Customer Reviews for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower

Moves up to 800 lbs of Snow Per Minute!
Average Customer Rating:
2.783 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
8
11 of 23(48%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Review 1 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Middletown, NJ
Date:February 14, 2010

Easy to break

Pros: its snow thrower power is ok
Cons: bad design easy to break
"This snow thrower's back wheel's inner side is held just by a small piece of clip. It is so easy to break. When it broke, the back wheel will be moving left and right at the back wheel axle and make the snow thrower not usable."
Review 2 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:February 13, 2010

Not sure I would buy again

Cons: not a sturdy machine
Model Number: 622U1
"The Snow Joe was not what I expected when it came to snow over 3 inches high. In a recent snow storm we had 28 inches of snow and I knew it would not clear it easily, but the blower started to fall apart. First, the screw that holds down the shaft broke off, then one of the screws that held the handle came off. Then during the second snow storm left 6 inches of snow on the ground, the bottom of the blower broke off.
Customer services reps for Snow Joe said I had to mail the entire unit back to get repaired and would not just mail the parts to me so I could make the repairs myself. I just bought the blower and none of the parts that were damaged were under warrenty, so I have to pay out of pocket for repairs and shipping, both ways.
"
Review 3 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2010

Great buy for the money

"Have used this thrower 8 times (average of 4 - 6'' each) over the past week to clear 1800' driveway in under 1 hour. Must use a little common sense with it, Make a loop to attach the cord. Spray the inside & shoot with silicone to help with sticking snow. If possible try to keep the discharger aimed rather straight & it will not clog. It also helps to take slightly less than a full width on each pass."
Review 4 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:February 4, 2010

Did not work

"Bought this right after Thanksgiving. It arrived within a few days. It was not until after 1st of year that I needed to use it. Put it together one night during 3 inch snow and it never started. Changed cords and outlets serveral times but it never started.
Will be taking this back to Costco this weekend."
Review 5 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 10, 2010

worth the money

"I have a large driveway and a bit of a front sidewalk. The Snowjoe works surprisingly well for my situation. I don't have to inhale fumes from a gas engine and with the 100 foot cord (my own cord) I don't feel guilty into plowing my whole block for everyone.
It also allows me to control where the snow blows. It is MUCH better than the "power shovels" for the same price which don't do anything over a few inches of snow. The SnowJoe is the best device that I have bought for the snow.
"
Review 6 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:troy mi
Date:January 9, 2010

worst purchase ever

"Ordered the snow blower online and assembled it quickly and tried in 3 inch snow on my small driveway.
It only worked for one pass and stopped working. I tried couple of times again after that but it doesn't start. Change Chord types but no change.
It's a poor quality product.
I am returning it to costco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sharon, MA
Date:January 8, 2010

Best Purchase Ever

"Used it twice. A foot of snow and 5" of snow. Works GREAT!"
Review 8 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Howell, NJ
Date:December 22, 2009

Worked like a champ!

Model Number: Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
"I have wanted a snow blower for the past several years. I was getting tired of the aches and pains after shoveling. The metal auger blades sold me along with the design and size for the money so I ordered the Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower on a Monday night and it was sitting on my door step that Wednesday night when I arrived home from work. I put it together in 5 minutes on Friday night, December 18th. By Sunday we had about 20+ inches of snow. We cleared a 20’ wide by 50’ driveway in about an hour. By tilting the unit back and taking it slow it “worked like a champ” cutting through the snow. We even had to clear out 8 feet into the street just to get to the single path the plow made in the street. BTW It’s now Tuesday December 22nd and the town still hasn’t come back to clear the streets. We then took the Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower to my parent’s house which has a 20x150’ long and a 40’ u turn driveway. My dad really needed the help. Four of us and the Snow Joe cleared that in just 2 hours. I just convinced my dad to purchase one.
The only issue I had was the power cord kept coming lose. A strap of some sort should have been provided or a locking devise should have been designed to keep the power cord in place."
Review 9 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chicago Il
Date:December 22, 2009

Can I give a negative star rating

Model Number: 622U1
"I got this product to be a a bit more green. This machine was a waste of green and cannot go back to Costco quickly enough. Took the thing out of the box, got about a foot before no movement on the blade. Figured it was the belt, so I opened up the side to see the belt was off. After a good 20 minutes of tugging and pulling, I replaced the belt. After 1 1/12 feet of cleared snow the thing stopped dead. This time the belt had worked it way under a metal flywheel and melted. Called SnowJoe and spoke to someone who could care less. He told me to send it back and they could fix it. Great so now I am out the shipping cost and without the blower for who knows how many weeks. No way. Costco here it come!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sterling, VA
Date:December 22, 2009

Broke on first use

"Bought this snow blower a few weeks back and used it this weekend. Had not used it for more than 10 minutes when one of the wheels broke loose. This is being returned."
Review 11 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 20, 2009

Cheaply made

"Used it today on about12inches of snow, it started out fine than I heard a popping sound and snow beguns shooting backwards. Inspection revealed a big chunk of plastic cracked/missing. Must of hit a small peble. Driveway is asphalt paved. This is one is going back to Costco. I would not recommend this product."
Review 12 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:December 20, 2009

Works Very Well

Pros: cleared 10" of snow easily, light weight, instant start - no need to store smelly gasoline
Cons: not for heavy wet snow.
"I just used this to clear my 80 foot driveway of 10 inches of snow. It is as powerful as my 4.5HP single stage gas snow blower, but obviously does not compare to a 2 stage $1,000 machine. It is light weight and easy to push up hill, and I was also able to lift it up to clear my deck. It does exactly what it was designed for, and that is to clear powdery snow of reasonable depth. Being electric, it starts immediately in cold weather unlike my gasoline machine."
Review 13 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:December 20, 2009

Worked Awesome! Thanks Costco!

Pros: stores easily - no maintenance, lightweight
Cons: put a headlight on it
Model Number: 622U1
"Ordered this a few weeks ago from Costco.com on sale. From the previous reviews, I only expected to be able to use this on 4 to 6 inch snowfalls. Well, here on Long Island, NY December 19th - 20th we were hit with 24 inches of snow. This machine performed amazingly well. It throws the snow just as far as any gas powered machine, and had no problem doing the deep stuff from the plows on the end of the driveway. It also cleans right down to the driveway surface. You can do and entire driveway in no time at all, compared to back-breaking shoveling. It's very lightweight, and if the handle is folded down, talkes almost no room to store, or you could easily hang it up in the garage or basement. Just be sure to buy a 100' heavy duty extension cord that stays flexible in the cold (Costco sells these too - bright yellow). I would recommend this machine hands down over a gas powered thrower."
Review 14 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Baltimore, MD
Date:December 19, 2009

Love this little machine!

Pros: compact, light weight, easy stops and starts, easy assembly, low maintenance
Cons: extension cords can be a hassle
Model Number: 622U1
"This is my first snow thrower, and I wanted to go with the electric model because deep snowfalls are a rarity here on the coast. Two weeks after the Snow Joe arrived we had a 20" + snow storm. While only rated for a 12-16" snow fall, Joe was able to chew through the powdery snow without difficulty. Works best with short passes across rather than long runs down the driveway or sidewalk. Throws the snow 15-25 feet with the deflector at its highest setting. Cord management is important to avoid tripping over your cord or catching it in the auger. I recommend investing in a 100 ft 14 gauge cold weather extension cord for best performance. I was finished with my driveway while my neighbors were still trying to get their gas-powered snow throwers started."
Review 15 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Northern VA
Date:December 19, 2009

Does the job but use as advertised

Pros: light weight easy to use
Cons: ac plug needs a better connector to machine
Model Number: Snow Joe 622U1
"12-19-09 Nor'easter handled the job but kept it at 6-8" each pass. Plug attaches to handle and kept popping out, recommend a couple of ties for the extension cord. It does what it says it will and a little more, but don't think it will handle more than 10" at a time without clogging. Aside from the plug issue, once resolved, worked well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 19, 2009

Don't just keep the shovel away yet

Pros: great price lightweight
Cons: average snow cleaning performance
"Took about 15 mins to assemble. Light weight & easy start with electric.
In 1.5 inch snow, the performance is average, the chute jammed a few times, the wires keep on getting in the way, small wheels & I ended up using the Shovel for whatever this could not clean up.
Summary: Average performance, too many hassles, maybe saved me a few mins (vs. shoveling) but now worth the trouble. It's going back to Costco."
Review 17 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Detroit, MI
Date:December 15, 2009

Use Caution Before Ordering.

Model Number: Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
"Shipping was fine, transit faster than promised, but upon receipt found that there was critical internal damage. The carton was fine, but the top housing, which is in the area of the snow exhaust chute, was broken indicating rough handling or poor packaging or design (it is plastic, not steel). I'd like to try it again for my light-medium use as it is the first electric thrower I have ever seen, but be watchful for defect or premature breaks."
Review 18 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:staten island,ny
Date:December 15, 2009
"got it, put it together, tried it, did not work at all, no power. will be returning it asap. big waste of time!"
Review 19 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2009

it works ok

Pros: it does work, it can be stored indoors unlike gas blowers, it can be hauled up stairs to do decks
Cons: it does not work on ice or really thick snow
Model Number: 622U1
"This is a light duty snowblower, do not expect it to grind through heavy icy snow. it will throw snow15' or more. It has no power drive so you have to push it through the snow, for thicknesses much past 4" it is better to cut a half or third swath so that the drag is not so high.
Heavy snow will kick the deflector to the highest setting, just leave it there. Really heavy chunks can dislodge the deflector assembly from the top of the blower.
I tripped a 20 amp breaker eating into some heavy wet snow."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Snow Joe 622U1 Electric Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:December 10, 2009

reasonable for light snow

Pros: easy to start
Cons: snow shoot gets clogged easily, belt breaks very easily
Model Number: Snow Joe 622 UI
"My wife bought this for me as an early Christmas present. I used it in about 6 inches of heavy snow. In 30 minutes of usage the chute that throws the snow, clogged at least 12 times, cleared easily with a hammer handle, but it is still an annoyance. Later, with a chunk of ice, the belt broke while handling (ice was thrown by a snow plow). It did throw the snow, sometimes requiring a couple of passes, but is faster than shovelling."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>