Customer Reviews for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee

Ruta Maya’s Organic Medium Roasted Coffee is a mellow yet full-bodied roast. Mild acidity with very smooth and chocolately flavor. It has been certified organic by the USDA and uses 100% Arabica beans that are shade grown and hand picked by a cooperative of Maya Indian farmers in the Highlands of Chiapas, Mexico. Exceptional richness is derived from ancient growing techniques combined with gentle roasting to extract the ultimate in coffee depth and flavor.   Medium Roast Coffee   2 Count - 2.2 lbs. each   Certified Organic   Whole bean   100% Arabica, shade grown beans
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
69 of 79(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Review 61 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2011
"I like good coffee and I usually drink it black so I don't like to spend my money on coffee beans and then have to spend money on cream, sugar or anything else to put in my coffee. Ruta Maya Organic Coffee is the best I have ever had and when it is fresh ground, it is very robust but doesn't have the bitter taste that some coffee has."
Review 62 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naperville, IL
Date:January 19, 2011

great cup of coffee

"A product I truly enjoy each morning. I still am hopeful that Costco will carry Ruta Maya coffee in its stores. Until then it's great to be able to order on line."
Review 63 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Ruta Maya:)

"I love this coffee. It was sent to me by a friend in TX. After that I had to continue to have it. My costco doesn't carry it. So I went online and searched. Costco had the best deal. Shipping is included in the price quoted!!! Thanks Costco..I'll keep coming back for more!!!"
Review 64 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:January 18, 2011

BEST COFFEE EVER!!!

Pros: taste, price, organic
"This is the best and smoothest coffee I have ever drank. And the price is right. I am delighted to find they sell it online. I am so sad every year they discontinue it in the store"
Review 65 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oveland Park, Kansas
Date:January 3, 2011

Great Coffee

Pros: good prie for a premium coffee.
Cons: no con
"We tried the sample in the store and bought the medium roast. We both loved it. The taste was full without being bitter. We ordered online and received the deep roast and liked it even better. We usually buy the Costco Columbian coffee at Costco, but enjoy this more."
Review 66 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:November 17, 2010

The Best

"I tried this in the store and went back the next day to pick some up! I love coffe and organic is a must! This is the best coffee I have ever had."
Review 67 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MI
Date:November 6, 2010

Wonderful Flavor

Pros: wonderful flavor
Cons: have to make sure i plan ahead so i don't run out.
"We enjoy a medium roast and this is wonderful. Smooth flavor. Costco price is unbelievable compared to other online sources. Will continue to purchase thru Costco."
Review 68 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX.
Date:November 3, 2010

Still Excellent and available in Dallas Stores

Pros: the best coffee on earth
Cons: limited to no supply in stores.
"I reviewed the Dark Roast of this coffee, and regardless of roast (medium or dark), Ruta Maya is still the best coffee I ever had. And I drink it every day. Its fantastic in cappaccinos where hints of chocolate are there, or smooth and cremy in Iced coffee. I used to be able to find it in my local wherehouse in Atlanta, but they discontinued it, and it was only available online. Till I visited the Plano, TX location, and was in heaven. An entire pallet of Ruta Maya just waiting to be bought."
Review 69 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison WI
Date:September 17, 2010

Smooth and Rich

Pros: sweet & smooth
Cons: online only
"We're on our third bag of this coffee and are still in agreement that it is absolutely deliciously smooth and sweet tasting-our favorite to date and one I will continue to order and keep on hand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Avon, Ohio
Date:June 29, 2010

WE LOVE THIS COFFEE

"We love this coffee and so did all our friends to whom we served this coffee after a lovely dinner party. Everyone wanted to know what it was and where they could buy their own. We strongly recommend this excellent coffee to everyone we know."
Review 71 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:June 21, 2010

Best Coffee EVER!

"Tried this first as a sample at our local Costco and LOVED it! Great flavor, not bitter, doesn't upset my stomach no matter how many cups I have...3rd cup tastes just as great as the first, if not better! If you love coffee, this is a great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:monmouth, nj
Date:May 14, 2010

very good coffee

"rich, round, full flavor, smooth mouth feel. produced nice crema. second & third cup as good as first."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yorktown, VA
Date:May 12, 2010

Wowzers

"What a wonderful coffee - smooth, rich, excellent morning brew! Organic as well as helping the small group of farmers...good job Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mayberry NC
Date:May 8, 2010

Excellant

"Very good coffee.....works well in our Saeco Expresso machine. Will buy again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lodi, CA
Date:April 26, 2010

Great, Strong Coffee

"I have never tried this coffee before but I do like organic blends. This coffee was excellent. It had a fully bodied, smooth taste yet it had enough bite! I love strong coffee but this one is gentle on your stomach when that's all you're having for breakfast. I'll buy some more!"
Review 76 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 26, 2010

Excellent for superautomatic espresso machine

Pros: full-body without a bitter aftertaste, great for automatic espresso machines
Cons: order enough to sustain the inevitable shortage
"Always on the lookout for a medium/light roast for my espresso machine. I prefer full-bodied coffee without the bitter aftertaste. This coffee is perfect for this role. Once you start making your own, you will never go to Starbuck's, Peet's or Coffee Bean, again. Maybe Diedrich's (because they also honor the lighter roasts) but that is the only one..."
Review 77 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010

simply the best coffee we've ever had....

Pros: tons of crema, loads of chocolate flavor
Cons: the thought that it may not always be available, i've had so much my body can't take more caffeine
"Wow. Words can not do justice to how great this coffee is. We were in the store and the were giving out free samples and we decided to try a bag. Are we ever glad that we did. We have a semi-automatic espresso maker (we do the grinding, tamping and turn the water on and off etc.), and when grind the beans and brew right away the results are amazing. TONS and TONS of crema on top. In a 2 ounce shot, the entire top half is crema. There are chocolate hues throughout the cup with very little if any bitterness, just full-on flavor for the entire cup. The only other bean that has come close to these is another organic "chocolate" type bean that we got for $16 a pound from a REALLY expensive organic grocery chain, and that wasn't even as good as these beans. If you are at all on the fence about trying these beans, try try try them. you won't be disappointed, and in the unlikely event that you are, you have the safety of knowing that you got them from costco... home of the worlds best return policy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Marais, MN
Date:November 27, 2009

Great coffee

"We generally buy Starbucks house blend but thought we would try this coffee as we really enjoyed some coffee we bought while in Mexico a few years back. This is a wonderful blend that is smooth and flovorful hot or cold...a must try!"
Review 79 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:November 24, 2009

Excellent smooth, balanced Chiapas coffee

"These excellent Chiapas coffee beans have a delicate aroma, medium body and natural chocolate flavor. With sweetened Vanilla soy milk this coffee has flavors like fine liquid chocolate candy.
It makes an excellent crema with the use of my Gaggia espresso machine. I use a burr grinder as well to get a uniform grind.
Upon tasting my first cup I noticed the chocolate flavor and it was smooth; not too complex in flavors.
Now after using up the bag of coffee I will purchase more. I have given some of this coffee as a gift as well.
The best Chiapas (Mexico) coffees are known for the traits of these particular Chiapas coffee beans, such as the medium body, chocolate flavors with an acidity reminiscent of dry white wines. This is a well balanced coffee.
It is organically grown coffee too. I like this coffee a lot. I normally drink Jamaica Blue Mountain (pure) or the blend that costco.com sells by Magnum; but I like this Chiapas coffee more than the blend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4