Customer Reviews for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer

Model: MF8050CN
Average Customer Rating:
3.355 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
(out of 31 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
8
20 of 31(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Review 1 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Rockville ,MD
Date:December 1, 2010

Very slow

Model Number: Color imageClass MF 8350 Cn
"We have had another image class for 4 years it was very good ,quick and hard working.Over time it start giving trouble. We decided to give another try on Canon which was cheap. Just got it and start using. It is so sloooooooooooooooow. Unless I am doing something wrong and it is a normal speed, would have to return it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:February 9, 2012

So disappointed

"I bought this for our small office needs and was utterly disappointed with the poor quality. It was constantly saying that there was an error in processing and that it needed new toner even thought it was brand spanking new. It worked only after I would open the printer and readjust the toner EVERY TIME. I'm grateful that I could return this because it was a total waste of money... and time which Canon can't give me back."
Review 3 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Pittsburgh PA
Date:March 2, 2010

Canon MF8050Cn

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: doesn't work!, errors at startup, really poor print quality
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"We were excited about finally having a color laser printer. That excitement lasted about an hour. Right out of the box we got paper jam errors in the copy feeder and paper tray paper path. I mean as soon as I turned it on and every time I turned it on thereafter. But that's not the reason I returned it to Costco. The big reason was the print quality. I could not get the toner to cover the page no matter what I did. I took the toner cartridges out and rocked them (I've been using laser printers since 1985) to no reasonable results. After several days, there was no option but to return it. As a lifelong Canon customer I'm really saddened by this experiance."
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Portland, Or
Date:October 8, 2010

Wrost purchase ever!

"Tryed to set up the printer to make a copy and it would take paper up and not have any color then say it had a paper jam look for a paper jam there was no paper jam! Returned!"
Review 5 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 21, 2010

JUNK Started giving Error Messages after 3-4 weeks

Pros: solid construction
Cons: not reliable
Model Number: MF8050CN
"Error message say turn main power on...how would the printer display messages and blinking LED if the power is not on....probably has bugs...."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OC, CA
Date:September 12, 2011

Buy anything else

Model Number: 8050
"Awful machine, hard to administer. If you have it sitting at your desk it is merely miserable but in an office environment, it's useless. It will not scan from the computer or network, only while standing at the machine and inputting info. Bypass tray must be reconfigured for every different type of media you print thru it. Do not buy this. I thought I hated HP until this Canon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:February 21, 2012

Slower than molasses

Pros: price was reasonable
Cons: slow slow slow
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"I have had this printer for several months and it is extremely slow to respond most of the time. Sometimes it sits there with the "processing data" light blinking for a minute or two when printing 2 copies of a single page document sent from the computer, eventually the document comes out. I have another older Canon B&W laser and a Brother B&W laser that run circles around this thing. It doesn't seem to matter whether its printing color or B&W. Also when using it as a scanner and using the auto doc feeder, the scans come out crooked with multiple pages so I have to do them one at a time under the cover instead."
Review 8 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2012

Slow and difficult

"We bought this for our small office. It takes a while for the printer to warm up even between printing. Feeding envelops to print is always a hassle. Toner is expensive. Once I ran out of toner I’m taking it back."
Review 9 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:August 10, 2011

It's a jam machine

"It jams EVERY single time if I try to scan or copy more than one piece of paper at a time from the feeder!!! I am planning on returning this.
It would have been a good price/quality/features combo if not for this drawback!
"
Review 10 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Solano county, California
Date:August 31, 2011

Nice but?

Cons: bad color copies takes a while to start a copy.
"This is an average machine. I Have had it for about 6 months. It is good for black and white copies but if you want color copies that you would give to clients look for something else."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Tomball Texas
Date:April 12, 2010

Average

Pros: easy installation, printing & scanning good, reccommend over hp
Cons: limited features & options, very big machine for it's minimal features
"I purchased this Machine and the Mono 43
50D. I returned this printer because I felt that the smaller/4350 worked better - It is faster and has more features except the color printing. You give up speed when you have a multi function printer. This Printer is huge and slow. But I prefer Canon over HP any day due to the Scanning software. For the price it is average not great.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Rocklin, CA
Date:October 5, 2010

Good for very small operation

Pros: great upgrade from an inkjet multifunction, good looking unit not bulky
Cons: very slow printing, paper capacity and tray are very lacking
Model Number: MF8050Cn
"If you are upgrading from an inkjet printer, you will love this. Otherwise the speed and functionality is way lacking. Buy this if you plan on only printing a few times a day, then you will be happy. Otherwise go for the larger 8350Cdn, it has the better speed and capacity.
The paper tray is pathetic, why they could not see fit to put at least a 250page tray in it is beyond me. The scan feature must be started at the printer, the computer cannot control the scan, why why why?
It is a very nice looking unit and it not too big and bulky, although the 60lb weight it not fun to move. I have yet to try printing envelopes, saw that it might be an issue. The bypass tray is non-existent, only a slot.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ.
Date:January 29, 2011

No Bad

Pros: fast
Cons: can't scan from computer
Model Number: MF8050CN
"It is very nice printer. The down side is that you can't scan from your computer unless you change on printer for one time only not very happy with that but nice printer good printing and fast too. Have not had problems that other have had."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Lake Forest, CA
Date:March 8, 2011

Lovin it so far!

Pros: easy network install, good print quality
Cons: small paper tray
Model Number: MF8050CN
"This thing is a champ. Great print quality. Easy set up over the network using the enclosed disk. I'm networking 3 computers running Windows 7. I only connected the network cable and not the USB. I can choose to scan to any of the 3 computers right from the menu screen on the printer. Fax worked well. This unit will be helpful!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 11, 2011

great value

Pros: great quality, easy set up, great support
Cons: slow compared to black and white laser machines, price of toner
"this is a great value for the money. The toner is very expensive and the machine is a bit slow. However, the qualilty is amazing and will definitely recommend to others. if you are looking for quality this is your machine. Easy to use, set up and Canon support is amazing."
Review 16 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:I live in Chicago
Date:January 30, 2012

Good machine for home but toner expensive

Pros: good printer
Cons: no real warning when toner is low, ink cartridges are expensive
Model Number: Canon imageclass MF8050 C n
"I replaced my inkjet machine with this laser printer and was very happy with it until I had to buy replacement toner cartridges. They are very expensive, however most companies are low pricing their machines and making it up when you have to buy their ink or toner cartridges. My main complaint is that when I press the toner gauge button, it says all cartridges are OK but the print machine says cartridge low when I go to print. You better have back up cartridges on hand just in case you need your printer right away or else have a time delay until you can go to the store and order a replacement."
Review 17 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:December 28, 2010

Just one small annoyance

Model Number: MF8050Cn
"No problem setting up the printer. Networked, used static IP for printer. I like the software that comes with it.
People complaining about having to push a button at the printer before scanning, have completely no merit - Don’t you have to feed the document for scanning? You are already by the printer any way, what is the big deal.
The big downside is to small paper tray and luck of ability to control/setup paper from your computer. This can be corrected by Cannon in future Firmware updates. It could use better manual feeder as well. This manual feed accepts only one piece of paper (label sheet / envelope/etc.).
The scan quality is good as well as the print quality. I did not experience any paper jams."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:January 19, 2011

Great low production color laser

Pros: great output quality quiet fast first page
Cons: no network scan to mac no scan to email
"Overall I really love this unit - its small, quiet, and has great output quality. It scans direct to a USB thumbdrive which is cool, but wish it did network scan on a mac and scan to email. Otherwise ADF works great, scans look good (documents), faxing is easy, etc."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chantilly, VA
Date:March 21, 2011

Great Printer for small business

Pros: network scan, toner replacement cost, easy setup
Cons: paper jam
Model Number: MF8050CN
"We use this printer to replace our Brother color printer for our business. The cost for the replacement of toner (from amazon) is cheaper than Brother brand. The network scan is great for multiple computers to share the same scanner. The printing quality is ok for the regular use such as printing letter, reports etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Canon imageCLASS® MF8050CN Color Multifunction Laser Printer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:March 4, 2010

Great Printer

Pros: great price, easily accessable toner tray
Cons: its heavy, will require frequent toner changes
Model Number: MF8050CN
"Installation was simple and step by step. The CD was the best I've seen in any product. Just pop it into the computer and it just installs the drivers and begins to print. Print quality is excellent."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>