continues to do so, accurate thermostat, in-heater store-able remote, quiet operation, and rotation all in one, compact and attractive, it can heat a 700 sq room ft well. This Bionarie is far better build quality and features than the cheaper Delongi in store, better than all the similar heaters I have researched. So far the cost-value ration is worth it.
And with Costco my satisfaction is guaranteed for the long term."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, Virginia
Date:November 8, 2010

Warm heater with great features

"I use this heater in my basement (approximately 170 sq. feet) and it keeps the room well heated. You can set the temperature anywhere from 40 degree setting up to an 85 degree setting. The heater puts off a lot of heat so I usually stick to a low 70 degree heating. There is a remote which is nice so that I can adjust the temp from the couch. I also like how the heater turns off when the room has reached the desired temp and turns back on again when the temp begins to go down - it saves energy. You can also set the heater to turn off after a certain amount of time (1 Hr, 2 Hrs, etc.) I don't find the heater too noisy, especially compared to other models. It's a white noise sound that just doesn't bother me. Overall, it's a good little heater at a decent price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:nashville, TN
Date:October 29, 2009

Not Good For a Large Space

Pros: very nice design
Cons: not hot enough
"If you want a heater for your cube at the office this will be fine but other than that no- dice. I needed to add a little heat to my living room and this thing really didn't put out the heat I needed. I am not a very cold natured person either- I just needed to take the chill out of the air and this didn't do it for me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR.
Date:December 4, 2009

1 Star does not meet my needs

Pros: heats well
Cons: thermostat setting, on/off button
Model Number: BCH9212-U
"Heater does not work when you try and run it with the thermostat setting. I set it to 70 degrees and it just keeps going and will not shut off, room got way too warm. I need a heater with thermostat option and this one is not it. It heats very well, just can't set it to a certain Temp. Will be returning product."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, OH.
Date:January 20, 2010

Very good heater

Pros: remote control is easy to use
"I use this heater on our bedroom which is approx. 20x25 with cathedral ceilings. We actually have to turn the heat down because it's so hot after 10-15 min. I just bought two more to use around the house."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Troy, MI
Date:February 24, 2011

Heater

Pros: works well in small room
Cons: didn't last very long
Model Number: BCH9212
"Worked well for 2 1/2 mths then started to smell like something was buring. Shut it down and returned to store. Should last longer than that,. Have had other Bionaire products. Have had to return them after using less than 6 mths.. Last Bionaire product I will ever buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:March 3, 2010

Exactly what I was looking for

Model Number: BCH9212-U
"We needed this space heater for our lower level office that gets so cold in the winter. We replaced an old space heater that was on its last leg. This new heater is such a huge improvement! It's tall, so it heats the length of my body better instead of burning my feet and freezing my hands. It oscillates, so the heat isn't always directly on me. And it's Quiet!! I don't need the remote, but it's a nice option. The thermostat is easy to read. I don't need to use this often and it's for a small room, so I don't know if this heater would work for a heavy duty heating job in a larger room. I'd definitely recommend it for an office-type space, though!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Redding, CA
Date:March 5, 2011

I'm sorry that I bought it

Pros: none
Model Number: Item # 450104
"The digital controls only stay lit on the last entry - so there is no way of knowing what is activated.
I carried it around and tipped is several times - and it stayed on.
When I push the off button it takes several seconds before it shuts off.
It will heat my small shower-toilet room only if I close the door."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2009

Great Little Heater

"This is a great heater. I bought it for my baby’s room. It works better than the other tower heater that Costco sells in a baby’s room for the following reasons. I think the thermostat is more accurate and the heater does not make any beeping noises when you are adjusting the heat or settings. I have the other tower space heater Costco sells (and I think it works well) but it would make a loud beep every time I had to adjust it, which does not work well in the middle of the night or a nap.
I am very pleased with this heater."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 27, 2010

Lasted a month and smelt pretty weird

Pros: compact
Cons: smelt whole time, didn't last for more than a month
"May be the particular item was bad. But it didn't last more than 3-4 weeks. The item manual does say that the item may initially smell for a little while. I waited for that smell to go away even after 3-4weeks. Then one fine day, it stopped throwing any hot air, even though the fan and rest of the circuitry seamed to work. That made my decision easier to return to the local costco. BTW, this is for a 15x15' kind of room. Don't expect it to heat a room bigger than that or a hall/living room."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:February 17, 2011

Worked fine for a few short months...

Pros: heats quickly auto-shut off timer is convenient, remote control
Cons: poor quality
"We bought this heater about 3 months ago, and used it several times a week for about an hour at a time. It was somewhat noisy, but it warmed our room nicely so we put up with it. One day, I went to turn it on, and it blew nothing but cold air. I would have expected this if we used it a lot more than we did, but I was disappointed that it couldn't even stand up to our light use. Returned to CostCo and will be looking at other brands."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:December 11, 2011

Good for a month

"We bought this for an auxillary heater for a room that doesn't get too warm in the winter. It started out working great. The thermostat works well, and temperatures are reached. Unfortunatly after about 1 month the oscilliating feature started to act up and get stuck on one side. Then 2 weeks later the unit started to have a pungent electrical smell and stopped heating. Verry disapointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

Great - for a few weeks

"This heater worked like a charm for the first few weeks. It heated a large room very quickly and effectively - really really great space heater.
Unfortunately, after a few weeks it no longer works. I tried to troubleshoot it but after two days of trying everything, it isn't turning on. From someone else's review it may be a wattage issue.
Very sad to have to return this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:January 14, 2010

Great buy

"I am ordering this heater for the third time. I gave one to my neighbor to try and she fell in love with it so I let her keep it. It is stylish, quiet, and puts out a lot of heat. I haven't found any heater in this price range that compares.
For those who have experienced problems with the thermostat, I would suggest giving it another try.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:November 1, 2009

Fantastic Space Heater

"Small but packs a punch. Bought this as a space heater for my baby's room - it kept the room warm and toasty. Love that there's a remote. The fan is a great option when it gets a little warm."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bionaire® Tower Ceramic Heater
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Magalia, CA
Date:November 14, 2010

Another Great Costco Purchase

"Read the reviews. Purchased the Heater. Completed the assembly. It worked exactly as advertised.....a no brainer, if it breaks soon, I'll bring it back to Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>