Customer Reviews for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed

At this time orders for this item can not be delivered to Florida addresses BEFORE ORDERING – Be sure to check your local building and zoning codes and ensure that all appropriate permits have been acquired. Always check with your local building authority and homeowners association for restrictions/requirements before finalizing your purchase. The Burlington ready-to-assemble wood storage shed by Yardline combines traditional styling, superior strength, enhanced durability and outstanding functionality. The Burlington’s 7’ tall walls provide ample space for long-handled tools, ladders, skis and now feature 2" x 4" lumber framing. The extra wide 64” double doors offer easy access for bicycles, lawn tractors and ATVs. New floor design and locking T handle provide safety and security second to none. The operable window delivers needed light and ventilation. The Burlington includes two 8’ shelves along the back wall as well as a 32 sq. ft. storage loft…perfect for storing holiday decorations, totes, coolers and more. This exceptional storage building will look great in any backyard and offers an affordable solution for all of your storage needs For questions regarding this item, please call Yardline at 1-800-844-9273   Everything is pre-cut…nothing to saw!   Includes the most solid floor system in its class. Constructed of treated 2" x 4" framing with 16” joist spacing. OSB decking is an engineered wood product designed for strength, durability and consistency, 5/8” sheets cover the floor frame providing years of safe and dependable storage   7’ tall walls are constructed of solid 2" x 4" lumber and provide 17% more storage capacity compared to standard 6’ high walls.   Storage loft provides 32 Sq. Ft. of overhead storage space   Includes two 8’ long by 11" wide shelves   Factory primed wood siding is treated to resist decay and termites   Features pre-assembled, 2 pre-hung 32” wide double doors (oversized 64” opening)   Doors operate on strong piano hinges with continuous contact to door frame   Includes locking T handle and assembly hardware   Operable aluminum window with tempered glass and removable insect screen   Includes 2 wall vents   Paint and shingle to match your home or suit your taste (paint & shingles not included)   768 cubic feet storage   Floor size: 12’ W x 8’ D   Side wall height: 7’ (nominal)   Peak height: 9’ (nominal)   Package dimensions: 96” L x 48” W x 19.5” H   Total weight: approximately 1,350 lbs.   15-year limited warranty Assembly Required: All parts are pre-cut and ready for assembly. Assembly requires intermediate carpentry skills and will require 2 people 2 days to complete: 1 day to assemble the shed and 1 day to paint, caulk and shingle the shed, paint and shingles not included.   Furnished by homeowner: Approx 2 gallons of exterior latex paint for siding   Approx 1 quart of exterior latex paint for trim   Approx 1 quart of exterior latex paint for doors   5 bundles of roofing shingles and appropriate nails/fasteners Tools needed: Hammer   Phillips screwdriver   Tape measure   Level   Ladder   Cordless drill   Painting tools   Safety Glasses   Model:  461049 / 454153
Average Customer Rating:
4.061 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
(out of 33 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
25 of 33(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh. PA
Date:November 7, 2012

Pre Fab Storage Shed

Pros: pre-primed building sides make painting easy.
Cons: no 12 ft lumber i replaced the 8' and 4' sections
Model Number: 16723
"Very good quality for the price. If you use the 8' and 4' ft sections as a twelve footer you will need more than 2 people to move the frame safely. Instructions assume that the builder has prior experience. Overall i am very satisfied with the product."
Review 2 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:August 13, 2012

Great Shed

Pros: burlington's engineering
Cons: none
Model Number: Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Shed
"We have finished building this shed and are very satisified. The materials sent are first rate and the instructions make a real effort to explain what has to be done. This a a very solid shed that should last a long time. We painted the inside and outside."
Review 3 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nampa, ID
Date:August 9, 2012

Very Nice Shed

Pros: pre-cut 2x4 construction, 7' wall height, sturdy construction, quality of materials
Cons: no 12' lumber lengths, not a 2 day job
Model Number: Burlington 8 X 12
"Just finish constructing this shed. It came as described, all 2x4 construction. It is a very nice solid shed. Compares very well, just as nice if not better, to the professionally built shed I ordered for my previous home. Both were 8x12 and very similar in design. I found the instructions to be very helpful and accurate in the construction. There were only 1 or 2 slightly confusing places. I suggest following the instructions as written, I did not which created one small problem that had to be corrected before I could move on. I, as many have commented, found a few warped 2x4's, however, if you have ever looked through the stacks of 2x4's at the lumber yard you know that many of them are warped. This was not a big deal and did not affect the construction much.
My biggest complaint was that it was not a 2 day job. I, with help, have worked on it for 8 days now at 4 to 7 hrs a day and have not completely finished it, just the vents left. 2 very experienced people could maybe complete it in 2 days, but not if they use all the materials and instructions provided.
Bottom line is it is a 5 star shed and even though it took a week I enjoyed building it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, Ca.
Date:July 29, 2012

Think Before Purchasing

Pros: looks great when done., solid construction and sturdy.
Cons: really bad wood. warped and unusable.
Model Number: 16774
"If you buy this product, the first order of business in to throw out the manual! Many mistakes and misprints. Download and print the instructions from the website! You will find subtle differences that make a big difference later on during construction. Many pieces warped badly enough you cannot use. Measure multiple times prior to nailing! Illustrations and written directions vary! Looks great when done, but takes many hours to ensure proper construction. DOES NOT TAKE ONE DAY TO BUILD!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lancaster, California
Date:July 9, 2012

Happy Shed Owner

Pros: space for items, looks great in yard, sturdy, easy to purchase & fast delivery & construction
Model Number: Burlington 12X8
"We are very pleased with our new shed. We have the 12X8 Burlington constructed by one of the Yardline's men. It turned out very nice & the construction seems very strong & sturdy. We had a bend in one of the door hinges & they were here in no time to fix it. The shed looks nice in our yard & we will be able to stuff it with all kinds of stuff!! All Yardline or Costco employee's we came into contact with either on the phone or in person have been great, always helpful & polite. I think the shed has a good warranty on material & labor. I must go now I have painting to do..."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2012

not bad but misleading

"Product description says "solid 2X4 framing" but the front and back walls are 2X3 and the side walls are essentially unframed. (caveat: I bought mine 5/2011 so materials may have been improved).
What else you need to know:
sill plates are not included, so you'll want to add those or some other appropriate barrier.
Definitely plan to add 6 2X4s to the floor.
The exterior material (roof and walls) is very thin.
If your kit is like mine, there will be a few pieces that are warped enough that you'll want to replace them.
BUT the finished product is very functional and attractive. I was just very disappointed with the material quality."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ferndale, WA
Date:November 7, 2011
Pros: great sized shed with lots of storage, love the size of the loft, window lets in some light
Cons: recommend screws in some places rather than nails
"I hired an individual to build my shed and it took about 3 days. It required two people to lift the walls and put them in place; otherwise, it was a one-person job. I would highly agree with the other reviews and recommend adding 2x4’s every 12” instead of 24”to the floor frame to make it more stable. Due to a tree being in the way, I had the window and door swapped and it turned out great.
I had the following extras added to the finished product:
•I had gutters added to avoid dripping from the roof onto the pressed boards.
•Due to living in a windy area at times, I had metal prongs cemented in place and attached to the sides of the shed.
•I painted primer on the floor and glued down a sheet of 8x12 piece of linoleum. Not only does it provide protection to the floor but it is also easier to clean.
•I picked up an extra sheet of pressed board and had additional shelves and a second loft built.
•Since the shed was elevated, I had a ramp installed.
•Hint: When cutting out the wood for the vents, hold onto the parts that are cut out so you can use these to cover up the vents during cold weather.
I am really pleased with the finished product and it is painted to match my house."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Snohomish,Wa
Date:October 6, 2011

from old to new

Model Number: [Model 461049 / 454153
"Wish I could add a pic. We are very busy people with all the tools we needed to put this thing together. To prevent rust we used stainless nails with a siding nailer very expensive nails but we had some left over from another project, raised the shed up on a slope onto a pier footing, lattice around the bottom. Also used nail gun with nails of other sizes close to the packaged sizes. And Added Screws where we thought would add strength .painted moss blue (behr Paint) siding and bright white trim. beautiful!!!!! goes great with our large detached garage and country style home. We live in the county on an average lot but this in between our house and garage looks great. To top it off we put a cupola with a weathervane. This took us all of probably a few days but actually the whole package lay on our deck for nearly a summer under tarp. Oh ya, we left handed the door as well because the hill we built it on would have had a tree in front of it. So If We were to do it again I would buy this one. The people who don't like the product should go spend more money. Yes there are bent boards, yes there are more materials you need to buy, But it was well worth it. And My Boss (WIFE) Loves the finished results. When I Say We it means the two of us.Now as for her, She says she won't do it again.It's A Long Story."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:September 28, 2011

Cheap Materials

Pros: large, some parts are pre-primed
Cons: flimsy pressboard used in critical areas, confusing directions
"I was disappointed that this kit uses the cheapest materials wherever possible--particularly its use of pressboard instead of plywood. Plywood would not have cost the manufacturer much more and would last much longer. They could have at least made it an optional upgrade for extra money. Even the floor is pressboard. I'm worried this won't hold up for more than 2 or 3 years.
Also, you have to add so much material to make this shed less flimsy, it would almost be easier to just build it from scratch. For example, you NEED to buy the extra 6-foot 2x4s for the floor support. And the 12-foot 2x4s as well. And galvanized screws are a good idea. Not to mention roofing underlayment, along with the shingles, paint, and caulk they tell you to buy. The framing provided is the bare minimum, and very little of it is pressure treated.
They pre-primed the exterior panels. Why couldn't they do that for all of the wood parts? And why not label every part? We spent so much time trying to figure out which of the umpteen sticks of lumber was the particular one called for.
I could have spent half the amount this shed cost and bought vastly superior materials. I'm not even that handy, but I can tell you it wouldn't be that hard to design a more stable structure, buy the framing lumber, saw it to length, and then install nice-looking clapboard to the exterior.
The instructions are unclear in places, and sometimes, the parts aren't as specified. I recall the plans said the top of the exterior panels should extend 1.5" past the top of the framing and that the bottoms should extend 1". And yet ours was longer on the bottom. Yet one of the roof sheathing panels was too short and left a big gap at the peak of the roof.
FYI, I hired a fairly skilled laborer to build the shed, and it took him a total of about 28 hours of work--much of which was figuring out the directions and determining which piece of wood was which. (Most pieces are not labeled.)
Another beef: The warranty (sealed inside the kit) specifies you have to fill out their card and mail it within 30 days for it to be valid. Yet they decide when the thing is shipped to you. In our case, that was amid one of the rainiest summers in decades. So we didn't open the plastic packaging till we had a few clear days--by which time the warranty (unbeknownst to us) had expired.
The shed is large and looks nice--for now. I'm hoping that by coating it with an ungodly amount of paint, I can make up for the cheap construction. If you live in a very dry climate, this shed might do OK, but in wet climate--well, here's hoping."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Charlotte, NC
Date:August 22, 2011

Great Shed

Model Number: 461049 / 454153
"All materials provided were very good quality. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. It took 2 of us several weekends to build, working 4 or 5 hours a day. We pre-painted everything, which I would definitely recommend. We bought a 5 gallon bucket of white exterior to paint the interior (makes it much brighter inside) and trim. We use 2 gallons of tinted paint on the outside. We used 1 gallon of deck and floor paint to paint the floor and outer floor foundation. It is a great addition to our back yard!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Gig Harbor, WA
Date:June 25, 2011

5 stars because of the price

Pros: price can't be beat, easy to build
Model Number: Burlington
"I read all the reviews before buyung the Burlington Shed. So...I knew what I was getting myself into. Thus...I have no complaints! :)
I built the shed on (3) 4"x4"x12' treated timbers set on Pier Blocks with adjustible brackets. As suggested by other reviewers here....I used 2x4x12's in place of the included 2x4x8's and 2x4x4's. These were also treated as were the additional 2x4x8's I added to the floor so that my joists were 12" on center. This provided a very strong base for the shed.
I also beefed up the side walls as they are built of 2x3's and are not framed in. The 2x3's are held in place by nailing the siding to the 2x3's.
One more thing...use 3" screws instead of the nails provided. You will get a much stronger product.
I also added a 2nd loft for added storeage.
I spent around $500 for the platform, roofing materials and extra lumber and screws.
My son and I spent a total of 15 hours building the platform & shed and roofing it. Not bad at all.
For the price and ease of construction...you will not find a better price anywhere."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston area, MA
Date:June 21, 2011

EXCELLENT value

Pros: good value, pieces were properly cut, easy to follow instructions, no missing pieces, quick delivery
Cons: need additional materials to really build it right
Model Number: Burlington 8x12
"If you're relatively handy and willing to put in some work, this shed is the best value you'll find. I do agree with some other reviewers that the materials are not the best quality but, if built right, this shed will do the job and last a long time. I poured concrete piers at each corner for the foundation, added extra 2x4's to the deck (12 inches on center instead of 24), added real trim boards instead of the aluminum corner trim that was included, and reinforced the doors for strength. I also used a pneumatic nail gun which made the assembly MUCH faster (highly recommended). All in, I probably spend an extra $250 but the end result is a shed that would have cost me $3,000+ from a local supplier. Another great buy from Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:mInneapolis, mn
Date:June 15, 2011

Fabulous!

Pros: great shed
Cons: if you are over 6 ft. fall the door is too short
Model Number: 33703
"I have shopped for a backyard shed for several years and find this to be the best value by far. My wife and I are super satisfied with the end result. The shed added another dimension to to our landscape along with providing quite a bit of needed storage space. The instructions were easy to follow. However, some of the boards were mismarked. Everything but the vents are pre-cut. Be sure to paint the underside of the exterior siding to prevent premature deterioration. Also, be sure to caulk around all the seams. I'm considering sealing the floor. All in all, a wise choice."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Boise, ID
Date:June 11, 2011

Scrap lumber? Better as firewood

Cons: quality
Model Number: Burlington 12' x 8' shed
"Recieved the shed and was very excited. I laid out all items and took inventory. Was missing a total of 4 items and 1 box of nails. Grabbed the first pieces for the foundation of the shed. Made it level and everything went together perfectly.
However, the foundation is the only piece of solid wood in this entire kit. The rest of the pieces are absolute junk, some had such warp in them that we could not get the walls level with any amount of adjustments. The 2 end cap walls were absolutely useless by the time we assembled them.
Do yourself a favor and purchase a shed from a local supplier that will stand behind their products.
Thanks goodness for Costco's return policy they can come collect this P.O.S."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Shoreham, NY
Date:June 11, 2011

Below expectation

Pros: quick delivery
Cons: not strong enough.
"Weak structure, lumber at minimum.
Extra lumber and work needed to make it acceptable. Had I paid more attention to the lumber specs I would have not purchased this item.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wharton New Jersey
Date:June 7, 2011

Great Shed, Easy to Build

Pros: easy to build
Cons: none
"I purchased this shed online, and within 3 week it arrived in my driveway. It is a very solid shed. First of all I borrowed a nail gun from a friend. All of the wood, was in perfect condition, and well labeled, and perfectly cut.. The instructions were very easy to follow, the entire build took me 5 days, and I spent an addional $200 for a paver foundation and shingles. The most important thing is a level solid foundation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Dexter, Michigan
Date:May 31, 2011

Almost completed

Pros: price looks wall height, loft & shelves no cutting
Cons: flimsy end wall framing
Model Number: Yardline Burlington 12' x 8' Storage Shed w/Floor
"We purchased this shed after researching other wood sheds. The price of this shed was a big reason for choosing it, but we also liked the fact that it is made in our home state - Michigan. We used a panelized roof, a nail gun and did add the extra 6 floor joists. We rested it on 2 - 12 foot 4x6 treated timbers with 1 foot stacks of patio pavers under.
We did not use the mfg. directions for framing the end walls it seemed impossible. We actually put sheathing up first and added framing after. Added extra 2x4 - 8' at base of end walls. Also added extra 2x4 across rafters at center of door.
"
Review 18 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 29, 2011
Pros: great shed for the price.
Cons: plan on spending additional money to complete it.
Model Number: Yardline Burlington 12' x 8' Storage Shed w/Floor
"I just finished building the shed. It is not for the faint of heart. It is time consuming and requires a helping hand at times.
I took the advice of prior raters and used screws instead of nails. I used one five pound box of 3 inch nails and 2 and 1/3 five pound boxes of 2 inch nails. All of the wood was good with only minor warping now and then. The biggest issue with the lumber was the fact that for the 12 four runs then would use an 8 foot piece and a 4 foot piece. This causes all kinds of issues. I would recommend buying 12 foot pieces and not use the 8 – 4 combos.
As others have stated, plan on spending an additional $500 for supplies, paint and roofing material. You will need ½ inch roofing nails for the roof. Anything longer will go through the 7/16 thick roof. As far as its sturdiness of the completed shed, it is sturdy. At least mine is. Perhaps those that complain that theirs is not sturdy used nails or didn’t follow the instructions.
In the end, I figure I built this for less than half the price of one of the big brands that would have built it on site. I have no problem recommending this shed to others.
Many thanks to ChaiGuy in Pittsburgh PA for an outstanding review. It really helped."
Review 19 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fernley, NV
Date:May 19, 2011

Not very sturdy

"Had to purchase extra material to reinforce, along with more nails since they did not send enough. They also sent to left gables for each side instead of a right and left, had to wait a week to receive the replacements which were all lefts, so we installed the lefts and had to make adjustments."
Review 20 for Burlington 12' x 8' Wood Storage Shed
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:May 16, 2011

Easy to build, but not very sturdy....

Model Number: 461049
"This is a decent shed, but not sturdy... Expect to spend an additional $200-300 for foundation/support beams, roofing felt, drip edge, shingles, etc.
Pros: The instruction book is very good, and the pieces are cut within reasonable tolerances. The exterior and interior appearance is good.
Cons: This is not a very sturdy shed... The driver suggested adding additional 2x4 floor joists and place on two 4x4 beams/skids. I added more 2x4 floor joists and a third beam/skid to support the floor. Although the front and back walls are "framed" 2x3 lumber, the side walls are not traditional framing and held in place largely by nailing through the exterior sheating....weak in my view. I'm going to add some 2x4 lumber to support at least one of the side walls."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>