Customer Reviews for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones

State-of-the-art Wireless Infrared Technology That Transmits Lifelike Sounding Music & Clear Speech
Average Customer Rating:
3.298 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
16
33 of 57(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Review 1 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 19, 2010

5 have gone bad

Model Number: IR200T infrared
"There's a rhyme about a little girl with a curl in the middle of her forehead; when she was good she was very, very good and when she was bad she was terrible. I have bought 5 sets of these earphones and all five have gone bad within 90 days. 3 were problems in the battery compartments. the last two were bad transmitters (a new design on the transmitter.) Each time Costco has been gracious enough to provide a refund. When they work - if they work - the sound is extraordinary; everything one could ask for. However, if they don't work what good are they? I am making the last return today and will not try again, it's costing me too much gas to take them back for refunds."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 4, 2010

great purchase honda oddysey van w/ entertainment

Pros: ease of use !!!
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
"I purchased two of this product knowing that I can return it to ANY Costco warehouse if it doesn't work. My wife and I have a Honda Odyssey with entertainment system which came with only 2 headsets. The original headsets works great but I am looking to add more headsets because of 3 kids. Having 3 kids can be a torture when we drive long distances. Long and behold when I opened the item and tried it, It WORKED PERFECTLY. I didn't have to use the infrared that came with it because the van had an infrared system already. All I did was add the 2 AAA batteries on each headsets and it worked.
I definitely recommend this product to anyone that has an entertainment system in their car, rv, or van that has a BUILT-IN INFRARED system. Plus, this is cheaper than the ones from the dealer or anywhere else in the web. The standard delivery came VERY fast too."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 11, 2010

Completely Satisfied

Pros: worked from the start static free and comfortable
Cons: absolutely none
Model Number: IR200T
"Read the reviews before purchasing. With 2 one star reviews and 3 excellent reviews, I hesitated. However, my experience with Costco's return policy made me decide to purchase it. If it didn't work, I could return it "no questions asked". I'm very happy that I did since it worked perfectly from the start and now, after a week of use, it still performs the same. This is the third set of headphones I have used. The other two, one costing about $25.00 and the other at $100.00 were static prone and hurt my ears during use. It goes without saying that I am in love with this unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:L.A. Ca
Date:January 6, 2010

Saved my marriage

Pros: pain free
Cons: unattractive
"My husband had the T.V. Ears but he said they hurt his ears. He can wear these for hours and even forgets he has them on.
He's happy because he can hear every word pain free and I'm happy because I have peace and quiet.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:orem, utah
Date:February 6, 2010

DEAF

Model Number: IR200T
"I purchased these headphones and had static problems after using them for a few days. It was static and clicking then the set shut down entirely. I was a little upset but I unplugged the infrared from the electrical and added new batteries. No problem since. I hope this continues because they have made listening to the TV more enjoyable because I can actually hear what is being said. I still use Close Caption, but this headphones make the words clearer."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Westminster, CA
Date:December 29, 2009

Very good quality

Model Number: IR200T Infrared Headphones Able Planet
"I was kind of skeptical about being Infrared, works pretty good as long as you stay in the same room as the transmitter. Tried on both the bedroom LCD and home computer...great!
Now I need an extra set for my "better half".
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bow, WA
Date:September 30, 2010

Great value

Pros: great performance, great price
Model Number: Able Planet IR200T
"These headphones take less than a minute to install and deliver great performance, especially with dialog. Now I can listen comfortably to my favorite programs without making my wife uncomfortable with the volumn levels I required. I also realize now how much I was missing."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Harrison Twp Michigan
Date:December 27, 2009

Great headphones

Pros: long battery life
Cons: occasional clicking noise
"You will be able to hear all of the subtle background noise from a movie of TV show. Your spouse will like it when you use them too. However I did buy her a set too, so that when we watch a movie together I don't hear that phrase "what did he say?" anymore."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:October 4, 2010

Returned immediately

Cons: if not in line of sight won't work
"Was excited to use as the TV can be very distracting around the house. When I hooked them up the transmitter is recommended to be installed below the area where you will be listening. If you are sitting on the couch that means it needs to be installed on the floor! Also with the infrared you have to be in line of sight. Anything between you and the transmitter and you get no sound at all. When you stood in exactly the right position the sound was good but that meant you couldn't move. We returned them immediately."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2009

Worse than junk

"First of all, when I hooked it up, there was a lot of static. I decided to leave it and see if it got any better the next day. Unfortunately, not only did the headphones not work the next day, but now I can't get any sound at all from my TV (even after disconnecting the transmitter).
I don't know what happened...it's not my TV speakers because I do get sound when I hook up my Wii console to it. Anybody out there have a clue as to what happened?
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

Broken

"The plug to connect the base station to the audio device had a bad connection straight from the box. But even when it made the rare good connection (after carefully plugging it in and not touching it anymore), the range was really bad. Just stepping 10 feet away behind a half open interior door completely dropped the sound. In contrast, I also have some Sennheiser (RS120) headphones which allow me to move through the entire house and the backyard before the signal is dropped.
Maybe I just had bad luck with the particular pair that was delivered to me, but I was not going to try another one so I just returned them. Luckily Costco has a great and easy return policy.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

Great Hearing Device

Cons: must be in line with the unit
"I have severe hearing loss and these allow me to hear every word perfectly clear."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:September 30, 2010

Would buy it again, great buy

Pros: good value, worked very well
Cons: ear muff could use some improvement
Model Number: Able Planet IR200T
"I was looking for something that I could listen to movies with at night because my wife has to go to bed early. I read several reviews before I purchased it. I figured I would have to put in fresh batteries when I received it. I plugged it in, it didn't work properly so I changed out the batteries and it worked perfect. It was easy to hook up, price is very good, sound is very good, the ear muff isn't the greatest but it was accectable and for the price I couldn't expect to get bose headphone quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:April 23, 2010

Sounds so real, I forget I'm wearing headphones!

Pros: great sound, comfortable, battery life, ease of use, great volume level, quality
Cons: due to ir limitations limitted to same room
Model Number: IR200T
"I purchased this from Costco in mid-2009. I have never looked back. The sound quality is so real that I often have to look at my stereo to make sure I am in headset mode. The headphones are comfortable. I have also used them for watching movies, listening to TV, and playing XBOX or PC Games with no issues.
I have used other wireless headphones that I could walk around the house with (only disadvantage of IR technology I found with these). But, the sound quality they produced is nothing compared to what this IR system can do in the same room.
The only time I experienced static is when the battery was low, which is hardly ever. I'd say I only have to replace the batteries every 3-4 months.
My neighbors don't complain anymore and I no longer have to sit close to hear every word... Worth every penny in my opinion!"
Review 15 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 12, 2010

Not able to use this produce

"I ordered this product because it is manufactured by a company that makes products compatable with hearing aids. I sent it back because it has a flat ear piece which would make my hearing aids have feedback. Also the range is just within the room. My current TV headset has large ear pieces with donut shaped cushions which help with hearing aid feedback. I think that this would work OK for people that do not wear hearing aids."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Paso Robles, CA
Date:May 27, 2010

Works very well

Pros: comfortable headset
Cons: needs additional headset availability
"Easy setup; either through audio output or with provided headphone jack. Reasonable price & very good sound quality. Less expensive to buy 2 complete units instead of finding & buying a second headset only, without a second transmitter. Nice to be able to understand British programming."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:December 2, 2010

The first pair failed after two weeks

"But they worked so well before they failed, I gave it another try. I bought them for my father in law, he loves them I just hope they last a long long time. Costco was fine about swapping them out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:October 23, 2010

Below average

Model Number: Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
"noise interference is the biggest problem and sudden cut-off when not in front of the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 16, 2010

Perfect for Us

Pros: clear sound, easy to use, comfortable
Cons: range is limited, must adjust for static (see review), thin foam on headset
Model Number: IR200T
"Our television can be heard through our house, so we bought these in order not to disturb others while sleeping. They have worked very well.
Static Noise: Some of the negative reviews were about static. I found if I lowered the headset volume to the lowest possible setting and then turning the tv volume up, the static disappeared.
Range: Acceptable, especially if stationary when watching the tv. Anything in the way will cut out the signal. Must be in a direct line with the infrared signal.
Headsets: Fairly comfortable, the foam covering could be a bit thicker. I like that they fit over the entire ear and are adjustable for over the head.
"
Review 20 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pacific Grove, CA
Date:September 29, 2010

Disappointed it didn't work

Pros: super comfortable
Cons: hissing noise, sound would cut out
Model Number: IR200T
"This was exactly what I was looking for, and was excited to try it out - I live in an apartment and don't want to worry about making noise when I watch TV late in the evening, and wanted freedom from the long headphone cord I was using.
The sound quality was what was disappointing- hissing and the occasional cut out altogether - even after I changed the batteries. The receiver was directly in front of me, about three feet distant, facing me with no obstructions, and the sound was still poor.
The headphones were extremely comfortable, though.
Of course, the warehouse took it back without any problem."
1 2 3 next>>