Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Cuisinart updates a classic! Our brushed stainless pressure cooker is safe, easy to use, cooks up to 70% faster than conventional methods and cooks healthier, too. Steam trapped in the pot builds up pressure that creates hotter temperatures, and the pot is so tightly sealed that vitamins and minerals can't boil away. Foods stay moist and flavors stay true. Features variable pressure and temperature settings, plus Browning, Simmering and Sauté functions for perfect roasts, stews, vegetables, cheesecake or custard. The Cuisinart™ Pressure Cooker is absolutely safe, with a lid that has to be locked in place before pressure builds, and stays locked until pressure is released. Cook faster, eat healthier, with Cuisinart! Features: 6-Quart Capacity   Digital thermostat, 99-minute timer and LED countdown display   Programmed temperature settings: low and high pressure, browning, simmer, sauté and automatic keep warm   Non-Stick Cooking pot   Stainless Steel trivet   Cool-touch side handles   Dishwasher safe cooking pot and trivet   Dimensions: 13"L x 13"W x 14.6"H   Weight: 12.57 lbs.   UL listed   3-year limited warranty   For further product information please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
(out of 106 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
11
91 of 106(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Review 1 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:March 8, 2013

A Real Timesaver

Pros: easy clean up speed of cooking versatility
Cons: not enough electric pressure cooker recipes
Model Number: EPC1200-PC
"This was a purchase well thought out and took a while to make the final decision. I have always wanted to try using a pressure cooker, but like many others, the stove top one scared me away. After reading many reviews, we decided to try the Cuisinart Electric Pressure Cooker - now, there is no turning back. It was a great purchase.
The first meal was a lesson. There is a huge difference between cooking with natural or quick release pressure. And don't forget to add in time for the cooker to reach the pressure level you selected.
If you are using natural release pressure, factor that in to the time before you can serve. In the case of a pork shoulder roast, it was another 20 minutes.
With the quick release pressure, artichokes were ready in 9 minutes and a last minute decision to cook baby back ribs resulted in tasty and tender ribs on the table in 30 minutes, including the time in the broiler basted with sauce.
One regret - we didn't purchase this appliance sooner. Hope you enjoy yours."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:October 7, 2009

2 bought. 2 returned.

Pros: nice looking, straightforward design, easy locking lid
Cons: failed after 1-2 uses, cooking logic bug
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I had given my Wolfgang Puck electric pressure cooker to my mom (moms always get what moms want from their grown children, hehe) and decided to replace it with this Cuisinart unit from my local warehouse. These are the same as the model CPC-600 sold at retail but with a unique model number for the warehouse version.
First time I used it was great. Worked just like I expected it. Second time, the unit would not come up to pressure and would go straight to Keep Warm after a couple minutes. Called Cuisinart/Conair customer service and tried a few things. Nothing worked. So returned it to the warehouse for another as advised by customer service.
Second unit worked twice before it started exhibiting the same problem.
I'm not new to electric pressure cookers, so I was already aware of how to care for the silicone gasket, pressure valve, etc. This problem appears to be some kind of logic flaw in the cooking program. It comes up to temperature but doesn't wait long enough for the pressure seal."
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lititz, PA
Date:February 17, 2014

Best Thing Ever!

Pros: fast healthy cooking; easy cleaning;
"This is the best thing that I have ever found! This is a great way for families to get great tasting, healthy food fast, while not eating "fast food". I have 2 teenage boys who play ice hockey & various other sports so we are on a fast paced schedule. My family is always hungry & when they are they want it NOW! So this thing makes homemade tasting food in minutes! I put fingerling potatoes in this and they were done perfectly in high pressure 5 minutes! It doesn't give it a microwave flavor either! I love that you can brown the food in the same pot unlike a slow cooker. To be honest I was going to buy another brand of these that was $150.00 but thought "hey, I'll try this first then if I don't like it,it's Costco I can just return it & buy the other brand" with every intention of doing that when I didn't like it. I LOVE THIS THING & WILL KEEP THIS ONE!!! This brand works wonderful & thank goodness Costco's return policy I tried this brand & saved a bunch of $$. I had always been scared to use pressure cookers because I remembered my grandmother telling me how they blew up and hurt you or got food all over your kitchen so I avoided them! That is so not true of these new electric models (so I can listen to a lot of things my Nan taught me just not that,lol). I recommend these things highly! I was also afraid that this was going to be ANOTHER one of the kitchen appliances that is stacked in my cabinet, used 1 or 2 times & now just takes up valuable space, I can see this is not going to be!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SE, Tn
Date:March 20, 2014

A fix for shut off problem

Pros: when it works it is easy to use.
Cons: should work as designed and require no fix.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I bought this pressure cooker at Costco and quickly had the same problem others have noted, it would start to get up steam then drop to warming mode. I thought I was using too little water. That did not help. Looked online and found a fix that worked for us twice so far. The problem is the food touching the bottom of the cooking pot starts to stick to the bottom of the pot. There is a sensor that indicates overheating or some other problem and it switches to warming mode. The solution is to always use the trivet when you cook. That way the food does not touch the bottom and the PC works as designed. Hope this helps some people since it really helped us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 12, 2010

Set It and Forget It

Pros: ease of use, no more pot watching
Cons: teflon coating peels off
"Bought my first Cuisinart Electric Pressure Cooker in 2006 from another merchant. I was immediately hooked on the ease of use and results. No more babysitting the stove top cooker. I like that it uses less liquid to come up to pressure than other models.
After using the appliance weekly for four years I purchased a second one from Costco this year for less money than I paid for the first one. Now I can prepare dishes simultaneously. I have purchased other cookers for friends as gifts.
I use all my slow cooker recipes adapted through trial and error of course for the faster cooking times of the pressure cooker. I get better results than with the slow cooker. I find my recipes are less watery and I have concentrated juices which reduce nicely for gravies.
In the four years I've been using the appliance some of the LED lights on the timer have gone out and I've replaced the inner pot (due to teflon coming off) and lid (started getting greenish discoloration around handle). And as with any other appliance I have learned do's and dont's such as allowing the pressure to reduce naturally when cooking beans or pasta. Otherwise I have not had any problems and have thoroughly enjoyed using this product.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:October 28, 2009

Worth buying Product

Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I bought one about two weeks ago, and I recommend it to all my friends. It saves time and energy.
As I saw one reviewer said the cooker did not for him/her, so I have watched closely and kept using the cooker for the last a few days. I would like to share my exprences here.
I did make mistakes twice so that it did not work the way it is supposed to be, but I found out later that it was because: (1) I did not put the lid in the right lock position, the lid needs to be turned in counterclockwise to reach the far right end postion in the lock gap part; (2) I did not put the inner lid properly, so the pressure could not be held properly.
Hope this reminds users to read the manual and use it properly. So far, I really like this product. It will be even better if the inner pot is stainless instead of nonstick one."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sunny Southern Cal
Date:January 18, 2014

Excellent product!

Pros: timesaver, preserves nutrients, a kitchen standard
Cons: takes getting used to
"So glad i found this item. I researched all pressure cookers thoroughly befire purchase...the reviews on this product convinced me. When I bought it, it was $99 and still a great deal.
Let me tell you, I have used this appliance again and again. My roommate and I joked that we shared custody. We made beans, quinoa, chicken & wild rice soup, pea soup, chicken soup, and more. My favorite is collard greens - 2 bags pre-cut greens, 2 cans spicy chopped tomatoes (leave out if you don't want the heat), Costco bacon bits (2 tbsp), ne chopped onion, bouillon dissolved in 1C water, and poultry seasoning. I also add a can of yellow corn. Cook on high pressure fir 25min and pass the vinegar.
This appliance does not stay on all day and does not heat up the kitchen like a crock cooker. Ive been through many of them. I am a single mom and work shifts. This is a must have for stretching my food budget. My daughter lves the home cooking.
The criticism i have is with the lid. It is hard to figure out how to get it seated. Be patient and keep trying. Also, foid gets trapped on the inside rim between the lid and the outside surface of the pot.
Be sure to keep the valve clean, and remember that the pot is nonstick. Even so, I add some sort of extra fat to each recipe, either coconut oil or olive oil. Use what you like and remember that when cooking beans, it's vital to drizzle oil on top of the beans just before cooking. I suggest soaking beans first.
Enjoy your chrome baby!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Wilsonville, OR
Date:February 20, 2011

Great With A Couple of Caviats

Pros: cooks great, easy to use, nice looking, easy to clean
Cons: instruction manual lacks details, smells can linger on cooker, design flaw causing no pressure to build
Model Number: EPC-1200
"This is a great product but I gave it three stars because there is a small design flaw that prevents pressure from building up causing the timer to reset and the cooker to change from the HIgh Pressure setting to the Warm setting. If you find you have this problem, I have a possible solution that worked for me. The pressure limit valve handle needs to be parallel with handle on the top of the pressure cooker. If you have this problem, disregard the manual and try this before returning the product. I actually found the solution online at one of those fix it websites. I figured I would give it a try because I had nothing to lose and the problem did not happen again. After I got it to work the pressure cooker worked awsome. It is litterally "set it and forget it!" One thing to note, the pressure cooker can take on the smell of the items you cook, e.g. my wife cooked up a frozen chicken breast in 9 minutes and added 3 cloves of freshly pressed garlic and the house and cooker still smells like garlic despite cleaning it and running the cooker with only water 3 times. The product manual instructs you to wash the machine using warm water only. This is not a show stopper because the oder does go away and it does not taint the flavor of the food that follows.
Once I got past the issues listed above my wife and I found this pressure cooker to cook food quickly while keeping meets moist. You can really brown and saute items in this pressure cooker.
One last piece of advice, the pressure cooker also comes with a trivit and a condensation trap. Be sure to empty the box it comes in completly because these two items didn't pop out at me when I removed the cooker. The condensation trap is wrapped in bubble wrap and placed in a portion of the packing foam making easy to over look. The trivit is packed at the very bottom of the box.
Have a great time cooking!!!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Date:October 10, 2009

Great Product!

Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I absolutely love this Pressure Cooker. It sautes, browns, is a slow cooker, works as a crock pot and is a pressure cooker. The person that had problems with building pressure probably bent the aluminum disk that goes in the top (lid). Hint: When taking the top apart to wash you have to be careful not to pull to hard and bend the aluminum disk that the seal goes on or it will not build up pressure. If you lay the disk on a level surface you can make sure it is not bent and since it is thin you can easily straighten it out if you do bend it. I had trouble when I first purchased mine and Cuisinart Customer Service advised me how to correct the problem. I would not trade mine for anything!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:SENC
Date:March 6, 2014

So versatile and easy to use!

Pros: works as well as a regular slow cooker
Cons: cleaning the lid
"Bought mine over a year ago and love it so much, bought this second one as a gift for a friend..."
Review 11 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:March 4, 2014

Good investment

"Though I have only used this pressure cooker twice, both times it performed very well."
Review 12 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Midwest
Date:May 11, 2010

Pressure cooking rocks!

Pros: convenient, fast
Cons: instructions could be better
"I've used stove top pressure cookers, so I know how great they are for making great dishes fast. An electric pressure cooker takes the concept to a new level of convenience. I haven't stopped cooking with it since it arrived.
You just set it and forget it! No standing around the stove to adjust the heat to get the right pressure. Does it all automatically. It has High Pressure, Low Pressure, Browning, Saute, Simmer and Keep Warm settings that allow you to cook everything in one pot and keep it warm when it is done.
The recipes in the booklet that comes with it are great. I made the Chicken Stock, Chicken with Pesto and Potatoes and I cooked beets in it. All wonderful. Veggies are done perfectly, not soggy or mushy.
So many kitchen appliances end up in the cabinet unused. This one won't. You definitely won't regret buying one!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:November 8, 2009

Will Change Your Life

Pros: easy as heck, not stove-top, yummmy food comes out of it
Cons: could be too small for large families
"Bought this pressure cooker about 1 year ago. It has been a dream, and I really mean that. Things that you have written off as being too time consuming are now super simple.
Risotto in 10 minutes, Pinto beans in under an hour, rice in 4 minutes (no joke)
Best of all, it has a saute feature, so you only have 1 non-stick pan to clean."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Washington state
Date:April 28, 2013

I love it ! ! ! !

Pros: really quick homemade meals.
Cons: the control panel could be improved.
"I bought this several months ago, and have been waiting to do a review until I had used it several times.
The reviews I read before I purchased concerned me so I wanted to be sure of my opinion.
Anyway, it's wonderful. I use it almost weekly, primarily for meat or beans or rice.
I love being able to take a frozen-solid pork sirloin out of the freezer and have pulled pork sandwiches on the table in two hours. Or to go from dry beans to ready-to-eat beans in less than an hour, or brown rice in less than a half-hour.
The only down-side I have is that even though I've NEVER used metal utensils in the pan there is already a scratch - probably from a bone. I think that quality could be a bit better.
To clarify my Con: You have to keep pushing the button to increase the cooking time. It seems it would be pretty simple to put a 10 digit pad on it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island , New York
Date:March 2, 2012

A pressure cooker that is not scary

Pros: quiet, progammable, easy to clean
Cons: take a few tries to close the lid properly
"I had an old fashion pressure cooking which makes hissing noise for years. Each time using it, I worried it is going to explode or the food will erupt from the nozzle like the volcano. But the efficiency of the cooker such as making beef stew in 20 min persuaded me to continue taking the risk. With Cuisinart Electric pressure cooker, you only hear little noise when the pressure is building up. Then it is all quiet. So quiet that in the first few times, I even wonder if it was cooking at all! Thanks to the timer and multiple cooking modes, I now can program it and leave. Come back later and the food is done. (If it ever explodes, I will not be there :-)"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tampa Bay area
Date:October 8, 2009

Love it!

Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"Wow, sorry to read about the problems experienced by another reviewer!
This is my second pressure cooker - my other is an 8qt unit that works fine but is way too bulky to handle and difficult to clean.
I've had no problems with my Cuisinart - it comes to pressure very fast, cooks great - and no problems with the electronic timer.
If you've never had a pressure cooker, this is a great one to start with - virtually mistake-proof."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:December 5, 2011

A piece of junk is putting it mildly

Pros: costco's return policy
Cons: unreliable, poor customer service, small
Model Number: EPC-1200
"This unit does a bang-up job when it works. It's feature rich, easy to use, easy to clean, and comes up to temp and pressure quickly.
For as long as it'll work. Judging from the reviews on other sites and my experience, your mileage may vary here, but too many people have had bum units, myself included.
It worked great for a week, during which I used it three times. That was it. After that, I could never get the unit up to pressure again. No amount of reading and re-reading the instructions got me there. A call to Cuisinart recommended that I run it with less food (meanwhile, I'm at 50% when they recommend no more than 60). Some of those reviews indicated that Cuisinart replaced parts for them, but they made no such offer to me (and they weren't clear on what was replaced, so I'm not sure what they changed).
Thankfully, Costco's warranty is a lot more appealing than dealing with Cuisinart customer service. That's it with me and Cuisinart, after a bad experience with them on a Grind and Brew and now this, I will never purchase another appliance from them again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pocono Mountains, PA
Date:November 20, 2009

I love this thing!

"This is not your mothers pressure cooker: heavy, ugly and cumbersome to work with.
I have used it every day since I purchased it a week ago. I am going through all the recipes in the book one by one. The taste is unbelievable and Iove the browning feature.
One note:
most of the recipes can end up being on the dry side for traditionally wet foods like stews and rice pudding. Since I lean in the wet direction I might start adding more water to suit my taste.
Another note:
It keeps cooking once its done so I might have dehydrated some of the water unintentionally. The food still tasted great so I am not complaining.
I think I might buy the other pressure cooker pot set that Costco has on sale. But if you've never owned one of these this model is a good start..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 23, 2012

Small, but works great!

Pros: safe, great job cooking, timesaver, easy to operate, ergonomic, efficient
Cons: wish it was a 10 quart size
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I had wanted to make my own bean soups and stews from scratch but didn't want to wait the inordinate amount of time cooking in the traditional method requires. And I was uncomfortable using a stove-top pressure cooker because of the safety issues.
I bought this Cuisinart pressure cooker several years ago and still use it several times a month. It is great! I can put my ingredients in, set the controls, and then let it work its magic. I don't have to watch it because it goes to "keep warm" setting automatically and won't let you open it until the pressure dissipates.
I just wish it was a 10 quart because there are so may more things I could do with it at that size.
I have no regrets buying this and you won't have any regrets getting it too.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington
Date:May 3, 2011

Love it, but its failing after 8mths

Pros: worked great at first!
Cons: failing to presurize after 6mths
Model Number: 1200PC
"I love to pressure cook, it saves so much time. But I hate to say that after 8mths I am having the same issue that some are having with it not building pressure. I have taken great care of my cooker. I started noticing it failing at about 6mths, and tried to give it the benefit of the doubt. It worked 1/2 the time, But it's just not building up the pressure anymore. My last try was cooking chicken and I tried 3 times before giving up and putting the chicken in the oven to finish cooking. I cleaned every crevis I could think of and it still was failing on me. My pressure releavse valve was parallell to the handle, everything was sealed...it just didnt work anymore. Im sad, but Im returning it tonight and hopefully will find another brand without this problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>