Customer Reviews for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System

The contemporary design is less than 9½ inches wide, freeing up counter space while offering a true bean-to-cup experience. The rotary switch makes the ENA the easiest to use automatic coffee center. The patent-pending Zero-Energy-Technology uses less electricity than any other coffee center on the market. Created for the coffee enthusiast, the ENA series offers the best in authentic crema coffee, espresso, cappuccino and latte in a flawless, striking design. The ENA 5 series features 18 bars of pressure, a professional-grade conical burr grinder, energy saving technology and a wealth of convenience features. At the touch of a button, it grinds, tamps, brews and self-cleans in less than 60 seconds for high-pressure brewed crema coffee or espresso to rival any coffee café. Cappuccinos and lattes are easy with two frothing options: the Dual Frother Plus to froth like a barista and the patented frothXpress system that automatically steams or froths milk into the cup.  A hot water dispenser can be used for Café Americano or tea. Fully programmable, the ENA 5 lets you personalize the amount, strength and temperature of your coffee. The user-friendly Rotary Dial makes it easy to override programming to prepare a special cup, without affecting the permanent settings. Convenient features include a LCD three-color alphanumeric display, automatic cleaning cycles and the CLEARYL water filtration system that eliminates the need for decalcification. A stainless steel lined ThermoBlock heats quickly to minimize wait times before initial brewing and steaming. A separate automatic ground coffee funnel lets you use pre-ground coffee, ideal to brew either decaf or another coffee roast. The ENA 5 features a unique coffee release system. Turn the platinum metallic cylinder to select to brew through one or two spouts. It comes standard with both frothing systems. Top and front are rich platinum metallic with chrome and stainless steel accents. Removable cup platform in stainless steel. Side and back panels are either ristretto black or coffee cherry red. Select from:   ENA 5 with Cherry Red side panel   ENA5 Ristretto Black side panel Features and Benefits:   Rotary Dial: Push the dial to grind, tamp and brew your preferred cup of high-pressure brewed coffee. Change the strength or the volume by turning the dial during operation. Select from three strength settings and brew from ½ oz up to 16 oz. of coffee at a time.   LCD display dialog system: Gives you short, plain language instructions. Display color indicates status such as Green for when the ENA 5 is ready to brew coffee   Adjustable coffee spout: Turn the unique rotating cylinder to brew through one or two spouts. Adjust the height and almost any size of coffee cup will fit underneath.      Two step pre-infusion cycle: Moistens and conditions the ground coffee for Maximum flavor extraction with perfect crema topping.   FrothXpress System: Helps you to prepare perfect cappuccinos and lattes cup after cup. It automatically siphons milk from any milk container, combines it with hot steam and delivers hot, frothed milk into your cappuccino cups. Turn the dial of the frothXpress to the latte setting and the frothXpress will deliver hot steamed milk with very little or no froth for that delicious latte. Temperature control for that extra hot Cappuccino or Latte.   Dual Frother PLUS: With the Rotary Dial select “Steam” and push the Rotary button. Within seconds, the ThermoBlock heating system reaches steaming temperature. After steaming/frothing your milk, the ENA5 grinds the beans and pressure-brews the espresso into your cup without delay. Frother can be used to release hot water to quickly pre-heat your cup or for that perfect Cafe Americano or to make a cup of tea in seconds.   7 oz. bean container: Grind up to 15 portions of coffee before refilling.   Integrated professional solid steel conical burr grinder: For consistent and aroma-saving grinding. Five settings allow you to adjust the fineness for all kinds of beans - from light to dark roasts. Grinds from 5 to a maximum of 16 grams of coffee from mild to strong.   37 oz. removable water container: Good for 20 espressos at a time.   Separate automatic coffee funnel for pre-ground coffee: Use for decaf or flavored coffees.   18-bar power pump: With 1450 watt stainless steel lined ThermoBlock heating system. Fast continuous operation for use at home or in the office.   Select from "Continuous-on" or "Auto-off": From 1/2 hour to 9 hours in one hour increments. This makes sure the machine stays on as long as you want.   CLEARYL Water Care System: Removes chlorine, lead, aluminum and copper from your tap water for a better tasting coffee. A special organic additive removes almost all carbon and eliminates decalcifying altogether. Cartridge change indicator makes sure that you always have the best water possible.   Five level water hardness selector: Set the machine to your water hardness (comes with a water hardness indicator strip).   Electronic water level sensor: Will never let the machine operate without water!   Automatic hot water rinse cycle: Cleans and pre-heats all vital brewing parts when the ENA is turned on and off.   Automatic cleaning cycle indicator: Prevents coffee oil build-up in the brew chamber. A short 15 minutes automated tablet cleaning program with clear instructions in the LCD display insures clean inner parts and coffee that will never tastes oily or bitter. The display will remind you automatically after approx. 180 cups of coffee.   Automatic indicator when used coffee container is full: Used coffee container holds up to 12 coffee portions.   Choose from seven languages in the dialog system: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.   Two temperature settings   DVD: With detailed tips on brewing, frothing methods and cleaning.   Dimensions: 14” H x 9” w x 17” L ; Weight: 20 lbs.   UL Listed   2 year limited warranty, or 6,000 cups, whichever comes first Includes:   ENA Clearyl Filter   Cleaning Tablets   Pre ground funnel   Measuring Scoop   Water Hardness Indicator Strip   DVD For further product information please call Jura-Capresso at 1-800-767-3554.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 12(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Review 1 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:March 25, 2011

Best Buy Ever

Model Number: ENA5
"Had a Saeco, the ENA5 is far better
and better tasting coffee
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Laguna Beach, CA
Date:January 19, 2012

Don't Even Think Twice, Buy It!!!

Pros: use your own whole beans / whatever you like, you can vary the size and strength as you prefer, very simple to operate / unit is self cleaning
Cons: you will drink more coffee
Model Number: Jura Ena 5
"If you are a coffee shop junkie, or even if you go only once or twice a week for your fix, pick this up and kiss your coffee shop goodbye with no regrets! We hesitated .. (lots of money for a coffeemaker!). We wondered if the quality would be comparable to our high end manual espresso maker, or our local barrista's talents. As good if not better every time! Best coffee you have ever had! Not difficult at all. Clean, easy, just push one button... That's it .Choose your own whole beans, (not a slave to what comes in a KCup), and beans are ground fresh immediately for every cup, tamped, and pressure brewed piping hot with a beautiful crema every time! Machine pays for itself pretty quickly, even for the "once a week" coffee lover. We have had this 6 months now, and look forward to every morning."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, WA
Date:January 26, 2012

great machine

Pros: easy set-up especially with dvd, consistent espresso and foam, easy to fill water tank
Cons: expensive but worth it
Model Number: Jura Ena5
"Used to be a barista, so I am picky. Bought from Costco because of their great return policy. Intitally bought Saeco Talea, first one quit steaming at 8 weeks, second one at 6 weeks. The Jura has been great, not much of a learning curve, had great lattes from the beginning. The DVD was helpful, take the time to watch it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:houston, TX
Date:August 20, 2012

What an amazing investment

Pros: easy easy. easy!, it's swiss
Model Number: ENA 5
"I have had this machine for 15 months and have had such a great overall experience. It truly saves time and hassle if you want a top level coffee, fast and easy.
I just made a coffee with a quality manual espresso machine at my parents and realized how spoiled I truly am with my machine at home.
Of course you have to maintain it, which takes time and there are quirks about the machine that you just deal with, but well worth it. And yes, I've burned my fingers by the frothXpress system once or twice. Im dealing with hot drinks after all! However, once you get your routine and the hang of the process, it becomes a part of your life. I miss it when I travel, especially when a soy latte usually costs $4.
The ENA 5 is a great value, but it leads to having to fill the water and beans more often, compared to the larger machines.
But it made sense to me to buy at the lower price point for this quality Swiss machine. I really wanted a Swiss one. Thank you Jura C, I'm a big fan."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 23, 2012
Pros: good quality machine, aesthetically pleasing, all in one simplicity
Cons: limited customization
Model Number: Ena-5
"I purchased this machine for the office and after 3 months of use I am very happy with the purchase. Its one button operation is very straight forward and it always brews a good cup of coffee. The level of customization is more limited when compared with some machines in the $1,200-$1,500 range however this machine was designed to be smaller, elegant and can still brew a very nice cup of coffee and should satisfy 98% of people out there. Overall highly satisfied."
Review 6 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:March 23, 2011

Outstanding Espresso!

Pros: size ease of use quality of espresso, bells and whistles
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Jura Capresso ENA5 / 11497520
"So after much deliberation, we decided to purchase the ENA5 through Costco. Best price and of course, Costco's great return policy. Just opened the box 2 days ago and already we're making incredible espresso's, latte's and caps. Easy to use, pretty easy to clean, but wow, once you figure your perfect combination of grind and strength settings, an amazing drink awaits. Glad i read other reviews on the machine, not just the one that was negative on lemon that was posted here..."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA
Date:June 13, 2012

Use it more than any other applicance

Pros: easy, design, automatic, versatile
Cons: coffee bill has gone up!
"Love it and use it a lot. We have recommended this to so many people who are also happy owners. We use primarily whole beans and for the decaffers the ground coffee chute."
Review 8 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:April 5, 2011

Good machine all-around

"This is a really good automatic espresso maker, but it can be a little finicky. When I first got it, I unpacked it and set it up, and followed all of the instructions.
There's an initial start-up procedure (done only on the first set-up of the machine) that involves running some water through the steam spout before the heater turns on. It tells you to "open tap" and runs water through the spout into a cup. Then it says to "close tap" and it's supposed to turn on the heater.
Unfortunately, mine got caught in an endless loop of "open tap" and "close tap." After I drained a tank and a half of water through the steam spout, I figured there was a problem. There was no help for it in the manual, customer service was closed for the day, and I wasn't able to find a solution on the internet. I turned off the machine and waited for a while before turning it back on. Same problem. In absolute frustration, I turned off the machine, unplugged it, and waited until the morning.
I plugged it in in the morning, and it tried the start-up procedure again, but it didn't get stuck in the loop this time. (Thank God!) I finished the setup, and it's been good ever since.
The coffee tastes GREAT, and the machine is super easy to use. It's really easy to fill the beans and the water, and clean-up is really quick and easy. I've seen complaints that the water tank is too small, but I think it's fine. It also lifts off the machine with minimal effort, so refilling it is super easy.
Sometimes it'll get a little finicky about the beans not being full or the grounds drawer needing to be emptied. Sometimes you have to stir the beans with your finger to really get them into the grinder for it to register as "full." And if you're emptying the grounds drawer, sometimes it makes you take the whole tray all the way out to register that you've actually emptied the grounds. But now that I'm getting used to it, it's easier for me to figure out what the machine wants.
It automatically runs a quick "rinse" cycle when you turn the machine on and when it turns off. I always turn mine on manually and have it turn off 30 min later to save power. I just leave an empty coffee cup under the spout to catch the rinse water and dump it in the sink while my coffee's brewing. You don't have to, because the drip tray is pretty large, but I do that to keep the chrome clean.
Also, just FYI, they're not shipping the burr grinder release tool with the machine anymore. The manual says it's in the box (it's not), but the customer service rep said they stopped including it because if a stone jams in the machine requiring the removal of the burr grinder, odds are that it jacked up something else in the machine that would require service.
Overall, I'm very happy with the machine, and it's made my mornings a LOT nicer. No more Starbucks for me! Woo hoo!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 2, 2012

Great coffee/espresso

Pros: simple to operate, easy to clean/maintain
Cons: lacks milk temperature
Model Number: ENA5
"I bought this machine from Costco.com after doing a lot of research and reading that these machines (of all brands) can be temperamental. The JURA seems to have the best reputation, and our machine has been bulletproof so far but good to know we can return it to any Costco location should it break down.
The biggest drawback of this machine (and most others that operate on 120V) is the milk does not really get heated up enough using the frothexpress system.
What we do instead is microwave most of the milk in the latte cup, and set aside a smaller amount of milk to use the manual frother. This way we get the temperature and the exact amount of froth we need in the milk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2011

Good, but not great for the price

Model Number: Jura ENA5
"Overall, I am disappointed with this machine. I owned a Gaggia automatic espresso machine for 6 years. When it was time for it to "retire", I researched the Jura ENA 5. I bought it for its name brand, but mostly because it was sold by Costco, and they back the products they sell.
The espresso is fine, but the milk frothing wand is the main issue. It is very inconsistent. Sometimes the froth is great, but most of the time, I don't get any. It shouldn't be that difficult. (The wand holes are not clogged.)
I also don't care for the switching back and forth between a shot of espresso and an 8-oz. cup of coffee. My previous machine had separate buttons for this. This machine requires adjusting the knob for every option you choose. It isn't as easy as the Gaggia was to operate.
Overall, the machine is fine, but I think it should do more for the price.
"
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 25, 2012

Ok But.....

Pros: good brew
Cons: luke warm
Model Number: Ena 5
"I love the ease, strength and flavor it produces. The biggest problem is the temperature of the coffee, it is always just luke warm and we have to microwave it. I have called the manufacturer and did what they said but to no avail. I have family members with a more advanced model and it doesn't have this problem. It is because of them that we bought this brand. Overall, generally disappointed and considering returning it."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jura ENA5 Automatic Coffee Center with frothXpress System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 7, 2012

VERY DISAPPOINTED

Pros: nice looking
Cons: everything you can imagine, extremely bad concept of a good coffee
Model Number: ENA5
"People who think this is a good coffee machine, with great respect I tell you that you don't know nothing about what a good coffee is ..."
2 of 10 people found this review helpful.