Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Cuisinart updates a classic! Our brushed stainless pressure cooker is safe, easy to use, cooks up to 70% faster than conventional methods and cooks healthier, too. Steam trapped in the pot builds up pressure that creates hotter temperatures, and the pot is so tightly sealed that vitamins and minerals can't boil away. Foods stay moist and flavors stay true. Features variable pressure and temperature settings, plus Browning, Simmering and Sauté functions for perfect roasts, stews, vegetables, cheesecake or custard. The Cuisinart™ Pressure Cooker is absolutely safe, with a lid that has to be locked in place before pressure builds, and stays locked until pressure is released. Cook faster, eat healthier, with Cuisinart! Features: 6-Quart Capacity   Digital thermostat, 99-minute timer and LED countdown display   Programmed temperature settings: low and high pressure, browning, simmer, sauté and automatic keep warm   Non-Stick Cooking pot   Stainless Steel trivet   Cool-touch side handles   Dishwasher safe cooking pot and trivet   Dimensions: 13"L x 13"W x 14.6"H   Weight: 12.57 lbs.   UL listed   3-year limited warranty   For further product information please call Cuisinart at 1-800-726-0190 Model: EPC-1200PC
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
(out of 106 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
11
91 of 106(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Review 21 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:December 14, 2009

Very, Very Useful! (at least 1-2/week)

"This is a wonderful product! It comes up to temperature quickly, the pressure nozzle doesn't "jiggle" as often as other stove top units. The container is metal and removable, making cleanup very very easy.
Pot roasts turn out fantastic, and beans or other "all day" favorites can be cooked quickly. Growing up in New Orleans, red beans and rice was a favorite staple. This cooker prepares that dish perfectly!
Another great feature is it has settings for browning, simmering, and sauteing, so you can prepare dishes with fewer pots getting dirty."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Littleton, CO
Date:March 19, 2011

My vote for best kitchen purchase of the year

Pros: really tasty food really quick.
Cons: not self cleaning
Model Number: EPC-1200
"The Mrs and I bought this when our slow cooker pooped out and after reading some of the other reviews. The capability of this pressure cooker was understated.
Mashed potatoes - if you make nothing else it would be worth it. They are fluffy and tastier than any we have ever made.
Vegetables are also taken to a whole new level of yum. And I'm currently learning how to cook beans. Chili beans, pinto beans, so far everything I've put into this cooker comes out better than I've ever been able to make with a slow cooker or stove.
I've never used a stove top pressure cooker, but being able to set the timer on this unit seems to make it extremely hard to mess up the cook cycle.
I very highly recommend this pressure cooker.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Banning, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Greatist invention since sliced bread

Pros: very easy to use once the basics are mastered
Cons: it took me a while to digest and understand the, directions., recipes included were very helpful in helping me, to learn how to use the cooker.
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"EPC-1200PC Electric Pressure Cooker. By far a big improvement over the stove top pressure cooker. Different settings for Browning, Low Pressure, High Pressure, Simmer, etc. I Like the automatic shift to WARM when the time is up."
Review 24 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Henderson, NV
Date:March 15, 2011

Cuisinart Electric Pressure Cooker

Pros: great tasting food, multipurpose
Cons: not true to actual cook time
Model Number: EPC-1200
"This item is truly great! It does combine many cooking appliances into one (rice cooker, pressure cooker, crockpot, frying pan, dessert maker, etc). Food does come out tasting great. It does save a little bit of cooking time but not as much as I expected. Most recipes still require you to do prep work and browning the meat before actually pressure cooking. Also, the actual pressure cook time is not true since it takes time for the pressure to build up. For example, a 10 minute pressure time really takes about 22 minutes to complete. This is not like a crockpot where you just dump all ingriedients in and wait. It requires more interaction. Not too sure about the claim that vitamins and minerals stay in the cooker since its does not evaporate. The steam eventually gets released so I think the vitamins and minerals are released with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, Va.
Date:June 29, 2013

Love This Cooker!

Pros: easy to use easy to clean!, seems very safe not scary at all!
Cons: pressure valve 'on' zone could be marked better.
Model Number: Model: EPC-1200PC
"This pressure cooker has made such a difference in our house. I hate to cook much in the hot summers, but using a pressure cooker really helps keep the heat out of the kitchen! I love how easy this is to clean, just pop the interior plate and gasket off, give the whole works a good wash and let it dry. I have not had any problems with the non-stick finish at all. I only have 2 suggestions for improvement: First, the 'lip' around the top tends to be hard to clean really well, and the timer panel could be a bit more sophisticated. It's OK as it is, but if you go over your desired time you have to start over. Not a big deal at all, and if it means keeping the price in this range then we'll deal with it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Idaho
Date:September 4, 2010

Works great!!

"I have been looking at pressure cookers for a long time, have been a little afraid of the old style stove top ones due to horror stories. But this cooker is great! Example ~ I came home from work and the roast I had removed from the freezer before I left was still frozen like a brick. I browned it, sauteed the onions, added beef stock and potatoes, set the timer for 99 minutes and went to complete other tasks. After the 99 minutes was up, I let it cool down some on its own and then released the pressure. The meat was falling apart tender and the potatoes weren't overdone. I would recommend this without hesitation."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Thornton, CO
Date:July 18, 2012

This has been a blessing

Pros: fast cooking, timer, low + high pressure settings, browning option, sauteeing option, easy cleanup
Cons: only reaches max of 10 psi, small if you want to cook larger items/quantities
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"Bought this in Feb '12 and have used it many times without fail. Once you understand how the pressure needs to build up (and not let it escape through the release valve) everything takes care of itself. Meat, poultry, veggies .. it's all so fast and easy to cook! The downside is that the pressure only gets to 10 PSI (something Cuisinart doesn't advertise) which means slightly longer cooking times for most recipes you find online which usually use 15PSI. But the automation of throwing your stuff inside, setting a time and letting it work more than makes up for the lower pressure. Makes great cooked veggies for our 1 year old boy and in minimal time. Some people complain about the cleanup but with the pot, lid, sealing ring and ring cover being removable, I find it very easy to clean."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:seattle, wa
Date:October 24, 2011

One-pot Ease

"I bought this pressure cooker to prepare healthy one-pot meals, and after a month and several one-pots: a definite success. I'm a fitness minded person and my dietary goals are convenient and cheap, clean carbohydrates and lean proteins.
I wanted to tighten up my diet with whole grains like wheat berries, groats, brown rice, quinoa, legumes like dry lentils, pinto beans, and of course, meats. I shop at a natural foods store in the bulk section and buy whatever whole grain looks interesting at usually less than a dollar a pound (10 servings).
Tough to cook, hard winter wheat berries cook in 35 minutes, easily 1/3rd of a simple boil, and there is no boil-over, burning the pot or monitoring. Just add everything in one pot, set the timer and walk away. The machine turns to 'keep warm' after the cycle, so I just turn it off when I remember to.
A lot of folks are cooking for speed or taste, and I'm sure that this machine can do that too. I'm speaking for ability and convenience to cook healthy and cheap. I generally cook the day before and eat leftovers for 3-5 days. For example, on a Sunday I combined 6 cups water, 4 frozen chicken breasts, 1.5 cups hard winter wheat berries, 0.5 cup lentils, a can of tomato sauce, 1T italian seasoning, 1T garlic, 1T dried onion, 2T olive oil, 1c dried mushrooms and set to high pressure cook 40 minutes, then natural pressure release, turned it off and let it stand overnight. The overall yield is about a 1 gallon zip lock. The food tastes great, 8+ servings lean protein in chicken, 6+ servings clean carbohydrate in the wheat, 2+ servings carbohydrate/protein in the lentils, 16+ servings that will last 3 or 4 days, for a total cost of less than $8, and seriously less than 10 minutes in prep, cook and packaging.
I hard boil 18 eggs with a 5 minute set time on low pressure.
I cook 5 pounds of yams (cut into 1 inch slices) or baby reds in 10 minutes.
Keep in mind, it takes time for the unit to get the temperature and pressure up before the timer starts. But at 1000 watts, it's doing it nearly as quickly as any other electric kitchen appliance. For speedier cooking cycles you can let the food warm up to room temp and use hot tap water. I prefer the convenience of cooking frozen food, less steps the better.
If you are looking to cook healthy in a convenient way, this unit is definitely recommended. The best part about a machine is that it does the tedious part of cooking for a time then stopping, and managing heat to keep the pressure and temperature consistent."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Battle Ground, WA
Date:December 4, 2012

My favorite Kitchen Appliance

Pros: no flame, locking lid so no burns, browns sautees simmers holds warm, can be plugged in anywhere
Cons: figuring out where to put the steam spout
"I could cook every meal in this appliance. I've converted all my crock pot meals over to this and have cut my time in half. It infuses the flavor into every bite. I can put meat in frozen, brown a roast or make my lasagna sauce. I honestly use my pressure cooker atleast 3 meals a week! I've owned it for 2 years and still haven't found anything wrong with this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, B.C.
Date:August 29, 2011

A Countertop Appliance

Pros: quick flavorful easy real food
Cons: pressurizing can double "cooking" time
"I have purchased many kitchen appliances that quickly end up in the pantry storage area, but this one has been on my countertop and in use since it arrived. Initially I had issues with getting the lid to seal properly. The instructions should say that the lid handle groove is to be right up against the rim with the slot (on the left). It took me 10 agonizing minutes to try to get the lid to seal, resulting in scraping of the inner teflon rim. My favorite so far is cooking risotto for company in half an hour, mostly on autopilot. So far I've been able to use normal recipes in the cooker or go online for recipes or to get ideas on how to modify an existing recipe. Perhaps it was luck but my first attempt at rice resulted in fluffy delicious rice that needed no draining. I've cooked beets, swiss chard & potatoes all in a fraction of normal cooking times. I used chicken broth for the swiss chard then used the water left from this to cook my beets. Amazing. In combo with a slow cooker, this appliance can cut a working parent's time by hours during the critical dinner hour and allow them to feed their kids real food. Ideally recipes would include approximate times for the cooker to get up to pressure as it can double cooking time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Juan PR
Date:June 11, 2010

Excellent Purchase

Pros: efficient, great value, fast
Cons: thin teflon coating
"I had always heard great things about electric pressure cookers, but never had an opportunity to own one till now.
This item has totally replaced our slow cooker (crockpot) and our rice cooker. It is a wonderful timesaver and the food comes out fabulous in a very short period of time.
The teflon coating seems a bit on the thin side on the inner pot so careful using any metal utensils. Other than that great appliance."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2011

Traditional ethnic food redo

Model Number: EPC-1200
"My most astounding discovery was that dolmathes (stuffed grape leave) could be made in my electric pressure cooker in only 12 minutes! It is a laborious process to mix and roll them. Cooking is usually about an hour. My biggest fear in experimenting with dolmathes was that I thought that the pressure from the cooker would unfurl the grape leaves. It didn't happen. Within 12 minutes (allowing the pressure to go down naturally) they were thoroughly cooked-no guessing if the rice was properly done. I have made custard, cheesecake, risotto, stew, dried beans (without soaking first) and many other dishes with amazing results. Love it. Wish that I had purchased it the very first time that I saw it displayed at Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:November 2, 2010

A Good Cook Ware

Cons: paint outside inset pot gets scratched off easily., not a stainless steel insert.
Model Number: EPC-1200
"Saves time, much better than the manual one I ordered from Costco. This one really cooks, I can just set it and forget it like others said, no nerve racking feeling like using the manual one, wish I could return the manual one, but, too late. It will be better if we have more recipes for it..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:May 25, 2012

My favorite kitchen workhorse

Pros: makes lower fat meats totally tender
"So easy to use and so much less worrisome than the old kind that Mom used to use that had us kids convinced that with one wrong move it would blow up the house! Use it at least two or three times each week. Major fast and healthy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:August 1, 2012

Good Product lousy documentation

Pros: excellent cooking properties, easy to clean, looks attractive
Cons: terrible instructions
"Thus far we have been very happy with this purchase, but it has only been a bit over a week, so this is a short term assessment of the product thus far. We have found it fairly easy to use once we figure out the basics. We found the instructions that come with it not very clear and so we had to wing it a bit to use it. In particular was some confusion about the steam pressure regulator that releases the steam or seals the unit. The instructions are not very clear on how to set the regulator. We found that counter to our intuition the word "pressure" ends up opposite the small handle and not next to the dot? I know this sounds confusing and it is. That is why at this point we would give it a 4 and not a 5.
Otherwise, so far so good. It is a well made product and it works as advertised. We have really come to enjoy the ease and short cook time of the pressure cooker."
Review 36 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:December 4, 2011

Great Product

"I have had other pressure cookers , but never an electric one. The external heat ones make a hissing sound that scares my dogs. This one is practically silent. That aside, I don't know how anyone get's buy without one of these. The multiple settings - simmer, saute, brown - in addition to the pressure cooking setting are great. Wonderful one pot meals. Turns round steak into melt in your mouth tenderness in 30 minutes. I use it to make pulled pork - recipes on line - with a little liquid smoke. I have delicious pulled BBQ pork in 30 minutes instead of 8 hours in my smoker. Get one today. It's the only kitchen gadget I have that I would say is life changing -- gives you back a lot of time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gilbert, AZ
Date:September 7, 2010

Far Better than my Stovetop Pressure Cooker

"I love this pressure cooker! About a year ago, I bought a stovetop pressure cooker, and although the psi rating is higher, it annoyed me to have to babysit it on the stove (and it cost about 3x as much as this Cuisinart). The Cuisinart is a dream--just set it and forget it (a big bonus for a mom of four). I can have refried beans from dry pintos in 45 minutes or so. Chicken breasts are done in less than 10 minutes. Rice cooks in no time flat (so I can get rid of my rice cooker). The different functions make it very versatile. It's a quality kitchen appliance that I use several times a week. Love, love, love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wyoming, MI
Date:January 25, 2011

Can't believe how fast I can cook a meal

Pros: easy to use
Cons: instruction manual leaves much to be desired!
Model Number: EPC-1200PC
"I was actually looking up rice cooker recipes when I came across Pressure cooker recipes. That got me interested. Costco had the best price and the best return policy. I am so happy with my pressure cooker. Its easy to setup and use. I was amazed at how fast I cooked swiss steak and it was so tender and delicious. I am excited to find new recipes. I am disappointed in the instruction manual, for someone like me who has never cooked with a pressure cooker, I had to go online to find answers to my questions. Also disappointed in the small number of recipes included with the cooker."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Anywhere we park our motor home
Date:October 3, 2011

LOVE LOVE this thing

Pros: fast tasty meals, no heating up kitchen, safe
Cons: cleaning instructions a little vague
"I've had this cooker since November of 2010. We are retired full time RV'ers but spend our winters in a park with a storage building, so I have to leave this appliance behind when we travel in the summer. I actually MISSED this while I was gone!!! I have NEVER had a bit of trouble with it. Every time I make chicken soup it's better than the last and the first time was the best I'd ever made!! Simple, fool proof (for me anyway), VERY tasty meals. Add to that, no heating up the kitchen (important in the desert..even in October) and you have the perfect appliance. The only problem I have had is following the instructions on cleaning the lid. It's important to do so or you will have problems with the valves sticking as I've seen other reviews mention. If you like to cook (or even more if you don't) you can't go wrong with this."
Review 40 for Cuisinart® Electric Pressure Cooker
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:June 16, 2010

My new favorite appliance

Pros: good healthy food fast and easy
Cons: wish for more recipes in book
"Been wanting one for a long time since talking with a friend who owns one and swears by its convenience. Makes perfect rice w/in 10 minutes, then keeps it hot and moist until ready to eat. Last night my daughter (who is learning to cook) made the balsamic pork chop recipe in the book. They were so moist and tasty. With the included wire screen we added seasoned potatoes (on top of the chops & onions) and all were cooked to perfection in literally 10 minutes. This isn't your Momma's cooker...its so much better!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>