Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Cuisinart updates a classic! Our brushed stainless pressure cooker is safe, easy to use, cooks up to 70% faster than conventional methods and cooks healthier, too. Steam trapped in the pot builds up pressure that creates hotter temperatures, and the pot is so tightly sealed that vitamins and minerals can't boil away. Foods stay moist and flavors stay true. Features variable pressure and temperature settings, plus Browning, Simmering and Sauté functions for perfect roasts, stews, vegetables, cheesecake or custard. The Cuisinart™ Pressure Cooker is absolutely safe, with a lid that has to be locked in place before pressure builds, and stays locked until pressure is released. Cook faster, eat healthier, with Cuisinart! Features: 6-Quart Capacity   Digital thermostat, 99-minute timer and LED countdown display   Programmed temperature settings: low and high pressure, browning, simmer, sauté and automatic keep warm   Non-Stick Cooking pot   Stainless Steel trivet   Cool-touch side handles   Dishwasher safe cooking pot and trivet   Dimensions: 13"L x 13"W x 14.6"H   Weight: 12.57 lbs.   UL listed   3-year limited warranty   For further product information please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
4.252 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
(out of 107 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
11
92 of 107(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2014

Excellent Appliance

Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I've used the pressure cooker twice now and am thoroughly pleased."
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:May 16, 2014

A Big Disappointment

Pros: when it worked it was nice.
Cons: it doesn't last!
"I purchased this about 10 months ago to cook a daily rice/meat combination for our dogs with food allergies. Initially it seemed to work well, but after a few months it would reach pressure, and then instead of cooking for the requisite time, it switched to "keep warm".
I called customer service and first he told me that I wasn't adding enough water - every day it has 1/2# of meat, 1.5 cups rice and I fill it to the 14 level with water, it's almost impossible to add any more water. Then I asked about warranty, he told me it was out of warranty - even though the warranty is 3 years (I've had it 10 months). Then he told me I would have to ship it to Cuisinart on my own dime, then pay the shipping back. I figure it would cost $20 to ship at the USPS. I'm returning it to Costco.
Cuisinart used to be a good name. But I'm encountering nothing but trouble with the last few items I've purchased (last problem was broken panini grill).
So glad for Costco's return policy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SE, Tn
Date:March 20, 2014

A fix for shut off problem

Pros: when it works it is easy to use.
Cons: should work as designed and require no fix.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I bought this pressure cooker at Costco and quickly had the same problem others have noted, it would start to get up steam then drop to warming mode. I thought I was using too little water. That did not help. Looked online and found a fix that worked for us twice so far. The problem is the food touching the bottom of the cooking pot starts to stick to the bottom of the pot. There is a sensor that indicates overheating or some other problem and it switches to warming mode. The solution is to always use the trivet when you cook. That way the food does not touch the bottom and the PC works as designed. Hope this helps some people since it really helped us."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SENC
Date:March 6, 2014

So versatile and easy to use!

Pros: works as well as a regular slow cooker
Cons: cleaning the lid
"Bought mine over a year ago and love it so much, bought this second one as a gift for a friend..."
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:March 4, 2014

Good investment

"Though I have only used this pressure cooker twice, both times it performed very well."
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lititz, PA
Date:February 17, 2014

Best Thing Ever!

Pros: fast healthy cooking; easy cleaning;
"This is the best thing that I have ever found! This is a great way for families to get great tasting, healthy food fast, while not eating "fast food". I have 2 teenage boys who play ice hockey & various other sports so we are on a fast paced schedule. My family is always hungry & when they are they want it NOW! So this thing makes homemade tasting food in minutes! I put fingerling potatoes in this and they were done perfectly in high pressure 5 minutes! It doesn't give it a microwave flavor either! I love that you can brown the food in the same pot unlike a slow cooker. To be honest I was going to buy another brand of these that was $150.00 but thought "hey, I'll try this first then if I don't like it,it's Costco I can just return it & buy the other brand" with every intention of doing that when I didn't like it. I LOVE THIS THING & WILL KEEP THIS ONE!!! This brand works wonderful & thank goodness Costco's return policy I tried this brand & saved a bunch of $$. I had always been scared to use pressure cookers because I remembered my grandmother telling me how they blew up and hurt you or got food all over your kitchen so I avoided them! That is so not true of these new electric models (so I can listen to a lot of things my Nan taught me just not that,lol). I recommend these things highly! I was also afraid that this was going to be ANOTHER one of the kitchen appliances that is stacked in my cabinet, used 1 or 2 times & now just takes up valuable space, I can see this is not going to be!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunny Southern Cal
Date:January 18, 2014

Excellent product!

Pros: timesaver, preserves nutrients, a kitchen standard
Cons: takes getting used to
"So glad i found this item. I researched all pressure cookers thoroughly befire purchase...the reviews on this product convinced me. When I bought it, it was $99 and still a great deal.
Let me tell you, I have used this appliance again and again. My roommate and I joked that we shared custody. We made beans, quinoa, chicken & wild rice soup, pea soup, chicken soup, and more. My favorite is collard greens - 2 bags pre-cut greens, 2 cans spicy chopped tomatoes (leave out if you don't want the heat), Costco bacon bits (2 tbsp), ne chopped onion, bouillon dissolved in 1C water, and poultry seasoning. I also add a can of yellow corn. Cook on high pressure fir 25min and pass the vinegar.
This appliance does not stay on all day and does not heat up the kitchen like a crock cooker. Ive been through many of them. I am a single mom and work shifts. This is a must have for stretching my food budget. My daughter lves the home cooking.
The criticism i have is with the lid. It is hard to figure out how to get it seated. Be patient and keep trying. Also, foid gets trapped on the inside rim between the lid and the outside surface of the pot.
Be sure to keep the valve clean, and remember that the pot is nonstick. Even so, I add some sort of extra fat to each recipe, either coconut oil or olive oil. Use what you like and remember that when cooking beans, it's vital to drizzle oil on top of the beans just before cooking. I suggest soaking beans first.
Enjoy your chrome baby!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Banning, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Greatist invention since sliced bread

Pros: very easy to use once the basics are mastered
Cons: it took me a while to digest and understand the, directions., recipes included were very helpful in helping me, to learn how to use the cooker.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"EPC-1200PC Electric Pressure Cooker. By far a big improvement over the stove top pressure cooker. Different settings for Browning, Low Pressure, High Pressure, Simmer, etc. I Like the automatic shift to WARM when the time is up."
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Belle Vernon, PA
Date:August 26, 2013

No longer fearful of pressure cookers

Pros: cooks everything quickly, safety built in, quiet when being used, beeps when timer runs down
Cons: so far i have found none
Model Number: Cuisinart Electric Pressure Cooker Model CPC-600
"I have really appreciated this appliance since I bought it...I was always afraid of having a pressure cooker because my Mom had one explode for her when I was a little kid. This pressure cooker makes short work of dinner. The little red ball which falls when all the pressure is expelled is the safety device which makes this machine easy for me to use. I will recommend this item to all of my friends."
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, Va.
Date:June 29, 2013

Love This Cooker!

Pros: easy to use easy to clean!, seems very safe not scary at all!
Cons: pressure valve 'on' zone could be marked better.
Model Number: Model: EPC-1200PC
"This pressure cooker has made such a difference in our house. I hate to cook much in the hot summers, but using a pressure cooker really helps keep the heat out of the kitchen! I love how easy this is to clean, just pop the interior plate and gasket off, give the whole works a good wash and let it dry. I have not had any problems with the non-stick finish at all. I only have 2 suggestions for improvement: First, the 'lip' around the top tends to be hard to clean really well, and the timer panel could be a bit more sophisticated. It's OK as it is, but if you go over your desired time you have to start over. Not a big deal at all, and if it means keeping the price in this range then we'll deal with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:April 28, 2013

I love it ! ! ! !

Pros: really quick homemade meals.
Cons: the control panel could be improved.
"I bought this several months ago, and have been waiting to do a review until I had used it several times.
The reviews I read before I purchased concerned me so I wanted to be sure of my opinion.
Anyway, it's wonderful. I use it almost weekly, primarily for meat or beans or rice.
I love being able to take a frozen-solid pork sirloin out of the freezer and have pulled pork sandwiches on the table in two hours. Or to go from dry beans to ready-to-eat beans in less than an hour, or brown rice in less than a half-hour.
The only down-side I have is that even though I've NEVER used metal utensils in the pan there is already a scratch - probably from a bone. I think that quality could be a bit better.
To clarify my Con: You have to keep pushing the button to increase the cooking time. It seems it would be pretty simple to put a 10 digit pad on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Clinton Twp, Michigan
Date:March 13, 2013

Decided to return it

Pros: detachable power cord-makes it easier to store., comes with a trivet.
Cons: high pressure is 10 psi-not the standard 15 psi., flimsy pressure release valve.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC Costco Item #182362
"This was my first pressure cooker purchase. Bought this over the other brand offered by Costco based on customer reviews. First recipe (bean soup) came out great. Next made their Mediterranean Pot Roast and it was very dry. Investigated and found that most recipes are based on a high pressure of 15 psi. This cooker only goes to 10 psi. After using it only 5 times had a chip at the upper edge of the non-stick surface of the removable pot. Had always hand washed it. Returned it for the other brand and am very happy with that one."
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 8, 2013

A Real Timesaver

Pros: easy clean up speed of cooking versatility
Cons: not enough electric pressure cooker recipes
Model Number: EPC1200-PC
"This was a purchase well thought out and took a while to make the final decision. I have always wanted to try using a pressure cooker, but like many others, the stove top one scared me away. After reading many reviews, we decided to try the Cuisinart Electric Pressure Cooker - now, there is no turning back. It was a great purchase.
The first meal was a lesson. There is a huge difference between cooking with natural or quick release pressure. And don't forget to add in time for the cooker to reach the pressure level you selected.
If you are using natural release pressure, factor that in to the time before you can serve. In the case of a pork shoulder roast, it was another 20 minutes.
With the quick release pressure, artichokes were ready in 9 minutes and a last minute decision to cook baby back ribs resulted in tasty and tender ribs on the table in 30 minutes, including the time in the broiler basted with sauce.
One regret - we didn't purchase this appliance sooner. Hope you enjoy yours."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:michgan
Date:February 21, 2013

controls failed after a year

Pros: recipes i tried were good
Cons: not reliable
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"Worked well for about a year. Used it about 12 times. While trying to complete a recipe the controls failed. I was unable to select any of the cooking menu items. I returned it to costco for a refund"
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
Date:January 4, 2013

WORKED GREAT FOR ONE YEAR

Pros: worked great
Cons: only lasted one year
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"THIS PRESSURE COOKER WORKED GREAT FOR ONE YEAR. THEN THE CANCEL BUTTON QUIT WORKING AND WE COULDN'T TURN THE PRESSURE COOKER ON OR OFF ANYMORE."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Battle Ground, WA
Date:December 4, 2012

My favorite Kitchen Appliance

Pros: no flame, locking lid so no burns, browns sautees simmers holds warm, can be plugged in anywhere
Cons: figuring out where to put the steam spout
"I could cook every meal in this appliance. I've converted all my crock pot meals over to this and have cut my time in half. It infuses the flavor into every bite. I can put meat in frozen, brown a roast or make my lasagna sauce. I honestly use my pressure cooker atleast 3 meals a week! I've owned it for 2 years and still haven't found anything wrong with this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:November 30, 2012

After 3 years I'm still amazed with this thing!

"What a great tool for my kitchen! I can brown my meat and pressure cook it in the same pot. Or make soup and simmer it for as long as I want. Set the controls and walk away. Couldn't be easier."
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 23, 2012

Small, but works great!

Pros: safe, great job cooking, timesaver, easy to operate, ergonomic, efficient
Cons: wish it was a 10 quart size
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I had wanted to make my own bean soups and stews from scratch but didn't want to wait the inordinate amount of time cooking in the traditional method requires. And I was uncomfortable using a stove-top pressure cooker because of the safety issues.
I bought this Cuisinart pressure cooker several years ago and still use it several times a month. It is great! I can put my ingredients in, set the controls, and then let it work its magic. I don't have to watch it because it goes to "keep warm" setting automatically and won't let you open it until the pressure dissipates.
I just wish it was a 10 quart because there are so may more things I could do with it at that size.
I have no regrets buying this and you won't have any regrets getting it too.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 21, 2012

Best Choice

Pros: it browns sautes simmers and keeps warm, best beans ever, can set it and forget it until it beeps.
Cons: it takes a long time for pressure to build, need to study it before using it, different style of cooking.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC01977
"Love this pressure cooker. I am in my 70's and never have used one. After reviewing several I decided this was the one I wanted. I use it at least once a week to boil eggs, cook beans and make my own chicken broth from leftover bones. Need to do your homework before using it. It is a different way of cooking but a little pre-study will make it a breeze. It is safe, not like the old ones. Keep the lid clean along with the gasket and pressure valve after each use. It is easy to take apart and put back together. Don't overfill either."
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

Works fine...until it dies

Cons: faulty design
"I have had two of these pressure cookers. The first one lasted about 3 months and then it would shut down as soon as it came up to pressure. Costco was kind enough to exchange it for me, as they still had it in stock. The second one lasted two weeks, until it did the same thing. I have since read online that there is a problem with failure of the electric panel."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>