Customer Reviews for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets

Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets

Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Review 1 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellevue WA
Date:June 20, 2014

potent serotonin booster

Pros: a small and mighty mood and brain supplement
Cons: must take with other catalysts to maximize effect
"5-htp is the precursor to serotonin, the neurotransmitter that makes you feel good and satisfied, as well as modulates and balances your mood. It is a master hormone that controls dopamine which is your reward hormone but also the precursor to adrenaline - the fight or flight response. Too much dopamine without serotonin to modulate it is what results in one's (over)stress response. So serotonin is key.
Serotonin then is the precursor to melatonin, the sleep hormone that is usually produced in your pineal gland. Melatonin is also one of the most powerful cellular repair agents known, and is effectively rejuvenating and repair your cells as you sleep. A B-complex or solid multivitamin helps catalyze and transform 5-htp to serotonin, and when your circadian clock is triggered by the dark (absence of blue that is in white light), then into melatonin inducing sleep. For those that find 5-htp not working for your mood or sleep, consider taking a high quality b-complex or multivitamin with food afternoon or dinner.
Vitamin D and omega-3s are also potent catalysts for 5-htp's actions. Recent papers have demonstrated that D also activates a pair of genes which prompt production of serotonin in the brain switching it off in the stomach, the latter of which causes stomach upsets; your stomach and its probiotic-filled micro biome is one of the largest serotonin production factories in your body. Without sufficient D switching these two genes on/off throughout the day, your brain serotonin does not get activated effectively. Take a blood test to determine D levels are >40ng/ml. For heavier people that means 10,000IUs daily. For lighter folks, that usually amounts to 5,000IUs daily.
Omega-3s are crucial to activating DHA, the fatty acid that make your brain's networking infrastructure effectively and immediately superconducting the brain signals between your synapses and nerves super conducts your nerve impulses and the various neurotransmitters that travel on it, including serotonin, dopamine, GABA, acetylcholine, and the like. Consider it your brain's highway maintenance fund.
Anyway event, long story short, those are the big 3 rocks that will sustain and optimize your mood, thinking, and sleeping."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY
Date:May 5, 2014

Amazing!

Pros: mood stabilizer;)
Cons: do not take recommended dosage
"This product really works! I am sleeping much better, as for weight loss i don't have any weight to lose, but it decreases your appetite significantly. This is 100mg, I personally take 1/2 a tablet to 1 tablet daily depending on my mood, not as the label recommends 100-200mg, that is quite an overdose! Read online for recommended dosage. As for mood it has calmed me down considerably. I am very melow and calm. Nothing can easily upset me anymore, truthfully this is amazing!"
Review 3 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2014

Wonderful Product

"I have suffered with Migraine headaches for years usually during the PMS time each month, I use to have to take 1 to 2 migraine pills each month to keep this abay. This was due to my seratonine level dropping during this time. I starting taking this 5HTP by the advise of my natropathic Dr. and I have not had a migraine in over 5 months. This product also keeps me calm and very relaxed throughout the stressful days during working hours. This is a great product, I love the time realease. I usually only take 1 pill each morning and this does the job for me."
Review 4 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

Good for mood

Pros: easy to take, cost effective
Cons: none
"Good product for mood stabilization. Keeps me more even and positive."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:January 14, 2014

Nothing but amazing!!

Pros: prescription-quality mood lifting w/o side effects
Cons: none!
"To start, I bought this thinking it was just another 'snake oil' product that would do nothing for my mood. Though, I was in Costco for a relative to pick up some items, and said to myself 'how often am I in Costco, and the label looks like something I am interested in'. So, I bought it as I felt like I had little to lose. I took one in the parking lot and drove home. About an hour later I felt very good, but said to myself it could not be the supplement. After all 'these things don't really work - Only Rx's (and illegal drugs) work for depression and moods'. Forgot about it for a few days and had another tablet. Then, I began to take notice. Then, after a few more days, I began to call friends and family to let them in on the 'secret'. I'm sure it may not work for everyone, but I can tell you this. THIS STUFF WORKS! Yes, I agree that most supplements do not do what they say they will do, i.e. 'snake oil'. I am not sure why or how, but this works and it is AMAZING! I wish I knew about this years ago!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:August 21, 2010

Better than expected

Pros: extended release, watch for the coupons
"I'm a night owl and normally have trouble falling asleep or waking early. Additionally, I occasionally experience low moods. I started taking this with Cataplex D (a vitamin D supplement from Standard Process) and I'm feeling like a new woman! I sleep better, wake rested, and have been feeling awesome! I've been using this product for 3 months and I don't see myself stopping anytime soon. Highly recommended!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:July 7, 2010

Works well, but don't overdose!

Pros: calming effect
Cons: unknown long term effects
"I bought 5-HTP half expecting it to be a placebo. Within two weeks, however, I started noticing the positive effects. I'm much more calm, collected, with greater mental clarity. I take one pill in the morning, and one at night. I sleep better at night, which is an added bonus.
This product is well worth the price. I worry about some of the health concerns I've been reading about, however. Also, if I take more than 2 pills at a time, I get lethargic.
All in all, worth the money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2010

Sleep All Night

"I've had a problem with insomnia my entire life. I managed to stay away from prescription drugs, but have relied heavily on melatonin and valerian based herbal remedies. They're good at putting me to sleep, but not for the entire night. If I take more to get back to sleep I wake up feeling hungover. 5-htp has quickly changed my life. I sleep through the night, and have no trouble getting back to sleep if I don't. For the first time in my life I know what it's like to feel refreshed when I wake up in the morning."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston Texas
Date:April 24, 2010

A.A.D.H.D. like symptoms?

"I discovered I had an unusually low level of seratonin production and an unusually high level of Ephedrin. I was losing sleep. I was irritable at times even rage filled for no understandable reason and I was having a huge problem focusing.
My Naturopath M.D. ran Urine and Fecal tests that showed these results clinicly and the 5 HTP leveled the playing fied for me remarkably.
I recommend the product highly especially at this price.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC Metro
Date:April 7, 2010

great product

Pros: 100mg time released
"1st you can't get a better deal than this for this particular product. 100mg at this price is great. If you are trying to lose weight, are going through menopause - mood swings etc., use this along with chromium, DIM, and a good eating plan you will feel the difference in a matter of days."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central Coast, CA
Date:December 17, 2009

Excellent quality

Pros: price!
"While I may have given 5 stars and a recommendation I urge anyone wanting to take this please read about it 1st and know what you are doing. This does and will affect your blood pressure. It does work and I really like this product. Recommended dosage is 50 mg or half a tablet. Too much is NOT a good thing! This is as powerful as it gets w/o a script."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City
Date:December 17, 2009

Best on the market

"This is a great product for anyone wanting a natural mood enhancement product. I take one in the morning and one before bedtime. I find my mood to be perfectly balanced. Time release makes this the best on the market"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:October 31, 2009

Best Natural Mood Enhancer

Pros: can't purchase this size anywhere else
Model Number: 5-HTP
"This has been a wonderful product and I'm thrilled to see Costco carry it at a very good price. I very much prefer a natural alternative to prescriptions, if at all possible. And I have found this to be far and away, better than others, such as St. John's Wort."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Natrol® 5-HTP 100 mg, 150 Tablets
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dix Hills, NY
Date:February 13, 2013

Sleeping better....that's all

Pros: great price helps sleep
Cons: do your homework it can have serious side effects
"I have been taking this product, as directed, for a month now. I am definitely sleeping better. As far as mood enhancement and weight loss, it has done nothing for me. I am still cranky and haven't lost an ounce. I would recommend to anyone who has trouble staying asleep."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.