Customer Reviews for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI

Projects Time, Temperature and Forecast on Wall or Ceiling
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
(out of 14 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
9 of 14(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Review 1 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2009

Stay in the Know !

Pros: set the time and forget it; auto changes daily
Model Number: WT-5721 (older model)
"Excellent, accurate time (adjusting to US atomic clock standard), informative outside weather temperature, so you know when those extreme hi or low conditions exist. Easy to read data on the screen during the day or projected on ceiling at night, so you know the time and temperature at a glance."
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Warren, MI
Date:December 9, 2009

BAR339DPA

Pros: projects a strong readable image on ceiling
Cons: instructions in manual are poor., slight jar will knock it over.
Model Number: BAR339DPA
"A very bad user manual. The manual is usable but needs to be read and reread. Bought it for projecting time on the ceiling and that it does well. Manual implies that the outside sensor needs to be mounted and used to receive the Atomic Time from Denver. Outside sensor info says "place out of direct sunlight and moisture" and then says to put it "in a location with a clear view to the sky", and minimize "obstructions such as doors, walls and furniture" between the sensor and clock."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:FL
Date:January 12, 2010

Inferior; Prior Costco Item Much Better

Pros: none
Cons: unreliable; poor design
"I have the projector clock that Costco sold about 6 years ago. It's super.
I want another and have bought this one twice. Both were lemons. The projector failed on the first within weeks. The second just stopped after a few days.
This model is overpriced and a lousy product. Costco, please bring back the prior version!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marysville, WA
Date:January 2, 2010

Dissapointed

Pros: atomic clock, connection to remote was easy
Cons: time and temp alternates, projection surface distance, weather forecaster
Model Number: BAR3390PA
"1.) Time and temp alternates and I find myself having to stare at it and wait as apposed to seeing both at a glance.
2. ) Projection surface has to be about 10 feet away to be focused, this one isn't clear until you aim it further away on a wall as apposed to conveniently aimed above the bed.
3. ) Weather Forecaster method with this unit is wrong most of the time and unreliable. I don't know what changed with this unit and our older model, wasn't perfect but was better.
We had our older model for about 7 years before the batteries in the main unit leaked and quit working. Hopefully I can still find it available someplace, we were much happier with that one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2009

Not sure yet

"I got this for my husband's christmas gift. I like it so far but a few things could be improved. Namely the instruction. They are not always clear ( a little` confusing even) and take some figuring out before trying to tackle setting up the clock and sensor. So far we have lost the signal twice and failed to get outdoor temps. Even after adjusting the sensor and pushing the resets on both units. I finally just unplugged the clock in frustration and when I plugged it in later it worked after a 5 minute wait. We will see how long this lasts. Hopefully a while because it really is a neat clock and I like the whole thought of having outdoor temperature and forecast before I get out of bed. Plus with the alarm and projection on the ceiling it is a 'all in one' gadget. It's been 5 days. So far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Big Bear City, CA
Date:January 18, 2010

Good For a Clock, Not for Weather

Pros: accurate time, bright projection, accurate temps
Cons: weather wrong most of the time, pretty pricey for what you get
Model Number: BAR339DPA
"This unit works well as a projection device. Time is accurate, projection is bright and easy to read (this is the reason for buying this unit). The temperatures are accurate, but the weather is incorrect 90% of the time! It is easier to look out the window and see what is really happening. The instructions have an interesting comment; place the unit with a clear view of the sky, but don't let it get wet! (hard to do)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arlington, VA
Date:August 30, 2010

AS A PROJECTION CLOCK, IT'S GREAT!!

Pros: great projection feature!!
Cons: not fully accurate recognizing all weather types
Model Number: Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
"Purchased primarily for the projection feature. Have had a half-dozen or so different projection clocks over the course of a few years and none have lived up to being good PROJECTORS... except THIS ONE!!
Have owned it now for a while and it hasn't failed. It can be adjusted to project LARGE, bold print (none of the other projection clocks we've tried have been able to do that!), even if the print is a little blurry when adjusted to really BIG sizes. It flashes TIME (shows "P.M.," haven't seen "A.M.") for a couple seconds, then INDOOR TEMPERATURE for a couple seconds, then back to TIME. Indoor temperature readings are also close enough to being accurate. If the weather forecasts are a little faulty, the clock seems to make up for that by at least pretty much always being able to recognize when it is raining or snowing outside (there are little ICONS of clouds, rain drops, or whatever and they appear at the top of the TIME/TEMPERATURE reading)!!
The back-lit display on the face of the clock can be turned ON or OFF (our preference), and you can turn the projection feature ON or OFF whenever you want to.
It's a little expensive, but it's also the only one we've found (so far) that actually PROJECTS a print size that is LARGE and DARK enough for one to be able to SEE IT!!!."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Golden, CO
Date:December 30, 2009

Works well - just what we were looking for

"Projected information (temp, time, forecast) is easy to read in daylight. In darkness, they are easy to read but not so bright as to keep you awake. Had to adjust the time to get it on our time zone, but didn't require a manual to do that, so cannot comment on others' complaints about instructions. Overall, controls are intuitive.
I particularly liked being able to choose between projector-always-on or only-when-requested (button pushed), and also to be able to set up display as time-only or time-alternating-with-temp. Temperature reading appears to be reasonably accurate, and it's nice to know that the time is spot-on."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, Fl
Date:January 18, 2011

Oregon Projection Clock

Pros: easy to tell time and temp at night
Cons: none
Model Number: Item # 462972
"We had a clock like this years ago and it broke so we got one from Costco several years ago. We love it. We like to be able to see the time on the ceiling with the temp outside. My nephew and his wife visited at Christmas and wanted to know where we got this clock and I surprised them and ordered it for them. After reading some reviews today, I hope they have no problems with their clock. Ours has been wonderful and so far the clock has worked fine for them.
They wrote and told us that they are loving this clock.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:December 12, 2009

poor system

Cons: poor instruction, wrong infomation you will get
Model Number: BAR339DPA
"Very disappointed this system and agree with previous review. Extremely poor manual = hard to understand, used for two days, weather and temp were always wrong. The system said "snow" but actually you could see "the sunshine" outside. Very bad system, will return it this afternoon :("
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rochester, NY
Date:December 28, 2009

it's worth the wait

Pros: not too bright at night
Cons: small buttons, buttons on back of unit
Model Number: BAR339DP
"some of the set-up it tricky and takes time, based on other atomic clocks I own this one was slow to receive a sync signal but once in its final resting spot has been performing flawlessly, weather forecaster better than expected, the focusing knob on my unit is at its max so I'm not sure if the projections could be any clearer, if you have to constantly adjust the alarm time this may not be the unit for you"
Review 12 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 31, 2009

Finally one you can see in the daylight!

Pros: bright projection
Cons: set up slow
"Good projection clock and I'm amazed at how close the weather forecast is! It does take some time to set up and adjust to the time signal, but in a day or so it will connect. The display is bright enough to see in the day, a big plus knowing that most projection clocks are only visible at night. I'm not sure how accurate the inside temp is, but the outside temp seems to be right on."
Review 13 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011

I Like It

"Bought this to replace an earlier projection model. This one took me a night to get our proper zone for auto clock set, but other than that it was very easy to set up. We had always wished we could see our previous one during the day. This one is quite visible but not too bright for us."
Review 14 for Daylight Weather Projection Clock with Outdoor Sensor By OSI
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2010

Bring back Silver Atomic Projection Clock RM318PA-

"Old model above was much much better. Can't find the old model anywhere.... USE COSTCO POWER! Bring it back!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.