Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Bread Maker

Cuisinart® Bread Maker

Everybody loves homemade bread, but not everybody has time to make it. Now Cuisinart® does it for you! Their versatile Automatic Bread Maker offers a variety of crust colors and loaf sizes, and 12 pre-programmed menu options. Foolproof recipes include gluten-free breads, as well as jams and sauces. With a convenient 13-hour Delay Start timer, that wonderful aroma of just-baked bread can be waiting for you when you walk in the door. Features:    Cuisinart-quality technology promises superior crust, color and texture   Classic lines, embossed logo, and sturdy stay-cool handles   Removable bread pan and kneading paddle   Includes: measuring cup, measuring spoon and instrucion/recipe book   12 preprogrammed menu options   3 crust colors   3 loaf sizes (1, 1.5 and 2lbs.)   LCD Display   13-hour Delay Start Timer   15-minute pause   Bake-only option   Power failure backup   Removable lid with viewing window   UL Listed   Dimensions: 14.5" L x 8.25" D x 12.5" H   Weight: 18 lbs.   3-year limited warranty   Made in China For further product information, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190. Model: BMKR-200PC
Average Customer Rating:
3.781 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
12
47 of 64(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 4, 2013

I really like this breadmaker, but.....

Pros: love to use it for making dough, can use it to make bagle dough, simple!
Cons: seal in pan breaks down with frequent use
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"I love the breadmaker I purchased from Costco a couple of year ago. The problem with these Cuisinart breadmakers is that if you use them frequently eventually the seal will break down and you will get grease leaking into you bread (yuck.)
I contacted Cuisinart and they send me several new pans under warranty BUT they were ALL the wrong type. I even purchased one from them and it was wrong too! I finally gave up.
When I Costco was selling the breadmaker online again I ordered it. The box was pretty beat up and it looked like I might have been sent a used/returned item. Still, I was happy to have it.
The first time I made bread it was clear that something was misaligned in the machine and it was making a noise it should not.
I returned it and I will now (cross my fingers and) order a new one.
At least i know if I get another dud I can return it.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, IN
Date:September 5, 2012

Great Bread Machine

Pros: easy to clean, bakes true to settings, pasta dough setting
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"It seems that the quality in bread machines manufactured in the last few years has steadily declined and I was beginning to think I would not find a machine that I would be happy with. But i was wrong! This machine is everything I could expect. The only unknown at this point is how long it will last. I have used several of the menu options and great results every time. It even has a pasta dough setting to mix and knead dough to make fresh pasta. What a great idea and the recipe included with the machine is outstanding. There's also a signal to let you know the last rest period has completed so the dough can be removed from the pan and the paddle removed to reduce holes in the bottom of the finished loaf. Just reshape the dough and place it back in the pan to finish baking. At least as of right now, Cuisinart has replacement parts if any should be needed. The non-stick lining on my previous bread machine's pan started to peel and the manufacturer did not have replacement pans available. Cuisinart maintains its good name with this machine. I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking about purchasing a bread maker. And you can't beat the price. Thanks, Costco, for another great product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:October 12, 2012

Great even at High Altititudes

Pros: excellent customer service and warranty, makes really good bread
Cons: non-stick coating wears off if you aren't careful
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"I have successfully used this bread machine for over a year now and here are some tricks I have learned. First, when the bread is fully baked and the machine beeps at you to take the bread out, leave it in the machine for a few hours. If you don't, the non-stick coating on the bread pan will get scratched up because the crust on the bread is crisp and scrapes the nonstick when shaken out. This happened to me twice after 6 months of use and both times Cuisinart replaced the pans for free. Now I leave the bread in the machine with the lid down for a few hours to soften the crust so that when I remove it, the non-stick coating doesn't get scratched off. Second, a fully baked large loaf should not be taller than the breadpan. It will not fit in your toaster if it is. I think some customers think their bread hasn't risen properly when in fact it has. So if you are baking bread on the small or medium loaf setting, it is not going to rise up very high and that is how it should be. A large loaf is properly risen if it's highest part is just under the top of the pan. Third, If you are living at high altitude reduce your yeast to 1/2 - 3/4 teaspoon and increase the salt by 1/8 teaspoon. Too much yeast causes the bread to rise too fast and will cause the bread to collapse. The salt helps to control the yeast so that it rises slowly in the high altitude. I love my machine and it took some tinkering with ingredients but it bakes really great bread. I have noticed a difference in loaves depending on what flour I use. I bake with wheat and some wheats don't rise as high as others but they all turn out delicious. I bake 2 loaves of sourdough a week and have made pizza dough with it."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix AZ
Date:October 28, 2009

Fine Automatic Bread-maker

Pros: simple easy foolproof, convenient
Cons: small hole in the bottom of loaf, sort of ugly
Model Number: Model BMKR-200PC
"I read the negative review posted here and was concerned, but purchased the unit anyway. I had no problems following the straightforward guide included with the unit. I have made many loaves of bread using various settings and have had universal success. Everyone who has tasted the bread has been pleased with the quality and I am pleased with the simplicity of the entire process. Is it artisan bread? No. Is it fast, easy, and foolproof? Yes. Does the bread get eaten. Every loaf so far..."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ohio
Date:October 27, 2009

Great Breadmaker

Pros: easy to clean easy to operate looks good
Cons: not a spacesaver
"I ordered this breadmaker 3 weeks ago and I make a loaf of bread every other day. It works great and the bread is delicious. Very easy to clean."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Eastern Oregon
Date:April 27, 2012

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: can't think of any
Cons: could not get a loaf baked that wasn't sunken
Model Number: BMKR-200
"I have been making bread for years and a lot of it by hand before breadmakers became the norm. I’ve had 2 really good makers in the past and after so many years, they “gave it up”. However, this Cuisinart breadmaker is another story. I could not make a loaf of bread that did not fall in the middle. I went out and bought new fresh bread flour (Gold Medal Better for Bread) and a new 1# block of Red Star yeast from Costco and it made no difference. I even went back to my old recipes as was suggested by some reviewers and even they fell!! There has to be something wrong with the heating element when it begins to bake, since up to that point, everything looks great. The dough has risen and you think this time it’s going to be OK. Wrong!! It falls in the center.
Sorry to say, I took it back to our local Costco yesterday and hope to find another maker somewhere that will be as good as my two old ones were."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, CO
Date:March 15, 2013

Beautiful crust

Pros: many settings to choose from., loaf is more rectangular easier to slice.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: BMKR200PC
"This is my third bread maker (the others wore out), and the best so far. I really like the signal at the end of the knead/rise cycle that lets you know you can remove the paddle so you don't end up with a big hole in the bottom. I tried 3 recipes from the booklet - plain white, cinnamon swirl, and honey wheat - two 1-1/2 lb loaves, one 1-pounder. All of them rose and baked just fine, but the best is the light crispy crust (medium setting). Costco had the best price, even with shipping (my store did not have any bread makers in stock)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oregon
Date:January 13, 2011

I adore this machine!!

"I am a devoted bread baker. I haven't bought bread in years. I have produced many different types of artisan breads and tried all of the different techniques. I looked down on bread machines. I read a few master bakers who use machines for the kneading and rising and decided to go ahead and buy one. I don't know why I waited so long! This machine is a revelation. It kneads much more like a human hand- not like the dough hook on my big kitchenaid. The dough is much smoother with a better gluten structure. The rising is done in the temperature controlled sealed container . Amazing rise! The texture of the bread is superb. The crust is adequate. Not as good as when I bake in my oven on baking stones. When it works for time I use the dough setting and bake in my oven. There is no mess in the kitchen and clean up is quick.
Be sure to use instant yeast. SAF brand works fantastic. The recipes that come with the machine call for too much yeast. Be sure to add the gluten flour.You have to check the dough about 5 minutes into the process to see if you need more flour or more water. The dough should have formed a ball but be a little sticky. I add a tablespoon or 2 of honey to help the crust brown up.
This is my favorite kitchen appliance."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington DC area
Date:January 19, 2014

What a waste!!

Pros: variable loaf size
Cons: makes awful bread!!!
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"This was my second bread baker. My first one I loved and used until it wore out. This Cuisinart is horrible. Every recipe I tried made an unacceptable product, except the banana nut bread. I kept trying more recipes only to have to throw out the bread. I am sick about it as I have waited too long to return. Now it will be donated to charity and hopefully someone can use it and love it. But I am not wasting anymore ingredients or cabinet space on this horrible machine!"
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Visalia, CA
Date:September 25, 2011

Sturdy Machine

Pros: well-made, nice looking loaves, reminder beep to remove paddle
Cons: whole wheat cycle is poor
"This is my 3rd bread machine. I wore out the gears in the last 'Breadman' after two years of steady baking, 2-3 times a week. The Cuisinart Bread Machine is a workhorse and is holding up great after two years. The recipie book is not very good compared to what you can find from other brands. The low fat options do not keep very long. Replace with equal amounts of butter and you'll be amazed at the better flavor, texture and keeping ability. I refrigerate my bread and it keeps for about a week. Every machine cooks/rises a little differently and you have to keep trying. This one has a strange Whole wheat cycle and the bread smells like it 'sat' too long before baking. I have found that if you use the Sweet bread (#4) cycle and re-start after the mix/1st knead, the wheat breads rise better and taste great. Overall a very good machine, great price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:February 19, 2012

Excellent features BUT...

Pros: features - delay bread settings, recipe booklet
Cons: easily scratched pan, blade has slight defect on metal
Model Number: Model BMKR-200PC
"I have had 2nd hand machines that others have given to me over the years. I decided to purchase my own (Dec 2011) and have made over 10 loaves so far. I love the features/setting: delay bake, sweet bread, rustic, dough, white, wheat etc. The recipe booklet is an excellent starting point for delicious flavored bread! (Yummy Challah!)
My main complaint is that the bread pan is EASILY SCRATCHED. My 4th loaf (rustic setting) was stuck, so I used a wooden spatula to remove it gingerly. When I inspected the pan, it did not appear to be scratched. Thereafter, I was/am very cautious about not using metal spatulas or abrasive sponges/cleaners (when cleaning). I even remove the blade during the last rise to avoid the blade/bread from getting stuck after the bake.
But yesterday after making the Panettone recipe, I found the pan nicked and scratched. I cannot believe that dried fruits/candied orange peels were enough to scratch the pan?!!!!?? After washing the pan, I noticed also wear marks on the pan (the area that protrudes in toward the inside of the pan).
I am so sad....I thought that my other used machines that had obvious "wear marks" and scratches where from previous owners MISUSING their machines! But apparently, it may just be the nature of a machine that spins and spins to make bread!! (Or do I have a defective machine?)
None-the-less, I prefer not to have the bread pan "non-stick coating" incorporated into bread!
I will return this to Costco!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Hereford, AZ
Date:October 12, 2011

So disappointed!

"I purchased this because we love Costco's "stand behind" policy and internet shopping is so necessary where we live. I could hardly wait to get some bread going (I am experienced with bread makers-- this purchase was for a second home.) The first loaf was a flop, though tasted good, the second was worse, and the third was awful! So I went back and ordered a bread maker which Costco doesn't carry, and was thrilled after my first loaf. Maybe I had a bad machine? Seemed like the dough blade was laboring to get anything going. And I don't care for the requirement to be so careful about layering and yeast placement. The replacement has an automatic dispenser so there is no need to be so careful about layering. I also found the materials to be much lighter weight (flimsy?) than the one I now have. Sorry to say, I am returning the Cuisinart."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 6, 2012

Frustrating manual

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: manual does not provide essential information
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"Maybe if this bread maker had a decent manual, I could figure out how to make a successful loaf of bread. So far I've thrown out 4 completely failed loaves, and still do not clearly understand the several different sequences of beeps that occur at different, crucial stages in the process. The manual should have a clear chart that correlates the stages tracked on the machine itself (preheat, knead, rest, rise, bake, keep warm) with the beeps and actions one can take (adding flour or water for correction, adding extras like nuts, removing the paddle before baking), because this is NOT CLEAR in the manual. I will try to figure this out by trial and error by baking a few more loaves, but I may end up returning this machine to Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:May 10, 2011

Quality Breadmaker

Pros: easy prep, easy clean up, healthier alternative
Cons: the cycle indicator is an annoying beep
"Recently my dietitian recommended we purchase a breadmaker for the health benefit for me as well as my family. I have made 6 loaves of bread with good success. The benefits are: 1. controlling what goes into the bread consumed. 2. cost control as many "healthy breads are pricey." 3. Fresh bread can be made in a few hours with minimal prep time and minimal clean up. 4. Minimizing trash disposal by limiting how much is made and when. We have enjoyed this breadmaker. I do recommend purchasing a bread machine recipe book. Additionally, utilizing a premium flour, SAF yeast and honey to brown the crust will increase your enjoyment of the machine. Its fast easy and much healthier for you."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Powell Butte
Date:November 8, 2010

The Best Yet! Gluten Free Cycle

Pros: gluten free cycle
"I am so impressed with the Gluten Free Cycle and how easy it is to put the package of mix in and have perfect bread. This is my 3rd bread machine and I like this one the best. Great style, size, and makes my GF bread to perfection. I have made home made bread, but this GF cycle is easy and better and faster."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:April 6, 2012

Great breadmaker

"I really have enjoyed my breadmaker so far. Do not waste your time with the recipes included in the manual though, they're bad. Get Beth Hensperger's "The Bread Lover's Bread Machine Cookbook" instead."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Paul, MN
Date:June 5, 2012

Excellent Bread Maker

Pros: it bakes a great loaf of bread, number of program selections
Cons: no yeast dispenser a minor issue for delayed star
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"My 1992 Panasonic break maker finally quit and needed to be replaced. I was very happy with the Panasonic except for capacity. It only made a one pound loaf. It was tempting to just buy another Panasonic with more capacity but the value of the Cuisinart from Costco was hard to resist. I have only made two loaves thus far but am very impressed. The large number of programs, crust lightness or darkness selection, the delay start, provided all the features I need and then some. But most importantly, the bread was excellent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:December 11, 2011

Good machine - bad recipes

"Bought the bread maker for the low price and I figure if it doesn't work, I can always return it. I made 3 loaves from the recipe book that came with the machine, first loaf was ok, second loaf was too dry, and 3rd was undercooked. I was ready to give up and take it back to Costco, but decided to try a recipe out of the Betty Crocker book and had excellent results. I've sinced made a dozen more loaves from the Betty Crocker book and every one of them turned out great! I kept the machine and tossed the recipe book that came with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sarasota, fl
Date:September 9, 2013

best purchase!

Pros: easy easy easy
Cons: none!
Model Number: bmkr-200pc
"we made a gluten free raison bread for our very first attempt, no previous experience, and right away we had the most perfect loaf of bread. we were amazed that we and Cuisinart created this. we added some pine nuts and raisons, it was excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 22, 2013

Happy with the Previous Model

Pros: easy operations
Cons: incomplete instructions on baking
"We returned the current order because it was delivered open and the box was damaged but we are reordering it.
Nevertheless, Bread making is an art. My wife can make good breads but I can't. The older model was used by us for 5 -6 years and although we had our share of accidents (not so good bread) we enjoyed it. The older model had it shares of problems as well: leaking container; broken paddles."
1 2 3 4 next>>