Customer Reviews for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership

Limit Four Per Person Not Valid for Super Sport and Ultra Sport Locations
Average Customer Rating:
4.307 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 187
(out of 192 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (192 reviews)
5 stars
145
4 stars
9
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
18
165 of 192(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Review 1 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2010

Cheap broke-down clubs

"I've read some of the other reviews and I 110% agree with the negative reviews. I was a member in the Seattle/Kirkland area and most of the clubs were HORRIBLE. The one in Kirkland was small, cramped, and machines were ALWAYS broken. In fact that was my primary club for a year and they had those walking/stairstepper machines. All four on the second level were broken for the full year I went there. They just sat there with "do not use" signs. NOTHING ever was repaired. There were treadmills and bikes with the same problem. If something was broke they either left it there or switched it to another spot to make it look like they did a repair. The weight machines were completely outdated and the place was just nasty. The only positive about that club was the aerobics classes, but I'd say 1/3 of the time the instructors would not even show up. The bellevue club on the eastside was just as bad, although the club downtown was decent.
If you decide to purchase, make sure you check out your club nearby.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:May 22, 2009

One-third the usual price!

Pros: no more excuses
Cons: no more excuses
"I had previously tried 24 Hour Fitness' FREE 7-day Trial membership, which you have to pre-contract for by starting a payment plan on a credit card or bank account. My month-to-month rate was nearly $40, and that was a 1-club-only membership. After only 4 days, I cancelled the trial because I remembered that Costco had this deal. And what a deal. Do the math and you'll see that it's about one-third their usual price, and that gets you into ALL CLUBS NATIONWIDE (except their exclusive lines). When I activated my certificate at the same club, the club manager himself processed my membership and was shocked at the deal; He certainly knew of the Costco deal, but he'd never done the math before. His jaw literally fell open. He gulped and said that he hoped that 24 Hour would have a special deal in 2 years' time to keep all the Costco members' continued business. He offered to sign me up for extras, like personal training, but didn't pressure me. Everyone there is so nice."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Torrance, CA
Date:April 2, 2010

What a Great Deal

Pros: great deal, fast & easy enrollment, no hard upsale
"LOL. I'm reading the reviews and people complaining about the "fine print". It is actually not so fine.
The discription on this website, clearly states, in RED type, that this membership does not include Ultra or Super Sport.
If you buy this product at Costco, it is on the cardboard you bring to the Register. It is also clearly printed on the front of the certificate. I know because I was curious about it and there it was, plain as day.
Anyway, all locations are different. I have over 5 within 3 miles of my home. I visit all of them, and yes, some are better then others, but all in all they are clean and well maintained.
If you don't have a lot of locations near you, I too recommend you visit those to be sure you are okay with it.
The sign up process was quick and easy. They offered personal training, I said, no and that was the end of it. The certificate prevents them from upselling most of their products so all they have left is personal training.
I recommend this to all my friends and neighbors interested in begining a work out regimen."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:October 16, 2008

Excellent Deal!

"This is a no questions asked best deal you can get at 24 hour fitness. I showed up with the certificate costco sent me and I walked out with 2 year membership! The sales person told me that this was a best deal and they can't offer a better deal than this...no hidden cost of activation or enrollment fee! I am going to tell all my friends about this!"
52 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:August 23, 2010

Best Gym Deal I Have Ever Seen

"This is an amazing deal. I have never had any complaints about 24 hour fitness.
I go to the gym several times per week. I follow one Group Exercise instructor like a lost puppy. She works at several gyms, so I regularly go to several gyms. I have no complaints about these gyms. Moreover, I have used about 10 different locations, and I have nothing bad to say about any of them.
Of course, 24 hour fitness isn't perfect. They have some broken machines, but either I don't use them, or I just use something else. I have never been bothered to the point where I want my money back. Machines break. People abuse the machines, so they don't last forever. I don't have any information as to how long it takes them to repair a machine, but it has never gotten me mad. They have enough equipment for me to use to keep me to be happy.
I will most likely stay with 24 Hour Fitness even after my two years are up."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pacific Northwest
Date:December 20, 2010

Best Deal Around

Pros: great price
Cons: no super sport club access
"To answer the other reviewer, yes you can review this membership but, to get this price, you have to do it by purchasing another 2 years at Costco. 24 Hour Fitness sent me a renewal letter suggesting I do just that.
This is likely the best deal you'll find for a nationwide membership with hundreds of locations. They might try to sell you training, etc. when you go into a club to activate your card, but just tell them you don't want to pay for anything extra. They were relaxed about it with me.
Check on the 24 Hour Fitness website for clubs in your area and note that Super Sport and Ultra clubs are not available under this membership. At least where I live, the last 2 new clubs they've opened are both Super Sports but there are still plenty of others including a really nice Sport club.
The age and condition of 24 Hour Fitness clubs varies widely. Some of their Sport clubs are brand new and great. And some of the older "Active" clubs are rather tired. So if you're not familiar with your closest club(s) you might want to at least stick your head in the door before you buy this.
Finally, while all the big fitness chains have their unhappy customers, in my experience, the worst is Bally's. They have the most complaints filed against them and have the worst customer service. 24 Hour Fitness is vastly better all the way around."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:san Jose, CA
Date:April 9, 2009

great deal with one downside

"This is a superb deal, no doubt. I don't have anything negative about the terms of this membership, per se. But 24 hour fitness won't honor this as any other membership bought from their club, that's what irks me. There's a new Super Soprt club that's opened close to where I live. I agree, with this certificate I am eligible only to use Sport clubs. While they're willing to upgrade a regular sport club membership bought from one of their facilities, for an additional $10 a month , to be able to get a Super Sport club membership, they won't even talk to you if the same membership is bought from Costco. I am willing to pay extra but cannot do so as 24 hour fitness won't upgrade, modify or in any way deal with the membership bought via costco. All said and done , it is a valid and legitimate membership and it's not like it's being sold without their consent. It is definitely a good deal and I am sure they've seen a huge spike in their membership through the costco certificates. I wish they would honor them and be willing to work with folks that are happy to pay a little extra for a super/ultra sport club. I have an 18 month old and it'd be super convenient to use the gym nearby ( super sport) rather than drive 7 miles to the next sport club. they should think about this."
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 4, 2009

Great deal, can't be beat

Pros: awesom price! can't be beat.
"I have been wanting to sign up for most of the summer, but most of the promos that 24 Hour has, even at best, are $30/mo with no initiation fee. This means that I will have paid for the membership after 10 months. This is best case, as most of the time the promos include $10-50 initiation fee and monthly dues of $30-$45. Even better, as I learned, this price includes tax, in those states where sales tax is applicable. That means, for me, in Seattle, the actual 2 year membership is $273.64 which comes out to $11.40 per month. Being as there are not really any Super Sport or higher clubs in WA and most of the clubs I would go to are Express along with 1-2 Sport clubs, this is not a big limitation. The sales pitch was not really that bad at the Queen Anne location. The guy there asked me if I wanted some training and I said no, so he moved on to the tour.
Overall, a great experience with Costco and 24 Hour Fitness. I have already used 3 different clubs in the first week I have had the membership. I recommend that everyone get this while the supplies still last!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, WA
Date:February 6, 2011

Club needs to invest more

"Pros: Convenience (multiple locations and extended operating hours) and cost (with Costco purchase), there is no extra for group exercise classes (personal training sessions take extra)
Cons: Clubs tend to be older and smaller. Or you have to pay extra to gain access to "Super Clubs" or "Ultra Clubs". For example at where I am (the headquarter area of Costco), Kirkland Parkplace (Active) is small and group class is way over crowded (which can be intimidating for new member to try to find a place in class). Bellevue club (sport) is really old (the facility and equipment) that looks like the club has not being putting in any money to upgrade for years: e.g all nearby 24 fitness clubs changed new dumb bells in the last 6 months or so, Bellevue club still has the really old black metal ones. In addition, there is very limited offering of classes (most of the time the group exercise room is empty with no classes), and the instructors are just so so (with a few exceptions such as Saturday Yoga instructor Pam which stands above others). Downtown Bellevue is OK but you have to deal with the traffic jam and 2 hours parking limitation. Issaquah club is newer and nicer, but you have to pay much more to access this "super" club.
It is great that Cosctco offers membership ("limited term membership" in 24 hour fitness club term), which by itself put more Costco members to regular exercises that they would likely not engage otherwise. However I do feel that 24 Fitness should invest more to bring up their offering to Costco standards."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2008

Smoking Deal!!!

"The cost averages out to just $12 a month ......i used to pay $29 a month as a family add on
I reccomend this deal to anyone since the gym cant even come close to this offer...Go for it!!!!!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix
Date:December 25, 2010

Best deal

"Cannot beat this price. My first 2-year membership (also purchased at Costco) just expired. So, I bought another one and the reps at 24-Hour fitness created a new contract for me in just 5 minutes. Great value."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009

Good deal

Pros: hours location
"I have been a member of Bally's, LA fitness as well as 24 hour fitness. Every gym has it's strengths as well as weakness. If you look at each gym objectively, make sure your basic needs are met w/equipment as well as availability.
Keep in mind, some neighborhood cities have greater resources thus the gym will have more equipment as well.
I have been pleased with this recent purchase. The initiation will take about 10 mins, just politely decline additional optional features (trainer, towels,etc) and you are set to work out. Take advantage of their classes and get to know gym peak hours. Now go out and get fit!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 28, 2009

Great Value

"Ok. Let's be real and review the actual product and not the actual facilities, location of facilities, behaviors of the staff, etc. This certificate is a GREAT deal. I would be easily paying double of what i payed for this certificate. Everything else about 24 hour fitness aside (you should have known beforehand; go in and get a free 7 day membership before you purchase this cert.), this is a fantastic deal you cannot pass up!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:foothill ranch CA
Date:February 27, 2009

Great Price, but BEWARE

"I bought my 24 hour fitness certificate at Costco, was a great deal! I took it to the 24 hour fitness by my house in Foothill Ranch. I was very upset that the sales person made me sit there 2 hours to enroll my certificate with high pressure sales tactics. I wanted to go home so finally i relented and bought 3 personal training sessions for $99.00. Don't take your business to this gym unless you want to be harrassed for 2 hours on the benefits of a personal trainer."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:April 16, 2011

BIG disappointment!!

Pros: good deal without childcare
Cons: terrible if you use the kids club
"This used to be a great deal, but when my wife just went to redeem her certificate, she was told that they now charge extra for child care, a service that used to be included.
She was told that the cost for the kids club was $19.99 for our fist child and an additional $11.00 for our second. This cost was to be automatically charged to a credit card each month. This would effectively increase the cost of our membership by over $371 per year! Seriously???"
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas and Henderson, NV
Date:July 12, 2010

DIRTY

Pros: cheap
Cons: poorly maintained, dirty, apathetic staff, outdated equipment
"Brad1974, I agree. I live in Vegas and I frequent a number of 24's. I have the same complaint. While the the value of the membership is good, the maintenance is lacking. Take my main gym, the Agassi Sport on Wigwam. Not only do they have maintenance issues with equipment, but the locker rooms, pool area, and steam room are disgusting. I also reported the issues to management, to the website, and the 24 hour Facebook page. While I did get a response each time, action was never taken. Very disappointing.
I am to the point where I am in and out. I get my workout in and leave quickly. I don't spend any extra time there and I won't spent any extra money there. When my membership expires in a few months I will seriously consider other gyms.
If you decide to buy the membership, don't be surprised if you're disappointed."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:November 13, 2008

Great Value

"Since the contract is non renewable, I bought 2 certificates so I can sign up in 2 years time for the same price. The certificates do not have an expiration, it says explicitly in the terms and is stated on the certificate itself that you receive in the mail."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntington Beach, CA
Date:September 28, 2009

Greatest Deal on Fitness

Pros: clubs are open longer than others, better workout environment
"This is a wonderful deal, especially in Southern California where there are clubs everywhere.
I was a member at Bally Total Fitness for 21 years and this club is so much better. I wish that I would have switched years ago. You can't beat this price and the clubs are top notch.
I like everything about this place. I never have to wait in line for equipment. They have spray bottles and paper towels on the workout floor so I never have to work out in someone elses sweat again. The music is good and the staff is very friendly. They have long hours and I never have to rush through a workout because the club is about to close.
This was my best purchase in a long time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DFW
Date:December 31, 2008

Awesome Deal

"This is the cheapest I am paying for a gym membership. The best part is no hidden fees!. Can't wait to start my membership."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24 Hour Fitness 2-year Adult Membership
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hillsboro, OR
Date:December 6, 2008

Best Deal on Health Club Membership

Pros: cost per month is phenomenal
Cons: sales reps can do a bit of a hard sell.
"I am amazed at the 2 year deal offered. The upsell was somewhat strong, but since they weren't making much (if any) money on the deal, I fully understood, and just kept saying, "No thanks!"
According to the manager, 24 Hour fitness isn't going to repeat this offer after January. I don't know how much of that was hype, but again, since they're not making much money on the deal, I can't imagine why they'd continue to offer it for long.
I used to belong to this particular gym, but had to cancel it because I couldn't afford the monthly fees -- and this is less than half per month than my previous "promotional deal."
Highly recommended."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>