Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam

8x DVD±RW Dual Layer 802.11 a/b/g/Draft-N Up to 4.5 Hours Battery Life 6.16lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.522 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 23(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Review 1 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:January 6, 2010

Great Value

Pros: pricelight weight bright screen
Cons: touchpad position sound quality volume control
Model Number: Aspire AS5738
"I was looking for 13 or 14 inch powerful laptop but no luck getting it under $600. With 2 year warranty in Costco and good reviews about Acer lately sounded like a good deal. I bought this for Christmas and no issues and works great. The touch pad position is little inconvient and you might be better of with mice.
I thought about complete format and re-install Windows 7 however chose to
uninstall all the junk softwares came with it and removed unnecessary programs from the start-up before usign it. (run msconfig to change start-up settings).
I have MacBook bought almost 2 years ago. The video quality is either same or better in Macbook. I expected better sound and video quality but, not dissappointed.
The Gemstone Blue color looks cool. Acer could have done a better job in volume control buttons - poorly designed."
Review 2 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:January 6, 2010

Left mouse button didn't work

Model Number: AS5738
"Right out of the box the left mouse button didn't work. I returned it to the store and got an HP. The HP is working out great for me. I love Costco's return policy!"
Review 3 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2010

Incredible Deal

Pros: cost vs. functionality, quality, speed & clarity, not many preloaded/subscription based programs
Cons: none as of this review
Model Number: AS5738/6969
"This was the perfect cost balance for processor speed, capacity, memory, screen size and overall functionality needs. Internet through my wireless router synched up immediately upon Windows 7 loading. Speed is amazing. Webcam is clearer than my $100 unit on my desktop PC. The HDMI port is a nice feature. Hooked it up to my 46" HDTV and was watching HD shows streaming wireless from the web with not a single second of buffering pauses. Screen clarity on the laptop is brilliant. Having Windows 7 preloaded takes the pressure off of upgrading. If you're familiar enough with Vista or XP, you can find your way around easy enough to do the basic stuff. I would suggest an inexpensive tutorial book to help you along with the finer points of version 7."
Review 4 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SE Michigan
Date:December 31, 2009

Extremely Pleased

Pros: received within 3 business days as promised., appreciate the extra yr of extended warranty.
Model Number: Acer Aspire 5738-6969
"I'm extremely pleased with my new Acer laptop. Windows 7 has some cool new functionality that I'm enjoying playing with, and I was pretty much up and running within 30 minutes of opening the box. Screen clarity is good, and I think the webcam clarity is even better than the new webcam we recently purchased for our desktop computer. As previously noted, some extra programs to uninstall, but actually fewer than some of the other laptops I've seen on the market recently. Blue color of exterior is very pretty, but is prone to fingerprints. I think this is an amazing deal for a laptop with so many great features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:December 29, 2009

Super fast computer!

Pros: very fast, screen very bright, huge hard drive
Cons: none
Model Number: Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600
"Just purchased this for myself and it arrived yesterday (super fast shipping Costo!!). The set up was very easy and quick and the packaging was very well done. So far I have not encountered any issues with this machine. Windows 7 will take some getting used to since I am so used to XP. The computer moves at lightening speed and is really slick and easy to use. I had to purchase a wireless mouse since I can't handle the touch pad, but the touch pad seems to do well.
I agree with the other posters that there is a lot of extra 'stuff' on here but that's probably true of any new computer these days. I have removed a couple of things already and added a couple myself (Zone Alarm, C-Cleaner).
I'm not a techie person (in fact I despise most technology) but this computer is very nice, well made, user friendly and a great value. I know that I will enjoy this for many years to come and would recommend it to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Saint Louis, MO
Date:December 28, 2009

Jury Still Out...

Pros: like the screen resolution, good sound for laptop
Cons: battery life, cursor too sensitive; opens windows w/o clicking, streaming video gets hung up at times
Model Number: AS5738
"I am still getting use to Windows 7, which is not as easy as I thought it would be (I don't hold Acer responsible for this). However, there is quite a bit of bloatware that needs to be removed from the computer.
But my biggest issue is the life of the battery. Acer/Costco claim the battery is good for approximately 4.5 hours. The battery depletes quickly... you will be lucky to get 2.5 hours out of the battery when fully charged. This is VERY disappointing, as this was one of the reasons I purchased this laptop.
I am hoping Costco's support can help me figure out why the battery depletes so fast and help me troubleshoot why streaming video is irregular/poor quality.. Perhaps I am doing something wrong (my first laptop)... If not, this laptop will be returned."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Date:December 28, 2009

Good Package for Price

Pros: good performance/package for the dollar., 2 year warranty via costco.
Cons: would like to have had higher quality lcd panel., bluetooth would have iced the cake.
Model Number: AS5738-6969
"Purchased as kitchen/family room family computer. So it probably won't be traveled with often. Nice looking laptop with good features for the price. Windows 7 64 bit setup was easy. So far all programs loaded on system have installed without a problem. All programs were at least Vista Compatible. Biggest disappointment was the display. If you look at it on its sweet spot it looks great. However if you are not right on axis with the center of the screen the picture degrades quickly. Good for single user, not so good for groups. Kids and wife don't seem to really care. Fast boot is really nice."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, Washington
Date:December 26, 2009

Good value

Pros: price
Cons: latch weight and sound
Model Number: Aspire AS5738 Laptop
"This is a good laptop for the money and it’s a keeper for at least a year. 2 non-critical issues for me: 1) The first has to do will all laptops with numeric keypad. If you have not used one before, it will take some time to get used to; because of the numeric keypad the alpha keys and the touchpad are located about 2 inches off- center to the left.
2) I installed Windows 7 Ultimate in order to get rid of all the factory installed extra software. The clean install worked great except that the Synaptics TouchPad lost some of its functionality. I think the clean install must have deleted custom Acer software which provides this extra functionality. A download of the Acer recommended driver for Windows Ultimate did not fix the problem. A wireless mouse solved the problem and it works better for me anyway.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mass
Date:December 23, 2009

Great Machine

Pros: kb display speed
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Acer 5738
"Just received the laptop on time in perfect shape - very well packaged! So far, this computer is amazing ! It took about 20 seconds and I had internet and this thing has blazing speed. I'm new to windows 7 but it's already becoming very easy to use. Easy and quick setup right out of the box, too. Display is very bright and colorful and the keyboard feels really good, too. This machine is well worth the money and an extra year of warranty from Costco is nice, too."
Review 10 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Alaska
Date:December 22, 2009

Great little machine

Pros: packaging, not bloated, solid construction, upgraded wifi card, warranty / assistance
Model Number: Aspire AS5738
"Bought Acer AS5738 for my son for Christmas upon recommendation by my computer tech at work. Great price for high quality. It's quick and easy to setup. I also ordered a laptop from a large well-known computer company. I am amazed at the differences. Price was 50% more, and the quality doesn't seem as nice as the Acer (keyboard). Dell setup much slower. The packaging! Oh my. The Acer from Costco came packaged like it was precious. I am amazed the one from Dell didn't get damaged, it was ridiculous the little amount that was put in to hold the laptop in the box. Costco rules."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2009

Great Computer

Pros: weight screen speed
Cons: touchpad but can fix
Model Number: Acer AS5738-6969
"A great computer. W7 takes some time to get used to. W7 so far seems much more stable and friendly than other versions.
My touchpad was very sensitive until I turned off all the special not needed functions. Also, when using the left lower button of the touchpad, don't touch the touchpad or the mouse will take off on you. When typing you can turn the touchpad off with the little switch beside the touchpad.
The screen is bright and clear. The keyboard is well designed. The T6600 processor and 4G memory makes this a fast machine to multitask with.
I use this computer in my easy chair in front of the TV with the power cord plugged in. All is fine. I don't care about the short battery life as I will rarely used it in this mode. I think you can order a 9 cell battery from the acer website.
It took some time for me to network this computer with my other computers. To get the network to work, I had to uninstall McAfee firewall and instead am using the free zone alarm. The other McAfee programs run okay. You won't be disappointed if you purchase this computer."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 14, 2009

Disappointed with Acer Support

Model Number: Aspire AS5732
"Had the laptop two days and noticed the battery charger cable had a break in the wire exposing the shield wire. Called Costo Tech Support who put me in contact with Acer customer support and was told I would have to buy a new charger. Was not happy with that support and returned the laptop to Costco."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:December 14, 2009

Great Value!

Pros: configured nicely, great for students, great replacement
Cons: none at this time
Model Number: Acer Aspire AS5738-6969
"I recently purchased this laptop for our daughter's sweet sixteen birthday. After doing a lot of research and consulting with others knowing more than me about computers I bought this Acer. It has high-end Intel components, a great display and is very fast. Compare this laptop with other manufacturers having equal specs and you'll pay about two hundred dollars or more for the name.
I recommend going to Acer's website to see additional technical specs and on how this model is configured and to learn more about Acer ( Dell's nemesis).
Costco's two-year warranty and exchange policy made the decision even easier.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Carolina
Date:December 11, 2009

Extremely Happy

Model Number: Acer AS5738 Laptop T6600
"We bought it online a few weeks ago, needed a new computer of some sort as our desktop was on the fritz. Shopped around for a good deal, this is the best we found, plus Costco will always take back ANY products for ANY reason, NO QUESTIONS ASKED!
Windows 7 is great! We didn't have any hands on with it until we bought this new computer. Overall size, functions, usablitity.....basically everything is perfect on this machine!
If you're in the market for a new computer and wondering where to buy it......YOU FOUND IT!"
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naugatuck, CT
Date:December 9, 2009

Awesome Value

Pros: great value, impressive image
Cons: none so far
Model Number: Acer Aspire AS5738-6969
"I just bought this for my daughter's sweet sixteen birthday and I must say that it's an unbelievable notebook for the money. Top end Intel processor, large hard drive, 4G RAM and much more. Screen image is great looking and unit has very good sound.
I spent a lot of time researching several notebooks and this Acer has it all when comparing the it's technical specs and features with other leading brands at this price point. For $599 (sale price) you can beat it! Plus Costco extended warranty to boot.
"
Review 16 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Artesia, CA
Date:December 8, 2009

Impressed!

Cons: had to burn my own recovery disks
"Wow! I really like this laptop. I've had it for a month now. It runs great. I can multitask without any slowing down. I love the 10 key. Keyboard takes some time to getting use to...feels like a mac keyboard (flat). $599 price is great for the specs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 7, 2009

Excellent Value for an incredible laptop!

Model Number: Acer Aspire AS5738
"I spoke to a few software engineers before deciding on this laptop. For all the features it has, along with the latest hardware technology and wireless N, it's an excellent value! I love the unlimited support that Costco offers...already called and had someone helping me within 2 minutes. Costco does it again! You won't regret this laptop, it's features for the price, and the extra benefits one receives through purchasing from Costco!"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago area
Date:December 7, 2009

Good Value

Pros: excellent value
Cons: doesn't come with a windows 7 oprating system disk, for shame!
Model Number: Acer Aspire AS5738
"For the money this is a snappy computer. Plays movies smoothly, runs without a hitch. The screen is awsome-bright with great resolution and deep color. Suggestion: Do yourself a favor-this comes (as all retail computers do now) with a boatload of junkware. First thing out of the box after setup is get rid of it. There are games and other garbage including all "try before you buy" junk. Once I removed the AV program that came with it there was a visible jump in speed and responsiveness. There are free AV and Firewall programs for download on the internet that all geeks know to get and install, and they do a better job and don't slow your computer. I can't use their names here but they are easy to find, just go to a good computer help forum on the internet. You will be glad you did. Another thing: go to Acer's website and download all the drivers and burn them to a CD; you may need them in the future if you ever have to reformat. Excellent computer for the money; not a gaming machine, but plenty fast and speedy for any college student, etc."
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:December 6, 2009

Buy it!

"There are no cons to this computer. I had an Acer desktop many years ago so knew that the brand was good. I've been using Vista for over a year so picked up Windows 7 in an instant. Speed, color & sound are excellent. Don't look for this model in the store. It seems to be only on line."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Acer Aspire AS5738 Laptop T6600 2.20GHz Integrated Webcam
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2009

A good purchase

Pros: overall a very good computer.
Cons: cover is a fingerprint magnet
Model Number: 5738
"Bright display, nice keyboard, fast running, handles multitasking well
Some XP programs and devices won't run on 7, but I expected that and it's not a fault of the computer.
Been using it for 3 days and not a single glitch.
The only thing I don’t like about the computer is the outside finish, it looks good but it shows every fingerprint and smudge.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>