Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

Handheld Vac w/8 Attachments
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
31 of 41(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Review 1 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bellingham
Date:November 27, 2009

Oreck converter

Pros: lightweight great suction simple easy design, did i mention how light it is?
Cons: possibly the bags but washing dyson filters sucks
"I first have to admit my deep love and obsession for a good vacuum. I have tried just about every name brand from Dyson to Miele, Hoover, Bosche, electrolux and even the rumbus. Although many have been good to me, they have all lacked in one important area the the Oreck XL pro does not. That is the simplicity and lightness of this product. My vacuum time has been literally cut in half due to how light this vacuum is. My last vacuum was a dyson. It was great, but it was so heavy that I dreaded hauling it up and down my stairs. The lightness of the Oreck means that I can zoom through a room much faster and it picks up EVERYTHING. It sucks so well my carpets looked like they had been well groomed and freshly steam cleaned. The handheld vac with attachments is equally as impressive. I was expecting something with far less suction, but this little guy is pure professional. It can get under and suck up anything. I did my carpeted stairs with the roller brush attachment and they look fantastic!
As you can tell I am very pleased. I have never before been compelled to write a review about one of my many vacuums, so that must say something! Bonus...it was $100 cheaper than my last dyson so I bought the little green carpet cleaner for $69 or so and still saved money!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:November 18, 2009

Will never own anything but an Oreck

Pros: lightweight, enduring quality, great for people with pets, cleans the smell of pet out of the air
"The lightweight vacuum makes accessing upstairs a breeze. The canister allows cleaning crevasses easy. The bag for dirt collecting is much more sanitary; it keeps from dust expelling into the air upon dumping. I love that I can vacuum hard floors, and carpet with one tool. I love it so much, I have tossed out my broom, the Oreck does it all! We have two english mastiffs, and it collects their hair with ease"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Riverdale, GA
Date:May 27, 2010

Great Vacuum for the money

Pros: easy to use and great suction power
"I purchased this Oreck because our older vacuums were on their last legs. We had an industrial vacuum and a Hoover. I did a lot of research on the Orecks and finally made the purchase. I was not dissapointed!! I am so glad that I went ahead and purchased the vacuum after careful and long consideration. The vacuum is very easy to push, but the suction power is GREAT!!! After vacuuming with the Oreck, it brought my carpet back to life. Before, vacuuming with my industrial vacuum I had to gear up and get ready for a work out. Now I vacuum every other day because the Oreck is easy to move. Not only do I vacuum the carpet, I use the Oreck on tile as well. I am also enjoying the handheld vac. Again, this purchase was well worth the money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Birmingham, AL
Date:November 25, 2009

Classic Design

Pros: lightweight, simple design, includes handheld vac, tuneups included, doesn't look like a robot, made in the usa, metal (not plastic) spine
Cons: no height adjustment, uses bags
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"When shopping for an upright vacuum, we preferred this Oreck model over its more plastic laden competitors. It's an utterly simple old school design -- and that's why we like it. There are no adjustments; you just plug it in and go. It's got some reassuring metal in the spine, yet it's extremely lightweight. It's easy to pick up this vacuum with one hand and carry it from room to room. And by the way, it's made in the USA."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Puyallup, WA
Date:March 29, 2010

Awesome Vacuum

"I own a cleaning business, therefore I vacuum 2-3 entire houses every day. I am constantly carrying the vacuum around the homes and in and out of my trunk. This one is super light. I can easily carry it with one hand. Plus it does a great job vacuuming. This set comes with a little tablet that you put in the vacuum bag and it keeps the vacuum from getting a weird odor. It really works. It smells clean when you use it and not like pets, dirt, etc. I had previously used a commercial vacuum that had a bag. The bag was such a mess when I tried to change it. It was terrible. But the Oreck has a really good bag set up so that you can easily change the bag without making any mess whatsoever. It is hard to explain how it works. You would have to see it to understand. Also, almost everyone I clean for has either tile, laminate or wood floors throughout their kitchen, dining room and entry. The canister vacuum works great for those. It is much faster than uses a broom and it sucks up everything including pet fur. It also works really well when you want to vacuum out your car. I no longer have to go to a car wash and pay to use their vacuum because mine works great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:May 9, 2010

I LOVE this vacuum

"First of all, I'm a man. And I don't get excited over things like vacuums. But this vacuum is amazing. I have dealt with my fair share of vacuums and this one has by far surpassed them all. It moves great along the floor and is very light. It also has really good suction. My wife and I couldn't be happier. Much better than the Dyson in my opinion. I know some reviewers mentioned their vacuum being hard to move but I've never noticed that all. The handheld vacuum that comes with it also has really good suction and works great. I would recommend this to anyone."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:DC area
Date:December 12, 2009

Oreck XL Pro - Good Deal, Good Vac

Pros: lightweight exhaust from the rear bags, under furniture, separate canister, speeds up cleaning
Cons: loud, does not turn so well, can’t turn off “brush”, pulls left
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro
"12/12/09 Oreck XL Pro from Costco Great Deal. (even without the $50 coupon that ends 12/31/09)
.
I have been using a Eureka SmartBoss ($149) for about for years after reading Consumer Reports and seeing it as a best buy. I was really pretty happy with it and it did a good job. My wife is petite and was unhappy with the weight of it. It was also difficult to use the hose attachment for high places like door frames (I have even stood on ladders and held the vacuum high off the floor in one hand while cleaning cobwebs with the hose attachments in the other. Not dangerous at all.) One day my wife was using the hose attachment to clean the stairs and stretched it a little too far, the vacuum crashed down and was highly traumatized. Now we had an excuse to shop for a new one. My wife had liked the Oreck from the ads because it was very light and supposedly cleaned so well. I blanched a bit at the price and have been researching for months. Consumer Reports did not give it a stellar review, but others had decent things to say.
So I got the recent Costco coupons and saw $50 off the Oreck. Went down today and got it and proceeded to test it for an hour or so when we got home. We have wood and tile floors with 5 oriental rugs of various thickness. The thicker rug with a pad under it cleaned very well, easier than with the other vac and we could get all the way under the coffee table and part way under the sofa – something we could not do before. We have two large dogs and it did an excellent job of picking up the hair from the rug and the tile floor. My wife did the thinner rug and said it was not quite as good as the thicker one. I also noticed that on the thin rugs, the spinning “Brush” tends to pull the vacuum off to the left – a little annoying. Cleaned the wood floors just fine, no apparent damage from spinning brush. I am perfectly happy and would recommend it, especially at $250.
My biggest gripe against the vacuum is the noise, it was ok on thicker rug, but on floors very loud. I like my hearing so I wore the earplugs I use for blowing leaves!
Canister: this is nice and light and has a nice shoulder strap. I found that the long cord and attachment extensions allowed me to easily walk the whole room and clean the baseboards and cobwebs from ceiling corners very quickly. Also did the tops of window and door frames. Before I would have to lift the vacuum off the floor to reach those high spots – so they did not get done much. With the double extensions I was able to clean the cobwebs from the recessed lighting in my 12 foot ceilings – not possible before without risking my life on a ladder. The suction seems a little weak on the canister, but overall I really loved the canister capability. Cleaning the stairs to the basement is super easy now.
The other thing that made me comfortable about trying this vacuum was getting it from Costco, I know they have a very good return policy, but I won’t be needed that.
Both my wife and I commented on how much faster cleaning seemed vs our old vac."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2010

Good product, BUT...

Pros: light, included bags to last a year, good suction, comes with small canister vac
Cons: no attachments on main vac, cannot roll from room to room
"Well unfortunately this product was not right for our situation. We have medium pile carpet, which normally would work fine, but recently steam cleaned the carpets and added scotchguard (which I didn't like), but it made the carpet a little "sticky" and the vaccum would dig in. Not ideal if you want your vaccuming to be easy. If you wanted a workout... then this would be the vaccum for you. I did try the vaccum on non-treated areas and it worked ok, but still there was effort involved. I would compare it to using my old vac, hoover self propelled beast without using the self propelled part.
Let me explain the Cons "Cannot roll from room to room" part. When you try to roll the vac to another room, without the brushes hitting the floor, the molding around the back hits the floor and makes the unit slam back to the floor (like you're going to vaccum). Was getting annoying.
Anyways, back to step one, trying to find a good replacement."
Review 9 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, California
Date:February 13, 2010

worst vacuum ever

Pros: light weight
Cons: hard to maneuver, small coverage due to narrow base, no carpet height adjustments, two units takes up too much space to store, bag slips out easy on top
"My husband has been wanting to get me a the Oreck XL PRO PLUS for a while now. He finally did. After he assembled the upright unit for me my first impression was that it was truly a lightweight to carry up the stairs. Then I put it to the test and I was certain my hubby made a mistake putting it together. I had to put my whole body weight against it to move it accross my very flat carpet. We looked for hight adjustments and there were none. He called customer service and they wanted to sell us an attachment to get the unit off the floor. I cleaned my whole floors with it and I was exhausted. Also the unit is very narrow, so you need to keep moving it around a lot. Even on my hardwood floors it was hard to move. I am sending my husband back with this piece of junk. I would not recommend this useless gadget to anyone !!!"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2009

does the job

Cons: none
"I love this vacuum. It is lightweight, easy, does everything a vacuum is supposed to do without having to pull or push around an extra 30 plus pounds! Another big plus is that it is made in the good old USA! I love the handheld. Very powerful. Does not bother me not to have wheels, just put it over my shoulder and I don't hit any furniture pulling it around. Great quality and features. Doesn't look like a supermodel but performs well! I am not buying a look but a product!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

Returning It

Pros: upright works great.
Cons: canister and attachments are a nuisance.
"We purchased this vacuum because our old one didn't seem to be working very well after only a few years so we decided to invest in something better. For a $300 vacuum, I would expect a lot more. The upright was great and lightweight. It suctioned up all our dogs' hair great. But the canister thing was a huge disappointment. You had to carry it around which is a nuisance. It didn't work very well with the attachments on our wood floor. The attachments only work with the canister and there is no "home" for them all to go. They are just loose in our closet which means they are waiting to get lost (especially with 2 kids). I will be exchanging it for something we can wheel around and a place for the attachments to go - like our old, cheaper vacuum had."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:March 30, 2010

Awesome Vacuum

Pros: easy easy to use!
"I have used Oreck for the last 10 years. While my old unit could have kept going I was inspired to try out this new model. It is fantastic. The best thing about Oreck is that it cleans great and is extremely light to carry around the house. Vacuuming is the last task in the cleaning process and by the time your ready to tackle it the last thing you want to do is haul a bulky, heavy vacuum around! Best purchase - Highly recommended!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:November 27, 2009

not the best for the price

Pros: light, has replacable bags
Cons: not maneuverable, need to push hard on the carpet
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"This Vacuum cleaner is light, but not maneuverable. It’s hard to turn it to the sides; you really need to use some power. It doesn’t move easily on the medium or high pile carpet either.
This vacuum is good for wood and very low pile carpets only. Especially side bristles do not allow the vacuum to slide easily on the carpet.
I also do not understand why we need to carry the vacuum from room to room if in this era of technology, some wheels could have been attached to it for rolling from place to place!
The vacuum is built from a very cheap material, especially the hand held vacuum. The plastic is very cheap and suction is very low.
I felt robbed when I tried this vacuum at home
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:January 17, 2010

Best Deal Ever!

Pros: light, free canister vac!, bags are cleaner/no choking on dyson dirt dumped., great price
Cons: none
"I've owned practically every kind of vacuum in the last 50 years...including the $1000.00 kirby and $500.00 Dysons.
I like this one better than all, due to it's weight, it's versatility, it goes under beds,
picks up dog hairs off of wood flooring as
easily as one of those light weight "do nothing electric brooms" and the feather weight canister is perfect for my stairs and the car... don't notice it being any louder than any other vacuum..of course, I don't hear that well. ha! buy one! you won't be sorry! 3 year guarantee? are you kidding me? Bravo Oreck!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cheshire, CT
Date:January 1, 2010

Good, but loud

Pros: great on hard floors, lightweight
Cons: very loud, difficult to push on high pile carpets
Model Number: XL Pro
"We went from a Simplicity vacuum that was excellent on carpet but riddled with reliability problems. The Oreck XL is incredibly light, does a great job on hard floors and low pile carpet. When you get onto higher pile carpets, it still vacuums well, but is much more difficult to push. The Air Fresh tab sample was great. The hand vac is powerful but light."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:northwest coast
Date:April 30, 2010

Happy customer

Model Number: XL Pro Plus
"I did not find this hard to push/pull over a low pile carpet. It works great and I don't break out in a sweat!
While I haven't used the handheld yet, the accessories do not seem no less fragile from other vacuum manufacturer's accessories.
Pro: 1. Lightweight
2. Great suction
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:June 2, 2010

A Gift Purchase

Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus
"I purchased the Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum as a gift for one of my children. The reason I chose this product was I have one of my own and feel it is the best vacuum I have ever used. It is light weight yet powerful making cleaning quick and easy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:April 16, 2010

Disappointed

Pros: handheld vacuum
Cons: can't push it across carpet, oreck unwilling to resolve issue without my purcha, sing a plate assembly package
"The vacuum is lightweight and seems to have a lot of suction. However, it is very difficult to roll along the carpet. There is a LOT of friction and you really have to push hard to move. This is true on low and high pile carpets and especially on berber.
I called Oreck who explained that I need to purchase a skid plate assembly. I suggested that they should send me one and not charge me but they were unwilling. They do not see it as a defect in the product. They also suggested I go to an Oreck store with my Costco proof of purchase to see if they will give me one. If Oreck does not reconcile, I will need to return the full item to Costco."
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2009

Worth the money

Pros: powerful, light
Cons: needs a low setting for small rugs
"I never thought that I would think that $300 for a vacuum would be worth the money, but this item is worth every penny. Awesome suction with this and it's so lightweight that I don't mind taking it out to vacuum whenever needed. Transitions from hardwood surfaces to thick carpet are seamless with no adjustments needed. It also doesn't kick stuff around on hardwood floors. Just sucks everything right up. The only thing I would have liked is the different power settings you can find on the high-end Orecks because the suction is so high on the vacuum that small carpets stick to the vac. The handheld is light and powerful and straps around the shoulders for great mobility."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:March 19, 2010

great vacuum

Pros: light, efficient
Cons: slightly pricey
"I finally decided to buy this vacuum because there was $50 instant rebate. I'm glad I decided to give it a try. I like how it's slim, light and even much more powerful than those clunky dirt devils and hoovers. It is such a nuisance to have to carry heavy ones up and down stairs. I used it on all carpet, rugs, hardwood and travertine, and I found it very effective. I also liked how it came with a separate handheld unit. I'm not a fan of the all-in-one units after I saw how it adds weight to the vacuum. I've only had for about a month now, so if I find any problems I will definitely update my review."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>