Customer Reviews for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer

Added Value: Little Dipper® Warmer and Cookbook
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
6 of 15(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Review 1 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:April 21, 2010

Disappointed

Model Number: SCVC609C-SS
"This crockpot did not hold up very well. The inside liner cracked after 1 year of minimal use. The replacement parts are expensive. I would avoid this model"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 7, 2010

Quirky Control

Model Number: SCVC609C-SS
"On the first use of this appliance, when I manually shifted to the "keep warm" setting, the pot continued to cook on high heat. I later determined that the "keep warm" setting would only work with the count-down timer, and that the "keep warm" setting and "warm" setting heat at the same power level. When I first contacted the manufacturer about this, they stated that my unit was not functioning correctly, but they later back-peddled and said that the "keep warm" setting cannot be selected manually."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2010

Poor handle

"Have had the crockpot for 3 months and have used it about 3-4 times a month. It is stored in a safe place and treated with care. Last Sunday the handle broke clean off. Very poor design."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2010
Model Number: SCVP609
"The lid handle fell off after only using it a few times. I called "Crock*Pot to see if they would replace it. Explained to them that there were already 7 out of 11 complaints about this products lid handle. It must be a defect. They did not care. The only option I had was to purchase a new lid, they did not sell the hanle by itself. Very unhappy with the customer service.
The pot itself has worked great everytime I have used it."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Toledo, OH
Date:March 2, 2010

only lasted 1 year

Model Number: SCVC651F
"Only had item for 14 months. I had hinged lid model, which broke along with crack inside the crock. Obviously a design flaw since no longer make with hinged lid. Called Crockpot, not covered since out of warranty and will only give small discount to replace. My old crockpot lasted 20+years. Just don't make things like they used to!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northeast USA
Date:January 23, 2010

Handle melted

"The handle melted about the 5th time I used this crock pot. It was after the warranty period. I think it's a product defect and I would not recommend this slow cooker."
Review 7 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 10, 2010

Cooks way too hot

Pros: sleek design; looks great
Cons: cooks too fast
"I was so excited about my new crock pot, however it cooks way too hot on the low setting. This is fine for soups, but not for roasts or chicken. I did a roast on low and had to remove it after 7 hours (note: the manufacturer's cook book says to cook on low for 10 to 12 hours...) and it was very, very dry. In fact, the contents of the pot boil and the outside of the unit is too hot to touch after only an hour or two of cooking on low. I thought maybe I just had a defective pot, but after researching online, this appears to be a very common defect with this line of crock pots. I have used an older smaller crock pot for almost 20 years that cooks flawlessly, so hopefully I can find a bigger version of it. Until then, I'll keep using my trusted old one with the horrible cornflower blue flowers..."
Review 8 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2009

Great value - love the timer

Pros: great adjustable timer, perfect size for different types of dishes
Cons: ceramic insert cracks
"I have had this crockpot for about 3 years. I love the base. The timer is awesome. You can set the pot to heat for a certain amount of time, then it automatically goes to "keep warm" mode (instead of cook). It also has ways you can add or substact time in 30 min. increments, which is great when you look in and notice that the meal is cooking faster than you thought it would take. You just reduce the timer by some amount and adjust.
I DON'T like that I have had 2 pots (ceramic inserts) crack, though. I'm not sure why this happens, but I think it's the same with all crockpots. I bought another new but cheaper Rival crockpot of the same size and used the insert in this cooker (because I love the timer) and it worked fine for a while.... until the pot cracked again.
For the money though, this pot is a good value. We use ours very often - usually a couple or few times a week."
Review 9 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:December 18, 2009

Cooker Great; Lid Not

Pros: turns to warm after cooking.
Cons: lid handle fell off after a few months sort of fi
"Note: this is a very big slow cooker, best for larger quantities, roasts, etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pintlala, AL
Date:December 14, 2009

Great Value

Pros: little dipper-great for dips & warming baby bottle
Cons: little dipper is hard to clean
"Maybe there is a problem with the products in California. I purchased this product a couple weeks ago. I have cooked with it at least three times and washed the lid and the inner pot in the dishwasher each time. I have had no problems with the lid. I just convinced a friend to get one of her own. Love it!"
Review 11 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:December 14, 2009

Good Purchase

Pros: attractive, good features
Cons: lid worked fine but fit could be a little better
"I just purchased the crock pot and did roast with veggies yesterday. The unit did great. The meat cooked for 10 hours and literally melted in your mouth. I really liked this unit.
In addition, you also get the small crock pot for dips etc. It's a good deal any way you look at it."
Review 12 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:December 13, 2009

Lid trouble

"I had the same trouble others have stated regarding the lid on this cooker. Although it cooks great, after about 4 months the handle on the lid came off in my hand. I have had to repair it 3 times w/glue, but it keeps coming apart. I'd return it, but I no longer have the receipt."
Review 13 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego,CA
Date:November 12, 2009

Great Appliance--BAD lid knob

Pros: goes to warm after cooking, large size, different settings, convenient
Cons: poorly designed knob
"I have had a Crockpot since the 70's and use them a lot-this one is no exception until the knob just came off!! I went to lift the lid and the knob came off in my hand and the the glass lid dropped right into the pea soup. I looked on here to see if others had the problem (yes) . I will just screw another knob from another pot lid onto it. Be careful!!! The knob is plastic with a metal nut embedded into it-the nut came out. All other features are GREAT!!!!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 10, 2009

Works great for us

"I have had the cooker for over two years with no problems. I really like the features and the shape."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Crock-Pot® 6-quart Countdown Slow Cooker with Little Dipper® Warmer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cypress, CA
Date:October 28, 2009

Not made like they used to be

Pros: dinner is ready when you get home from work.
Cons: not made to last like they used to.
Model Number: SCVP609
"I had one of the original Rival Crock-Pots that endured several years before I accidentally broke the stoneware. The replacement stoneware was about 75% the price of a brand new model (incl. S&H), so I bought a new one. The new one lasted just over a year (after the warranty expired, of course) before the handle on the lid failed. I had to repair it with Elmer's wood glue. Shortly thereafter, the stoneware developed a small, inch-long crack in the bottom-center. Food (liquid) leaked out and burned, Replacement lid and stoneware are ca. 75% of a brand new unit. Makes more sense to throw the whole unit away and buy a new one. Although I loved my old Crockpot, which lasted for nearly 20 years, they just don't make them like they used to. I will continue to use Rival Crockpot products, but I am very displeased at the longevity of my recent purchase."
40 of 42 people found this review helpful.