Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Includes: New AeroVac™ Technology, 2 Auto Virtual Walls, 2 Extra Filters, & 2 Extra Bristle Brushes
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
(out of 168 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
14
138 of 168(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New England
Date:July 25, 2011

2nd Roomba

Pros: wonderful invention
"This is our 2nd Roomba and we love it. It's so great to just press the dial and off it goes to vacuum the carpets. When we wore our first one out, we didn't even hesitate to purchase another one."
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MT & UT
Date:July 25, 2011

I vacuum when dining out.

Pros: i vacuum when i'm away from home. great!
Cons: my dogs hate it when roomba runs into them.
Model Number: 550
"I have purchased 3 of these Roomba vacuums, for the 3 floors of my house. The first one, a few years ago, would run out of battery and I had to pull it from under the bed or wherever it died and carry it to the charger. The new iRobot Roomba 500 docks itself when the battery gets low. I wish the debris holder was larger, but still wouldn't trade my Roomba for anything. I no longer need to broom the tile floor or vacuum floors that part carpet and part wood.
On the negative side,... the Roomba's suction/brush is so strong that it pulled off some carpet fringe. Now I wish someone would invent a Roomba that does stairs. BTW - a couple years ago I bought a cheaper Roomba model. Not good. Get this top of the line and you'll love it.
"
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 18, 2011

Should have bought one years ago!

Model Number: Roomba 550
"I bought this for my 81 year old mother. She wouldn't let us get her a maid, she can't see well and her floors were dirty. She absolutely loves it and so do all her kids, grandkids and great grandkids. It goes under the furniture and cleans very well. It's unbelieveable the amount of dirt it picks up and she runs it everyday. She has all hard surface flooring. She says it frees her up to do other things!"
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Overland Park, KS
Date:July 6, 2011

iRobot Roomba 550 Vacuum Cleaner

"This is a great product! Took it out of the box, charged it up, turned it on, and let it go...while I relaxed and read my book. Even used it to vacuum my mattress and box springs, knowing it wouldn't fall off. I have named it "Mabel" - the first maid I've ever had....love her."
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:July 4, 2011

I was skeptical, but...

Pros: works while we're away, scheduling feature, does a good job for it's size
Cons: kind of noisy
Model Number: Roomba 550
"I was skeptical about purchasing this but figured I could return it if I didn't like it. For us, it has been great. We have multiple cats and tile floors. With the timer and virtual walls, I just pickup any light rugs in the house that it will catch on and let it do it's thing while we're at work. I'm really amazed at how much stuff it picks up every day. And the cat litter tracked around the litter boxes is no problem... it picks it up. I must confess that I'm impressed by the Roomba. I just can't watch it too closely or it drives my crazy because it doesn't go where I think it should. But in the end, whatever algorithm it is using works pretty well to cover the whole area."
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Parker, CO
Date:June 27, 2011

Most excellent vac_bot

Pros: accepts the "old" tower from the dead unit., timer!, has larger dustbin than previous unit, ok it's also a cat toy
Cons: comes with the older 3 arm side-brush, not the new 5 arm side brush.
Model Number: Roomba 550
"This is a replacement for a refurb'd Roomba 500 unit. Easy to set up, almost do not need the instructions. Quiet and efficient - this does the trick on our bedroom wood & bathroom tile floors. It stays in the rooms with the towers, no chasing it down the hall. Thinking about another one for the kitchen/dining areas."
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:June 24, 2011

Not worth the price

"The thing ran around the house and only seemed to pickup cat hair. Never touched the cat litter on the hardwood. Carpet seemed ok. Maybe I got a bad one. The videos I watched online did not sound like mine."
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ct
Date:June 23, 2011

roomba

Model Number: 550
"We love the Roomba! It's like having amy own personal cleaning lady! It is the best purchase I have ever bought!!"
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:June 22, 2011

GREAT for pet hair!!!

Pros: floors are always swept!!!, works very well on low level pile rugs, come home to clean floors, it tells you if it has a problem, returns to home base to recharge, cleans under furniture very well
Cons: has trouble with multi-level throw rugs, sometimes get hung up on edge of step down
Model Number: Roomba 550
"I have a white lab, 3 cats, & all hardwood, tile, & vinyl floors. You can imagine the amount of hair that would accumulate if the floors weren't constantly cleaned. My Roomba is sheduled to clean everyday at the same time. I usually have it clean1/2 the house one day, & the other half the next day, using the virtual walls to keep it where I want it. Yes, it does need to be cleaned & emptied daily, but that's a small price to pay for clean floors. Since I have pets & their toys, the Roomba sometimes gets ahold of one & has problems. That's my fault, not the Roomba's. It's not so loud as to spook my dog or cats, but you are aware it's running. Now I want a Scooba to mop my floors."
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee WA
Date:June 22, 2011

Fantastic Cleaning Robot

Pros: thorough cleaning of floors, videos and troubleshooting on line is very helpful
Cons: live contact with support is not good
Model Number: 550
"This is the best product ever. It takes a little maintenance, (cleaning rollers, etc) but every day my floors are spotless (and I have 3 dogs and live on a farm). Their support on line is very informative, but calling support or chatting with support on line is not so good. I have the feeling that support has never seen one of these, let alone worked on it. (This is my third Roomba and I wanted to troubleshoot "Mrs. Doubtfire, my first Roomba's ultimate demise. That was not very successful and I did not enjoy the experience. However, I like the product so well I did not hesitate to buy a new, better model."
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:June 22, 2011

I was disappointed

Pros: does clean well where it goes, high geek factor
Cons: noisey, cleans a very small area, dog hair immobilizes front wheel, unit must be cleaned every time it is used.
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550
"I'm a geek at heart and was excited about this purchase. I was disappointed for several reasons: 1) I have dogs (why I purchased) and the hair gets wrapped around the front wheel in a matter of minutes causing it to stop spinning 2) The area the vacuum cleans before returning to the charging station is very small due to battery life, probably because of reason 1. 3)The vacuum is very noisy and there is no way you can let it run at night and still sleep. Not only is the machine noisy, but the constant bumping into walls and doors makes it impractical to use at night. 4) The dirt compartment is small and must be cleaned every time the unit runs, as well as cleaning the air filter (when you have dogs I suppose, but why else would you buy the unit?)"
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 20, 2011

Completely, 100% worth it

Model Number: 550
"I am notoriously bad at staying up-to-date on my floor cleaning. I let it go and put it off and procrastinate constantly. Well, recently we moved from a house with wood laminate floors to a place with carpets throughout, and there is nothing that illustrates exactly how dirty carpets get than living in a house with non-carpeted floors. So when it came time to move, I began researching the roomba.
I admit, I was a little concerned. We have 3 cats, 1 large dog, and a kid. It's a smallish house. The roomba is round -- how can it possibly get into corners? And small -- how can it possibly hold all that dirt? And what about the suction, could something that small even have decent suction?
Well, after two weeks of ownership, I am glad to announce I was wrong. This is simply awesome, and so completely worth the price.
1) Pets/ kids: I was concerned about the 550 model in this regard. My concerns have been put to rest -- the house is cleaner than it's ever been. We empty the bin after each use and clean the brushes real quick. We choose to do it daily, but I'm sure every 3 days (as instructed) would be adequate.
2) Corners: It has a little sweeper brush that flicks dirt and dust out of corners and under the roomba, where it easily picks it up. No troubles.
3) The very first day we ran the roomba, we had to dump the collector bin twice for every room -- but I hadn't vacuumed since moving in 3 days previous. Every day since, we dump the bin after it vacuums the entire house, and it's only 1/2 full, if that.
4) Suction: Impressive, actually. It was picking up new-carpet pile and little bits of litter my cats had tracked into the carpet. I actually feel completely okay about having my niece and nephew crawl on the carpets, because I *know* it's clean!
We programmed it to vacuum every morning at 9 a.m. Some people have complained about the noise; ignore them. Seriously, I don't know what's up with that -- yes, the roomba's a little noisy, but it's actually quieter than a traditional vacuum. You can actually converse with people while it's running."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:ATLANTA
Date:June 20, 2011

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

"WE ARE EXTREMELY HAPPY WITH THE ROOMBA. IT GOES EVERYWHERE IN OUR HOUSE AND HAS MADE A HUGE DIFFERENCE IN THE WAY OUR FLOORS LOOK. WE HAVE PRIMARILY HARDWOODS AND TILE, BUT PUT IT OUT ON OUR BACK PORCH FOR A COUPLE OF RUNS AND IT MADE A BIG DIFFERENCE IN THE APPEARANCE OF THE CARPET AND RUGS.IT IS LIKE HAVING A MAID."
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:June 16, 2011

Surprisingly Effective

Pros: efficient and does a great job.
Cons: can't thin of thing
"Great for our beach house. After the kids and guests have gone to bed the robot effectively cleans the entire first floor. Picks up sand, dirt from the hardwood floors and carpeting. Next morning after breakfast we put it to work cleaning the bedrooms and hallways. Couldn't be happier. Wish this thing could cook."
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, tx
Date:June 16, 2011

Good product

"The Roomba 550 is a good product. purchased this for dirt and dog hair. Have a hairy mixed breed dog that sheds a lot. I vacuumed the floor first and now I run the roomba at night and in the morning. Fills it up, but we used to have to vacuum every day or two. now we vacuum every week or two."
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:LAS VEGAS, NEVADA
Date:June 15, 2011

THE BEST VACUUME EVER

Model Number: I ROBOT 550
"I NOW HAVE A LIST OF PEOPLE I WILL BUY THIS ITEM FOR. YES, THE PRICE IS EXPENSIVE BUT THE WORK THAT IROBOT DOES FOR YOU IS SO WORTH THE MONEY. NO MATTER WHAT THE PRICE I WILL FOREVER BUY IROBOT INSTEAD OF TRADITIONAL VACUUME IN FUTURE. MY NEXT PURCHASE WILL BE THE ONE THAT WASHES THE FLOOR FOR YOU.
I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT IROBOT - THERE IS NOT ENOUGH ROOM ON THE PAGE.
RESPECTFULLY,
SHIRL
"
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:June 15, 2011

Roomba isGreat

"With the features of this model, Roomba is doing a good job"
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redwood City, CA
Date:June 11, 2011

Exceeds Expectations

Pros: great for under the bed to get dust bunnies, great for daily dusting, great for some hard to reach areas
Cons: can get trapped under my coffee table., requires cleaning--but is easy with tweezers
Model Number: 550
"Does the Rhoomba replace my more powerful upright vacuum cleaner? No, and nor should it, but I'll need to use my upright vacuum cleaner much less frequently.
Does the Rhoomba pick up everything you would like it to? No, but it picks up surprising lot of stuff. Furthermore, the Rhoomba goes where my regular upright vacuum doesn't go, such as under the beds and other furniture.
When used on a daily basis, the Rhoomba often picks up what it missed the day before. The few things that the Rhoomba fails to pick up, are easy to see and easy to pick up myself.
I have an African Grey parrot. Everyday, the parrot sheds various feathers along with fine white powdery down, which gets all over the place. Plus, the parrot flings food bits all around the area. The Rhomba does a wonderful job with the down and most feathers. That's a big improvement.
After having used the Rhoomba for just two days, I am extremely pleased with the overall work that the Rhoomba has done.
Includes many optional accessories."
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:June 10, 2011

Great Vacuum

Model Number: 550
"I love my new Robot 550. It does a fantastic job of cleaning my floors."
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:The Villages, Florida
Date:June 8, 2011

very good customer service

Model Number: 550
"The Roomba did not work when we opened the box - the power adaptor was bad. Roomba sent out a replacement IMMEDIATLY and it works like a charm. At times you think that the thing is lost but when it is done it has covered all of the floor."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>