Customer Reviews for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer

Model: MF8050CN
Average Customer Rating:
3.355 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
20 of 31(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Review 1 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Leandro, CA
Date:February 11, 2013

Great printer for home office use

Pros: very good print quality, unobstrusive printer driver, relatively easy setup
Cons: pricy toner cartridges, won't print in b&w if color toner cartridge empty, document feeder too fussy
Model Number: MF8050CN
"I got this printer to replace an HP OfficeJet all-in-one printer. I was tired of ink smears and the cost of ink cartridges. Overall I'm very pleased with the Canon. The toner cartridges are expensive but I calculated that they are still cheaper than inkjet cartridges.
I also very much disliked the overly intrusive HP Officejet printer driver. It would slow down my system on startup and crash my computer if the printer wasn't turned on. No such problems with the Canon, though.
I've used the Canon extensively to print out archival quality copies of vintage appliance and other manuals. Using the booklet setting in Adobe Reader, it's relatively easy to get the Canon to print out brochures. Combined with a long-frame stapler, it gives the capability of recreating old manuals for just the cost of toner and paper.
I don't quite get the speed complaints. This is a laser printer, and laser printers need some time to warm up if they've been in eco mode. After warm up the printing generally goes quite quickly. Not as fast as some LED printers (like the Oki) claim, but more than fast enough for my purposes.
I also like the network connectivity of the Canon. Very easy to set up.
The remote scanning was a bit awkward to set up, but after a while I was able to scan and archive a number of old document/manuals not available in digitized format. Of course I've forgotten all the steps by now but I suppose I can figure it out again as needed.
The document feeder is a bit fussy - sometimes it feeds originals slightly crooked and I have to re-feed them, or scan singly on the platen."
Review 2 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2012

Slow and difficult

"We bought this for our small office. It takes a while for the printer to warm up even between printing. Feeding envelops to print is always a hassle. Toner is expensive. Once I ran out of toner I’m taking it back."
Review 3 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:February 21, 2012

Slower than molasses

Pros: price was reasonable
Cons: slow slow slow
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"I have had this printer for several months and it is extremely slow to respond most of the time. Sometimes it sits there with the "processing data" light blinking for a minute or two when printing 2 copies of a single page document sent from the computer, eventually the document comes out. I have another older Canon B&W laser and a Brother B&W laser that run circles around this thing. It doesn't seem to matter whether its printing color or B&W. Also when using it as a scanner and using the auto doc feeder, the scans come out crooked with multiple pages so I have to do them one at a time under the cover instead."
Review 4 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

So disappointed

"I bought this for our small office needs and was utterly disappointed with the poor quality. It was constantly saying that there was an error in processing and that it needed new toner even thought it was brand spanking new. It worked only after I would open the printer and readjust the toner EVERY TIME. I'm grateful that I could return this because it was a total waste of money... and time which Canon can't give me back."
Review 5 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:I live in Chicago
Date:January 30, 2012

Good machine for home but toner expensive

Pros: good printer
Cons: no real warning when toner is low, ink cartridges are expensive
Model Number: Canon imageclass MF8050 C n
"I replaced my inkjet machine with this laser printer and was very happy with it until I had to buy replacement toner cartridges. They are very expensive, however most companies are low pricing their machines and making it up when you have to buy their ink or toner cartridges. My main complaint is that when I press the toner gauge button, it says all cartridges are OK but the print machine says cartridge low when I go to print. You better have back up cartridges on hand just in case you need your printer right away or else have a time delay until you can go to the store and order a replacement."
Review 6 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:August 10, 2011

It's a jam machine

"It jams EVERY single time if I try to scan or copy more than one piece of paper at a time from the feeder!!! I am planning on returning this.
It would have been a good price/quality/features combo if not for this drawback!
"
Review 7 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 11, 2011

great value

Pros: great quality, easy set up, great support
Cons: slow compared to black and white laser machines, price of toner
"this is a great value for the money. The toner is very expensive and the machine is a bit slow. However, the qualilty is amazing and will definitely recommend to others. if you are looking for quality this is your machine. Easy to use, set up and Canon support is amazing."
Review 8 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Or
Date:October 8, 2010

Wrost purchase ever!

"Tryed to set up the printer to make a copy and it would take paper up and not have any color then say it had a paper jam look for a paper jam there was no paper jam! Returned!"
Review 9 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plain City, UT
Date:October 4, 2010

Excellent Printer

Pros: easy set-up and the best printer i have owned!
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"The hardest part about setiing up this printer is removing the packing tape in the correct order! The set-up was painless works great with Windows 7."
Review 10 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockville ,MD
Date:December 1, 2010

Very slow

Model Number: Color imageClass MF 8350 Cn
"We have had another image class for 4 years it was very good ,quick and hard working.Over time it start giving trouble. We decided to give another try on Canon which was cheap. Just got it and start using. It is so sloooooooooooooooow. Unless I am doing something wrong and it is a normal speed, would have to return it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 21, 2010

JUNK Started giving Error Messages after 3-4 weeks

Pros: solid construction
Cons: not reliable
Model Number: MF8050CN
"Error message say turn main power on...how would the printer display messages and blinking LED if the power is not on....probably has bugs...."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ.
Date:January 29, 2011

No Bad

Pros: fast
Cons: can't scan from computer
Model Number: MF8050CN
"It is very nice printer. The down side is that you can't scan from your computer unless you change on printer for one time only not very happy with that but nice printer good printing and fast too. Have not had problems that other have had."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:March 4, 2010

Great Printer

Pros: great price, easily accessable toner tray
Cons: its heavy, will require frequent toner changes
Model Number: MF8050CN
"Installation was simple and step by step. The CD was the best I've seen in any product. Just pop it into the computer and it just installs the drivers and begins to print. Print quality is excellent."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Date:March 2, 2010

Canon MF8050Cn

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: doesn't work!, errors at startup, really poor print quality
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"We were excited about finally having a color laser printer. That excitement lasted about an hour. Right out of the box we got paper jam errors in the copy feeder and paper tray paper path. I mean as soon as I turned it on and every time I turned it on thereafter. But that's not the reason I returned it to Costco. The big reason was the print quality. I could not get the toner to cover the page no matter what I did. I took the toner cartridges out and rocked them (I've been using laser printers since 1985) to no reasonable results. After several days, there was no option but to return it. As a lifelong Canon customer I'm really saddened by this experiance."
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springdale, UT
Date:March 19, 2010

Great Multifunction Printer/Fax/Scanner

Pros: inexpensive, easy setup, great tech support
Cons: scan doesn't work with server 2008
Model Number: MF8050CN
"We just installed this on our office network. Initially we had some issues getting it to print correctly, this was due to a little confusion about the details in the setup guide. When you open the back door there is an orange band that you need to remove, but you also need to remove the two orange tabs on the sides of the foam roller. They remove by rotating them. If you do not remove these it just prints blank pages. Canon's tech support was very quick and efficient. The scan function is very easy and the quality is great. If you are using this on a network only the copy and fax functions are supported on windows server 2003/2008. Even with the rather expensive cartridge refills this is a great value for what you get."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Frederick, MD
Date:February 15, 2010

Good Product A great value & product

Pros: great quality great buy, compact, great price when on special
Cons: envelopes print well but slow, can not use larger paper tray
Model Number: Color Image Class 8050cn
"Great prints. Easy basic set up. AUTOFAX/TEL does not work with comcast. This is probably Comcast and not Canon.
Envelopes take a lttle time to become comfortable with. Envelopes print well but printer very slow from begining to end of envelope process.
Save money. Set the printer on your computer to Black & White unless you always need color.
Canon phone service very, very responsive as always.
Read the instruction book..
"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, California
Date:January 30, 2010

Awesome User Friendly

Pros: san to usb media in pdf, user friendly, commuicates with apple
Cons: none
Model Number: MF8050
"I have tried just about every model their was here at Costo, some a couple wouldn't even work out of the box, buy Canon has went the extra mile. It does every thing it said it can do. I like the fact you can put your copies in the fax, push scan to USB media and it scans it in a PDF right to you chip so you can email it. WOW I mainly use it on Apple computers, so it is even harder to find one that plays together nicely with Apple and Windows, I have not found any cons on this, it is even lighter than most machines I tried"
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:September 12, 2011

Buy anything else

Model Number: 8050
"Awful machine, hard to administer. If you have it sitting at your desk it is merely miserable but in an office environment, it's useless. It will not scan from the computer or network, only while standing at the machine and inputting info. Bypass tray must be reconfigured for every different type of media you print thru it. Do not buy this. I thought I hated HP until this Canon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:March 21, 2011

Great Printer for small business

Pros: network scan, toner replacement cost, easy setup
Cons: paper jam
Model Number: MF8050CN
"We use this printer to replace our Brother color printer for our business. The cost for the replacement of toner (from amazon) is cheaper than Brother brand. The network scan is great for multiple computers to share the same scanner. The printing quality is ok for the regular use such as printing letter, reports etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 28, 2010

Just one small annoyance

Model Number: MF8050Cn
"No problem setting up the printer. Networked, used static IP for printer. I like the software that comes with it.
People complaining about having to push a button at the printer before scanning, have completely no merit - Don’t you have to feed the document for scanning? You are already by the printer any way, what is the big deal.
The big downside is to small paper tray and luck of ability to control/setup paper from your computer. This can be corrected by Cannon in future Firmware updates. It could use better manual feeder as well. This manual feed accepts only one piece of paper (label sheet / envelope/etc.).
The scan quality is good as well as the print quality. I did not experience any paper jams."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>