Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

Handheld Vac w/8 Attachments
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
31 of 41(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Review 1 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Menomonee Falls, WI
Date:October 4, 2010

Worst vacuum ever

Pros: light weight but does not work.
Cons: everything about it is awful.
Model Number: XL Pro
"This is a combo exercise/vacuum machine. It requires significant effort to push unless you have paper thin carpet. My wife will not use it. Returned to Costco today."
Review 2 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:September 27, 2010

It's going back to Costco tomorrow!

Pros: light weight
Cons: everything else
Model Number: XL Pro Plus #4180
"I purchased this as a replacement for my 15 year old Oreck XL. I will be returning the Pro Plus for 3 different reasons: (1) this machine is extremely difficult to push over my low pile carpet (no problem with the old machine), (2) the handle's construction = soreness and pain in my hand because of a sharp edge, and (3) very noisy machine. I am extremely disappointed, but will purchase new bags for the old machine and keep on using it."
Review 3 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfax County, VA
Date:September 26, 2010

Worst Vacuum I ever Bought

Pros: lightweight // compact. //, ok for tiny apt with thin carpets.
Cons: everything else is a con. //, difficult to push on most carpet and rugs. //, no backedge wheels must be carried when off. //, small wheel make it hard to push when off. //, ergonomic handle 4 wrist verybad 4 back strain. //, all attachmnts in seprt less pwrful carry vac. //, boggs down in bathroom rugs. //, does not transition from hardfloor to carpet. //, huge suction/turbobox doesn't fit under things. //, does not easily get around or under furniture. //
Model Number: XL Pro Plus II Upright Vac
"Most Difficult Vacuum to Push Than Any I Ever Owned or Tried. This is NOT a Vacuum - it's an Exercise Machine.
Thank God Costco has a good return policy.
Lighter Than Most Other Current Models - end of story for anything good to say.
My guess it would be good for a very tiny apt or dorm room, where space is limited, if you're strong, when the carpet or rugs are the cheap thin kind.
Oreck has a triple A name. I've always heard good things about their vacuums. I bought the Oreck Air Cleaner and then bought 3 more cuz the filter is so EASY to clean compared to other brands. This Oreck Vacuum however, is a very different story.
It is nearly impossible to push through quality medium thickness carpet. It is kinda good for thin carpets and OK for dense wool Persian-type rugs. It is definitely impossible to push over standard bath rugs. It won't transition from the hard tile to the bath rug, or from harwood to carpet or rugs, unless the rugs are wafer thin.
My current Electrolux Discovery II does all of those easly and without any arm or back strain. I was looking for an easy replacement cuz, I cringe at the size of the models in stores these days.
I still have all my grandmother's vacuums since her first electric vacuum. Non are more difficult to move around than this Oreck XL Pro - not even her first electrolux tank vacuum that had steel runners (not wheels).
OK, now the bad things about it:
....
"
Review 4 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2010

Good product, BUT...

Pros: light, included bags to last a year, good suction, comes with small canister vac
Cons: no attachments on main vac, cannot roll from room to room
"Well unfortunately this product was not right for our situation. We have medium pile carpet, which normally would work fine, but recently steam cleaned the carpets and added scotchguard (which I didn't like), but it made the carpet a little "sticky" and the vaccum would dig in. Not ideal if you want your vaccuming to be easy. If you wanted a workout... then this would be the vaccum for you. I did try the vaccum on non-treated areas and it worked ok, but still there was effort involved. I would compare it to using my old vac, hoover self propelled beast without using the self propelled part.
Let me explain the Cons "Cannot roll from room to room" part. When you try to roll the vac to another room, without the brushes hitting the floor, the molding around the back hits the floor and makes the unit slam back to the floor (like you're going to vaccum). Was getting annoying.
Anyways, back to step one, trying to find a good replacement."
Review 5 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010

Love it so far

Cons: hard to move over a shag rug.
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"The vacuum seems to do a good job and certainly is an improvement over dragging a heavy canister around. However, I think it would be a struggle to vacuum a deep shag rug with this vacuum. I only have one small shag so it's not a big deal with me."
Review 6 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 3, 2010

Best Vacuum I Ever Used

Model Number: 408402
"Oreck Vacuum's are the greatest!
When I purchased the Oreck XL Pro Plus, I knew from past experience that I would never use any other brand again. It is so light weight and works great on floors and carpet. I don't let anyone but myself touch it. The handheld vac w/attachments is just an added bonus. I highly recommend the products.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 9, 2010

Oreck XL Pro- Not just ugly but noisey too

Pros: lightwiegt, tough, long cord
Cons: noisey, ugly, mediocre performance
"I was willing to deal with the old fashioned styling based on my expectation of durability and quality. It has proven reasonably durable, but I am not impressed with the machine overall. Average suction and cleaning. So loud that everyone in the house will be disturbed by it. I am now rethinking my position on the overpriced and "plasticy" Dysons."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:July 1, 2010

Oreck

Model Number: Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"Really enjoy how light the vacuum is. I have a bad back and this has been the only vacuum that diesn't leave me sore at the end of a cleaning session. It would be nice to have an attachment to get into corners."
Review 9 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:June 15, 2010

Great vacuum for the money

"This is my second Oreck. I bought the first one in Feb 1996 for $398 and it also came with the handheld vacuum. I passed my old one along to my son, as it still works fine. This one has some nice changes, ie: place to wrap the cord on the handheld vacuum. I also prefer the darker color, and it almost seems self propelled when on tile."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Model Number: Oreck XL
"I wish vacum cleaner had on board cleaning tools or you can attach them when you need to use them. Having two units is a hassel and add extra work."
Review 11 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Aliquippa,Pa
Date:June 3, 2010

So far, so good!

Pros: seem to be well madeeven the hand held vac
Cons: manual is not user friendly, never received an invoice when the package arrived
Model Number: U4140HH
"Have only had it for 2 weeks, but it is doing a satisfactory job. The wife appreciates the light weight."
Review 12 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 2, 2010

A Gift Purchase

Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus
"I purchased the Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum as a gift for one of my children. The reason I chose this product was I have one of my own and feel it is the best vacuum I have ever used. It is light weight yet powerful making cleaning quick and easy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverdale, GA
Date:May 27, 2010

Great Vacuum for the money

Pros: easy to use and great suction power
"I purchased this Oreck because our older vacuums were on their last legs. We had an industrial vacuum and a Hoover. I did a lot of research on the Orecks and finally made the purchase. I was not dissapointed!! I am so glad that I went ahead and purchased the vacuum after careful and long consideration. The vacuum is very easy to push, but the suction power is GREAT!!! After vacuuming with the Oreck, it brought my carpet back to life. Before, vacuuming with my industrial vacuum I had to gear up and get ready for a work out. Now I vacuum every other day because the Oreck is easy to move. Not only do I vacuum the carpet, I use the Oreck on tile as well. I am also enjoying the handheld vac. Again, this purchase was well worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 24, 2010

Don't believe the advertising

Pros: its light weight
Cons: it won't last, warranty is as bad as most, does not clean as well as my old hoover
Model Number: U4140HH
"We bought based on the recommendation of a family member. The machine is lite weight but that means it is not built for longevity. The outer bag will not stay where it should because of a thin piece of plastic that should hold it to the vaccum. Guess what, its not covered under the warranty and costs more than $80. The machine is less than six months old. I don't think I can afford to buy a new outer bag every six months"
Review 15 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:May 23, 2010

Great vaccum!!

Pros: light weight, long cord, powerful, cleans great, can't beat price or warranty
Cons: little tough to push on carpet across nap
Model Number: XL Pro Plus
"Just tried my new Oreck vaccum. It is GREAT! For over 20 years, I have used an Electrolux. This upright Oreck has more suction and cleaning power than my Electrolux upright and it is at least 10 lbs lighter. The hand held Oreck cleans cat hair as good as my Electrolux canister with attachments and it is alot lighter. I highly recommend anyone try this vaccum. I am glad I did."
Review 16 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010

Major flaws

Pros: great suction, works well on wood floor/low carpet
Cons: hard to push
Model Number: Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"I am disappointed in this vacuum cleaner and after two months of use plan to return it to Costco. My main complaint is the difficulty pushing the carpet across a medium shag carpet. I am in good shape and excercise regularly, but have major probs pushing it. I'm done trying. The vacuum has no adjustment for carpet pile, and is NOT self-propelled. It works great on very low pile carpet, and wood floor. After one month the belt broke so I took it to the Oreck store. They charged me min. $20 to replace (there is actually an extra belt stored on the vacuum cleaner itself) and said the Costco model is bare bones and tried to sell me an upgrade. Oh brother....
The portable canister is also flawed. It suctions well but is difficult to manuver around on your shoulder/hip. Very clumsy. The long attachment keeps falling off too!
"
Review 17 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:May 20, 2010

Oreck XL Pro - as advertise

Pros: almost glide itself over the carpet., takes very little energy to push.
Cons: too many attachment part for handheld.
Model Number: XL PRO
"Purchased it during the $60 off sale from costco online. Before I bought this I went to Oreak store and tested it and also called the customer support about the attachmend for heavy carpet (cost $10).
It is light, easy to use and works really great. It glide smoothly over my carpet, so I did not had to buy the attachment some reviewer mentioned on their comment."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:May 20, 2010

A great buy

Pros: lightweight excellent suction without the sweat, handy handheld makes cleaning easy
Cons: using bags
Model Number: XL Pro
"My problem with vacuum cleaners is the suction power. I currently own 3 vacuums and they either don't suction enough, or suction too hard that I have to put up a fight to pass it across the room. The Oreck is different. It's light (I'm very petite) , suctions well, and easy on my skinny arm. The Oreck canister is another wonderful addition. It can suck a mosquito in mid air. The extension hoses and floor accessories allow me to easily use on my hardwood floor. It's as good or better than sweeping. I tried the dusting tool on my lamp shades and I was amazed on how clean and bright they turned out. I think it's more than worth the price you pay."
Review 19 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Glacier Park, MT
Date:May 19, 2010

A really great vacuum

Pros: incredibly easy to use, great suction
Model Number: XL Plus
"After checking the reviews on this site, I was concerned that we might have difficulty pushing the upright Oreck. On our carpets, at least, this is not the case. It moves with ease. Our old carpeting looked amazing after vacuuming, and it was accomplished with ease, even with our fairly arthritic bodies. The smaller machine is great for those otherwise impossible to reach areas, and its suction is remarkable. The noise level on both machines is far lower than other vacuums we have owned and didn't even disturb our pets. We are so glad we went ahead and bought these - something we did only because of Costco's excellent policy regarding returns. We try never to abuse their largesse, but it is wonderful knowing they will stand behind their products if they don't work in your situation. We highly recommend both of these Orecks."
Review 20 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 9, 2010

I LOVE this vacuum

"First of all, I'm a man. And I don't get excited over things like vacuums. But this vacuum is amazing. I have dealt with my fair share of vacuums and this one has by far surpassed them all. It moves great along the floor and is very light. It also has really good suction. My wife and I couldn't be happier. Much better than the Dyson in my opinion. I know some reviewers mentioned their vacuum being hard to move but I've never noticed that all. The handheld vacuum that comes with it also has really good suction and works great. I would recommend this to anyone."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>