Customer Reviews for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels

Made of high quality and durable 304 Stainless Steel, this Trinity cooler is perfect for any entertaining occasion.  Entertain in style with a 20-gallon / 24 - 12 oz. aluminum can capacity stainless steel cooler. This sleek stainless steel cooler / ice cart is especially convenient with its raised design and wheels, as well as with the bottle opener and cap catcher.   With a two-sided easy access lid, this stainless steel cooler allows for a work surface without interfering with beverage access.  Perfect for indoor or outdoor use, you will never have to worry about serving warm drinks to your guests again.  Let it amaze you how cold and how long it keeps your food and beverage chilled.     High quality 304 grade Stainless Steel construction   20 gallon / 24 - 12 oz. aluminum can capacity   2" x 2" casters for easy mobility (2 w/locks)   Attached bottle opener and cap catcher   Includes drainage plug for easy care   Two-sided easy access lid   Assembled dimensions: 40.5" W x 15" D x 37" H   Weight: 33 lbs. Model: THL-SSC32 / 299261
Average Customer Rating:
3.565 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
(out of 46 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
8
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
7
33 of 46(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Review 1 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Scottsdale, AZ
Date:February 1, 2011

I waited all year for this to come back....but

Pros: classy patio look
Cons: assembly required modifications on our part
"To give you some background, we decided to buy this a year ago, but they sold out at the store and I couldnt find online, and when summer was over, we tabled the thought. Home Depot would sell them and other retailers but they were NOT all stainless steel so they didn't look as high end.
We ordered this online and it shipped very fast. When the box was opened, all the parts were there, and you had to attach the legs, etc. A problem arose that one of the leg assemblies did NOT match up to the predrilled holes - they were off slightly, but 1/4" or so, so it was not easy to drill a new hole in without ruining the attachment point. We had to drill the holes larger to get the screws in properly. Those kinds of things are annoying - it's a dumb mistake at the factory. But overall, its still the chest we wanted, and it works as advertised. Had the assembly problems not been there, I would have given it 5 stars."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2009

Not good in cold weather climate

Pros: good space to store food and beverages, easy to move, easy to drain
Cons: exterior does not hold up in winter weather, cover was blown off unit
"Think twice about this cooler if you live in a winter zone and plan on storing the unit outside. We've had this type of cooler from Costco for 2 years now and it has not withstood the Midwestern winters. The wheel bases have rusted, the cooler has rust on the outside, the ice scoop broke at the welded joint. The cooler actually expanded and the top doesn't fit on it correctly anymore so there is a gap. I wish I could take it back and get a new one but I don't think that's possible after 2 years. 5 stars = If you can store it inside a garage, when not in use."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nevada
Date:May 13, 2010

Very poor quality

Cons: poor quality
"This item arrived today. Very shoddy workmanship. The handles are uneven because they were bent incorrectly. One of the bolts that hold the legs could not be tightened because the nut was installed at an angle. The four wheels do not touch the ground at the same time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 21, 2010

Very High Quality

Pros: great size and looks very expensive
Cons: no cover included for winter months
Model Number: 464320
"My cooler was delivered in four days from ordering in perfect shape. It was very easy to assemble in 15 minutes and everything was stright with no dents. It is a great size and looks wonderful on my patio. A great value!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:July 7, 2011

Cooler on Wheels

"I had been looking for a cooler on wheels, when I saw two of these at my next door neighbors. I like it because there is only one small manufacturer name plate on it (not like the Tommy Bahama ones for sale in the warehouse - I'm not into logo wear or items.) This was the right size, not too small or to large. We filled ours with bottled ale and ice for our July 4th party. Three days later, the ice is still only half melted, even though the weather has been in the high 70's and low 80's. We are very satisfied."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bridgewater NJ
Date:May 27, 2010

Good Value

Pros: sturdy
"There were some issues with this product in regards to attaching the wheels as the thread may have been tapped wrong from the factory. Once together this item is sturdy and holds a good amount of beverages. The handles were off a little bit also but if you have any mechanical ability you should have no issues. Be warned that you will need a very thin 17mm wrench to screw the wheels on the legs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Staten Island, NY
Date:June 9, 2011

Please choose another

Pros: delivered on time
Cons: poor manufacture, poor instructions
"I do not recommend this cooler. We found it impossible to assemble due to shoddy workmanship and manufacture. The instruction diagram is virtually un-readable, and when attempting to fasten the legs to the cooler body, the screws cross-threaded because the holes in the cooler body did not align with the legs. There are lower-cost alternatives that I am certain are better."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:July 29, 2010

Worked Perfect!

Pros: cleans easy
"We bought this to use for a pool party we had and it worked great! The shipping was quick and the time it took to put together was less than 20min. The construction and quality is superb! All the holes lined up well when we put it together. It held 4, 5lb bags of ice with 20 longnecks, a case of Coke/drink and a case of water! It kept the drinks cold for 2 days. Great buy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:January 19, 2011

Can't build it.

Cons: poor quality control
"Product looks descent enough, but the holes do not line up and there is no way to assemble one of the handles to the ice chest. It's going back but a major inconvenience when it's almost assembled and the last bolt will not line up. That means take it all apart, repackage and drive it to the store for a return."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Westchester County, NY
Date:February 20, 2011

Dimensions & construction are not what's stated

Cons: size not as stated, not 100% stainless
"I haven't assembled it yet - but was surprised that the width was off by 10 inches. The detailed description states 40.5 inches but it is actually 30.5 inches. I was also surprised to see plastic inside - since the description states stainless steel construction and does say that only the outside is stainless."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

"This is by far the best backyard amenity a guy can have. Easy to assemble. Great quality. Great looks. It's just plain awesome. Now I can fill my cooler up with cold beer and enjoy the San Diego sun with my friends!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Buffalo NY
Date:December 1, 2010

Poor Quality

"I purchased my unit 3 years ago. and the stainless sides have delaminated and now water gets in the sides and bottom which has ruined the cooler. I like the idea and would buy another one if it were better quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arvada, Colorado
Date:June 20, 2011

Style on our porch!

"Easy to put together,
Price is just right,
Easy to move around,
Keeps drinks cold for a long time,
Looks great
We love our Stainless steel Cooler!!! Not only does it look good and stylish on our porch, but it was VERY easy to put together! It maybe took 20 minutes. Everything just fit together just right. We like to entertain and have parties. It keeps our drinks cold all day, and we hear comments from our friends such as... super classy! It's very functional, easy to move around, keeps our drinks cold and holds the ice for a long time, as well as looking good all around. LOVE not having to bend over to get another drink. So glad we bought this, its a very nice addition to our porch. Costco has such good quality of items, never let down!"
Review 14 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LA, CA
Date:January 16, 2010

disagree with review below

"stores a lot of drinks, and the height is perfect for getting the drinks out. no need to take up additional counter space with a traditional cooler, or bend down and reach in a cooler on the ground. the wheels are so useful for refilling the cooler and for draining. and it looks great!
this cooler is for party use, not to be stored in the snow or 30 mph wind (when of course anything outside would be blown around). i used this for my fundraiser, and it was wonderful. it saved my back and was extremely efficient."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hermann, MO
Date:September 29, 2011

Quality Lacking

Pros: looks cool
Cons: quality a concern
"Thought this would be great for bar area and around the pool.
First one delivered was damaged. Took it back to Costco and received the splendid customer service.
Ordered another and received it without damage. Fit was a bit poor. When assembling one philips screw was not formed right and ther were no extras.
Once it was assembled I started to put the wheels on it. One of the legs bottoms was not flat and the threads were not correctly cot on the bottom of the legs. The wheels were forced to go at an angle.
Once I finally jeri-rigged the wheel and set it upright I realized it seemed top heavy. I wonder if a full load of beer and ice can safely be moved. Would be concerned if the were smal children in the home."
Review 16 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Total bust

"Please do not waste your time buying this cooler. It is not worth it. It is not fully stainless; the inside is plastic. The handles on top are also plastic. And as stated in earlier reviews, there is a serious lack of quality control. The holes on the legs do not line up, making it impossible to properly assemble this item. Don't waste your time or money."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:July 1, 2010

Looks great, does not assemble well

"The item looks great. It is smaller than the pictures reflect. However, it easily held 2 cases of bottled beer and ice. I think they should have a bar between the legs b/c it feels flimsy when you push it. There are 8 bolts that hold the handles onto the cooler. 2 of the 8 started to spin as I tightened the bolt. I could not back the bolts out nor tighten them. I was left with 1/4 inch of play between the bolt head and the handle. The mfgr did not have a fix. My only option was to return the cooler assembled. The customer service rep said it was probably defective spot welds that hold the female threaded nut in place."
Review 18 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sunny Arizona
Date:May 17, 2012

Okay quality...not great

"The first one I received was all scratched inside the lid the stainless looked bad, so it was returned. The second one had a scratched knob for the lid. The manufacturer sent me a new one. The stainless also didn't look good one this one. Normally, stainless is wrapped in a sort of plastic protective coating that the consumer takes off to reveal "brand new" looking stainless...not so here. After spraying it with my stainless steel cleaner, it looks good now...much better than it looked out of the box. So, I would, with some reservations, recommend it to a friend."
Review 19 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:August 3, 2011

worked out great for me

Pros: stylish, easy to assemble
"This cooler works out great for me, it's much more stylish (and uses less electricity) than having an outdoor fridge. I actually LIKE that there is a plastic liner on the inside, makes it easier to clean and provides some cushion for glass bottles and cans. I didn't have any trouble assembling it, not sure what other customers experienced?
It's perfect for when I host parties -- easy to roll in and roll out of storage and holds a good amount so I don't need to constantly refill, and guests don't need to come inside and raid our fridge to get a cold one."
Review 20 for 20-gallon Stainless-steel Cooler with Wheels
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2011

Picture is much nicer than product

"As a family we purchase just about everyyhing from Costco. I was surprised when I received this cooler. First of all, I had to return it because the top was damaged. As I pulled the parts out of the box, Ialso noticed that the welding on the legs was very sloppy. Almost like the manufacture welded the legs together and forgot to cosmetically clean up the joints. This is not what we expected from costco. Good thing they have the greatest return policy on earth. I'll wait until they have this product on the warehouse floor before I attemp to repurchase it."
1 2 3 next>>