Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot

Includes: New AeroVac™ Technology, 2 Auto Virtual Walls, 2 Extra Filters, & 2 Extra Bristle Brushes
Average Customer Rating:
4.196 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
(out of 168 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (168 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
12
1 star
14
138 of 168(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:November 30, 2009

I returned it

Cons: only virtual walls and missing lighthouse, aero vac technology has less suction power.
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550 - Item # 518216
"I generally buy stuff if from Costco, assuming that Costco has done good enough research and picked the better product to sell to its members at reasonable price. But this Roomba 550 was a great disappointment. As many of you will find out if you research. There are two main issues with this iRobot Roomba 550 package.
1.Virtual Walls: This package contains Virtual Walls and not “Virtual Wall Lighthouses”
Lighthouse technology forces rumba to clean one room before moving into another. And if needed it can be used as “Virtual Walls”.
2.“Aero-Vac Technology: In my onion, this technology has lees suction power than “Vacuuming Debris Bin”. Which is available with 550 model available elsewhere and all other popular models including newest 610 from iRobot.
Research on these two things on the Web and find out yourself.
I returned this product to Costco. I am going to wait till Costco sells Roomba with right stuff in the package."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Norfolk, VA
Date:November 19, 2009

A Must Have for Hardwood Floors

Pros: fast efficient automatic scheduled cleanings
Model Number: 550
"This is the second time I have had a Roomba. I had one of the earlier generations in an apartment with carpets and it was too much for the Roomba. But now that I have a house with hardwood floors, 2 cats, and a new baby, this is an awesome helper!
I have it scheduled to run each day while I'm at work. It covers my entire first floor (living room, dining room, kitchen, sun room, office, and full bathroom) in one charge. It always finds its way back to the dock and is fully charged when I get home. I just empty it each night when I take out the trash; easy as can be!
I don't have dust bunnies anymore. And, it cleans up the hard cat food bits and litter my husband's cat like to track around the house. So nice to walk around in my bare feet and not have things to step on. I feel better about putting my baby down when he starts to crawl.
If you wish you had time to run the vacuum each day for a touch up, then you will love the Roomba. I still do my once a week major vacuum, but it's even faster now that the Roomba picks up the slack during the week. I LOVE MY ROOMBA!!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2011

Don't Waste Your Time or Money!

Cons: expensive continually breaks down.
Model Number: Roomba 550
"I purchased two of the iRobot Roomba's thinking if they worked for two or three years that would be fine.
One worked fine for about a month and needed a part replaced. Another month and it needed another part.
The second one worked for about three months and it started to break down. What a waste of time and telephone calls.
The company was great about replacing parts until the warrenty ran out. Then the shock of how much it would cost to replace the other parts that went out. And believe me they kept going out.
What I should have done is returned both of them to Costco and made a complaint.
I have two other NORMAL vacuum clearers. One is 15 years old and the other is 30 years old. I replaced belts and bags on them which is normal and they STILL work.
I will NEVER purchase a product from this company again....
Don't get me wrong, I love Costco!
This is the FIRST product I have purchased from Costco that I have been totally unsatified with."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 11, 2009

Good, with limitations

Pros: beats my having to vacuum-+ i wouldn't do it daily
Cons: little rollers & spindles get clogged easily
Model Number: 550
"Works great on hardwood. You must empty it after each use- not a hard task. oesn't always do corners well, but it gets under beds & dining room tables more easily that a person with a big vac.
Works well on carpet too- BUT- be aware that you will have to clean the 2 brushes after each use because the little rollers on the sides get absolutely jammed up with carpet lint! The same happens with pet hair. It does pick up, but cleaning the roomba (with a tweezer) is a 5-10 minute procedure after each use. Better than my having to do the vacuuming, however! I have it run automatically every day, and it keeps my older wall-to-wall looking refreshed & fluffy.
They say it "learns" the room after a few uses, and it does. BUY if you pick it up and put it on another storey of the house occasionally, it just stays confused.
It moves from hard floors to carpet easily, & will not fall down stairs.
Virtual lighthouses only work with certain room layouts.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Safford AZ
Date:December 2, 2010

Vacuum Robot

Pros: does baseboards excellent
Cons: cartridge is too small, i dont know if i would recommend for carpet, takes hours to clean rooms
Model Number: 550
"I read all the reviews I could find on this, deciding if we should buy this or not. We live in a 1884 sq ft. Doublewide home in AZ - very dusty area, just outside the city limits. the robot takes about 3 hours to do each room, instead of the 25 min they say it does. It does get the laminate floors clean, but like I said, it takes hours for it to do the job. I have mixed feelings, I like the robot cause we dont have to bend over to reach under beds or couchs and such, but it takes a long time for it do one room. the other con is we have to clean the cartridge constantly since it does pick up alot of dust particles not only on the floor but I think it sucks up the dust particles in t he air. We like it, the floors are extremely clean, after it cleans we never feel any dust particle on our bare feet. I don't know if I would recommend for carpet, we have carpet but I have not had it do those rooms yet, cause I would have to stop it every 10 minutes to clean the cartridge out. And if the catridge get clogged (which it does) it won't pick up dirt."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saratoga, CA
Date:January 7, 2010

Such a wonderful Maid !!!

Cons: can't set my hse alarm on when clning trggr alrm
Model Number: Roomba 550
"I bought this right before Xmas 09. And I am so impressed with this robot. It cleans underneath the bed very well. I didn't realize that my house had so much dust until I removed the tray to dump the stuff out. The floor looked clean before I used it. So, you would not think to mop the floor every day since it looked clean. Well, after I used this, my floor felt sooooo super super clean. You will love it if you use it in your house... And it will go back to the station once the battery is low... to recharge itself. Such a nice gift for myself for this Xmas. Now I use it every day, two rooms in a day..."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Redwood City, CA
Date:June 11, 2011

Exceeds Expectations

Pros: great for under the bed to get dust bunnies, great for daily dusting, great for some hard to reach areas
Cons: can get trapped under my coffee table., requires cleaning--but is easy with tweezers
Model Number: 550
"Does the Rhoomba replace my more powerful upright vacuum cleaner? No, and nor should it, but I'll need to use my upright vacuum cleaner much less frequently.
Does the Rhoomba pick up everything you would like it to? No, but it picks up surprising lot of stuff. Furthermore, the Rhoomba goes where my regular upright vacuum doesn't go, such as under the beds and other furniture.
When used on a daily basis, the Rhoomba often picks up what it missed the day before. The few things that the Rhoomba fails to pick up, are easy to see and easy to pick up myself.
I have an African Grey parrot. Everyday, the parrot sheds various feathers along with fine white powdery down, which gets all over the place. Plus, the parrot flings food bits all around the area. The Rhomba does a wonderful job with the down and most feathers. That's a big improvement.
After having used the Rhoomba for just two days, I am extremely pleased with the overall work that the Rhoomba has done.
Includes many optional accessories."
Review 8 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:December 11, 2009

Good but with room to improve.

Model Number: 550
"I bought my Roomba 550 from Costco because of its better warranty and return policy. I ordered it online on Saturday night and received it from UPS the following Monday (I don’t know how Costco did it!) In general, I believe it’s a good cleaning tool to have. Despite of the facts that I have to move furniture around and set up barriers before it cleans, it is much easier than using the traditional vacuum cleaner. I can set it up, walk away to do my laundry, cook, surf on the internet, or do whatever, and just check on it once for a while. I do hope that the battery will last longer so I don’t need to waste my time waiting for the charge. Some people said that their Roomba died quickly after a few months. If mine lasts longer, I will buy a second one so I have one on each floor. . Costco sent it with its original Roomba package with a mailing label. Had I not been home that day when UPS delivered it, someone could have easily seen that it's something valuable and taken it.
Advantages:
1. It picks up dirt and small pieces of trash (up to ½ inch x ½ inch) well. Sometimes it takes two or three passes to pick up the trash;
2. It does sense stairs so it doesn’t fall off the edge of the top step;
3. My kitchen area has linoleum flooring and the family room next to it has carpet. The grade difference is at least 1/2 inch. Roomba goes between the two floorings with no problem. I also have a small rug (24” x 36”) with long fibers (about 1 ¼ inches) and Roomba went on it, struggled a little, but was able to get back;
4. It does not tangle with draperies and some cords (see below);
5. It is much more quieter than a traditional vacuum cleaner;
6. It’s fun to watch. My 5-year old son and myself literally watched it roaming around the house for a couple of hours the first time we used it;
7. It speaks 15 different languages!
Improvements Needed:
1. Its battery should be improved. The size of my house is a total of 3,320 sq.ft. (1,380 sq.ft. for downstairs and 1,940 for upstairs). I had to charge it 7 different times in order for it to finish cleaning the whole house. Roomba starts telling me that it needs to recharge after about 40 to 50 minutes. Each charge is about 2.5 hours. So, there’s no way that I can finish cleaning the whole house in one day.
2. The first time I used it, I didn’t put the light towers out. I just let it roam around the downstairs where the family room, kitchen, nook, living room, and formal dining room were. The result was not good. It missed many areas in each room and it went back to its base to recharge after about an hour. Therefore, it works better if you clean one room at a time. However, because of the fact that it works better if you clean one room at a time, you’ll have to set up the light towers and physical barriers if you have a big house.
3. My house floor plan is somewhat open. Therefore, two light towers are not enough. Even if I purchase more light towers, I will have to put physical boundaries (e.g. a chair or a box) since the signal for the light towers is only 7 feet long and some areas that I need to block off is wider than 7 feet. If your room has wide openings, you’ll have to put physical boundaries yourself. For this reason, I cannot use the auto scheduled cleaning since I have to set out the physical boundaries before cleaning and put them away after cleaning.
4. Another reason that I cannot have the auto scheduled cleaning when I’m away from the house is because I set up my motion sensor security alarm when I’m out (I heard that some motion sensor does not sense floor activities so I’ll give it a try with the alarm later). However, make sure your doors are closed tight. I noticed Roomba can push some doors open.
5. The first time I used it, it got tangled under the Christmas tree because of a loop on the light wire so watch out for those. It past my Wii remote control wristlets on the floor and did not have any trouble.
6. If the space under your furniture is about the same height as the thickness of the Roomba or if the bottom of your furniture piece has a curved/slanted design that some part allows Roomba to get in but some part does not, your Roomba will get stuck. It is a good thing to follow it around when you use it the first time so you know where to put some physical barriers or the light towers so Roomba would not get stuck.
7. It does not work well in my nook area. My nook is pretty small (about 8 feet x 10 feet). There is a small rectangular dining table with six chairs. Although the space between the legs are big enough for Roomba to pass through, somehow it kind of got lost among the 28 legs (4 legs each for 6 chairs and one table) so it would not clean all of the areas underneath the table and chairs. I have to stack up the chairs before it cleans my nook.
8. The best cleaning tools are a baby toothbrush for the filter, a pair of nail cuticle scissors and tweezers for the tangled hair and carpet fibers on the rubber/brush roller (especially for the green part). It’s much easier to clean those if you carefully cut the hairs first then pick those up with the tweezers.
"
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:August 15, 2010

Great Product for pet hair

Model Number: 550
"We have 2 mixed shot hair labs which shed all the time. Seems we were sweeping all the time and had tried various electric brooms, which scared the dogs so decided to give Roomba a try. It works great, on Pergo flooring roaming around the living room and kitchen picking up all the pet hair (we were surprised on how much it got). Roomba goes under the coffee table and sofa easily and has no trouble going around the kitchen table and chairs. We set it to run on a daily schedule and are very happy with the results, and it has cut down on our daily sweeping and vacuuming. The dirt cup and rollers need to be cleaned after use which is very easy to do. The dogs do not seem to mind the Roomba and leave it alone, one of the dogs is very scared of vacuume cleaners so is nice that the Roomba does not scare him. We are very pleased with this device and wish we would have found this sooner. I-Robot's website seems to be very good with lots of Q&A and if need good support links."
Review 10 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:California
Date:November 24, 2009

Mixed model

Pros: quieter than previous model, does a good job picking up dust & debris
Cons: does not work with lighthouses == poorer coverage, no handle like the 570
Model Number: box says 550, roomba says 551
"I purchased a previous model from our local costco warehouse summer of 2008 (roomba 570 with two lighthouses) and was very satisfied with the job it did. We needed to purchase an extra lighthouse due to the very open floor plan we have to keep the little guy on track in each room. The old main brush motor went out after 16 months, so we returned it to the local warehouse and ordered this model online since none were stocked locally.
I was first disappointed to find it only came with two virtual walls (not lighthouses), but figured our floor plan could make due using the 3rd lighthouse I already had. After unboxing everything, fiddling with my lighthouse, then reading online: the model 551 (labeled 550 online and on the box) does NOT work with lighthouses at all! It just bounces around the house on its own! While this model does a great job picking up what it drives over, it does not do as good a job covering the entire floor surface as our older model. I'm disappointed and don't understand the reasoning behind this.
Had I to do it over again, I would have paid the $50 out of pocket to replace the old motor instead of exchanging it for this model. It might work well in some floorplans, but I've been disappointed."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:August 3, 2010

Keep your home clean between vacuumings!

Pros: extra brushes, extra filters, auto virtual walls, easy to use, cute
Cons: not 100% maintenance free, bin fills up in one cleaning, replacement batteries are expensive
Model Number: Roomba 550 with AeroVac
"We love our Roomba 550 from Costco. My wife was a bit skeptical at first. Saying that the Dyson was a great vacuum and we didn't need a toy like this. After a week, she has turned 180 degrees and is now telling her friends how wonderful the Roomba is and how it saves her lots of time.
We have 3 dogs and 2 cats and two kids to boot. Needless to say, we have lots of hair, dander, and other messes to clean up regularly. The Roomba allows us to skip a day or two of vacuuming. A big time savings for us.
This isn't 100% easy. You MUST empty the bin each time the Roomba finishes. Otherwise, it will be too full to be effective the next time out. Also, you should clean the brushes and bearings each time as well. This can be skipped if you are in a rush, but it will make the next time that much more difficult, as hair and threads and other stuff will get wrapped around the brushes and bearings. The front wheel and its sensor needs to be cleaned each week or so as well.
But you can do a full service cleaning of the robot in about 10 minutes and a quick empty and brush clean up in under 5 minutes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 7, 2011

Great Product

Model Number: 550
"This is a great product that often makes me feel a little guilty that I am getting a clean house without any work!
I initially purchased this product as a back-up or aid to my normal floor cleaning routine. However, after seeing it perform it is my primary floor cleaner on all four floors of my house. The floors are done more often each week and are far more clean than my prior methods because this unit travels under furniture. The unit easily transitions between hard wood flooring and area rugs - - so long as the area rugs are not made of really light material. It also crosses raised threshholds such as between a hallway and the bathroom tile flooring. I just open the closet doors, bedroom doors, bathroom doors, and the unit cleans the entire floor before returning to the base for recharging. I often start the unit cleaning at night before going to bed. In the morning everything is done, the unit is recharged and ready to go to another floor of my home before I take off to work.
Some minimal preparation time of the area is necessary - - lifting phone cords/small animal toys/paper/keys/etc. off the floor."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakland, CA
Date:June 16, 2010

Love it!

Pros: i don't have to vacuum and sweep daily!
Cons: long hair gets wrapped around brushes.
"I purchased this a few weeks ago after reading lots of reviews online. I came to the conclusion that the areovac was a must have, since we have a cat, dog, and kids. Costco had the best price by far. I can't imagine not having "Dave" around now! He sweeps up litter, pet hair, human hair, crumbs, and dust bunnies. My life is much more pleasant now that I don't have to lug out the vacuum cleaner every day. Sometimes I catch myself following him around the house. He has even been tolerating the wrath of my one-year old son who is constantly trying to hitch a ride. The button is a point of interest also (on, off, on, off, on, off, on etc.). "Dave" could not have been easier to use, right out of the box. I empty the bin and clean the brushes after each use. It's definitely way easier than having to vacuum and sweep. I just ordered one for my mother!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southboro, MA
Date:October 28, 2010

Below Average

Pros: might be useful to clean already cleaned house.
Cons: does not pick up all the dirt/dust particles
Model Number: iRobot® Roomba® 550
"I bought this iRobot Vacuum Cleaner, We were excited when opened out of the box. I scheduled it to use it everyday at a particular time..
1) Does not pick up all the Dirt/Dust Particles.
2) Left the particles along the edges of the Carpet and wooden flooring.
3) Could not clean a 1000 sqft 3 bedroom house in one go.
4) Have to follow and direct the iRobot to go into other rooms.
5) Scheduler Did not work as scheduled.
No Satisfied with iRobot® Roomba® 550 . Planning to return it this weekend.."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:January 20, 2011

Do not buy this vacuum

Pros: a fun way to clean the house for a few months.
Cons: extremely poor engineering
Model Number: Roomba 550
"Thanks to Costco's great return policy, I have owned three of these vacuums. Each has suffered a unique and catastrophic failure. I am a scientist and very good with electronics. I took good care of the vacuums. Since the last purchase, I have done some research and have found many others having similar problems. In addition, there is a design flaw that causes the plastic gear housing to fail due to compacted debris. I can see the seams of the housing separating on my last vacuum, which failed for a different reason. I did not return the vacuum the third time. For the first month of ownership, I would have given this product a rave review. Now I suggest avoiding it. Don't take my word for it, just use Google."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Syosset, Ny
Date:July 17, 2010

Great vac, but needs a lot of maintenance

Pros: gets all the pet hair and dirt off the floor, battery lasts for a long time, virtual walls
Cons: maintenance is a chore, dirt bin is small, goes over same areas too often, can't clean stairs
Model Number: 550
"I've had this vac for about a year. I will be purchasing the Neat Robotics XV-11 robot vac in August.
My Roomba 550 runs for about an hour each day before it returns to the charging dock. It does a very thorough job cleaning, but it is slow. I'd say it goes over the same areas way too many times aimlessly banging into all the walls and furniture. The roomba can be pretty noisy as well, but not as bad as a stand-up vac. Clean-up and maintenance is a bit of a chore as well. I have a pet which sheds a lot and the hair gets wrapped around every rotating part of the device. Each day I have to clean the two roller brushes, remove the ball bearings and tweeze out hair. I remove the front navigation ball remove hair from there then unscrew the side sweeper, pop that out and remove all the hair that wrapped around that. Every few month I also have to remove a ton of screws and open up the gearbox because hair has wrapped itself around all of the gears and Roomba no longer functions. iRobot gives you a bunch of decent tools to help clean the roller brushes, but I'd rather hair go into the dirt bin than get wrapped around the brushes.
I used to think robot vacs were a silly gimmick, but Roomba has converted me. My house has never been this clean. I just want to see robot vacs get better, so I'll be buying the Neato XV-11 in August. This new vac is laser guided and cleans the same area as Roomba in 15-20 minutes because it moves in straight lines and does not go over the same area twice. The Neato XV-11 also avoids furniture and people without bumping into them like Roomba."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
Date:June 21, 2010

BROKE DOWN AFTER 1 1/2 YEARS

Pros: great cleaning tool
Cons: broke down after 1 1/2 years
Model Number: 550
"I used to be a roomba lover. The product was great until it broke down on me. After following all the required maintenance and taking good care of my roomba, it had an error 9. I tried to fix it as per the website and I contacted customer support. Unfortunately, they said it cannot be fixed and had to be replaced. Since the 1 year warranty has passed, the only thing I can do it to buy a new one. I can buy a new one from iRobot without the accessories at a lesser price but it is still a substantial amount of money and again the warranty will only be for a year. Even though it is a great product, it broke down easily. So in the end, I am not sure if it is really worth it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:September 13, 2010

Poor Poor Service

Pros: useful for light dust
Cons: poor poor service from i robot
Model Number: 550
"Great little critter... until it breaks! I bought one 22 months ago (note warranty 12 months). When I contacted i Robot i was told that past warranty they dont "fix em" but will sell me another one. Not good enough!
I'm filing a claim through my American Express card (they automatically extend warranties for 1 more year for items bought on their card). Love the card, dont love i Robot!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Date:October 25, 2009

Love my Roomba

Cons: no cons so far.
Model Number: 550 Roomba Vacuum
"I purchased my Roomba two weeks ago and so far just love it. We bought it because our daughter has one. She sets it to come on at 8am when she leaves the house. When she comes home the house is clean. Even though I can program my Roomba, so far I haven't used it. It does a remarkably good job."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iRobot® Roomba® 550 Vacuum Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Visalia, CA
Date:May 3, 2011

iRobot

Model Number: 550
"This is my third Roomba; I've gathered a little army of them.
They do have quirks and flaws, one being that a weekly maintenance routine is vital to keep animal hair from damaging the gears and gearbox. But I would rather spend a little time once a week cleaning the Roombas than vaccuuming the floors.
iRobot needs to address the issue of building a sealed gearbox so that animal hair is not an issue.
Another issue is iRobot's failure to correct a charging error that has been a common problem.
Roomba is nonetheless a good tool; iRobot's response to design issues has been poor."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>