Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

With 2 Weather Resistant Motion Sensing Cameras & 2GB SD card
Average Customer Rating:
3.427 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
(out of 96 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 star
15
65 of 96(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Review 1 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 12, 2011

Horrible Customer Service

Pros: none
Cons: poor customer service/no customer service
Model Number: Any and all Lorex Systems
"Lorex has the worst customer service in the world. 20 minutes on hold only to be told a Lorex Rep will call you back some time that day. I tried twice. First time was five hours, and I couldn't take the call. The next day, I never even got a call back."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 12, 2011

Big Disapointment!

Pros: none
Cons: worst customer service ever
Model Number: Lorex ECO 4CH
"This set up seemed to work ok for a couple of weeks. If Lorex had any decent sort of customer service, my problem may have been resolved. The fact is, that Lorex has the worst customer service ever. When you call their 800 number you are put on hold for over 20 minutes, only to be told that a Lorex Rep. will call you back sometime that day. The first time, it took 5 hours for a return call that I was unable to take. The next day I tried, they never even called back."
Review 3 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011
"It states it is wireless - however, it does need to be plugged into electricity! It is not battery powered.......The picture quality is pretty good and it chirps when there is someone getting close to it. It does not transmit noise - or pick up voices. It does what we need it to do - see outside so that no one comes up the walk and surprises us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011
"Worked good for awhile but when it rained, water got in both cameras. The camera mounts were cheap and would come loose, this was a hassle since I put them on my roof. I like the wireless system but after a couple months, it wasn't worth it. I took them back and got a refund."
Review 5 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:March 22, 2011

Simple and Easy

"Easy to install
Easy to use
Plug power into outdoor outlet or connect through the wall from existing holes in your house (ex. Fiber, power, cable, gas feed)
(CON)Fair to poor quality video without the (PRO)hassle of running wires all around your house.
A cheap alternative to a door video intercom system. I initially bought this, because I didn't have a peephole. I had to yell through the door. It good for that purpose.
The video quality is what was bothering me. The quality on the cheap LCD screen is horrible. Widescreen for a portrait size picture gives an even worse distortion. The video quality is a lot better watching at 640x480 clips that were saved to SD card or directly to a TV.
It's still difficult to make out faces when I had it set 18 feet from the door. (Samsung has the best quality/resolution camera of all the models here at Costco)
It has a good reception if using less than 50 feet and more, if you are not going through multiple floor and a clearer line of sight.
Motion detection problems people complain about. It works fine. You just need to set it correctly. Make sure you turned on automatic motion detection from the remote (something that is not in the settings) and have it set for more than 30 seconds so it will continue to record while motion is still active. It starts to record immediately. It does not work through a glass windows and infra-red reflect back at night to blind the camera.
Night vision is another complaint people make. It works fine. I see reviews from other sites complaining they look like ghosts and it’s black and white. There is no camera in the world that does night vision in color except green or blank and white. That’s the way night vision works with infra-red led.
This is in no way shape or form weatherproof. It needs to be installed under a sheltered porch. I used a cylindrical clear plastic container and installed the antennae upside down. One of those peanut containers from Costco works fine. If you look at the camera, it is open on the top and water can easily get into the electrical system. You could use clear silicone caulk to fill in the gaps to make it waterproof.
If you're happy with so-so quality video and easy installation, then is for you. You can see sample videos on other A review sites. You get what you pay for, so if you want better quality then get ready to dish out a few more Benjamin’s."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

Good for the price

Pros: peace of mind, good quality for the price
Cons: intermittent garage door operations
Model Number: LW2702
"Agree with AGustavo's from Los Angeles review. Bought one system considering purchasing a second system to add additional cameras and the second receiver upstairs vice one camera for almost half the price of a system. I am too having problems with garage door operations. Didn't realize it was in recording mode.
System started right up and both cameras operate nicely. Intercom system is a plus. Sure you can buy more expensive systems with alot of nice features, but this is a great deturrent for your house when you can see there are cameras monitoring your property for this price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Security

Pros: night vision grate
"Thinking of getting 2 more great purchase ever of a security system night vision is exultant"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Placerville,ca
Date:February 22, 2011

Very disappointed

Pros: i really liked the setup, liked the monitor
Model Number: 469853
"This is my second attempt at this setup. I had trouble with both cameras on the first set I bought within a couple of days. There was green, red, and white flashes at night that covered most of the lens. Also it took a lot to get them to trigger. I sent those back and tried again. This set is giving me trouble with one camera getting white images and a white fog that covers most of the view. Again, I can't get them to trigger under normal conditions. I have stood in front of them without triggering them. Then sometimes trigger when whatever it was is gone. I had high hopes for this caamera set. I did like the idea of the monitor that I could place anywhere in the house."
Review 9 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:January 26, 2011

Too many bugs (glitches) in the system.

Pros: better than no camera (?)
Cons: buggy inconsitent performance.
Model Number: LW2702
"The camera system LOOKS high quality and the LCD screen is decent (though low resolution). However, I've had glitch after glitch with it since I bought it. I'm a fairly techy person, but these are just not built very well regarding their effectiveness and performance.
The night vision completely washes out any details on anyone or anything that gets even a reasonably far distance from the camera - I stood a good 15 feet away and I looked like a glowing white ghost, so if someone were lurking around your home at night, you'll get no details on them with these cameras. The sensitivity is also very inconsistent - sometimes a car driving past my home that's just barely in sight of them 50 FEET away will trigger a recording, yet, I can drive up my own driveway several minutes later right past them and they don't trigger at all (!?).
Lorex tech support is unfortunately, the weakest link. When you call you must go through a very lengthy canned recording about their warranty, then wait from 10-30 minutes to speak to a rep. Each time I've called, the reps had no actual knowledge of this system but had to "ask" someone for a possibly solution. Each time I was told what to do - and it didn't work, causing me to have to call back. I finally just gave up.
It's a good idea to have security cameras - even just one or two, around your home these days. Just not THESE cameras (or the service that goes with them)."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lemoore, CA
Date:January 18, 2011

Night Vision not acceptable for protection

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: poor night vision quality
"Day view is good but night vision is not quality enough to pass on to law enforcement. Not happy with evening recordings at all. Get what you pay for here. Spend a little more and get a better system if your protecting you family.
Also mounting brackets should be universal so to mount from top of camera instead of bottom. This makes it very difficult to mount from under the eaves of the house without top mount possibilities."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York
Date:January 12, 2011

Junk

Cons: junk
"This sounds great but works like junk. Night pictures are very poor and with lights on too bright. Motion recording doesn;t work and 16gB is too little storage time. Only got a couple of days saved. Don't waste your time (or $$$)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011

Great Product

"Put one camera outside the steel front door and it easily communicated with the base. The monitor looks like an electronic picture with optional screen savers. My wife likes the 2 way communications capability. The only issue is you have to get power to the cameras and they have to be out of the rain. My wife feels secure with these when I am not at home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Napa
Date:December 24, 2010

returned

Pros: great concept
Cons: junk..
"this security system is a great idea, to bad it is made with a poor camera, and motion sensor. I NEVER recorded any movement, even though it showed it was recording on the screen. dont waste your money on this, until they fix the cameras and recording system"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Hayward, CA
Date:December 15, 2010

Home Surveillance with talk function

Pros: easy to use, easy to install
Cons: not able to access through internet, cannot save files without removing sd card, not sure why usb is there
"I purchased this unit to see if it can work at my home as an surveillance and front door answering unit. It is super easy to install. If you can install TV, you can do this. Just plug in the power. The speaker/mic monitoring works like charm.
.Unable to detect motion through glass window. The motion detection is not image based; therefore, you can record blank video even if you are not in the frame. I cannot hide the power cable from vandals. Agreeing with another review that screen saver does not really work, or we just couldn't get it to work.
The Verdict: I think Lorex did not want to sell an all-in-one to kill its other product lines.
I would like to see that this device can be access through wi-fi (since it is already an wireless Cam DVR), so I can access the files or have it emailed images. Wouldn't mind pay $100 more for all of the above."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2010

Good but need to improve

"I bought this one last week. I received two days after I put the order. I found the remote doesn't work. I changed battery it was still same. I also found the screen saver didn't work. Other thinks are good. It is very convineit to install."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Greenville, SC
Date:December 9, 2010

Worth the money

Pros: easy to install
Model Number: LW2702
"The setup is so easy anyone can do it. Everything worked as designed. I wish Costco had the additional cameras available as I want to use 4. I wish the resolution were a little better, but for the money, this is a great buy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 9, 2010

Great Video and Audio

Pros: easy installation, intercom
Cons: power cords too short and there is no upgrade, i got mine with one camera mount stripped.
"I installed the cameras and set up the monitor in record time, very easy to do. The intercom system is a great feature."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sacramento ca
Date:December 7, 2010

great viewing

Cons: sd capacity not enough for all night recording
"So far, so good. Picture is clear, set up easy. Would recommend additional cameras to eliminate dead spots."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:los angeles, ca
Date:December 6, 2010

Lorez wireless

"Works good. like other reviews say, the motion trigger lags but being wireless, that is awesome...just find a power source. You won't be disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2010

Best Purchase I Ever Made

Pros: works great below freezing
Cons: lose the power cords
"Installation was easy and set up worked immediately. Within 2 weeks I caught my naughter neighbor boy who enjoyed kicking over my flower pots! I read all of the reviews prior to my purchase and noted difficulty in cold weather. It has been between 15 to 0 degrees outside the past two nights and days and the cameras have been working beautifully. I have only one recommendation about the plug ins and wires to keep the cameras operating, maybe battery operated cameras to lose the wires running down the sides of your house and extention cords running to plug ins. I have white trim so I used white duct tape to cover the black wires, purchased a white extention cord that I was able to tuck up under my siding and run into my garage for power."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>