Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans

3-120 SaniSolution Smart Cartridges, 2 Boxes of Washable Granules
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
25 of 33(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Review 21 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:February 18, 2010

Greatest ever

Model Number: 120
"I have had this since October 2009 and I am so thrilled with it, and so is my cat.
Pros: Everything including the hot line to help you when you have a problem, ie mine was water leaking where the line goes into the unit from the toilet water line. Well, called the hot line and the unit just need to not press the hose so the unit was too close to the wall! problem solved.
I have had it on cat mode since October 2009 and I just had to change the cartrage beginning of February 2010, Everything about it is so great except...
Cons: The litter gets into.onto everything even with a kitty carpet set in front of the entrance/exit after the cat uses it. Once this gets solved it will be perrrrrfect.."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:March 23, 2010

Not purrrfect but close

Pros: set it forget it...
Cons: litter gets tracked out
Model Number: 120
"The other reviewers have been pretty accurate in their assessments so I won't be redundant. I'll just share a few tips: The granule problem was alleviated by purchasing a tufted "kitty carpet"...not 100% effective but has helped us from "finding those little white things everywhere". The odor from drying the granules was difficult to tolerate but switching to the unscented formula greatly reduced this unpleasant side effect. Within minutes after the dryer completes its cycle and the unit cools, any odor we detect dissipates quickly. We are also a little concerned about cat urine getting between the space of the electronic processing unit and the unit itself. No liquid is supposed to enter the processor and if the unit is damaged from this it may be a warranty issue down the road. Only the male cat seems to enjoy aiming at the processor instead of the litter. Must be a male thing...lol... Best purchase ever? Not exactly, but it's certainly one of the top 20 contenders!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:January 22, 2010

Best Purchase ever

"I have had this product for two years, and it has been working marvelously! It has never broken down, and it needs absolutely zero maintenance. Amazing product! I'm really glad that this kind of product is finally on the market!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas-Fort Worth area
Date:January 17, 2010

cat's meow

"along with my gps, best gadget ever.
so what if a little granule gets spilled by my cat, I just sweep it. A mat in front helps.
no more smells, no more worries, about her health or ours, my cat loves it and so do we. best of all, no more cleaning up.
We went out of town for a week and it worked perfect while we were gone. And when the electricity went out for a few minutes last week, it did not have to be reset. will save $ over the long run.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, Oregon
Date:January 21, 2010

CatGenie Rocks

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: does not come with sidewalls
Model Number: CatGenie 120
"I've had the CatGenie for approximately one month and I have not had any problems with my two cats adapting to it. It has taken a job that I detest and completely gotten rid of it.
I did put our CatGenie in the laundry room, so we would not smell the CatGenie when it is in the drying mode. Once the crystals are dry the smell goes away.
The only recommendation I can make is that you purchase the sidewalls, which do not come with this particular package. Overall this is a wonderful product and I highly recommend it.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Evanston, IL
Date:December 19, 2009

The better mouse trap...

Model Number: CatGenie 120
"I have seen those automatic machines on the market for years, but never considered buying one. The products didn't seem like they would work well and the reviews were always poor. This one looked different.
I reviewed all the info on the CatGenie website and it seemed like a solid design. The mostly positive reviews and Costco's return policy sealed the deal. I must say however I thought I would be returning this product.
I didn't think it would work because we have 3 large cats (each around 14lbs) that tend to require over sized litter boxes. This one, while large doesn't have a large litter area.
To my surprise the cats were mostly able to center up their droppings. They have missed with regards to urine a couple of times. We have ordered the dome to prevent that from happening in the future.
What I am so pleased about is the fact that it works as advertised. The biggest odor issue with regards to a standard litter box is when the littler can no longer handle the urine. This box never has that issue because it is flushed out with a scented chemical. I was also skeptical with how it disposes of solid waste. I am now a believer in the claims of CatGenie. It really does mostly render the solid waste into liquid. It's more of a sort of solid flakes in the toilet.
I would recommend this product to anyone who is interested in a better mouse trap with regards to the litter box"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashua, NH
Date:December 9, 2009

Absolutely Fantastic & Complete Solution For Cats!

Model Number: CatGenie 120
"Very well designed. Customer care is excellent. I have 5 cats, 1-21 year old Himalayan + 4-Ragdoll kittens. They all easily adjusted to the CatGenie. I liked it so much, I bought a second unit for my cats. No more smelly liter boxes that need changing & cleaning, No more buying & handling bags of kitty liter. This is the most thorough unit for handling & removing all cat waste while remaining clean & fresh. I chose to do a more permanent installation, which is also more maintainence free by taking the waste hose & installing it into the waste pipe. Works great. I am going to recommend getting the side walls, which lessen any spread of the washable granules. Having been a cat owner for 30 + years, my only regret is not having gotten these units sooner. Don't waste your time or money on any other unit. None will compare or be as thorough or maintainence free as this unit. Do not hesitate to buy them. You will not regret it, nor will your cats."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:January 24, 2010

Expensive way to smell kitty poo !

Pros: you do not have to empty the waste by hand.
Cons: 1. the granules get everywhere., misses pieces and smells awful!
Model Number: 120
"I have owned this litter box, I'd say about 3 months now. I have to tell you, this is such a cool concept! However, I would be happier had I just set my money on FIRE. I'd sure be a lot less stressed at least.
The first few days, it worked fine. I was so excited. My cats surprisingly used it, and I had no problems at all. I thought I was in heaven. But such is life, all good things must come to an end. It started erroring.. EVERY TIME I used it. Sometimes... for no reason. It would all finished drying the granules and everything would be dandy and BEEP BEEP BEEP.. so then I'd hit the button, and it would start all over again!! To be honest, I think this is a built in scam just so it uses more of that solution and you have to buy more... which btw, I'm pretty certain that solution is nothing more than a gimmick so they can get more of your money. The 300+ bucks just wasn't enough.
But anyways. Back to the errors. It would error every time I used it. EVERY time. And it would always be a different error. I'd fix it ... and then go on about my day. Well one day, I forgot it was running and went over to my neighbors. I was there about... 2 hours ish. When I walked outside her door, to my annoyance, I could of course, hear my "so awesome" cat genie... beeping in error. And to my even WORSE annoyance, apparently the long term beeping kept 2 of my 3 cats, from ever wanted to go near it again. So 1 of them kept trying to go outside to use the bathroom... and she's not an outdoor cat... and the other one just took it upon herself to pop a squat wherever she felt comfortable.
Now fast forward about 4 days ago. My cat genie just STOPPED draining. Altogether. Stopped. I walked in and saw that it was about to overflow.. (the one time it doesn't give me an error beep!!) so I frantically turned it off and tried to fix it. It didn't work. I tried again... and tried for about an hour when finally, I accepted defeat and took it apart... and dumped the water. Most of it got on my floor.. which I was ecstatic about since that's what I was trying to prevent in the first place... went to my computer... and e-mailed the company. That was about 4 days ago... and I've not heard back from them since.
I'm not happy that I spent so much money, on such a huge worthless piece of junk.
Like I said, it's a cool concept...... but it just plain doesn't work. And for the people on here that it DID work for... Congrats. But 300+ bucks is too much of a gamble for something that just "might not work".
Just wish had purchased from Costco, would have been easier to return!."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Belmont, CA
Date:September 24, 2009

just keeps getting better

"I owned the Catgenie 60 (old model) for a little over 3 years. I often referred to this as the best investment I ever made. For 3 and 1/2 years I have not had to:
1. Scoop Litter
2. Smell litter
3. Buy Litter
4. Deal with the dust my cats would track from the litter box
Now they came out with a new model. This is basically the same as the old, but with some improvements that were needed. Improvements:
1. Cat Activation: Now it will run only after the cat uses the box. This cuts down on any odors from the box.
2. Improved impeller: This means the box chews up the cat poo better.
3. Sanisolution: Now it lasts 120 washes vs 60 AND on Cat Activation mode it lasts 240!
4. You can not tell how much solution you have left.
5. Improved reliability... I will have to take their word on this, but it sounds like the box can not help correct errors.
I loved this box before and I think I am going to like this one even more.
This is a must have... and with a 2 year warranty... Costco Return Policy.. what do you have to lose! This is even a better deal than if you bought direct."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:January 11, 2010

Not perfect, but well worth it!

Pros: just flush! no more litter hassle
Cons: granules are tracked through entire house
Model Number: CatGenie120
"I ordered mine direct from the manufacturer in July '09. The deal through Costco is much cheaper and I am impressed enough with the product to login and write a review! I ordered the version with the sidewalls and dome. Even though both my cats are around 3 feet long from tip of nose to tip of tail and weigh 21 lbs and 16 lbs respectively, they both fit inside.
In general, I love it! Having read the other reviews, I want to let prospective buyers know that the Cat Activation mode has a 10 hour sleep cycle, so it won't wake you up. If you are up and the cat left a stinkie while it is in sleep mode, you can push the manual activation button. I've had 3 notable problems that I will warn others about.
One of my cat's waste is very soft and occasionally small pieces make it through the scooper. The smell is horrid when the drying cycle commences! I keep plastic gloves in the bathroom in case I need to assist the Cat Genie. There is a Pause button, so you can stop it, remove the offending pieces, and continue. This is not a daily problem, but tends to happen more when my cat experiences stress (like when I return from a trip).
Problem two is that my other cat often evades detection by the sensor. Tech support indicated that might occur if he didn't move around much and recommends changing to scheduled cycles if this continues to be a problem. I use the manual start button when needed but this usually isn't a problem since I have two cats.
My third problem was that, after 3 months, the unit kept indicating the water wasn't draining, but it was. Tech Support sent out a new unit and a FedEx label to return the old processing unit. They really are friendly and helpful if you need to call.
I did order the package with one scented and two unscented solutions. I've discovered that the scented solution helps mitigate the smell in the 10 minute period between use and cat activation. The litter itself does not absorb and thus does not mask any smells. I will go back to the scented solution."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Myerstown, PA
Date:October 6, 2009

BEST cat sanitation unit EVER!!!

Pros: cats love it, house is clean, no more litter to dump
Cons: i didn't find it sooner!
Model Number: CatGenie 120
"We live in a seven cat household - four HUGE Maine Coons and three wild Bengals! Every single one of them LOVES their CatGenie.
We had owned two of the original models for a few years and thought they were great. We upgraded those in August and added another to cover all the bases. And we are OVERJOYED with the new and improved units.
The customer service staff at CatGenie is outstanding. They are there to take your call whenever you have a question. And they're polite and helpful - a BONUS in today's world.
In the past, we've tried every electronic cat waste gadget made. They all got jammed with smelly litter, they weren't easy to operate and the motors burned out within a year.
A friend recommended the CatGenie ... we thought she was nuts, we now think she's the most brilliant person on the planet! CatGenie is an AMAZING product.
I am so happy to not have to hump huge pails of litter through the house; I don't have to worry about the dogs "snacking" in the litter box because the Cat Activation system starts the Genie shortly after a cat uses it.
And our house smells and is CLEAN! The Genie SaniSolution is a fresh bath for the litter box every time it's used. The cats like it and we like it.
I don't have enough space to tell you all of the reasons why this is the LAST cat box you'll ever buy. But I encourage you to try it, with CatGenie and Costco's return policy ... you can't go wrong."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:October 27, 2009

WOW..cats throne cleaner than mine

Pros: easy assembly, deeps clean each time
Cons: dome and walls should be included
Model Number: Cat Genie 120
"OK, so the wife found out she was pregnant and informed me that kitty litter is bad for pregnant women. She informed me that I would have to change the litter 100% of the time now. I'm not a big fan of sifting through litter looking for land mines. So I immediately went to Costco and saw this gadget online. I was a little hesitant at first to purchase due to the price. But, considering the alternative of me doing the scooping, I took the plunge.
Ok, 5 days later, I have this huge box sitting on my front porch. I unwrap the thing, find the instructions, and start assembling. I'm no mechanic, plumber, ect., but this thing took all of 5 minutes to assemble. I put the catgenie next to the washer in the garage. I hooked up the water line to the cold water supply the washer is hooked up to. You unscrew your cold water hose from the washer, you put on the attachment included in the box, and you screw your hose back on. Simple as that to get the water portion of catgenie working. You then put the hose coming from catgenie into your drain hole. It was a little tough cramming both the washer hose and catgenie hose into the same drain hole, but I managed. That's about the extent of assembly. Very easy!
Following asembly, I plugged the machine in, and started it up for the first time by just hitting one button. I then stepped back and watched the show.
It's like a minature toilet in the garage for the cats. The water sprays the sides and floods the cat litter, while the scooper goes digging for gold. After it drains all the water out, it dries the litter with hot air. It looks good as new when the cleaning cycle stops. The cleaning cycle lasts about 20 minutes though.
The cats were afraid of the cleaning cycle at first with all the movement and noise, but they are now used to it. I had no problems getting them to use the new litter. They started using it on day 1. The old one went in the trash.
My only complaint is that this thing should have came with the "optional" walls and dome. OK, maybe not the dome, but at least the walls. Our cats are diggers, so some litter does fly out of the box. But nothing to stop you from getting this thing. I went to the catgenie website and purchased the "optional" dome. The dome comes with the walls included. Just like their father, my cats like some privacy! Now with the dome in place, no litter escapes. So I would recommend getting this add-on.
Also, you can program this thing to clean at certain times during the day or after each cat finishes using it. I just left it as is and I hit the clean button each time I feed them, or twice a day.
Anyways, if you never want to touch #2s again, get this device!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for CatGenie 120 Self-flushing/Self-washing Cat Box w/1 Maintenance Cartridge w/4 SuperCleans
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC Canada
Date:May 24, 2010

The REAL DEAL on CAT GENIE 120

Model Number: Cat Genie 120
"I purchased the Cat Genie 120 over a year ago and have been very happy and pleased with it. I've experienced the ups and downs with this machine, and will tell it how it is. While it's not perfect, just as anything is not perfect, I still give it an overall 'excellent' rating. So here it is.
The pros : it's economical; it works automatically (cat activation); I do not have to worry about it; I spend little time cleaning and maintaining it; I don't have to scoop on a daily basis; there's no garbage; it's SANITARY. The cons : it's a bit of an expensive start up; can be a little noisy; can be a bit smelly sometimes; heat cycle heats up small rooms (bathrooms); requires a monthly clean; on occasion, but not regularly, it doesn't scoop everything and you need to assist the machine and clean it out; yes, some granules get on the floor; toilet gets dirty faster than if I didn't have the Genie.
To me, the pros outweigh the cons. I realize this is a machine, and will require maintenance. Honestly, I have found ways to adjust to the cons, and it isn't that big of a deal - this is not a bad machine / product, and it definitely is not a waste of money. Cat litter gets on the floor; so does this stuff. Buy a small broom and dust pan and keep on top of putting those granules back in the unit - big deal. The toilet gets dirty; buy toilet duck and take 15 seconds once a week to scrub your toilet clean - big deal. The room gets hot - open a window or the door. The room is a little smelly - it's smelly after I go to the bathroom too. Buy glade spray, or open the window. Feces are smeared a little on the inside of the genie - take 5 seconds to wipe it down with a Clorox wipe. Genie doesn't scoop all feces - pause the machine if you're around and happen to see what's happening, use tissue to pick up the pieces it missed, and let the machine be on it's merry way to doing the rest. If you come home to see bits left in the unit, again, take a few seconds to pick them up with a tissue, and start the Genie again so it thoroughly cleans the unit. The worst thing that this machine has ever done is lower the scoop handle right into my cat's feces, smashing it into the handle, rather than scooping it out. This has only happened twice in the year I've had it. That's 2 out of the 1095 times it's run a cycle this past year. Big deal. Spend 5 minutes cleaning the scoop and the unit, and let it run another cycle to sanitize itself and clean up the mess. Overall, it's a machine. It requires maintenance, but very little compared to the time I've wasted tending to litter boxes in the time I've had it. The Cat Genie gives me piece of mind knowing it cleans up after my cats go, and most importantly, it's sanitary and I spend little time maintaining it. If you're interested in buying this unit, buy a mini dust pan/brush, toilet duck, gloves, Clorox wipes, and glade mist for the bathroom, and you'll be on your way. I'm sure you will adjust to this machine's minor setbacks, and you will love this machine just as much as I do."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2