Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush

All-in-one Sanitizing, Charging and Storing Solution 2 Shades Whiter in 2 Weeks
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
(out of 69 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
12
47 of 69(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:July 20, 2010

Costco sells the cheap version

Pros: sonicare is the best toothbrush
Cons: healthy white is the cheap version
"I read a lot of customers complain about the battery and having to press a lot of buttons. The reason is (I really don't know why). Costco sells the cheap version. The cheap version is called "Healthy White", the luxury version is called FlexCare. In the expensive version, you can see how much battery you have left. Also in the deluxe version there is a specific button for the mode IT IS NOT THE ON OFF! You can verify what I told you by going to sonicare and reading the manual of the FlexCare one...
It is a shame costco bought the cheap version...Before they always sold the deluxe version. I bought it today... and I will return it tomorrow unopen and buy somewhere else the FlexCare
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:November 8, 2009

Excellent Product

Pros: convenience, quality, holds charge for a week+, great price, noticably whiter teeth
Cons: replace heads every 3 mos.
"Having never used an electric toothbrush, I was skepical to buy one depsite my dentist's recommendation. However, I could not beat the price and double pack with UV sanitizer. After using this product for 3 weeks now, I could not be happier with my purchase. Brushing is a breeze, no effort, and my teeth are noticiably whiter. In addition, there are times settings for different cleaning levels making it even easier to know how long to brush. My teeth feel like they are clean as if I was leaving the dentist. I would highly recommend this product. You get two for the price of one with this deal. I love this Sonicare and the UV sanitizer!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:November 17, 2011

Wish I'd read the reviews

Model Number: Healthy White
"I've noticed that, in general, most of the positive reviews are from first time users of electronic brushes or people who haven't had this product very long and, in general, the negative reviews are from long time Sonicare users or people who have used this model for several months.
I've used Sonicare for many years with great results. The older models have always had the "gunk" and mold build up problem under the brush head so I was looking forward to the new brush head design and the UV sanitizer option. Here's the problem...The motor on the older models were smooth, quiet and powerful. This new model is like using a jackhammer in comparison. It's action is annoyingly loud and "rough" even in the gentle mode which makes the brushing experience very unpleasant. Even though I like the sanitary aspect of the new design I'm returning this model in favor of the older style which is still available. I want to enjoy brushing again!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 24, 2010

BEST Electric Toothbrush on the market

Pros: powerful at cleaning, long lasting battery at least 3 weeks -brush 2/day, a lot easier to clean then previous model, stays powerful until recharge, great accessories
Cons: getting used to control - but a non-issue-, cost for replacement brush heads
Model Number: HX6733/70
"I was skeptical on buying this tooth brush because of the price but after using it was sooooo worth it. I used the previous model which was good except for one problem the toothbrush head had a terrible decide... this new model has fixed that problem and I never have a problem with mold or toothpaste residue build up underneath the toothbrush head.
The Battery life last at least 3 weeks (with use of twice a day) which is 3 times longer then my previous sonicare model. Power of the toothbrush does not decrease as battery life nears recharge. Battery indicator changes color to let you know you are near recharge.
Dental hygienist said that its shows that my tooth are cleaner and gums are healthier since using the sonicare that it was a lot easier to clean my tooth.
I did not really get it for whitening but I have used the whitening feature and believe that it could make your teeth a little whiter but not a lot difference you would notice right away.
UV sanitizer is a nice touch since commercial products use UV light to disinfect their products... I use it now instead of disinfecting the brush heads with hydrogen peroxide or Listerine.
Control on the sonicare takes getting used when switching to your correct setting and turning off during brushing. You have to hold the button down for 2 seconds to turn off.
I use the brush heads longer then recommended and past the time the blue indicator says that its time to get a new one.... thats probably one of the only cons about the Sonicare is that the make you buy the expensive brush heads... but if you like the results and can afford it ... I think its worth it. I think most people use the brush heads or any tooth brush longer then recommended. I think its just personal preference on how worn and when you think its time to get a new brush though.
Even the guy before me at the cash register at Costco looked at the Sonicare and then said to me, "That's the best toothbrush I've ever I used." He was absolutely right, cause I feel the same way."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Holly, MI
Date:November 15, 2009

Wonderful product

Pros: cleaner mouth whiter teeth smaller dentist bill
Model Number: Item # 425087
"I recently purchased this toothbrush/ UV sanitizer set. There is no assembly or difficult set-up required, just simply plug in and it works. The manual is clear and concise, and answered the questions I had about the product. I am extremely pleased with the item! The toothbrush cleans far better than any other ‘sonic’ or battery-operated toothbrushes I have owned. I could visibly see a difference even after only a few uses. The UV sanitizer gives me a great sense of comfort – I have chronic sinus issues, and my allergist has been recommending I get a UV sanitizer for my toothbrush to help stop the spread of any bacteria from post-nasal drip. I am waking up with a cleaner feeling mouth in the mornings since using this. The vibration is a lot stronger than I expected, but not painful in any way. My gums were not sore after using this, even around recent dental work. Overall, I could not be more happy with this item."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Irvine, CA
Date:November 25, 2010

Best Toothbrush So Far

Model Number: Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite
"I had the older model of the Sonicare Toothbrush, but this one does a better job of cleaning that the previous one. I see that many reviews say that you have to wait for the toothbrush to cycle through to shut it off.
The instructions say to press the button for 2 seconds and that will shut the unit off. I tried it and that did the trick. I thought it was important to mention this because I almost didn't purchase it based on so many comments about this "design flaw"."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Davis, CA
Date:February 11, 2010

Good product, poor user interface

"I've used Sonicare since they came out, and have had each new unit on the market. I just bought this one yesterday, and was dismayed to find that there is no quick way to turn it off! Two choices: Press and hold the power button for 2 seconds (seems like forever... really!) or cycle through the three modes until it turns off. This is just inconvenient when you brush longer and want to stop when YOU choose. Also when you go to wrinse it, you want to power it on for just a moment, then turn it back off. Too hard to accomplish. I don't need any of the other silly settings. I just want full on and off!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:November 9, 2009

Wow

"The best mony I ever spent! When I go to the dentist for a cleaning, thay are surprized at how clean my teeth are."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 5, 2011

My toothbrush has a little tanning bed!

Pros: sanitary, best clean ever
"This new sonicare is pretty high tech, but addresses an issue with the old design about cleanliness and germs. The old design meant you had to either leave the cap off for the brush to dry, exposing it to all the "other' bathroom germs, bacteria etc. OR put the plastic cap on, which causes the toothbrush head to be a breeding ground for mildew, mold etc. Now, the toothbrush head goes into this little house, you press a button and viola! it's sanitized. The creepy blue light is tanning bed-esque but only lasts for 10 minutes. 4 stars because the toothbrush heads aren't very sturdy in the house, and sometimes tip over."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hatfield, Pa
Date:March 16, 2011

The Best Toothbrush Ever

"I had a Braun electric toothbrush for the past 6 years. I thought I would move up and try this sonicare toothbrush. Best toothbrush ever. Very different brushing than my other model. This one has a little more power but with not the noise. I love the option of clean, clean and sanitize and sanitize and whiten. And the ability to santize the toothbrush heads sealed the deal. Would definitely recommend this to anyone."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:November 2, 2010

A Total Flop

Pros: great - when it worked
Cons: battery failure -- read the reviews
"It worked well at first, I really liked the way it held a charge for what seemed like 2-3 weeks. And I had a previous model (recommended by my dentist) for at least 4 years with no issues until the rubber cover on the on-off switch fell off. Then just 8 months after buying the new model, one of the units would not take a charge, beeped continuously while on the charger, but then nothing. Reading the other reviews, this seems to happen all to often during the first year. And it costs way too much to have to put up with a short lifespan . All I can say is thank goodness I bought it from Costco. I called the store where I bought it, gave them my membership number and they looked it up on my "permanent record" to verify the purchase date and told me to bring it back in for a full refund, no questions asked. Now I just have to figure out what to get for a replacement."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:island in Puget Sound
Date:December 19, 2009

When it works, it's great

Pros: brush gets my teeth really clean
Cons: uv sanitizer quit working in less than a month
"The brushes work great, but the UV Sanitizer just works when it feels like it. There seems to be no rhyme or reason for when it will work and when it will not work.
I love how the brush gets my teeth really clean. The timed settings are a great reminder as to how long to brush each area.
We're going to return this set, but will try purchasing a similar one, and hope to have better luck with the sanitizer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 4, 2012

Happy eventually

"I purchased this set in-store last November, at the suggestion of my dentist. I never really felt that the Sonicare got my teeth as clean as the Braun "spin brush" it replaced, but I persevered. On one handle, the speed seemed inconsistent, so I switched to the other, which seemed better but eventually died completely.
Last Friday, I did an online chat with a customer service representative at Phillips, who promptly promised replacements. The replacements arrived yesterday (4 days, two of them the weekend!) and wow, what a difference.
In retrospect, it's obvious that the originals were both defective, but as this was my first Sonicare experience, I didn't know what to expect. Now I see what all the buzz was about."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

I think it is haunted

"I have had this brush for a couple of years- out of warranty but for the price it should last longer. It is randomly buzzing while on the charger and it turns itself on and off randomly. Wakes me up in the middle of the night. I want a new one but looking for comparable products with a better track record."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2011

bad battery

"I agree with the other reviews. Battery or the handle design is bad. Same battery issue weird buzzing while on the base. This is my 2nd toothbrush in 2 yrs. BUT since I bought it at Costco- no hassle returns-"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 18, 2011

Design Flaw and poor support

Pros: good when it works
Cons: won't last more than a year, obvious design flaw, philips does not back the product very well
Model Number: HX6711
"This set was originally purchased at Costco and given to us as a gift at the end of 2009. In December of 2010 the shaft on both handles came loose, making a loud noise. I called Phillips support and they were very nice at the time and sent us two replacements. One of the replacements failed after two weeks, so I called and asked for another replacement. Now they are accusing me of not sending one of the handles back, which i did. They are refusing to send me a replacement. We've owned two sets of Sonicare toothbrushes prior to this and never had an issue, but that was the older design. I don't recommend a purchase on this one, there is an obvious design flaw and they probably won't last very long."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kauai
Date:August 6, 2010

Smooth Operation- Six Month UV Life?

Pros: smooth very effective action
Cons: uv failed after 6 months costco replaced for free
Model Number: HX6733/70
"This is the 3rd model we have bought over 4 yrs from Costco. It was the most expensive and unfortunately after 6 months we had to exchange for a replacement after the UV light stopped coming on. Costco replaced it, no problem, just keep all the pieces. The 1st 2 models had a battery life of approx 2 yrs, of daily use, which is acceptable for 2 people. Controls are fine, if you want to stop just hold down on the button briefly."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010

Stupid controles

Pros: works great
Cons: very anoying off button
Model Number: HealthyWhite
"UV system and “whitening” claims are gimmicks. Button operation is stupid. This HealthyWhite model has only one button. To turn the unit off requires 3 presses of this button (cycles through 3 ON modes before turning off). Press and hold the button for a few seconds and it turns off. Why aren’t these two features reversed? We turn the thing off several times a day. We almost never change brushing modes. Buy one of the Flexcare models with two buttons. I’ve been told that one of the buttons is dedicated to on/off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:March 16, 2010

Beats the other leading brands!

"This totally blew my Oral B out of the water! It really cleans and whitens your teeth better than the other leading brands. I recommend this one over any other. Can't say enough good about this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spring Hill, TN
Date:February 15, 2010

Philips Sonicare

Pros: great product
Cons: ther are none
Model Number: PHILIPS SONICARE W/UV SANITIZER
"Years ago my hygenist encouraged me to purchase this but I didn't think it would clean as well as i could clean by brushing. Then one month ago I bought this after it had been recommeded by my dentist, hygenist and periodontist. I LOVE IT, everytime I use it my teeth feel as though I have had my teeth cleaned by my dentist. I gave my daughter one and she too is amazed at how wonderful this product is."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>