Customer Reviews for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower

24" Clearing Width with 21" Intake Height; Electric Starter
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
(out of 20 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
8
8 of 20(40%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Review 1 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:November 16, 2009

Fantastic

Pros: electric start, 6 speeds, 6.5 horsepower
Model Number: PDST24
"Was shipped and received very quickly. Assembled easily and started easily (standard electric start). Got the first snow over the weekend, about six inches. "Mowed" through it in my own driveway in about 5 minutes, then I did the neighbors driveway, then the HOA's sidewalk they usually ignore. It even used it to take out the slush next to the curb to create a trench to the storm drain. Worked to like a champ."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:December 9, 2009

Mine worked good

Pros: metal chute, good power, easy to handle
Cons: oil fill
Model Number: 196cc 24" two stage electric start
"I received mine 9 days after my order. Shipping guys put it right in my garage. Assembly was not hard. You will need a funnel extension for the oil fill location. I used a plastic tube. Put in oil and gas and with my electric start it fired up right away. We just got 12" of snow and I had no problem clearing my 50' driveway. Nice metal chute. Speed control was good. There is 3 different connections for the speed control cable which effect the range of speeds. One for faster, medium and slower.My chute control rod knob fell off because it was not screwed on type but I found it and put it back on. So far so good."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Wa.
Date:November 12, 2009

easy to assemble

"easy to assemble..takes 15 minutes..started on 1st attempt...waiting to attack the ever increasing snow from global cooling"
9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bozeman, MT
Date:November 14, 2009

Great Product

"Easy to assemble. Received it 2 days before a 28" snow. It worked great and cleared our large driveway."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SE Michigan
Date:November 20, 2009

Great Value! Great Service!

Pros: metal (not plastic) parts, simple straight forward design
Cons: none
Model Number: PDST24
"This machine is put together right and solid. If you are looking for the latest gizmos on a snow blower don't look here. This machines is built from sound, proven, simple mechanics. Somewhere in the process of delivery the metal snow chute got dinged by something substantial (it is a very solid piece of metal) and put it out of round. I called Powerland's customer service and they sent me a replacement out in less than a week and threw in some shear pins for my troubles, no cost, no questions asked. They even called me back to give me the tracking number. After lubing it up with silicone spray and Mobil 1 grease and oil this thing is ready to take on a blizzard.
It started on the first pull and the engine is smooth and quiet... for a snowblower."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2009

Another good product from Costco

"All metal and strong snow thrower, unlike other newer modes available.
Easy to assemble, assembeled in 30 minutes.
Just waiting for the the snow to show up..
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brooklyn, New York
Date:December 20, 2009

Good Deal

Pros: price, features
Model Number: PDST24
"I prices a lot more expensive snow throwers and they did not have the features this one has. I cleeared out two driveways with no problems."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Big Bear Lake, CA
Date:December 15, 2009

Best Value

Model Number: PDST24
"I got this snow blower only 5 days after I placed my order. It is very easy to assemble and easy to use. It has powerful engine 196 cc and can throw snow very far. It has nice and all metal chute better than other cheap plastic one. Compared with other brand its performance and price are the best. I would like to recommend to all."
Review 9 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:November 29, 2009

Poor Enginering

Cons: poorly locateded oil filling openning, arrived with both tubless tires flat.
"THE WORSE PART IS THAT THE POSITION FOR THE OIL FILLING OPENNING IS VERY POORLY LOCATED IN AN UNACCESSABLE PLACE. YOU WILL NEED TO HAVE A FUNNEL (WITH AN EXTENTION) AND ANOTHER PERSON TO HELP YOU HOLDING THE EXTENSION IN THE OIL OPENNING SINCE IT IS VERY SMALL AND THE EXTENSION DOES NOT EVEN GO INSIDE THE OPENNING..
I did not use the product yet, I am goin to return it to Costco. It arrived and both tires were flat. Tires are tubless so it is impossible to inflate them since air leaks the minute you try to put air in the tires.
I spent about 4 hrs in lost time trying to fix the tires and put oil in the engin.
"
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Salt Lake City, UT
Date:December 9, 2009
"I ran the machine for 2 minutes and stopped throwing snow. I notice that the belt had come off.
Poor design, the oil fill hole is very difficult to use. The customer service is not good. I called 3 times the company to talked with a technician. He was unavailable. I am going to return the product to Costco.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Flagstaff, AZ
Date:December 28, 2009

Would look elsewhere

Pros: cheap, powerful
Cons: cheaply made, poor quality control, availability of parts, auger belt falls off easily, speeds 1-6 are too fast
"I left a review while this product was on sale but it didnt show up once the price changed again. That review was better but I felt compelled to leave my feedback. Anyways, I feel you pay for what you get with this machine. I just dont feel like it will last very long. This was my first snowblower purchase but I had used my dads mid 80s ariens for 8+ years with no issues(over 300 inches of snow some years). Never had a problem with the Ariens. This powerland machine assembled easily enough. The right handle on the snowblower wiggles more than it should. The choke on my unit is labeled backwards. That kind off messed up my first day as it flooded the machine so bad. I thought it was the elevation causing it to run bad. Anyways, since I got that figured out the machine does run well. Its new though so it should. Second storm the auger belt came loose and I had to shovel the snow. I fixed it later and you have to drain the gas first and then fix the belt. It took about 25 mins but should only take 15 mins to fix in the future providing the machine isnt full of snow. I just usually wont have time to fix this before I go to work if. The auger belt does squeal alot and my friend told me that it was too loose. I looked in the manual and it doesnt say anything about adjusting the tensioner. I worry about changing the oil-it seems like it will be messy. I just dont feel confident that I will get 10+ years from this machine. Its nice to save money, but this machine will be added stress if you have to fix it yourself. I also wonder how easy it will be to get replacement parts? I tried to call the company for help and I tried 3 different numbers and noone was available during the middle of day during the week. In the end, I decided that I need to return the machine. Im getting a snowblower to save time, not to be a mechanic. Its not that much cheaper than a comparable ariens."
Review 12 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Flagstaff, AZ
Date:October 16, 2010

Get what you pay for

Pros: cheap
Cons: cheaply made
"I purchased this model last year and was not pleased. It is less expensive, but it was also an inferior product. Im glad I returned and bought an Ariens instead for slightly more. I know my Ariens will last, and when something does break, I can easily get a replacement part even if it is 10 years down the road. This machine had enough power to throw wet snow, but the belt would come off easily and its not quickly fixed and you need to drain the gas."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:lakeville michigan
Date:January 16, 2010

Powerland Snowthower

"Broken after 20 minutes.Wheels vibrated off.Belt melted and pulley for wheels was being eaten by bad design.Metal shavings were everywhere.Chinese product.Do I need to say anymore.Returned it as soon as possible."
Review 14 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:D.C. area
Date:December 21, 2009

SnowBlowerDoes NOT WORK

"The belt slipped off, got that fixed, then jammed. Spent all day fiddling with it and just would not work. Had ordered it in anticipation of the the worse blizzard of D.C. area, instead, was useless and complete waste of time. What a disappointment."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2009

Chinese garbage

Cons: cheap and non durable
"This snowblower is a piece of junk. I unloaded it off the trailer, attempted to prime it and started it barely. It wouldnt run with the choke off. The oil fill is at a terrible angle. When I engaged the drive wheels and auger it made a terrible sound. After inspection I noted the friction plate threw off the rubber wheel and resulted in metal on metal damage. Both the belts fell off the auger drive. The snowblower now lives back in the Costco return center. Dont waste your money or time with this product. The instructions are also lost in translation, multiple grammatical errors."
Review 16 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Danbury, CT
Date:December 29, 2009

Broken after used once

Pros: all metal construction
Cons: poor design fragile
Model Number: PDST24
"Used once and broken. It did make huge noise when gear in on after it is broken. Engine stalled sometimes before broken. Operating the chute direction is a joke. Returned and bought an Arien."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Golden, CO
Date:December 4, 2009

Poor design/Broken

Model Number: Powerland 196cc snow thrower
"I had high hopes for this machine during the first snowfall in Golden, CO. The oil fill hole is very difficult to use. The drain hole on the other side wasn't tight so some oil leaked before I discovered that. The unit ran about 10 minutes and stopped throwing snow. I discovered that the belt had slipped off, replaced it, started it up, and the belt came off again. This time I noticed that the belt rubs on the shroud and the idler wheel for the drive belt is out of alignment. Then put the thrower belt back on, ran the machine with the shroud off so I could see if it stay on. It did, so I started using it again. The belt slipped off a third time. I was done. Also the speed ranges are too fast. Maybe this is normal for all machine, but it runs into big snowpiles too fast on the 1st setting and you have to gog after it on the fast, 6th setting. The tools are useless. The booklet is part Chinese."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Carbondale Colo
Date:January 7, 2010

Assembled backwards

"The augers to collect snow are installed backwards. This new machine was throwing the snow about 2 to 3 feet only and leaving piles of snow on each side of the auger housing ... i.e. it was just pushing snow around. I finally figured out that the big blades were installed backwards at the factory. I'm taking it back to Costco tomorrow! Other issues with this too ... hard starting with manual rope pull; awkward mechanism for adjusting chute direction. What looked like a good value turns out to be a big pain ... Thankfully I bought at Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:January 7, 2010

Poor Design

"Broken after one use. It is very difficult to turn blowing direction."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Powerland 196cc Two-Stage Gas Snow Thrower
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Flagstaff, AZ
Date:January 22, 2010

Worst Costco Purchase I've Made

Pros: engine started right up, price
Cons: can't handle 12" of snow, hates wet or compacted snow, keeps throwing auger drive belt, has drive belts not gears, lousy mechanism to change chute direction, quality control
Model Number: PDST24
"Got this early January after buying it on one day sale Christmas Day. Was excited as Costco usually delivers quality and value at a great price. Unfortunately, the buyers blew it on this one. Setup was easy; however, parts were included with no explanation in the book as to where they went. Was able to figure it out, tho. Gas and oil in, started right up. Was impressed with how quiet and smooth running the engine was. Everything tested OK, so I set it up and waited for the next storm. We got a foot overnight and she started right up. Was impressed and happy with how well it handled the light, dry snow from the first part of the storm. It kept snowing throughout the day, so I went back out to do the next 12". 1/3 way through, strange squeeling noises started coming from the unit when I engaged the augers. Suddenly, it wasn't throwing snow. Shear pins? Nope. They were fine. Finished job, with much difficulty, with old Honda single stage (glad I didn't get rid of it!). Checked unit. Auger drive belt had flung off. Not easy to get to and not easy to put it back on. No way to tighten it up. Quality control on parts being remove to get to belt seems barely adequate, even sub-par....like the 10mm bolt heads being like 9.75, making the socket loose. Back outside with the next storm that night, this time with 14" of snow. Unit bogged and didn't like the depth or the type of snow (wetter than earlier). Unit squeels every time I engage augers. Engine has weird sounds, like it sometimes wants to throw a rod. Belt comes off again, about 1/3 of the way through the job. Not worth it for even 1/2 the price...guess this is a prime example of you get what you pay for....but I truly expected better from Costco. Thank God for their return policy. I still love Costco; however, no more Chinese made equipment for me. Think I'll track down an Ariens....even though it will be twice as expensive, the hassel with this unit has been over the top...and here I thought I was ready for the worst storm in years here in Flagstaff, AZ....live and learn!"