Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush

All-in-one Sanitizing, Charging and Storing Solution 2 Shades Whiter in 2 Weeks
Average Customer Rating:
3.652 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
(out of 69 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
10
1 star
12
47 of 69(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Review 1 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:March 11, 2010

Buyer Beware...

Pros: cleans well.
Cons: see my review!
Model Number: Sonicare Healthy White ProResults Toothbrush - Item # 425087
"I am a long time Costco member AND Sonicare user who loves the Sonicare products in general and have used them for many years. HOWEVER, the quality of their brushes has been getting worse and worse.
After receiving a $30-OFF Coupon recently and deciding my previous Sonicare brush was on the outs, I JUST purchased this model a few weeks ago and am already regretting it...
1) While the UV sterilizer is unique and cool, it is poorly built and a complete gimmick designed to sell a more expensive toothbrush. Simply dipping the brush head in hydrogen peroxide is good enough to sanitize it.
2) More importantly, the significantly smaller brush assembly used on this model was designed to simply snap on and off - something I thought would be a great advantage compared to the previously large, screw-off brush designs (which worked very well despite the inconvenience).
However, it is NOT, because...Taking the brush on/off to clean the unit QUICKLY causes its connection to fail - within 4-6X of me doing this. Literally, two BRAND NEW brushes have failed on me within the last three weeks I've had it, so that they no longer seat/snap on/hold properly, such that when the unit is turned on, the brush literally vibrates OFF the top of the brush, as if it's not connected - because it no longer is...because the attachment mechanism within the brush head itself has been compromised, easily. Simple as that, with no harsh treatment, dropping it, etc - none. This has NEVER happened to me before with ANY of their earlier models - this is a brand new brush attachment design for Sonicare cuz it makes the brushes MUCH easier to make, clean and sell.
3) Although providing three different use settings (normal, gentle, extra clean) seems like a good idea, the execution is ridiculous. EVERY TIME you brush your teeth, it requires that you cycle through all the others to get to the one you want (sort of - too complex to explain here). Since one of the things MOST likely to fail on these units IS THE BUTTON ITSELF, because it gets pushed so often, now that you have to push it up to 3X as often what do think will be the first thing to go??!! It is an unforgivable engineering design flaw for the worse, not better.
Simply turning it on to quickly rinse it under the faucet requires pushing the button 2X more just to turn it off (unless you want to sit there for two minutes for the cycle to end), because it has to cycle through all the "options" every single time it's used. It's an absurd and ridiculous design, especially considering that previously YOU WERE ABLE TO SELECT which ONE cleaning program you wanted to use, for simple on and off use. End of story.
4) Previous models showed how much battery life was left. Not no more...No, now the crack engineers have decided one tiny light will show you all you need to know - ON = > 50% full, OFF = < 50% full. This is hardly progress, especially for their most expensive toothbrush to date. But hey, you get a nifty UV "sterilizer" gimmick stand that looks cool and takes up a lot more space!
5) Some of the literature that came with this MOST EXPENSIVE SONICARE BRUSH TO DATE was completely wrong and intended for another model...??! Your guess is as good as mine.
As someone else said on this BLOG...KEEP YOUR RECEIPT. You may very well need it!!"
20 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mission Viejo, CA
Date:November 2, 2010

A Total Flop

Pros: great - when it worked
Cons: battery failure -- read the reviews
"It worked well at first, I really liked the way it held a charge for what seemed like 2-3 weeks. And I had a previous model (recommended by my dentist) for at least 4 years with no issues until the rubber cover on the on-off switch fell off. Then just 8 months after buying the new model, one of the units would not take a charge, beeped continuously while on the charger, but then nothing. Reading the other reviews, this seems to happen all to often during the first year. And it costs way too much to have to put up with a short lifespan . All I can say is thank goodness I bought it from Costco. I called the store where I bought it, gave them my membership number and they looked it up on my "permanent record" to verify the purchase date and told me to bring it back in for a full refund, no questions asked. Now I just have to figure out what to get for a replacement."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:February 18, 2011

Design Flaw and poor support

Pros: good when it works
Cons: won't last more than a year, obvious design flaw, philips does not back the product very well
Model Number: HX6711
"This set was originally purchased at Costco and given to us as a gift at the end of 2009. In December of 2010 the shaft on both handles came loose, making a loud noise. I called Phillips support and they were very nice at the time and sent us two replacements. One of the replacements failed after two weeks, so I called and asked for another replacement. Now they are accusing me of not sending one of the handles back, which i did. They are refusing to send me a replacement. We've owned two sets of Sonicare toothbrushes prior to this and never had an issue, but that was the older design. I don't recommend a purchase on this one, there is an obvious design flaw and they probably won't last very long."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calfornia
Date:April 1, 2011

Shoddy Quality

Model Number: HX6730
"I have bought 4 of the above sonicare tooth brushes from in the past 18 months. 3 of which were already out of order. Expensive product but not worth the money. The older model which I bought 4 years ago is still working but less expensive. There is a quality issue in the new product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:manhattan beach, CA
Date:October 10, 2010

battery problems

Pros: sleek and beautiful. cleans superbly
Cons: defective batteries in the handles, need to press the switch too many times, sanitizer is a farce
Model Number: sonicare healthy white
"This brush works really great but has serious battery problem. We bought our first set in 2009, and after using it for about 4 months, the battery in one of the units would not recharge. When I tried to charge, It would make some loud vibrating noise but no charging. Pretty soon it died after the charge ran out. In about one more month, the other handle also developed the same problem and died. We returned the unit to costco and bought another one of the same model, hoping that the defective unit was an isolated incident. Alas, what do you know, this time it developed the same problem in just 2 months. One handle is dying, and will be out any day now, and if the previous set is of any indication, the other handle will die pretty soon also. Needless to say, it is going back to costco soon. It does work great while it works, but dies within no time.
It is a shame that Philips makes such a defective product. I would have given it 5 stars if the product is reliable.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:orange county, ca
Date:March 29, 2011

Do not buy

"The toothbrush worked great for the first few months then both batteries wouldn't take a charge. They would also turn on automatically at random. Very dissapointing"
Review 7 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southlake, TX
Date:April 1, 2011

Very disappointing

Pros: sonicare really cleans the teeth well.
Cons: buy a different model.
Model Number: Healthy White Rechargeable
"I have owned Sonicare for years, but this one quit holding a charge right away, randomly came on in my bag, very poor quality. Now I am without a toothbrush, and these CANNOT be repaired. Not a good purchase. The people who gave good reviews haven't had them long enough."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Clemente, CA
Date:April 18, 2011

Latest model is not necessarily best model

Pros: reputable brand
Cons: sub par quality
Model Number: HX6930
"Timeline:
Early 2009 - bought the HX6930 model
Late (Nov.) 2009 - swapped out (direct with Philips) due to brush handle unit's metal mount being wobbly and almost completely breakin off
April 2011 - now out of warranty. Brush head handle unit has suddenly diminished brushing strength while I was brushing.
Like others on here may have mentioned, they are still using other older models and they're still ticking. I wish I didn't have to buy this model. My old one lasted for almost 5 years until the battery finally was beyond recharging.
This latest model is subpar quality. I've never had problems with the old one. No wonder, the old model is still being supported and brush head refills still being sold as it proves that it has a great track record and a long mainstay.
I love the cleaner teeth I get from an electric toothbrush and manual brushing should not be compared to it at all. Worth the investment BUT NOT FOR THIS MODELs."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:El Segundo, CA
Date:October 25, 2011

Built to Fail

Cons: not built to last
"I purchased this product a while back and both units have failed within the same week. They are designed to last just a little longer than the warranty. I like sonicare products but I am now looking for alternatives."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2012

Broke After 10 Months

"Worked well; then it stopped working. Motor died after 10 months. Fortunately, Costco took it back with no hassle, as one has come to expect. But I switched to Oral-B Pro Care after having been a Sonicare user for 10 years.
I'm pretty convinced that the UV sanitizer is just a gimmick."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 24, 2011

Disappointing Model

Pros: sanitizing option
Cons: expensive brush heads
"I wanted to try this model as I previously purchased & used the Philips Sonicare Essence Power Toothbrush for many years. I was very disappointed w/this model because after replacing the 'expensive' brush head I purchased the fit of the brush head on the toothbrush handle was flawed, and loose which caused it to 'giggle' and not function properly. I prefer the Essence's model 'angled' brush head which is a easier way to brush your teeth. The only positive thing I can say about this product is the availability of the 'sanitizing' option. I am going back to the Philips' Essence model!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:EAST BAY, CALIFORNIA
Date:February 20, 2012

3 SPEEDS A PROBLEM

"YOU HAVE TO RUN THROUGH THE 3 SPEEDS TO GET TO NORMAL EVERY
TIME. THE SANITIZER IS TOTALLY UNNEEDED.
"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2010

Stupid controles

Pros: works great
Cons: very anoying off button
Model Number: HealthyWhite
"UV system and “whitening” claims are gimmicks. Button operation is stupid. This HealthyWhite model has only one button. To turn the unit off requires 3 presses of this button (cycles through 3 ON modes before turning off). Press and hold the button for a few seconds and it turns off. Why aren’t these two features reversed? We turn the thing off several times a day. We almost never change brushing modes. Buy one of the Flexcare models with two buttons. I’ve been told that one of the buttons is dedicated to on/off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2010

Disappointed in the life of the product

"This toothbrush really cleans you teeth. However, after 9 months the tip of the handheld unit, the piece you place the toothbrush on, started to jiggle and come off when replacing the brush from person to person. Two months later it happened on the second hand held unit. I am also less than impressed with the on off botton. You have to press 3 times to turn the unit off and it's difficult to press down. I will be returning this to Costco today."
Review 15 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:August 4, 2010

Misleading Fetures

Cons: misleading expensive space consuming
"The features says "Hydroclean brush head:
Directs fluid between the teeth and gets closer to the benefits of flossing" It is just a piece of rubber/plastic placed vertically in the middle of tooth brush head and is totally misleading. The unit is not worth the price. Moreover it is consumes lot of space in the bathroom.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2011

bad battery

"I agree with the other reviews. Battery or the handle design is bad. Same battery issue weird buzzing while on the base. This is my 2nd toothbrush in 2 yrs. BUT since I bought it at Costco- no hassle returns-"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2011

Works Well, Fails often

Pros: works well
Cons: fails often
Model Number: the one with the electronic cleaning bay
"It's a good cleaner but this is the second replacement within the 2 year warrantee. Also while the electronic cleaning thing looks impressive we don't use it often."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:October 29, 2011

Amazing product that will break eventually.

Pros: cleans teeth great
Cons: break easily
"I have owned 6 of these, bought in two pack sets and all of mine have broken within a year. When they are WORKING they are great. I love them and could never go back to a regular toothbrush again, but i am very sad that mine all break. Some would not turn off after they are turned on and just keep vibrating nonstop till they went dead. Another one, the prong that holds the brushes on broke. It wobbles around like crazy and does not stay in a fixed position. I wish that these were made better but i am going to give the Oral-B ones a try hoping that those hold up"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orem Ut
Date:January 9, 2012

Motor Shaft Keeps Breaking

Pros: cleans well
Cons: problems with shafts breaking
"We have had this for a little over 2 years the shaft in handle has broke 3 times. They are now out of warranty and can't be repaired. Philips just said sorry. They work well for cleaning your teeth just to bad the quiality isn't any better!!!!!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips Sonicare HealthyWhite Toothbrush
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

I think it is haunted

"I have had this brush for a couple of years- out of warranty but for the price it should last longer. It is randomly buzzing while on the charger and it turns itself on and off randomly. Wakes me up in the middle of the night. I want a new one but looking for comparable products with a better track record."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>