Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System

With 2 Weather Resistant Motion Sensing Cameras & 2GB SD card
Average Customer Rating:
3.427 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
(out of 96 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
14
1 star
15
65 of 96(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Review 21 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Bernardino, ca
Date:June 14, 2010

Great "wireless" security

Pros: wireless, inexpensive
Cons: walls kill the range, receiver doesn't have battery backup
"Bought this system six months ago, and after a little upgrading it's been fantastic. Yes the wireless is a little spotty, but that is if you have a huge house or mount it outside. our house is 3500 sq. ft. and we get four bars throughout. the outside camera needed a little upgrading with a belkin extending corner antenna, but after replacing the stock antenna with that it works like a charm. Yeah, the pics aren't great, but it's wireless for god's sake!!! You ever seen the security cameras at banks after a robbery? I can't see their faces either! So for the price you can't miss, get it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 19, 2011

Good for the price

Pros: peace of mind, good quality for the price
Cons: intermittent garage door operations
Model Number: LW2702
"Agree with AGustavo's from Los Angeles review. Bought one system considering purchasing a second system to add additional cameras and the second receiver upstairs vice one camera for almost half the price of a system. I am too having problems with garage door operations. Didn't realize it was in recording mode.
System started right up and both cameras operate nicely. Intercom system is a plus. Sure you can buy more expensive systems with alot of nice features, but this is a great deturrent for your house when you can see there are cameras monitoring your property for this price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, Oregon
Date:July 22, 2010

Very Easy to Set up and Use !

Pros: add a pro
Model Number: Lorex 7" with 2 camera's, wireless
"I bought this item because my daughter had a problem with an unstable neighbor stalking her. It is literally "plug and play" and 100% automated. We didn't have to do anything apart from mounting the 2 camera's and plugging in the power, the rest was automatic. We have already caught the weirdo next door dumping out our trash cans and throwing her garbage in our yard, as well as her German Shepherd running loose on our property. It works just as well at night as it does in the day. I liked it so much I bought one for the cabin."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:November 3, 2010

Good, but could be better!

"Easy to set up. Really like the large monitor -- makes it easy to see. Fairly good sound quality and distance for sound from camera. Downside: monitor not able to be wireless so it HAS to be plugged in. Prefer that it be chargable so it can be moved around more easily. Wireless distance is not great. Biggest problem is that, while the camera is advertised for OUTDOOR USE, the place where the cord is coupled CANNOT BE OUTSIDE where it's subject to wet weather so can only be used in a covered area."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tacoma, WA
Date:October 12, 2011

Big Disapointment!

Pros: none
Cons: worst customer service ever
Model Number: Lorex ECO 4CH
"This set up seemed to work ok for a couple of weeks. If Lorex had any decent sort of customer service, my problem may have been resolved. The fact is, that Lorex has the worst customer service ever. When you call their 800 number you are put on hold for over 20 minutes, only to be told that a Lorex Rep. will call you back sometime that day. The first time, it took 5 hours for a return call that I was unable to take. The next day I tried, they never even called back."
Review 26 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:April 5, 2010

Great little system...

Pros: ease of set up and use., good night time recording.
Model Number: Lorex 7” LCD Monitor (wireless)
"I bought this system to spy on my front yard as a bad neighbor was allowing its dog to do its business in the yard. I think the resolution is adequate--wasn't really expecting it to be as good as an HD monitor, after all. It is very easy to set up and simple to use. I bought a 16 GB SD card which allows me to record all day without overwriting, although that is also an option. Overall, I liked it so much I decided to buy one for work."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2010

Easy set-up, late motion sensing

Pros: easy set-up, works great
Cons: late motion sensing, field of view limited
"I got this system to monitor my driveway and door from a problem neighbor. The set-up was extremely easy and worked as soon as I plugged it in. The motion sensing is a little delayed but it works well. I wish you could set it to "slide show" through screen saver pictures but great value and peace of mind! In fact, we have heard that the problem neighbor is even afraid to go anywhere near our house because he knows the camera is there."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lemoore, CA
Date:January 18, 2011

Night Vision not acceptable for protection

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: poor night vision quality
"Day view is good but night vision is not quality enough to pass on to law enforcement. Not happy with evening recordings at all. Get what you pay for here. Spend a little more and get a better system if your protecting you family.
Also mounting brackets should be universal so to mount from top of camera instead of bottom. This makes it very difficult to mount from under the eaves of the house without top mount possibilities."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Caleefornia
Date:May 28, 2010

Easy Set-Up...Quality??

Model Number: LW2702
"I set this up easily and have been VERY happy with it for 4 months. At the end of the 4 months, the LCD screen went all-white (defective). I was able to contact support and they quickly arranged foor a replacement to be sent to me. No need to send them the defective screen...I just faxed my receipt and they are sending a replacement. Let's hope the replacement lasts more than 4 months. I'll post an update if it does NOT !"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cleveland
Date:June 23, 2010

Wireless camera, had some dissapointment

Pros: easy to set up and start using
Cons: does not work with motion detector behind glass
"VERY easy to set up and start using even over 50 ft from cameras. Earlier reviewers had mentioned issues with using outdoors so I chose to put it behind a glass pane facing incoming pathway. Unfortunately, with this setup, the motion detector does not work and recording does not auto turn on. Am going to return it ASAP. I guess, for inside applications where it is not behind a glass sheet, it should work very nicely."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Commack, NY
Date:December 6, 2009

Excellent Product

Model Number: 2700
"I was looking for something that was easy to install, simple to use, and provided me with a good picture. Well this delivers that and more. I mounted the cameras only 7 feet off the ground and the audio works great.
The cameras are approxiamtely 50' from from the base and I'm getting 3-bars which is fine. I'll be getting a bigger chip and I will now be adding two more cameras.
This is exactly what I was looking for
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:January 4, 2010

Not well suited for outdoor use in northern state

"The specs say operating temp above 14° F and they mean it. I'm in Minnesota and I mounted one camera outdoors. It worked okay during the day but at night when the temperature dropped the signal from the camera became very weak and intermittent. Also, water condensation got in the motion sensor so it stopped working. If it gets cold where you are and you need this for outdoor use look elsewhere."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:new york
Date:April 13, 2010

Nice and easy

Model Number: Model LW2702
"I bought this from costco in last fall.installed in 1hour, out side my house. worked fine , but in january when the temperature was below 20, it stopped working. I thought it was broke. but paired the cameras again and it started working. no problem until then. It records all activity in the field with date and time. I am very happy with the system and feel very good for the money paid."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011

Great Product

"Put one camera outside the steel front door and it easily communicated with the base. The monitor looks like an electronic picture with optional screen savers. My wife likes the 2 way communications capability. The only issue is you have to get power to the cameras and they have to be out of the rain. My wife feels secure with these when I am not at home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2011
"It states it is wireless - however, it does need to be plugged into electricity! It is not battery powered.......The picture quality is pretty good and it chirps when there is someone getting close to it. It does not transmit noise - or pick up voices. It does what we need it to do - see outside so that no one comes up the walk and surprises us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:November 24, 2009

Works well so far

Pros: easy install
Cons: sensitive motion sensor
"I have one camera on my porch and the other on the side of my home. The picture is good for a wireless signal. The picture at night is decent with the IR led's on. The 2-way audio is a nice feature. I also like that it records onto the sd card. The motion sensor can be a little too sensitive, ex: plants that move in the wind near the camera."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:On the ocean in Crescent City, CA. Be jealous. =]
Date:December 9, 2009

Better than expected

Pros: sd chip was a great idea., price point is very fair., setup is very easy.
Cons: make the include sd chip 16gb instead of 2gb
Model Number: LW2702
"After doing a lot of research, I decided on this system. It had everything I was looking for, and features in excess of what I expected. The video is crystal clear, the setup was as simple as can be, and the two way audio makes every camera a intercom. The ability to record to a easily portable SD chip is a geat bonus also."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:March 30, 2010

I was so disappointed

Pros: probably ok for indoors
Cons: not reliable
"After a lot of effort to install and secure the camera where it couldn't be vandalized or stolen, it only worked for about a week. Then the recording feature, alarm, and eventually the transmission to the monitor became intermittent. Even during the first week, what did and didn't trigger the recorder was random."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:DE
Date:October 17, 2010

Plug & Play then broke :(

"Setup was easy, but after 2 minutes the monitor suddenly turned off. I tried turning it off then on again, and changing power outlets. It will not come back on.
Either the monitor broke or the power adapter died. In either case it's worthless now.
I will try again with a replacement. I hope it was a fluke.
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Lorex 7” Digital Wireless Recording Security System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Michigan
Date:June 14, 2010

GREAT PRODUCT

"really easy to use. loved it! Its about $75 bucks or more cheaper here on costco than going to lorex website and buying it there. same thing for less $$
I like this set up.
if you only need a few cameras this works well. the 2 way voice thing works well!! the mic works well and the speaker is loud."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>