Customer Reviews for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner

97,000 BTU's Total, 1,000 sq. in. Total Cooking Area & More!
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
13 of 18(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Review 1 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:costa mesa,ca
Date:December 12, 2011

HORRIBLE BBQ!

Pros: looks nice
Cons: horrible construction poor customer service
"Worst bbq purchase ever! So far, 1 out of the 5 burners broken. The electrical out so no lights. The rotisserie broken. 2 out of 5 igniters out. I call calflame and you have to pay for a technician to come out and fix it. Really? Horrible customer service. I called 3 times. Twice they said a manager was going to email or call back. No one ever did! DO NOT BUY THIS BBQ!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 31, 2011

Beware!

Pros: looks nice
Cons: breaks, poor/no customer service
"Do yourself a huge favor, buy something else. I can't begin to tell you the nightmare that having this BBQ. Other reviews were right. CalFlame won't call back or react until you get Costco involved. Even then, that are slow and evasive. I waited writing a review to give them a chance to rectify. 6 months is long enough."
Review 3 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:September 19, 2011

Worth the money

Pros: excellent materials, large cooking surface
Cons: you lose on burner if you add a searing unit
"After much research I purchases the CalFlame 5 burner convection grill. It is very well built and much cheaper than what I could find in Orlando stores. The only issues I had was that California gas codes and Florida's are different. FL Code calls for installation with so kind of monitor or diffuser. Also the LP hook up directions are not very clear. The technition that hooked up our grill contacted Cal Flame and the problem was solved quickly. I have been cooking on the grill for several months now and it's amazing! Wish Cal Flame would add searing unit seperate like a side burner."
Review 4 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:May 3, 2011

Tough Decision to make

Pros: 5 burners lights convection for 1/2 the price
Cons: had some minor issues to deal with at first
"We recently built an entertainment Island in the back yard and needed to find a grill that would be designed into it. I searched all the competitive brands for a drop in grill that had drop in accessories like sear burners, lights built into it, sturdy construction (Stainless Steel) and at a reasonable price. I looked at several models and went to many distributers as well as researching them on-line. I finally settled for the 5 burner Cal Flame for its features and price. The next closest grill in comparison was/is twice the cost. The decision to buy it through Costco was EASY for the simple reason, Costco stands behind all their products probably better than anyone. We received the grill within 3-4 days, faster than expected. The grill looked great but there was a problem with it so we called Cal Flame support and a Costco customer support person as well. Both were very helpful and i was able to get through several times to both and both returned calls promptly. The Cal Flame people were there to help and I really appreciate that. I believe there was a short in it and I decided to return it. Due to process time to return and replace the grill, I ended up purchasing a new unit (the same model) and it was delivered the NEXT DAY! We installed the new one, checked it out and everything works great. We also purchased a drop in sear burner and a smoke box. Everything works and we now have a beautiful 5 burner grill that hi-lites the Island. I returned the first unit to a local Costco where we received payment in full and in cash. Thanks for the Support!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:April 14, 2011

Worst purchase ever from Costco!

"I normally do not write reviews, but I feel very strongly this was a horrible purchase decision!
Upon purchase, we installed the product and there were problems. CalFlame customer service is HORRIBLE, and it took 3 months and perhaps 10 phone calls to Costco and CalFlame before the problem was fixed.
The first time the technician came out, almost 2 months after we filed a claim, he wasn't prepared with the the right part (even though my husband told him exactly what part was needed by phone). Then it took another month to get him out again with the correct part.
Less than a year later...once again, another problem with the rotisserie motor. Not only that, but the access doors we purchased separately literally fell apart (the door frame fell off)! The company doesn't want to replace the product, although obviously defective and of poor workmanship!
CalFlame products are of VERY POOR QUALITY, and the customer service is NOT worth it at all.
Worse purchase ever from Costco. I am so disappointed Costco.com continues to use this vendor."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:April 3, 2011

One Great Grill

Pros: looks great, cooks perfectly once adjusted, built solid, ability to add sear zone, ability to add smoke box, comes with rotisserie, a sweet deal
Cons: poor instuctions on assembly, no instructions on adusting burners
Model Number: BBQ08875CP
"Upon completion of my outdoor kitchen construction and putting all the bbq functions to a test, I decided to write a review. I read all the reviews before I purchased the unit, and with some hesitation, purcheased it anyway because of the size and its ability to change out burners to either drop in the smoke box, or drop in a sear zone burner. (I have done both) I am floored with its performance.
Please note adjustments need to be made out of the box, just like all other cooking equipment. I was able to get answers from call flame on the phone
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 1, 2011

Great Grill and Service

"Grill came earlier than I expected 5 days and was in perfect condition. It was installed about 15 days later as the construction for the built in was not complete. I love the way the grill heats. The motor for the fan is very noisy. so far this grill exceeds my expectations."
Review 8 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:December 2, 2010

Great for the Money....

Pros: price, build quality
Cons: had to mess with burner for proper operation
"So I've had this grill for about a year and a half. I am very happy for the price-yes a fire magic or Lynx grill is better -but at more than twice the cost. It is relatively well built and heavy duty. I don’t think the infrared extra burners are needed(check YouTube video review on that), This grill gets HOT..like 750-800 hot, I can’t even keep a bare hand over it at full blast. I have it hard piped into house gas line. I agree the grates shape are bit of a pain but they are heavy gauge steel. Have not used rotisserie. The interior lights are nice. Ordered a cover from cal flame. Their customer service is bad but who cares if you order it from Costco- they will handle it for you. Had a delivery date issue-called Costco customer service and grill showed up ASAP."
Review 9 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2010

Great Grill

"We love it, it looks good and performs well. Have not used it a whole lot but plan to."
Review 10 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2010

It's OK.

"Bought mine 5 yrs ago w/ island from Cal Flames. Came w/ brass burners. JUNK! Now have SS burnersf rom Cal Flames under warranty. Much better. Heat still uneven, heat from back (hottest) to front. The angled grates are a pain! Harder to clean. The good part is it is easy to clean the whole BBQ like a Weber. All the parts are easily removeable. Even the burners (if you remove the cotter pins holding them in place. Don't need them.The "convection " fan it a tiny 4" fan moving air . Noisy! The built in lights get dirty from BBQ smoke fast, but can be cleaned. The unit is heavily built. The large/wide dripping drawer is great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:September 4, 2010

Excellent Grill

Pros: gets super hot super fast, excellent look and construction
Cons: instructions could be better
Model Number: BBQ8875P/CP
"The look and performance of this grill are as good as I've seen. High quality workmanship, and most importantly..it gets HOT.
I converted to Natural gas, which was more of a puzzle than a problem. I agree the instructions could be better, and you need the right tools, but after completing it, it was very simple. I could do another one in 15% of the time.
The grill gets super hot, super fast and looks great. We'll see how it wears over the years, but for now; as good as anything I've seen that costs twice as much. Very happy with the purchase."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Laguna Niguel, CA
Date:August 25, 2010

NO Customer Service

Model Number: 5 Burner Cal Flame BBQ
"Called Cal Spas to order additional equipment and their Customer Service and ability to ship the correct product, return a phone call, or respond to a normal request is unbelievably UNACCEPTABLE. Even went up the ladder with no change in attitude and results. They seem understaffed, incapable, and don't seem to even care . Buyer beware!!!"
Review 13 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Date:July 19, 2010

Great grill IF you add options.....

Pros: overall quality and construction, ability to upgrade burners to infared
Cons: faulty ignition system
Model Number: BBQ08875CP-Z
"Great overall quality and construction, BUT.....If you want this grill to be a 5 star unit you are wise to invest in the infared "Sear Zone" burners and replace 2 or three of the basic burners which do NOT get hot enough for most true grilling applications. I put in 3 total of these optional burners and now it is a REAL high end BBQ. A small price to upgrade this already well priced unit. As a side note, I have also experienced the inoperative igniter on the rotisserie burners that others have commented on. CalFlame was not much help there."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cave Creek, AZ
Date:July 14, 2010

Caveat Emptor

"Impressive looking grill. If you want it for out-of-the-box propane, and if all the burners work, and if all the other parts are complete, it probably is a good unit.
I had several issues with mine.
1. I use natural gas [far superior to propane, which burns wet; NG also is much hotter]. The Cal Flame comes set up for propane and includes an NG conversion kit. “ALL” you have to do is switch out the orifices, which are very tiny brass fittings, one for each burner and each infrared rotisserie. This took several hours: you have to virtually dismantle the grill to get at them and then they are so inaccessible that it requires fingers like spaghetti and the nimbleness of LeBron James. What a nightmare. It is all made worse by the fact that …
2. The Owner’s Manual is simply awful. Poor and incomplete instructions; lousy or no pictures.
3. The igniters for the rotisserie don’t work
4. I had several missing or defective parts.
Customer Service is hard to reach."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:fullerton ca
Date:February 13, 2010

awesome grill !!!

Pros: great price and awesome looking....
Cons: shipping company was confused about time and items
"Wow, A great looking grill.... Very detailed..... Heavy duty..... I almost want one for the inside kitchen...."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cali
Date:January 31, 2010

Incredible BBQ

Pros: everything
"Just buy it, do not hesitate. If this is the size BBQ you are looking for, you will not be dissapointed!"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tustin, CA
Date:October 10, 2009

This Grill is the Bomb

Pros: heavy duty stainless (304), excellent value, great warranty, natural gas conversion kit included
Cons: does not come with a cover but available on-line
Model Number: Cal Flame 5 Burner with Rotisserie
"I searched for the right grill for 30 days while the backyard was being built. I hit all the usual outlets and on-line. Anything that was close to this grill was more than I wanted to spend. You may replace a burner with a sear zone element that can be purchased on-line if you wish. Grates are heavy duty and cooking area is huge. Inside lighting is bright with great grill coverage. Though it can get very hot, temperature is controllable for slow cooking if necessary. Design is great and has professional looking knobs and handle. Slide out tray has high grade rollers which will last a long time. The warranty was better as than other grills I looked at. (And I looked believe me). This grill comes with the natural gas conversion kit included and was easy to install. The only comment that is less than positive is the ability to control the temperature on the rotisserie is less than on the burners. I am not sure that is going to make a huge difference but it is something that I noticed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cal Flame® 5 Burner Exclusive Convection Oven Grill with Infrared Rotisserie Backburner
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richardson, TX
Date:September 27, 2009

Fantastic grill

"This thing gets hot! Each burner section has a separate grill that can be removed and washed. Pull-out drip tray makes cleaning easy as well. Thermostat is built into the cover. Looks fantastic in the outdoor kitchen stonework. I have not tried the rotisserie yet but the pole is over 3 feet long."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.