Customer Reviews for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones

State-of-the-art Wireless Infrared Technology That Transmits Lifelike Sounding Music & Clear Speech
Average Customer Rating:
3.298 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
(out of 57 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
16
33 of 57(58%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Review 1 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Dimas, CA (Los Angeles County)
Date:July 25, 2011

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!

"Just purchased my THIRD unit! I believe that says it all."
Review 2 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna , Ca.
Date:July 14, 2011

Disappointed in product

Cons: see above
Model Number: Ir200t
"I have had an older version in my other house for many years and it works perfectly. Needed one for vacation home so I bought the latest version. Terrible mistake. The IR transmitter kept going in and out. I could not adjust volume. The transmitter was supposed to have a high and low switch which was non existent. It was supposed to come with batteries, none in package. ReturNed to store."
Review 3 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:IR200T
Date:July 13, 2011

Second headphones

Pros: light, sound quality
Cons: range
"I decided to purchased the second Able Planet Headphones, after owing one for more than 2 years. That way, 2 persons can watch TV in the same time.
This works best, while everyone in the house can do something else without interfering.
Sound quality is great, The range is ok, not the best, but it is working for me.
"
Review 4 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2011

Poor quality

Cons: cheap and filmsy, must maintain line of sight for wireless to work
Model Number: Able Planet IR200T
"This product is really poorly made. The wireless requires line of sight between the headset and the receiver to maintain signal which means that you can't walk into another room and stil have reception. One side of my headphone stopped working within a few uses and the receiver was nothing similar to what was showned on the costco website or the manual. This product has very bad quality control and poor wireless implementation."
Review 5 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:South Carolina
Date:July 6, 2011

Static and Intermittent Sound

Pros: none
Cons: too much static
Model Number: IR200T
"In 2009, I purchased the IR400T for $10 less than what I paid for these IR200T Headphones. I will be returning the IR200T as there is a lot of static crackling noise plus the sound cuts in and out every few seconds. My older IR400T has none of these problems. I will search elsewhere for the IR400T or look for another brand."
Review 6 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Solvang Ca. Santa Barbara County
Date:June 29, 2011

I made a good buy

Cons: they can't be used on other tv's
Model Number: IR2000T
"This is my second pair and I am completely satisfied with my purchases...I have a hearing problem and wear 2 hearing aids and have a problem understanding dialogue even when the TV is loud, these headphones help emmensly. My Audiologist recommends taking them to movie theaters also, I havent tried that yet."
Review 7 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2010

Bad choice

Model Number: IR200T
"Sound quality is very mediocre. Infared line of sight requirement is to fussy. The technology exists to make this concept a wonderful aid. This is just a poorly designed and manufactured product."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 22, 2010

There are better products

Pros: sound quality good
Cons: battery life is short, sound range is short
Model Number: IR200T
"This product works if you want to stay with in frontal view of the receiver. If you move to the side or more than 10ft away you will loose the sound. Also you need a supply of batteries. otherwise the sound is good."
Review 9 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redmond, WA
Date:December 17, 2010

Works as noted

Pros: good product
"The product worked well as the dedtailes said it would. My only complaint is it does eat up batteries. Good sound quality."
Review 10 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Date:December 2, 2010

The first pair failed after two weeks

"But they worked so well before they failed, I gave it another try. I bought them for my father in law, he loves them I just hope they last a long long time. Costco was fine about swapping them out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:November 19, 2010

5 have gone bad

Model Number: IR200T infrared
"There's a rhyme about a little girl with a curl in the middle of her forehead; when she was good she was very, very good and when she was bad she was terrible. I have bought 5 sets of these earphones and all five have gone bad within 90 days. 3 were problems in the battery compartments. the last two were bad transmitters (a new design on the transmitter.) Each time Costco has been gracious enough to provide a refund. When they work - if they work - the sound is extraordinary; everything one could ask for. However, if they don't work what good are they? I am making the last return today and will not try again, it's costing me too much gas to take them back for refunds."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

Broken

"The plug to connect the base station to the audio device had a bad connection straight from the box. But even when it made the rare good connection (after carefully plugging it in and not touching it anymore), the range was really bad. Just stepping 10 feet away behind a half open interior door completely dropped the sound. In contrast, I also have some Sennheiser (RS120) headphones which allow me to move through the entire house and the backyard before the signal is dropped.
Maybe I just had bad luck with the particular pair that was delivered to me, but I was not going to try another one so I just returned them. Luckily Costco has a great and easy return policy.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

Great Hearing Device

Cons: must be in line with the unit
"I have severe hearing loss and these allow me to hear every word perfectly clear."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:October 23, 2010

Below average

Model Number: Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
"noise interference is the biggest problem and sudden cut-off when not in front of the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles CA
Date:October 21, 2010

Quality?

Pros: wireless
Cons: bad sound quality
Model Number: Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
"Sound quality isn't what it was stated on product ad but I guess the wireless part of it makes up for it. Or not! I have cheap computer headphones that sound better then this product.."
Review 16 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:October 16, 2010

Perfect for Us

Pros: clear sound, easy to use, comfortable
Cons: range is limited, must adjust for static (see review), thin foam on headset
Model Number: IR200T
"Our television can be heard through our house, so we bought these in order not to disturb others while sleeping. They have worked very well.
Static Noise: Some of the negative reviews were about static. I found if I lowered the headset volume to the lowest possible setting and then turning the tv volume up, the static disappeared.
Range: Acceptable, especially if stationary when watching the tv. Anything in the way will cut out the signal. Must be in a direct line with the infrared signal.
Headsets: Fairly comfortable, the foam covering could be a bit thicker. I like that they fit over the entire ear and are adjustable for over the head.
"
Review 17 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:October 15, 2010

limited range

"cuts out when you lose line of sight with the
transmitter. Was not expecting that.
"
Review 18 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN
Date:October 15, 2010

Works as advertised; price is right

"We bought two of these so we can both watch TV while the baby is in the room sleeping. Since both headsets work off of one base, we're using the second base for a TV in another room. You have to be in the line of sight of the base, but for our application it works well."
Review 19 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:October 12, 2010

No phono plug

"It only had RCA plugs so the speakers in the room would not be muted automatically this is a non starter."
Review 20 for Able Planet IR200T Infrared Headphones
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pasadena, Ca
Date:October 12, 2010
"I have to return it. It shuts off without any warning and I have to re plug it to start. Once it restarts the left headphone does not operate. When operating it is great. I will not have a problem for awhile then it goes into the shutoff mode. I think I just have a lemon.."
1 2 3 next>>