Customer Reviews for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo

Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo

Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifier Wicks Combo The Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier is the only technology that combines the proven reliability of evaporative humidification with Vornado's signature Vortex Whole Room Circulation, resulting in a uniquely effective means to create a comfortable living space. Vornado's deep pitch blade circulator pulls large volumes of harsh, dry air through the unit and then pushes the moistened air further out into the room, providing complete and even humidification. It also recovers and circulates heat off of the ceiling for even room temperature. Vornado’s signature Vortex Technology for whole room humidification   3-speed (high, low, auto) whisper quiet operation   Electronic humidistat provides automatic humidity control   Easy-to-use push button panel with LED indicator lights allows you to choose your desired humidity level and fan speed   Vortex assisted humidification fully circulates all the air in the room up to 2 times each hour Large 1.5  gallon capacity and up to 2.6  gallon output in 24 hours Provides coverage up to 700 sq. ft. Spill-proof water tank Includes 4 extra genuine Vornado Evaporative Filters   Dimensions: 15.10"L x 10.25"W x 12.10"H   Weight: 7.25 lbs.   ETL listed   5 year limited warranty For product related questions, please contact Vornado at 1-800-297-0883. Model: HU1-0036-06
Average Customer Rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
(out of 101 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
26
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
9
77 of 101(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Review 1 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfield County CT
Date:December 6, 2009

Excellent

Pros: super quiet
Cons: wish it had a larger capacity
"Have two older Vornado with 4 gln tanks that are discontinued so bought this newer model.
Excellent, needs only one filter and extremely extremely quiet....great for the bedroom."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:West Chester, PA
Date:December 15, 2009

Excellent

"This humidifer delivers on its promises. It humidifies a room, or more, quietly and efficiently.
It needs to be cleaned once a week, and cleaning is suprisingly easy. It comes apart into three big pieces, and those parts are easily cleaned with a household disinfectant wipe. The filters need to be either bleached or replaced, both simple operations.
The fans are quiet. I am a light sleeper, and do not mind the sound of this humidifier.
It is easy to set up and operate. Also it is very nice-looking."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011
"You need to buy filters all the time - extra expense, I actually didn't check information about filters before buying this product. It runs queit only for small area, if you choose option for bigger room - it's very noisy. It doesn't stop when it's out of water, and you don't know that you have to refill it.
When I ran it for the first time it was very smelly (like burning plastic smell). Had it for one week, will return it to Costco
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Delta, Utah
Date:November 8, 2012

Excellent Product

Pros: works like it should quiet easy to setup & use
Cons: honestly can't think of one.
Model Number: Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier
"After reading many reviews on different humidifiers, we chose this one. Some people must be awfully sensitive to light and low noise.(note other reviews) Just put it in a corner farthest away from you. This unit functions perfectly - doing what it is supposed to do. The only time the fan is 'noisy' is if it is on High speed. I don't know why anyone would set it to High. It is easy to see the water level at anytime, easy to refill and water lasts up to 3 days @ Medium speed. Very Quiet @ Medium or Low speed, automatic shutoff when desired humidity level is achieved."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:February 20, 2012

A Powerful yet Quiet Humidifier

Pros: great output volume, extremely quiet at low speed, very easy to clean
Cons: owner's guide warns potential shipping damage, need to check sign of leaks prior to 1st use
Model Number: EVAP1/Model HU1-0027-28R
"Over the years I have used more than a few humidifiers, from warm-mist to ultrasonic, to evaporative ones, and this is the best humidifier I ever used.
Its output is more than enough to cover a good sized 2-bedroom apartment. When dew point is around 20 degree Fahrenheit and temperature at 70, the relative humidity is supposed to be 15% but this Vornado evaporative humidifier can easily keep our indoor relative humidity above 40%. It also has a very accurate monitor and is confirmed by two separate electronic hygrometers.
This model has three speed settings. At the low speed, the fan noise 6 inches away is only 60db as measured by sound level meter and drops quickly further away. Sitting at the corner it is so quiet that without seeing the speed indicator we often don't remember the machine is still running.
With the Vornado evaporative humidifier working flawlessly we end up turning off our ultrasonic humidifier most of the time since it has no built-in automatic humidity sensor and this evaporative humidifier is more than adequate to maintain a comfortable environment."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:November 4, 2010

Humidifies well but with usability issues

Pros: quiet operation, very even humidity distribution
Cons: small water capacity, can't see water level, overly bright led indicators, poor gasket design around refill
Model Number: Model HU1-0027-28R
"I purchased this product several weeks ago to provide additional moisture to our master suite after the Honeywell unit we've had for a number of years quit. The unit was intended for humidifying my 1000 sq ft master bedroom area during occasional times of very low humidity. I was very pleased after turning it on the first time. Output was good, distribution was great, and the unit wasn't overly noisy even at the highest output level. It was commendably quiet at the low setting, where I intended to keep it set most of the time. But then I ran into some usability issues. The first occurred when I turned off our lights to go to sleep that first evening. The LED indicator lights were so bright, they lit up a corner of the bedroom as bright as most night lights. I placed a piece of painters tape over the lights. Still two bright. I used a second piece but still required a third piece to get the light to a reasonable level. Cheap and tacky looking, but functional. The next issue came up the next morning. For style, the water tank is charcoal colored. That completely eliminates the ability to assess how much water is left in the unit, and whether it needs to be refilled. You must walk to the unit and lift it to assess if you need water. This is frustrating and inconvenient. When refilling the unit, there is a gasket to seal the intake/output knob. This gasket easily becomes dislodged with the twisting motion used to take the knob on or off. After a couple of leaks bringing the unit from my faucet to the base, I learned I have to address the issue each time I fill the unit. Very inconvenient. So while I like the unit from a functional standpoint, the usability inconveniences are a major shortfall. I will be retuning the unit and looking for something else."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Beaverton, Oregon
Date:April 17, 2010

Best humidifier

"I have had several humidifiers before, but after reading the reviews here, I thought I would give this one a shot.
It truly is a great machine. I put it in my bedroom and I love how quiet it can be. If I want a little white noise, I can turn it up.
It has a button where you can set it to 60% humidity. Once it reaches 60%, it shuts off. It comes on again when the level has dropped too far.
I would give this 10 stars if I could. Since I can't, I will buy another one for the downstairs.
Also... I no longer wake up in the middle of the night parched. I can sleep through the night now without waking up to a very dry throat!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:March 28, 2013

Best Humidifier

"Having used Vornado Humidifiers for over 15 years, I found this "new" design to be excellent. It is quiet, easy to operate, easy to maintain, and quite efficient. It continues my belief that Vornados are the best!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:November 7, 2012

Surprised by how quiet it is

Pros: quiet
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Evap1
"I have tried about 6 different kinds of humidifiers, and this is my favorite. It is easy to fill, very quiet - can hardly hear it on "low", not much louder on "med" - and is very simple to clean. I live in the desert Southwest, so humidifiers are a necessity, and I plan to order another one of these, and get rid of all others except the (very expensive) Venta, from Germany. The Vornado is a great value, and works extremely well. The extra filters that Costco includes are a great bonus, because I live in a very hard-water area. Definitely recommend!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2012

Guitar humidifier

Pros: set desired % humidity
"After having a guitar crack from the dry air, I started loading them with humidifiers in each guitar case but found that the humidity never got to the recommended level. I tried a bedside humidifier, but it couldn't even get a closet up to adequate humidity. So I tried one of these and it got the whole room up to the 45% humidity needed to keep the guitars healthy, not to mention making it more comfortable in the room. Even running continually full blast it goes a good 15 hours before needing to refill, and of course longer when you set set it to a percent humidity so that it shuts off when its work is done."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 3, 2014

Great for a Music Room

Pros: good price and it works!
Cons: none
"I'm using this humidifier to keep my music room at a constant 45% and it works great. My ukuleles are happy and now my wife is moving her violins into my room (a mixed blessing). I haven't had any problems filling the water tank or leaking."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Elizabeth, CO
Date:March 27, 2012

Great Humidifier !!!

Pros: price features quiet
Cons: none
"Bought 2 of these, as we live in a very dry state. Not long after firing them up, the static electricity in the house was gone. They are very quiet and have alot of features. Also serve as an air purifier."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

Not the right one.

"Used for a about a week, Not as efficient as they claim, used it in a medium size room, have to be in higher fan speeds to get some results (which was LOUD). lower fan speeds smooth though."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:March 25, 2013

"CostRight" product

Cons: need to check water fill level fairly often
Model Number: Evap3
"A very good product , and American made too. The low fan speed is so quiet that it is hard to tell if it is working. No fear, it is working just great, and everybody in the household is feeling better from the winter heat dryness."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:March 25, 2013

Vornado Humidifier

Pros: quiet operation, large tank, easy to fill, great to use as "white noise"
Cons: no automatice shutoff, no "low water level" indicator
Model Number: Evap3
"Good product, quiet on low for watching TV and perfect to use as my "white noise" while sleeping. Only drawback is that it does not have an automatic shutoff or low water level indicator. I tend to forget it is running because it is so quiet on low."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:March 4, 2013

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: doesn't make much noise and performs great.
Cons: led light is little bright but we got used to it.
"I live in NY and it has helped me almost stop snoring. I find this product very effective. My skin feels very smooth as well. I made sure to take time to write this review and would like to thank other reviewers to help me decide to buy this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:February 17, 2013

Much Better

Pros: excellent humidity control, quiet enough
Cons: led is a little bright (maybe alot), fan is a little too noisy on high setting
Model Number: Evap3
"I had the pureguardian™ 144-hour Ultrasonic Humidifier and kind of like it a little better, it held more water (but that did make it heavy to fill). However, it failed miserably after one year. I have not had this one that long yet but it gives you a lot more control over room humidity and my wife can fill it :-). Like others have stated, the blue light is quite bright but easy to cover. We love it and use it in a 400 sq foot bedroom and even though the fan is a little noisy on the high setting, you can get your humidity up during non sleep hours and the lower settings maintain the humidity just fine."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Date:January 23, 2013

Much more than expected

"It is my second humidifier and so far the best. I really love it. You don't feel steam coming from it as it was in my old one. The fan makes wonders! I use it for my kid's room and the humidity level comes back to normal within minutes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NW OHIO
Date:January 22, 2013

Is It Running

Pros: quiet, tank size just right, overall small stature, looks good and easy to hide
Cons: water level is hard to see as the tank is too dark, no empty tank light, continues to run with empty tank, all of these are easy to live with
"This is a very difficult product group to search for and obtain good information. There seems to be a never ending shift in Like & Unlike for the whole range of various Humidifiers. So I finally pulled the trigger on the Vornado. I'm glad I did. My house was really thirsty, as my humidity level prior to purchasing this was 21%. Now maintaining 48 - 50% is only a fill the tank every day and a half away.
It's quiet on low where it stays after the initial running. I had to run it on high for 2 or 3 days to quench my homes thirst.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vornado Whole Room Evaporative Humidifier with 4 Extra Humidifer Wicks Combo
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:April 2, 2012

humidifier

Model Number: Vornado
"At first view I thought the water resevoir was too small. But after using it, I found it to be just right. For one, if its too big, it then becomes heavier to lift and if you tend to get more fungus the longer you have the same water. It is nice and quiet and the water does last a 2 to 4 days dependent on how high you have the humitity. Overall I like it though I haven't looked for new filters yet.
I do see that the filter are fragile when handling and when wet.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>