Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Bread Maker

Cuisinart® Bread Maker

Everybody loves homemade bread, but not everybody has time to make it. Now Cuisinart® does it for you! Their versatile Automatic Bread Maker offers a variety of crust colors and loaf sizes, and 12 pre-programmed menu options. Foolproof recipes include gluten-free breads, as well as jams and sauces. With a convenient 13-hour Delay Start timer, that wonderful aroma of just-baked bread can be waiting for you when you walk in the door. Features:    Cuisinart-quality technology promises superior crust, color and texture   Classic lines, embossed logo, and sturdy stay-cool handles   Removable bread pan and kneading paddle   Includes: measuring cup, measuring spoon and instrucion/recipe book   12 preprogrammed menu options   3 crust colors   3 loaf sizes (1, 1.5 and 2lbs.)   LCD Display   13-hour Delay Start Timer   15-minute pause   Bake-only option   Power failure backup   Removable lid with viewing window   UL Listed   Dimensions: 14.5" L x 8.25" D x 12.5" H   Weight: 18 lbs.   3-year limited warranty   Made in China For further product information, please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190.
Average Customer Rating:
3.766 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
(out of 64 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
13
47 of 64(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2014

Does NOT make good Gluten Free yeast bread

Pros: does bake sweet bread fine
Cons: does not bake gluten free bread, cannot make your own program, cannot adjust kneading baking or rising times
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"I am returning this after trying multiple loaves of gluten free bread (with expensive gluten free bread flour!). Not one loaf of bread turned out like when I use the exact same recipe and flour by hand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington DC area
Date:January 19, 2014

What a waste!!

Pros: variable loaf size
Cons: makes awful bread!!!
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"This was my second bread baker. My first one I loved and used until it wore out. This Cuisinart is horrible. Every recipe I tried made an unacceptable product, except the banana nut bread. I kept trying more recipes only to have to throw out the bread. I am sick about it as I have waited too long to return. Now it will be donated to charity and hopefully someone can use it and love it. But I am not wasting anymore ingredients or cabinet space on this horrible machine!"
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Iowa
Date:November 25, 2013

Gluten Free Option

Pros: ease of use
Cons: storage in my kitchen
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"This is my first bread maker and it has been such a delicious experience. The Cuisinart brand was recommended because of the gluten free option and this was not a mistake.
I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the bread maker and how delicious the baked product was.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:November 22, 2013

Happy with the Previous Model

Pros: easy operations
Cons: incomplete instructions on baking
"We returned the current order because it was delivered open and the box was damaged but we are reordering it.
Nevertheless, Bread making is an art. My wife can make good breads but I can't. The older model was used by us for 5 -6 years and although we had our share of accidents (not so good bread) we enjoyed it. The older model had it shares of problems as well: leaking container; broken paddles."
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:October 23, 2013

Wonderful to have!!

Model Number: BMKR-2000PC
"I am so pleased to have this breadmaker. Am on a special diet and this enables me to make what I need and not to have to run to different stores. There are many, many programs on this machine."
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:October 4, 2013

I really like this breadmaker, but.....

Pros: love to use it for making dough, can use it to make bagle dough, simple!
Cons: seal in pan breaks down with frequent use
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"I love the breadmaker I purchased from Costco a couple of year ago. The problem with these Cuisinart breadmakers is that if you use them frequently eventually the seal will break down and you will get grease leaking into you bread (yuck.)
I contacted Cuisinart and they send me several new pans under warranty BUT they were ALL the wrong type. I even purchased one from them and it was wrong too! I finally gave up.
When I Costco was selling the breadmaker online again I ordered it. The box was pretty beat up and it looked like I might have been sent a used/returned item. Still, I was happy to have it.
The first time I made bread it was clear that something was misaligned in the machine and it was making a noise it should not.
I returned it and I will now (cross my fingers and) order a new one.
At least i know if I get another dud I can return it.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ft. Worth TX
Date:October 1, 2013

Very nice machine

Pros: does exactly what it is advertised to do.
Cons: a bit noisy but not bad., wish it had a clear pizza dough cycle.
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"We use it primarily for making pizza dough. It's very good at this, but the operations are clearly for the making of bread. We like the capacity of 1, 1-1/2, or 2 lb."
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sarasota, fl
Date:September 9, 2013

best purchase!

Pros: easy easy easy
Cons: none!
Model Number: bmkr-200pc
"we made a gluten free raison bread for our very first attempt, no previous experience, and right away we had the most perfect loaf of bread. we were amazed that we and Cuisinart created this. we added some pine nuts and raisons, it was excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Potomac MD
Date:April 28, 2013

Loud Grinding Noise on First Use

"This is the third one I have purchased. The first two had electrical overheating problems so I returned them. This third one has a very loud grinding noise on the very first use. I have made numerous loafs with the other two machines so I do know how to use it. So disappointing!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, CO
Date:March 15, 2013

Beautiful crust

Pros: many settings to choose from., loaf is more rectangular easier to slice.
Cons: none so far.
Model Number: BMKR200PC
"This is my third bread maker (the others wore out), and the best so far. I really like the signal at the end of the knead/rise cycle that lets you know you can remove the paddle so you don't end up with a big hole in the bottom. I tried 3 recipes from the booklet - plain white, cinnamon swirl, and honey wheat - two 1-1/2 lb loaves, one 1-pounder. All of them rose and baked just fine, but the best is the light crispy crust (medium setting). Costco had the best price, even with shipping (my store did not have any bread makers in stock)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:November 13, 2012

Great Product!

Pros: easy to clean and use
"I was shopping around for bread makers and came across this one on Costco's website. I have always been a fan of Cuisinart products so I knew prior to ordering I would be happy with it. I have been using the bread maker almost daily with no problems. I really like the recipe book that is included. Very easy breads with no hassle!"
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Great Falls, VA
Date:November 6, 2012

Great Bread Maker

Pros: nice big 2lb loaf
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"We are very happy with the purchase of this bread maker. The only thing that we feel the bread maker recipe book is missing are the cooking times. It makes wonderful bread."
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:November 6, 2012

Frustrating manual

Pros: easy to clean
Cons: manual does not provide essential information
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"Maybe if this bread maker had a decent manual, I could figure out how to make a successful loaf of bread. So far I've thrown out 4 completely failed loaves, and still do not clearly understand the several different sequences of beeps that occur at different, crucial stages in the process. The manual should have a clear chart that correlates the stages tracked on the machine itself (preheat, knead, rest, rise, bake, keep warm) with the beeps and actions one can take (adding flour or water for correction, adding extras like nuts, removing the paddle before baking), because this is NOT CLEAR in the manual. I will try to figure this out by trial and error by baking a few more loaves, but I may end up returning this machine to Costco."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:October 12, 2012

Great even at High Altititudes

Pros: excellent customer service and warranty, makes really good bread
Cons: non-stick coating wears off if you aren't careful
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"I have successfully used this bread machine for over a year now and here are some tricks I have learned. First, when the bread is fully baked and the machine beeps at you to take the bread out, leave it in the machine for a few hours. If you don't, the non-stick coating on the bread pan will get scratched up because the crust on the bread is crisp and scrapes the nonstick when shaken out. This happened to me twice after 6 months of use and both times Cuisinart replaced the pans for free. Now I leave the bread in the machine with the lid down for a few hours to soften the crust so that when I remove it, the non-stick coating doesn't get scratched off. Second, a fully baked large loaf should not be taller than the breadpan. It will not fit in your toaster if it is. I think some customers think their bread hasn't risen properly when in fact it has. So if you are baking bread on the small or medium loaf setting, it is not going to rise up very high and that is how it should be. A large loaf is properly risen if it's highest part is just under the top of the pan. Third, If you are living at high altitude reduce your yeast to 1/2 - 3/4 teaspoon and increase the salt by 1/8 teaspoon. Too much yeast causes the bread to rise too fast and will cause the bread to collapse. The salt helps to control the yeast so that it rises slowly in the high altitude. I love my machine and it took some tinkering with ingredients but it bakes really great bread. I have noticed a difference in loaves depending on what flour I use. I bake with wheat and some wheats don't rise as high as others but they all turn out delicious. I bake 2 loaves of sourdough a week and have made pizza dough with it."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Danville, IN
Date:September 5, 2012

Great Bread Machine

Pros: easy to clean, bakes true to settings, pasta dough setting
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"It seems that the quality in bread machines manufactured in the last few years has steadily declined and I was beginning to think I would not find a machine that I would be happy with. But i was wrong! This machine is everything I could expect. The only unknown at this point is how long it will last. I have used several of the menu options and great results every time. It even has a pasta dough setting to mix and knead dough to make fresh pasta. What a great idea and the recipe included with the machine is outstanding. There's also a signal to let you know the last rest period has completed so the dough can be removed from the pan and the paddle removed to reduce holes in the bottom of the finished loaf. Just reshape the dough and place it back in the pan to finish baking. At least as of right now, Cuisinart has replacement parts if any should be needed. The non-stick lining on my previous bread machine's pan started to peel and the manufacturer did not have replacement pans available. Cuisinart maintains its good name with this machine. I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking about purchasing a bread maker. And you can't beat the price. Thanks, Costco, for another great product."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:August 21, 2012

Excellent Purchase

"Never baked bread or used a bread machine. We've owned this for over a year and finally broke it out of the box and made two loaves: honey and kalamata olive with rosemary. Delicious. We will never buy bread again. The delayed baking function makes this machine even better because you can have fresh bread when you wake up or when you sit down to dinner."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:August 10, 2012

Best ever

Pros: versatile and easy to use
"This is my third bread machine over the years and my favorite by far. I've had it for about a month and baked over a dozen loaves of bread in it. As long as I stick to the recipe (and there are a gazillion on the internet), it seems that I can't go wrong. It's easy to use and versatile. I love it and highly recommend it."
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:July 26, 2012

It made volcanic rock

"Wow, how did this volcanic rock jumped out of my bread machine? I don't know what's wrong...it's such a disappointment... ><
It didn't rise enough, didn't smooth the top, not even colored right, after the whole cycle was done the machine stopped cooking but the bread just turned out undone.
"
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:July 12, 2012

Should have bought one years ago

"This unit is ready to use out of the box, contains great recipes, is easy to clean, and produces great bread with little effort. We have already made several loaves and pizza dough. All turned out perfectly."
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Bread Maker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saint Paul, MN
Date:June 5, 2012

Excellent Bread Maker

Pros: it bakes a great loaf of bread, number of program selections
Cons: no yeast dispenser a minor issue for delayed star
Model Number: BMKR-200PC
"My 1992 Panasonic break maker finally quit and needed to be replaced. I was very happy with the Panasonic except for capacity. It only made a one pound loaf. It was tempting to just buy another Panasonic with more capacity but the value of the Cuisinart from Costco was hard to resist. I have only made two loaves thus far but am very impressed. The large number of programs, crust lightness or darkness selection, the delay start, provided all the features I need and then some. But most importantly, the bread was excellent."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>