Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum

Handheld Vac w/8 Attachments
Average Customer Rating:
3.902 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
(out of 41 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
5
31 of 41(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Review 21 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:March 3, 2010

Love Oreck

Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus
"I got the XL Pro to replace my 10-year old Oreck. Never considered another brand. I love Oreck because it's easy to haul around and store. My sister has had a number of other vacuums and I'm shocked at how heavy and unwieldy they are by comparison. I also love the little vac, which gets a lot of use.
You can't go wrong with this one, and the 2 free tuneups are gravy. (though I waited 8 years to have my first Oreck tuned up.) It's a great package.
Basically, my apartment is cleaner because I vacuum more often with Oreck. It's so easy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ca
Date:February 2, 2010

Great Vacuum

Pros: lightweight good suction
Cons: many pieces for the canister
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus
"We have had a Rainbow vacuum for many years now and are very happy with the job that it does, however it is combersom and clunky at times especially getting over area rugs. I have been looking for a lightwieght upright vacuum for a while now and have been looking hard at the Oreck brand. I am very happy with the light weight and good suction of this unit and appreciate the fact that nozzle heads don't have to be changed when going from rug to hard floor. I also like the canister for small pick-ups and dusting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:East Glacier Park, MT
Date:May 19, 2010

A really great vacuum

Pros: incredibly easy to use, great suction
Model Number: XL Plus
"After checking the reviews on this site, I was concerned that we might have difficulty pushing the upright Oreck. On our carpets, at least, this is not the case. It moves with ease. Our old carpeting looked amazing after vacuuming, and it was accomplished with ease, even with our fairly arthritic bodies. The smaller machine is great for those otherwise impossible to reach areas, and its suction is remarkable. The noise level on both machines is far lower than other vacuums we have owned and didn't even disturb our pets. We are so glad we went ahead and bought these - something we did only because of Costco's excellent policy regarding returns. We try never to abuse their largesse, but it is wonderful knowing they will stand behind their products if they don't work in your situation. We highly recommend both of these Orecks."
Review 24 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2010

Major flaws

Pros: great suction, works well on wood floor/low carpet
Cons: hard to push
Model Number: Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"I am disappointed in this vacuum cleaner and after two months of use plan to return it to Costco. My main complaint is the difficulty pushing the carpet across a medium shag carpet. I am in good shape and excercise regularly, but have major probs pushing it. I'm done trying. The vacuum has no adjustment for carpet pile, and is NOT self-propelled. It works great on very low pile carpet, and wood floor. After one month the belt broke so I took it to the Oreck store. They charged me min. $20 to replace (there is actually an extra belt stored on the vacuum cleaner itself) and said the Costco model is bare bones and tried to sell me an upgrade. Oh brother....
The portable canister is also flawed. It suctions well but is difficult to manuver around on your shoulder/hip. Very clumsy. The long attachment keeps falling off too!
"
Review 25 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:July 9, 2010

Oreck XL Pro- Not just ugly but noisey too

Pros: lightwiegt, tough, long cord
Cons: noisey, ugly, mediocre performance
"I was willing to deal with the old fashioned styling based on my expectation of durability and quality. It has proven reasonably durable, but I am not impressed with the machine overall. Average suction and cleaning. So loud that everyone in the house will be disturbed by it. I am now rethinking my position on the overpriced and "plasticy" Dysons."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:August 3, 2010

Best Vacuum I Ever Used

Model Number: 408402
"Oreck Vacuum's are the greatest!
When I purchased the Oreck XL Pro Plus, I knew from past experience that I would never use any other brand again. It is so light weight and works great on floors and carpet. I don't let anyone but myself touch it. The handheld vac w/attachments is just an added bonus. I highly recommend the products.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:May 20, 2010

A great buy

Pros: lightweight excellent suction without the sweat, handy handheld makes cleaning easy
Cons: using bags
Model Number: XL Pro
"My problem with vacuum cleaners is the suction power. I currently own 3 vacuums and they either don't suction enough, or suction too hard that I have to put up a fight to pass it across the room. The Oreck is different. It's light (I'm very petite) , suctions well, and easy on my skinny arm. The Oreck canister is another wonderful addition. It can suck a mosquito in mid air. The extension hoses and floor accessories allow me to easily use on my hardwood floor. It's as good or better than sweeping. I tried the dusting tool on my lamp shades and I was amazed on how clean and bright they turned out. I think it's more than worth the price you pay."
Review 28 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2009

Only for carpet

Cons: doesn't work as well as a 2speed oreck on hardwood
Model Number: XL Pro
"I found out that this vacuum is safe to be used on floors, but it does not work that well for gritty pickups on floors. Basically, it doesn"t have the low speed that actually was designed for use on floors like the better oreck vacuums. Ended up getting a better deal at the showroom"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Fairfax County, VA
Date:September 26, 2010

Worst Vacuum I ever Bought

Pros: lightweight // compact. //, ok for tiny apt with thin carpets.
Cons: everything else is a con. //, difficult to push on most carpet and rugs. //, no backedge wheels must be carried when off. //, small wheel make it hard to push when off. //, ergonomic handle 4 wrist verybad 4 back strain. //, all attachmnts in seprt less pwrful carry vac. //, boggs down in bathroom rugs. //, does not transition from hardfloor to carpet. //, huge suction/turbobox doesn't fit under things. //, does not easily get around or under furniture. //
Model Number: XL Pro Plus II Upright Vac
"Most Difficult Vacuum to Push Than Any I Ever Owned or Tried. This is NOT a Vacuum - it's an Exercise Machine.
Thank God Costco has a good return policy.
Lighter Than Most Other Current Models - end of story for anything good to say.
My guess it would be good for a very tiny apt or dorm room, where space is limited, if you're strong, when the carpet or rugs are the cheap thin kind.
Oreck has a triple A name. I've always heard good things about their vacuums. I bought the Oreck Air Cleaner and then bought 3 more cuz the filter is so EASY to clean compared to other brands. This Oreck Vacuum however, is a very different story.
It is nearly impossible to push through quality medium thickness carpet. It is kinda good for thin carpets and OK for dense wool Persian-type rugs. It is definitely impossible to push over standard bath rugs. It won't transition from the hard tile to the bath rug, or from harwood to carpet or rugs, unless the rugs are wafer thin.
My current Electrolux Discovery II does all of those easly and without any arm or back strain. I was looking for an easy replacement cuz, I cringe at the size of the models in stores these days.
I still have all my grandmother's vacuums since her first electric vacuum. Non are more difficult to move around than this Oreck XL Pro - not even her first electrolux tank vacuum that had steel runners (not wheels).
OK, now the bad things about it:
....
"
Review 30 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hawaii
Date:January 7, 2010

Best Vacuum I've Had in 35 Years !!!

"It's everything they advertise and more! And even better now it's at Costco with lots of extras! Extra bags and tools, plus an extra (handheld) vacuum with extra bags and tools as well! I've tried many different types of vacuums in the last 35 years, and this Oreck XL Pro is by far the best! After all these years I also finally realized that I much prefer changing the bag and throwing it into the garbage, rather than emptying out a filthy re-usable bucket! Thank You Oreck and Thank You Costco! I love it!"
Review 31 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wenatchee, WA
Date:January 4, 2010

BEST VACUUM EVER

Pros: light wait soothing noise does the job
Model Number: XL Pro
"I have three boys all under the age of 4, so i have to vacuum everyday. This vacuum cleans better than my old Eureka Santaire that i paid over $600.00 for. My carpet has never looked better. I also have a bad back and love that this vacuum is so light. My husband wanted to buy a different vacuum, but now loves this one and admits that his is very happy with my choice. The vacuum is not to loud and actually seems to put my baby to sleep when ever i use it."
Review 32 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area, CA
Date:September 27, 2010

It's going back to Costco tomorrow!

Pros: light weight
Cons: everything else
Model Number: XL Pro Plus #4180
"I purchased this as a replacement for my 15 year old Oreck XL. I will be returning the Pro Plus for 3 different reasons: (1) this machine is extremely difficult to push over my low pile carpet (no problem with the old machine), (2) the handle's construction = soreness and pain in my hand because of a sharp edge, and (3) very noisy machine. I am extremely disappointed, but will purchase new bags for the old machine and keep on using it."
Review 33 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 24, 2010

Don't believe the advertising

Pros: its light weight
Cons: it won't last, warranty is as bad as most, does not clean as well as my old hoover
Model Number: U4140HH
"We bought based on the recommendation of a family member. The machine is lite weight but that means it is not built for longevity. The outer bag will not stay where it should because of a thin piece of plastic that should hold it to the vaccum. Guess what, its not covered under the warranty and costs more than $80. The machine is less than six months old. I don't think I can afford to buy a new outer bag every six months"
Review 34 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Renton, WA
Date:May 23, 2010

Great vaccum!!

Pros: light weight, long cord, powerful, cleans great, can't beat price or warranty
Cons: little tough to push on carpet across nap
Model Number: XL Pro Plus
"Just tried my new Oreck vaccum. It is GREAT! For over 20 years, I have used an Electrolux. This upright Oreck has more suction and cleaning power than my Electrolux upright and it is at least 10 lbs lighter. The hand held Oreck cleans cat hair as good as my Electrolux canister with attachments and it is alot lighter. I highly recommend anyone try this vaccum. I am glad I did."
Review 35 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:May 20, 2010

Oreck XL Pro - as advertise

Pros: almost glide itself over the carpet., takes very little energy to push.
Cons: too many attachment part for handheld.
Model Number: XL PRO
"Purchased it during the $60 off sale from costco online. Before I bought this I went to Oreak store and tested it and also called the customer support about the attachmend for heavy carpet (cost $10).
It is light, easy to use and works really great. It glide smoothly over my carpet, so I did not had to buy the attachment some reviewer mentioned on their comment."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frisco, TX
Date:June 15, 2010

Great vacuum for the money

"This is my second Oreck. I bought the first one in Feb 1996 for $398 and it also came with the handheld vacuum. I passed my old one along to my son, as it still works fine. This one has some nice changes, ie: place to wrap the cord on the handheld vacuum. I also prefer the darker color, and it almost seems self propelled when on tile."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2010

Love it so far

Cons: hard to move over a shag rug.
Model Number: Oreck XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"The vacuum seems to do a good job and certainly is an improvement over dragging a heavy canister around. However, I think it would be a struggle to vacuum a deep shag rug with this vacuum. I only have one small shag so it's not a big deal with me."
Review 38 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vallejo, CA
Date:July 1, 2010

Oreck

Model Number: Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
"Really enjoy how light the vacuum is. I have a bad back and this has been the only vacuum that diesn't leave me sore at the end of a cleaning session. It would be nice to have an attachment to get into corners."
Review 39 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Menomonee Falls, WI
Date:October 4, 2010

Worst vacuum ever

Pros: light weight but does not work.
Cons: everything about it is awful.
Model Number: XL Pro
"This is a combo exercise/vacuum machine. It requires significant effort to push unless you have paper thin carpet. My wife will not use it. Returned to Costco today."
Review 40 for Oreck® XL Pro Plus Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2010
Model Number: Oreck XL
"I wish vacum cleaner had on board cleaning tools or you can attach them when you need to use them. Having two units is a hassel and add extra work."
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>