Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

With 2 Weather Resistant Motion Sensing Cameras & 2GB SD card
Average Customer Rating:
3.427 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
(out of 96 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 star
15
65 of 96(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Review 1 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Naples, FL
Date:October 14, 2010

Limited Value

Pros: ok for an inexpensive short range system.
Cons: totally inadequate if used for identification, not a good choice to monitor a remote building.
Model Number: LW2702
"Bought this system from COSTCO after reading the manual on the Lorex website. The system does not produce high enough quality to positively identify anyone unless they stand close to a camera but for just monitoring activity it is fine. I intended on using this system in a horse barn with cameras mounted in clear line of sight of the house which is about 100 feet. The house is CBS construction so I knew I'd need an extender antenna. I had one question and emailed Customer Service at Lorex. Never received a reply but I ordered an extender antenna anyway. Only after it arrived did I learn that the antenna on the monitor/wireless received cannot be removed so there is no way to hook up the antenna cable even though their manual and website Q&A claim a 2.4GHz range extending antenna is available for the LW2702. I sent an email to Lorex tech support concerning this issue in case there is a workaround. Again, no reply. No reception on either camera when the monitor is inside the house."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Texas
Date:November 25, 2009

I really like to keep it, but...

Pros: a lot of favorable features
Cons: audio quality is terrible
Model Number: WL2700
"I received this 2 days ago and intended to use one camera in my baby's room and one at front door. It is full of features that I really want. However, the audio of this unit is terrible. I raised the volume to max and I still can't hear what people is talking. You hear some voice but not clearly. And there is some electric noise at max volume.
To make things worse, if you choose to use only one camera, the voice will go out after 5 seconds. Occasionally the voice will come back for a few seconds. But it's random without a pattern such as motion detection.
The picture quality is decent, though. So the bottom line is that it's a good choice if you don't really need the audio. But apparently, people are often attracted to this because of the intercom feature. For me, it will go back to Costco.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:South of Mt. Rainier
Date:March 2, 2010

not so good

Pros: costco concierge service is the best
"I received theproduct on time... Great Costco service. One of the wireless cameras was dead so took the whole thing back to Costco. I bought this because the previous wireless version had a camera that was too sensitive and wouldn't stop recording. I tried for about 30 days trying to get a replacment camera. Concierge service at Costco was great but bottom line is I reordered that one (Lorex wireless with 7" monitor) and will take the defective one back. If I would have started the process to return the defective camera earlier they would have sent out a new one right away and then just send the old one back in the same box, but was out of town so it went past the Lorex timeline of 30 days. So, if you have anything defective get on it right way and you won't have this issue. the wireless 7' version works great except for the camera issue and that could happen with any electronics. Don't be afraid of buying that version, just learn from my mistakes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 25, 2010

Real cool, just one problem

Pros: very easy to install good quality cameras.
Cons: it interferes with my garage door opener, garage door will not open while recording
"I have installed 3 of these cameras in the front of my house and the hardest thing I had to do is find a way to run power to them. Other than that, they are 100% “plug and play”. The minute you turn them on and turn on the monitor, they immediately start talking to each other. I actually ended up purchasing 2 of these sets and I am using both monitors. Since it’s more cost-effective to do that than purchase the cameras by themselves. I placed one monitor in the kitchen and it serves as an intercom for the front door. The rest of the cameras I paired to the second monitor and that one I keep somewhere else. The only problem I am having is interference with my garage door opener. It no longer works when the cameras are recording. I have not figured out what to do about this yet."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Milton Vermont
Date:June 2, 2010

Not bad

"These are effective and a good value. All the features work adequately, which may not sound enthusiastic but is actually hard to find in electronics, especially at this price. The picture is decent but certainly not hi rez. The range is half what they say at best if you have a wall or two to go through. Won't even do 100 feet with several walls, so you have to factor that in. The motion sensor could be more sensitive, a person needs to be pretty close to trigger it, all though at just the right angle my cat can trigger it. The night vision is one of it's strong points, I get about 40 or 50 feet in total darkness. It can't look through glass at night though, as it's own lights reflect back and blind it. The built in SD card recorder is very handy to see who came to your property while you were away. I bought two sets to have four cameras as the monitor will handle four channels and the extra monitor is handy for another location. Overall it does the job and has been very reliable, it just takes some time to test and understand it's limits."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Central NJ
Date:September 20, 2010

A toy...

Pros: wireless, easy to set up
Cons: everything else
Model Number: LW2702 Series
"The one and only positive thing is that you don't have to run cables.
The rest is a joke.
Image quality - there is NO image quality. I can't even read my own license plate on my own driveway. The grass is red and the asphalt is blue even in bright sunshine. The resolution doesn't look even near the 640x480.
Motion detection is way too late, if working at all. The person has to be really close to the camera and well lit to trigger the MD. And by the time it is triggered and start recording, the person is long gone.
Reading the manual makes your head spinning.
So IMO this system is OK just for piece of mind. But you can have it for less $$.
Back to Costco it goes."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:January 19, 2010

Awesome System

"Installed it right out of the box. Easy set up and really decent range. It does get affected by many walls, etc, but it's just a matter of finding the right spot for the cam and the receiver. The recording is great. Has 3 different options for timing so it is really flexible. I bought this system after spending the last 6 months researching it. Day/Night view is very very good. It does actually work also as an intercom if you want to use it like that. And it records well. Worked with different size SD cards and all worked fine. Highly recommended. I will buy 2 additional cameras as the system takes 4."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookfield, WI
Date:June 22, 2010

Nice Little System

"I bought 2 of these systems a couple weeks ago. One for my home in Wisconsin and one for my Dad's home in Seattle area - Washington. The system itself is very nice, and sets up without issue. The motion sensor alert via the monitor is nice because it alerts you to things you are monitoring. The built in intercom is a great feature, like when someone has approached your door, you can speak with them before getting to the door. I just purchased an additional camera for my Dad's basement that is a 'listen-only' version of this camera and it will pair with the system. We have been using ours and testing its features and were very pleased, until we read in the fine print that the camera fails if the temps fall below 14 above zero. That is a normal occurance for months in winter here in Wisconsin so I was forced to return our set today. Will be looking at the more expensive outdoor rated cameras sold by Lorex tho."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Hoffman Estates, IL
Date:August 6, 2010

Nice liitle system, BUT...

Cons: motion detection not very good
Model Number: Lorex LW2702
"Nice little system but disappointed and returned to Costco. Very easy to set up and start using, I was very disappointed in the motion detection, it would activate if triggered by something big like a car going down the street 50 feet away but if it was going to fast like over 30 mph, by time it started recording the car already had past and you would see nothing. Also it would not detect a person walking down the sidewalk 25 foot away in day or night which is what I was looking for in a security system, it would not detect someone walking until they where about 15 foot from the camera. The motion detection works the same as the motion detection lights that you use outside, the motion sensor is located on the bottom of the camera and has no sensitivity setting. If it had worked better I would have kept it because the rest of the system is nice."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:November 24, 2009

Works well so far

Pros: easy install
Cons: sensitive motion sensor
"I have one camera on my porch and the other on the side of my home. The picture is good for a wireless signal. The picture at night is decent with the IR led's on. The 2-way audio is a nice feature. I also like that it records onto the sd card. The motion sensor can be a little too sensitive, ex: plants that move in the wind near the camera."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Los Alamitos, CA
Date:February 3, 2010

Does the trick for reasonable money

Cons: monitor works best when placed in a high position, most controls are on the remote easy to lose.
Model Number: LW2702
"I wanted a simple cost-effective monitor system for the household. This unit does the trick. It has a small footprint, reasonably clear picture, excellent night vision, simple instructions, many useful options and a clean look. I am very pleased so far. Only 2 or 3 slight disappointments: 1. I cannot buy two more separate cameras to complete the system at a reasonable price from Costco. So I wish Costco buyer would add extra cameras as an accessory to purchase at Costco.com. 2. I keep the monitor next to the bed to watch my son's room and front door. The system works best by keeping the antenna of the monitor as high as possible so it tends to loose signal... which can be irritating. 3. Most of the system controls are not on the back of the monitor but rather the remote control. The remote is so small it is easy to misplace. Again, I am very happy with the purchase and would recommend it to friends."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, ca
Date:June 14, 2010

Great "wireless" security

Pros: wireless, inexpensive
Cons: walls kill the range, receiver doesn't have battery backup
"Bought this system six months ago, and after a little upgrading it's been fantastic. Yes the wireless is a little spotty, but that is if you have a huge house or mount it outside. our house is 3500 sq. ft. and we get four bars throughout. the outside camera needed a little upgrading with a belkin extending corner antenna, but after replacing the stock antenna with that it works like a charm. Yeah, the pics aren't great, but it's wireless for god's sake!!! You ever seen the security cameras at banks after a robbery? I can't see their faces either! So for the price you can't miss, get it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF, CA
Date:April 2, 2010

Decent System for the $

"As far as a system like this goes, I thought it was a decent deal and I still do. It's easy to install (you only have to figure out how to connect it to power), it works right out of the box and it's user friendly enough to almost not even require the directions.
Other positives:
1. Night mode works great
2. Range is great. Always a good signal for me.
3. Nothing has broken yet after months of use
4. Does not interfere with Garage Door opener
There are some things you should know, however, and I’m really surprised not many reviewers have even mentioned these facts:
1. The screen unit looks exactly like a digital photo frame (except it has LOREX printed on the front). So the viewing area is only about the size of a 3x5 photo.
2. Quad mode? Really? Sure, if you like looking at video thumbnails. Imagine that 3x5 photo divided into four quadrants.
3. The screen resolution is decent – why are reviewers saying it’s awesome? I’d say the picture quality is just a little better than those old security CCTV cameras, and waaaaay worse that a normal over-the-air non HDTV.
4. I have only installed one camera so far, and so I don’t use quad mode (see point #2 as well). Even if I was using both, I’d choose the rotate option. Anyway, when in that “single camera on the screen” mode, you do get the audio. ALL THE TIME. You can’t turn it off. My camera is facing the driveway away from the street about 30 feet, but every 30 seconds or so you’ll hear the audio pick up a car driving by in the distance or leaves shuffling on the ground. Again, you can’t turn this feature off (or rather, I could not find a way after scouring the manual). So if I’m home (the unit is in my bedroom), I turn it off. It’s annoying. Shouldn’t there be a mute button?!?
5. The response time is lacking. There are times where a person will come down the driveway straight towards the camera and the unit won’t record until the person is barely in the frame! Most times, however, the recording starts with the person in the middle of the frame.
6. The unit does take my 8GB Class 6 Patriot SDHC memory card. However, I did not notice any difference in the “reaction time” to start the recording after the camera sensed movement. In addition, since I’ve switched out the memory cards, the unit will not power up into Auto-record mode any more. So now I have to set that up every time I turn the unit on.
7. I switch off the power completely using my power strip when I don’t use the unit. By doing so, the time/date doesn’t work properly and eventually I see that the timestamp on the videos is incorrect. Eh.
8. My last comment is just the overall concept of the thing in regards to it being a valid security unit – which as a buyer I should have absolutely considered beforehand if I was thinking more clearly. It LOOKS like a digital photo frame, with the SDHC memory card located in the back. Let’s say a robber comes in and sees that – he’d take it, right? Along with the memory card in the back of the unit so he’ll have a nice video of him entering my house.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Caleefornia
Date:May 28, 2010

Easy Set-Up...Quality??

Model Number: LW2702
"I set this up easily and have been VERY happy with it for 4 months. At the end of the 4 months, the LCD screen went all-white (defective). I was able to contact support and they quickly arranged foor a replacement to be sent to me. No need to send them the defective screen...I just faxed my receipt and they are sending a replacement. Let's hope the replacement lasts more than 4 months. I'll post an update if it does NOT !"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 30, 2010

I was so disappointed

Pros: probably ok for indoors
Cons: not reliable
"After a lot of effort to install and secure the camera where it couldn't be vandalized or stolen, it only worked for about a week. Then the recording feature, alarm, and eventually the transmission to the monitor became intermittent. Even during the first week, what did and didn't trigger the recorder was random."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2010

Best Purchase I Ever Made

Pros: works great below freezing
Cons: lose the power cords
"Installation was easy and set up worked immediately. Within 2 weeks I caught my naughter neighbor boy who enjoyed kicking over my flower pots! I read all of the reviews prior to my purchase and noted difficulty in cold weather. It has been between 15 to 0 degrees outside the past two nights and days and the cameras have been working beautifully. I have only one recommendation about the plug ins and wires to keep the cameras operating, maybe battery operated cameras to lose the wires running down the sides of your house and extention cords running to plug ins. I have white trim so I used white duct tape to cover the black wires, purchased a white extention cord that I was able to tuck up under my siding and run into my garage for power."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:December 15, 2010

Home Surveillance with talk function

Pros: easy to use, easy to install
Cons: not able to access through internet, cannot save files without removing sd card, not sure why usb is there
"I purchased this unit to see if it can work at my home as an surveillance and front door answering unit. It is super easy to install. If you can install TV, you can do this. Just plug in the power. The speaker/mic monitoring works like charm.
.Unable to detect motion through glass window. The motion detection is not image based; therefore, you can record blank video even if you are not in the frame. I cannot hide the power cable from vandals. Agreeing with another review that screen saver does not really work, or we just couldn't get it to work.
The Verdict: I think Lorex did not want to sell an all-in-one to kill its other product lines.
I would like to see that this device can be access through wi-fi (since it is already an wireless Cam DVR), so I can access the files or have it emailed images. Wouldn't mind pay $100 more for all of the above."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

Don't waste your money

"I bought two of these for my home and RV spot. Cameras range and image quality are worthless in day or night. Also a lot of false triggers where nothing was recorded."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, Oregon
Date:July 22, 2010

Very Easy to Set up and Use !

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: Lorex 7" with 2 camera's, wireless
"I bought this item because my daughter had a problem with an unstable neighbor stalking her. It is literally "plug and play" and 100% automated. We didn't have to do anything apart from mounting the 2 camera's and plugging in the power, the rest was automatic. We have already caught the weirdo next door dumping out our trash cans and throwing her garbage in our yard, as well as her German Shepherd running loose on our property. It works just as well at night as it does in the day. I liked it so much I bought one for the cabin."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 5, 2010

Great little system...

Pros: ease of set up and use., good night time recording.
Model Number: Lorex 7” LCD Monitor (wireless)
"I bought this system to spy on my front yard as a bad neighbor was allowing its dog to do its business in the yard. I think the resolution is adequate--wasn't really expecting it to be as good as an HD monitor, after all. It is very easy to set up and simple to use. I bought a 16 GB SD card which allows me to record all day without overwriting, although that is also an option. Overall, I liked it so much I decided to buy one for work."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>