Customer Reviews for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee

Ruta Maya’s Organic Medium Roasted Coffee is a mellow yet full-bodied roast. Mild acidity with very smooth and chocolately flavor. It has been certified organic by the USDA and uses 100% Arabica beans that are shade grown and hand picked by a cooperative of Maya Indian farmers in the Highlands of Chiapas, Mexico. Exceptional richness is derived from ancient growing techniques combined with gentle roasting to extract the ultimate in coffee depth and flavor.   Medium Roast Coffee   2 Count - 2.2 lbs. each   Certified Organic   Whole bean   100% Arabica, shade grown beans
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
(out of 79 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
4
69 of 79(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Review 1 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yorktown, VA
Date:April 2, 2012

Great coffee for a good price

Pros: superb coffee for pennies a day
Cons: not available in the store itself
"I've had Ruta Maya's dark roast coffee in the past but decided to try the milder, though still robust, medium roast, as the less-oily beans are supposedly easier on my burr grinder. It has a rich, full flavor, very satisfying for those like myself who prefer a full-tasting, non-bitter coffee. I can't say enough good things about it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winston-Salem, NC
Date:April 19, 2011

Best Flavor Overall

Pros: tasty but not oily
Cons: available only online
"We have tried many of the Costco coffees, several of the Seattle-based brands and others. This one is the best and most liked by all. This medium coffee's selling point is flavor, and it is rich and consistent, whether as drip grind coffee or espresso. It is NOT a dark French type roast and is not oily. Our burr grinder loves that, and it seems to cut down on "static cling". (Hey - No need to add fabric softener!) We wish Costco would sell it in the store in addition to Ruta Maya's good Dark roast."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2013

Best Coffee

"Please put this IN the stores. I am hooked. Would love a mild roast too.
Amazing flavor.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2012

Best Purchase Ever

Cons: it's being sold online only
Model Number: Item# 25526
"I absolutely love this coffee. I appreciate the qualities of flavor, aroma, body & acidity playing in harmony without overpowering each other in this coffee. Get your own grinder and have the best mind-refreshing cup of coffee especially in the morning."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 13, 2012

love it!

"I had a sample of this coffee at Costo during a road show. Delicious! I usually drink Dunkin donuts coffee and Newmans own. I really love the taste of this coffee more than any other brands that I've tried. I'm so happy to find out Costco sells it online."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2012

Ruta Maya is for us!

"Coffee is so subjective.
We like Ruta Maya Medium Roast the best.
A long time ago we found a Coffee Survey that helped us define our coffee taste. So if you like Cantaloupe over strawberries and enjoy a mixture of dark and milk chocolate you too might really love this coffee.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:December 22, 2011

Horrible

Model Number: Organic Medium Roast
"Flat, no flavor at all. very disappointing,
a complete opposite to their Cubita coffee that is excellent.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Key West, FL
Date:May 31, 2011

Amazing, rich, delicious!

Pros: fresh and delicious
"I order this constantly, to the point that this is the only coffee I will serve now...gourmet beans, rich flavor and great chocolate hint on the finish! You will love it!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2011

Best Coffee Ever

Pros: very great price
Cons: none
"Came within a few days. The best cup of coffee I've ever had!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:March 7, 2011

One of the best Coffees.

Pros: really great taste
Cons: have to increase the amount of coffee used.
"This coffee is excellent. I was quite surprised by its great taste. I love good coffee and have brewed KONA as well as JBM and the RUTA MAYA coffee is right up there with those two.The only complaint is that I had to use a lot more coffee than I normally would, hence one star less than a perfect rating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2011

Decent Coffee

Pros: very smooth, low acidity
Cons: one dimesional
"I gave this a try after my local warehouse stopped carrying the Green Mountain Our Blend. I am not disappointed and also not blown away. It is pretty good for the price but it lacks a complexity that I look for in coffee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison WI
Date:September 17, 2010

Smooth and Rich

Pros: sweet & smooth
Cons: online only
"We're on our third bag of this coffee and are still in agreement that it is absolutely deliciously smooth and sweet tasting-our favorite to date and one I will continue to order and keep on hand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Madison, WI
Date:June 21, 2010

Best Coffee EVER!

"Tried this first as a sample at our local Costco and LOVED it! Great flavor, not bitter, doesn't upset my stomach no matter how many cups I have...3rd cup tastes just as great as the first, if not better! If you love coffee, this is a great product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Yorktown, VA
Date:May 12, 2010

Wowzers

"What a wonderful coffee - smooth, rich, excellent morning brew! Organic as well as helping the small group of farmers...good job Costco!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mayberry NC
Date:May 8, 2010

Excellant

"Very good coffee.....works well in our Saeco Expresso machine. Will buy again!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2010

simply the best coffee we've ever had....

Pros: tons of crema, loads of chocolate flavor
Cons: the thought that it may not always be available, i've had so much my body can't take more caffeine
"Wow. Words can not do justice to how great this coffee is. We were in the store and the were giving out free samples and we decided to try a bag. Are we ever glad that we did. We have a semi-automatic espresso maker (we do the grinding, tamping and turn the water on and off etc.), and when grind the beans and brew right away the results are amazing. TONS and TONS of crema on top. In a 2 ounce shot, the entire top half is crema. There are chocolate hues throughout the cup with very little if any bitterness, just full-on flavor for the entire cup. The only other bean that has come close to these is another organic "chocolate" type bean that we got for $16 a pound from a REALLY expensive organic grocery chain, and that wasn't even as good as these beans. If you are at all on the fence about trying these beans, try try try them. you won't be disappointed, and in the unlikely event that you are, you have the safety of knowing that you got them from costco... home of the worlds best return policy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:November 24, 2009

Excellent smooth, balanced Chiapas coffee

"These excellent Chiapas coffee beans have a delicate aroma, medium body and natural chocolate flavor. With sweetened Vanilla soy milk this coffee has flavors like fine liquid chocolate candy.
It makes an excellent crema with the use of my Gaggia espresso machine. I use a burr grinder as well to get a uniform grind.
Upon tasting my first cup I noticed the chocolate flavor and it was smooth; not too complex in flavors.
Now after using up the bag of coffee I will purchase more. I have given some of this coffee as a gift as well.
The best Chiapas (Mexico) coffees are known for the traits of these particular Chiapas coffee beans, such as the medium body, chocolate flavors with an acidity reminiscent of dry white wines. This is a well balanced coffee.
It is organically grown coffee too. I like this coffee a lot. I normally drink Jamaica Blue Mountain (pure) or the blend that costco.com sells by Magnum; but I like this Chiapas coffee more than the blend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Sunny San Diego CA
Date:April 30, 2010

No Chocolate, Thankfully

Pros: easy to buy via costco.com
Cons: not a superior blend
Model Number: Medium Roast
"I guess I'm not smart enough to taste any chocolate aftertaste. Good thing, since I despise flavored coffee. This product (Ruta Maya Medium Roast) is a fairly middle-of-the-pack coffee, its status as "organic" notwithstanding. I consider the Jamaican Blue Mountain Blend (available at Costco.com) to be a superior product, and it costs less. Sure, this Ruta Maya product is acceptable, perhaps even good, but it is not superior by any means. I'll be buying more Blue Mountain in the future."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Crescent City, CA
Date:July 7, 2010

Great Coffe for the price!

Pros: great value
Cons: none i can drink this all day long!!!!!
"If you are on a tight budget and can not afford the Jamaican or Kona coffes, this makes a great substitute to serve your employees\ or subordinates.
I used to by the employees Folgers, now I buy them this and they all think they died and went to coffee heaven.
Highly recommend for all except those coffe snobs that must have their Jamaican Blue Mountan as thick as syrup, loaded with caffeine and smooth as a baby's bottom.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ruta Maya® Organic Medium Roast Coffee
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:September 25, 2012

Big disappointment

Cons: no flavor
"I’ve had “good” beans from the Costco retail outlet but they have all lacked a little something for me. So after seeing the rave reviews on this site for the Rita Maya I simply had to give it a try. What a disappointment. I normally use four well rounded tablespoons in my twelve cup (demitasse, actually) coffee maker and started with that amount for this bean. There was no flavor. Zero, zilch! So the next and last batch I used five heaping tablespoons of coffee and barely eeked out a little bit of smooth flavor but nothing else. What flavor there was, was fair, but so minimal that I’m taking it all back to Costco for a refund. Thank you Costco for your great return policy."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>