Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking

Print/Scan/Copy/Fax
Average Customer Rating:
3.84 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
39 of 50(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Review 1 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:March 31, 2010

Good Color Laser (LED) for the Price

Pros: cheap color printer, fast, all in one
Cons: replacement toner/drums expensive
Model Number: 9120CN
"After owning a Brother Multifunction Laser for 5 years and facing the expense of replacing the drum and toner on it, I decided to upgrade to a color laser. I really like that the menu structure on brother MFC's hasn't changed over the years, adapting to this new model was easy.
For around $300 I didn't have super high expectations of the color quality. I printed some pictures and they turned out OK, probably slightly better than what you would expect from an inkjet, not nearly as good as what my professional grade Xerox printer at work can do.
If you are getting this to print photos, I would say just stick with sending them to Costco Photo for processing, or buy a more expensive printer. If you are just using the color to print articles, graphs, or maps in color, then it is fine for that.
Also if you are running an x64 version of Windows 7 then you have to go to the Brother website to download the drivers/software, the disc that comes with the printer does not work with 64-bit Windows.
Overall this printer has met my expectations of what I would expect from such a low priced LED printer. Costco has exceeded my expectations with the great deal, and fast free shippiing.
Also on the toner note, if you open up your printer there should be a sticker in there telling you the model of the drum and toner. For best shopping results search these model numbers when looking for a replacement, not the model number of your printer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 22, 2010

Best Value Laser Color Printer

Pros: fast scanning/printing over the network, works with both windows and mac osx, standy only 11w, addition fax and pc fax, color prints are sharp but vivid
Cons: not enough documentation for setting all the featu, mac os x printer driver - no option for b&w only, little bigger footprint
Model Number: Brother MCF-9120CN
"I was looking for color laser printer that I can use for printing and scanning on the network within the budget and that works for both Mac OSX and Windows.
This is best value printer i could find, uses LED printing, which is fast, energy efficient. Setup was easy, changed settings to get from DHCP from my router. Scan is fast. This is great value printer. This has both 10/100 NIC and USB
Still working on setting up the Scan to Email and FTP.
I just got the printer around the same time, the first review written by someone. There is actual promotion of $20 if you buy the toner at the same time as the printer. Not sure, what he is searching for."
Review 3 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Redondo Beach, CA
Date:March 28, 2010

Very good price/performance - ink IS available!

Pros: good performance across the board, intuitive software, decent photo printing
Cons: consummable cost really adds up over time, not a photo-quality printer
Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"We've had this printer for about 1 year - and so far we've found nothing to complain about. The printer, scanner and fax all do exactly what they are supposed to do, simply and easily. Installation was quick (but read and follow the instructions) and software is intuitive but can be a little too simple for some advanced functions. We also like that almost all functions are available from the front panel - no need to turn on the computer to copy or fax.
IMPORTANT NOTE! Costco DOES have printer cartridges available but doesn't list the 9120; look for MFC-9320 - they use the same cartridges."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:March 29, 2010

Sturdy little printer/fax/scan combo

"I bought this about 6 months ago for my home based business. I needed something that would fax/scan and print in a small footprint and this definately fits the bill. The print quality is good to very good and the scanning/faxing features work very well.Overall I have had no issues with the printer and I use it daily. Set up was easy and I would definately buy another unit. The only con is that you can't get toner through costco. I am able to purchase it online through another supplier but i would so prefer to buy it from Costco."
Review 5 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose
Date:November 4, 2011

All OK except copying

Pros: easy setup good speed good color
Cons: terrible photo copy
Model Number: 9120CN
"I bought the printer about 4 weeks ago. Easy install good color prints, fast enough...BUT, tried to COPY a photo and it was simply awful! It was, literally, the worst print I’ve ever seen. Tried adjusting all the settings to no avail. Wasted 20 pages of paper trying to get it to copy a photo. Never did improve, I mean it was REALLY bad! It works fine if you scan the photo first then print it, but why should I have to go through the extra step? It’s going back to Costco tomorrow. Thought I might have had a good one……"
Review 6 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Orange, CA
Date:March 16, 2010

Good Buy

Pros: price
Cons: paper output appears small. don't print a book
Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"So I bought this printer under the special pricing and plugged it in today. Overall I like the printer for the price of two hundred ninety nine + free shipping. I would give it a B to B+ grade. Pretty easy to get set up and start working. The software was simple to use. My knock at this point is the color printing is so-so, but its good enough for Business use. I think the printer speed is fine, I didn't notice it slow or fast. Scanning was really surprisingly easy with the paperport program it comes with."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Date:April 2, 2010

Great Price and Toner is Available at COSTCO

Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"- go to www.costco.com
- in search box, type "toner"
- click on "Brother" brand
- click on "MFC-9320CW (4)"
This is only to inform others who may be put off into buying this printer due to prior comments about toner being not sold in COSTCO. They are being sold, see above.
Will update with my full review once I have the printer for a few months. My many years experience with my Brother MFC 8460N makes me feel confident that this is going to be a good purchase as well.
Good luck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Carmel, IN
Date:May 13, 2010

Love 98% REALLY HATE 2%

Pros: network capability, multi functions, laser quailty
Cons: manual feed
Model Number: 9120CN
"We have had this machine in our home office for about a month. It does a great job with 98% of the tasks. It's the 2% that almost sent it back to the warehouse. The manual feed is the worst design I have ever experienced! Limited to one item at a time (envelope, letter or 3x5 card). The printer goes to sleep quickly. If not woken up properly the machine jams EVERY time. This was confirmed with a call to Brother support (or really an engineer)."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane WA
Date:June 16, 2010

Perfect Except Manual Feed

Model Number: 9120 CN
"This is a fast, quiet, wonderful printer/fax/scanner/copier. Have it networked with windows PC and Mac- no problems.
The only glitch is the manual feed- I use it for envelopes and have to do one envelope at a time and it jams about every third time. Now I just use the other networked printer for manual feed because it is too frustrating to try and find if there even is a jam each time.
Otherwise, I would have given this a 5 star rating.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Louis, MO
Date:April 21, 2010

Good Value

Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"Shipping was excellent. Printer was easy to setup and use. It is on a home network being used with Vista and XP. Print quality is great. Photos are fine but it is not a photo printer. All functions work fine. Cost of consumables is an open question since I have not used it that much. I consider this printer to be a good value."
Review 11 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:November 8, 2010

GREAT ALL IN 1 MACHINE

Pros: scanning software included
Cons: doesn't make copies of legal size.
Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"FAST SHIPPING, I GOT IT THE NEXT DAY.
THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE WITH A LOT OF FEATURES. IT EVEN COMES WITH SOFTWARE FOR SCANNING. WHICH IS PRETTY EXPENSE ON IT'S OWN. I DIDN'T EXPECT IT , SINCE IT DOESN'T SAY THAT IT COMES WITH THE MACHINE. IF YOUR TIRED OF MESSING AROUND WITH THOSE LITTLE INK JET PRINTERS,THIS IS WORTH IT.
"
Review 12 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:April 15, 2010

Excellent Value For All-In-One Product

Pros: fast set up on 3 different networked computers
Cons: s/w falsely said firewall was blocking install
Model Number: MFC-9120CN
"Product was easy to set up. Software installation was smooth. Excellent quality printing. Love that it scans multiple pages into memory when faxing or copying. Massive improvement over ink jet all-in-ones! Oh and yes, you can order toner directly from Costco at better prices than the office supply stores."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Northeastern CA
Date:March 16, 2010

Not Sure I Want To Purchase Without Supplies Avail

Pros: lots of pros in features
Cons: can't find toner!
Model Number: Brother MFC-9120CN
"Before I bought this printer which seems like a great printer, I checked if I could buy toner cartridges for it. I found that they are not available at Costco and another major supplier is on backorder. I would not like to own a printer I couldn't use because I had no toner for it. How silly!"
18 of 44 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:atlanta
Date:November 9, 2010

disappointed

Model Number: brother mfc
"Scanner works well and black/white printing is fine. When printing in color, often times a blue line is printed on the edge of the paper (even after cleaning it). Envelopes are a big problem too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:April 3, 2010

GREAT PRINTER

"Just received the Printer and tried it out....A truly amazing printer. It has great color and true black.
The price is outstanding and the functionality is terrific!
Buy it."
Review 16 for Brother MFC-9120CN Color LED Multifunction Printer with Networking
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Naples, Fl
Date:March 1, 2011

Good & functional

Pros: price & fast
Cons: does not show cartridges level of ink availble, does not have a card reader
Model Number: MFC-92120CN
"Printer is fast either color or balck, easy to install , replacement cartridges cheaper than my prevoius HP printer ."