Customer Reviews for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium

19-in-1 Digital Media Card Reader Gigabit Ethernet LAN 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
(out of 40 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
32 of 40(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Review 1 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2010

Excellent unit.

Pros: large case, great price and quality.
Cons: none really at that price
Model Number: ZT 474371
"Large case to install 2 front removable hard drives and two optical drives. All other computers had screwy cases that would not allow this.
Very fast, use it for AVCHD editing with Pinnacle V14. Rendering 40 min of AVCHD with transitions, tiles etc takes less than 90 min, at least 10 times faster than my old 2 core .
Very neat inside. Replaced video board with NVIDEA GE Force GT 240 1TB DDR3.Only 6" long and needs no extra power connection. Nvidia claims that it works fine in a computer with a 300W powersupply.
Power consumption computer at idle app 120W, full throttle , rendering AVCHD video app 250 W with all 8 cores around 99%.Blue Ray PB just fantastic, CPU usage less than 2%!!
. Spend app $1500 , for computer, 3 extra hard drives, 2 Kingwin 813 mobile racks plus 2 extra trays, video board and a LG HD DVD / BR player/ DVD burner. A 800 page book on Win7 helped a lot.
Trays had to be installed at the top, they are over 9" long. Below are the two optical drives.
Each HD rack has 3! fans so things are running very cool.
Have build my own computers in the past, no way with this one at that price and it came with a Win 7 DVD !!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Date:November 3, 2009

Very Good Computer at a better price

Pros: great value, great build quality, expandability, fast and future proof, warranty and tech support
Cons: none for the price
Model Number: ZT Affinity 7425Ti-41
"Let me start off by saying that I believe that this is a very worthy machine. The size of the case and configuration of the motherboard allow for plenty of future upgrades. Right off the bat my window experience ratings were as follows: Processor - 7.4, Ram - 7.5, Graphics - 3.9, Gaming Graphics - 5.3 & Hard Drive - 5.9. The exterior dimensions of the case are 19" Deep, 16.5" Tall & 7.5" Wide. The Interior is well laid out with a very clean wiring job. There are 6 USBs in the back and 2 USBs in the front (along with audio jacks). Just to illustrate the value of this computer I'll list the major components and their approximate retail cost. Windows 7 - $190, I7 (920) processor - $280, MSI X58M Motherboard - $170, 12 GB DDR3 Triple Channel Ram - $270 & 1 TB 7200 RPM HD - $90. That adds up to $1000 right there. Add to that the cost of the case, dvd drive, graphics card, power supply & all the TLC involved in building this system and you begin to appreciate the value that ZT Systems and Costco has provided with this computer. As an aside, I plan to upgrade the power supply to a Corsair CMPSU-750HX 750-Watt HX Professional Series, Nearly 90% efficient (7" long, will fit). Also I will replace the graphics Card with a XFX RADEON HD 5850 (9.5" long, will fit). Total Cost with the upgrades, Approximately $1400. Show me a better deal than that."
39 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:January 6, 2010

On the cheap side

Pros: good specs for the price
Cons: bad video power supply cheap case
"The good specification - CPU and Memory come at expense of being cheap all over the place. The case is pretty based, compared to Dell XPS I'm replacing with. The holes for extension cards are "rip off" so if you temporary place some card into the case you'll have the hole unless you go and get something to fill it with. The PS/2 mouse and Keyboard is something I have not seen in years and which are bad compared to USB at least because they are not pluggable.
The Video Card is not even funny if you plan to do any gaming or anything like it it is a lot slower than 2 years old card I have in other box.
Power supply is another joke. Not just it is not powerful enough to put any decent video card inside but also it does not have any SATA power which you could use to put another drive in.
I wish they would spend another $100 to get a bit better case and power supply for this box.
I now spent another $300 to get decent video card and power supply for it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2009

Very nice machine

Pros: very quiet very fast machine, very nice integration
Cons: video card lags a generation or two behind latest, default install tries network boot--turn this off!
"Hello,
You see a low review from someone complaining about boot problems, I ran into something similar, but it wasn't much of an issue for me. The thing is, the computer wanted to try to network boot using the PXE protocol before it'll try to boot off of the disks. To skip this and go straight to the disk, hit F10 (or shift-F10?) when prompted and switch the ethernet card to NOT try to network boot.
After this minor hitch, the system booted immediately for me into Windows7, no problem, after which I ran a disk refrag, because:
I don't use windows and I therefore immediately installed Ubuntu Linux 9.10. This installed with no issues at all and happily shrank my Windows 7 partition while keeping the OS intact--Windows 7 still was usable after the Ubuntu install. I have never had a smoother or nicer Linux install.
The machine is SUPER QUIET, quieter than a typical laptop. I'd say it's the best of the machines I've owned overall, in terms of niceness of integration. The machine I would say easily matches the quality of machines I've had at work from more expensive, more well known national vendors. The video board lacks some power for high end gaming applications, but it's just fine for me."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Porterville, CA
Date:December 31, 2009

A Great Value!

Pros: great value and a quality build
Cons: none buy as-is and modify if you are going to game
"I bought this computer last year in July, or I should say this computer with 6 gig. of ram, and have had nothing but a relaxing experience since. I built my first computers back in 1992 and have to tell you I could not come close to matching this package both in quality and price. Now if you just get on the internet and mess around with word and excel you will be so very content with this computer for a very long time, but if you are a gamer there are a few things you will need to do. The video card will have to be changed out, I went with a BFD275oc and find it to be able to run all of the games very well. The other two changes that I made were the power supply and the cpu cooler. In order to run the higher end video card you will need a min. of 650 watts. I also changed the stock cpu cooler to a Noctua part number NH-U12P. This a very quit solution that offers superior cooling. I have now one of the best that money can buy and couldn’t be happier!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2009

Good Purchase

Pros: as described worked out of the box., cheaper than i could build it., quiet
Cons: better vid car would make a game pc out of the box
"Computer was exactly as promised online. Showed up in 10 calendar days (8 working days) after I ordered it. Windows 7 disk was included. Everything worked out of the box. The system is very fast, and so far everything is working perfectly (~1 week of ownership so far). Windows 7 is taking a little while to get used to, but overall it is a good experience. I coupled this w/ a 24" Viewsonic from the Costco store and am very pleased."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northwest Arkansas
Date:January 14, 2010

Capable Machine at Value Price

Pros: affordable, blazing fast speed
Cons: seemingly cheap power switches, tethered mouse, manuals and documentation
"I have had this system for about two weeks now. Plugged it in, turned it on, and it's worked fine since day one straight out of the box. No issues whatsoever.
There is some discussion here about the help line. If it's lame, I wouldn't know since I never have needed to call it. I can tell you my experience in the past with other computer manufacturer help lines have NOT been particularly enjoyable so poor customer service seems to be the hallmark of this industry.
I have it hooked to a Vizio 23" Razorthin LED TV as a monitor and it's a stellar combination. One concern was whether or not the TV/Monitor would shut down when the system went to sleep and it in fact does eliminating having to turn the TV/Monitor off. Works just like any other monitor. And when the system comes back up, so does the monitor. This Vizio is superthin and just generally oozes cool. Also sold online at Costco.
Back to the system. Power up is quick, and boot from sleep is almost instant.
No issues with Windows 7. In the house at the moment, I have two machines on XP, one machine on Vista, one machine on Linux and I hate to admit it but Windows 7 is by far the most intuitive and [so far] very stable.
Noise from the fan is present but not extroardinary one way or the other.
The keyboard is Logitech and included is the cheapo tethered mouse. But just as I do, you probably already have a cordless optical mouse anyway.
On/Off switch seems cheap. But should last the five years or so I will have this thing before I upgrade and send this one to who-knows-where.
Manuals and documentation are lame. But who needs em anyway.
The graphics card is adequate for my needs and works stellar with the aforementioned 23" monitor. I don't do gaming.
If you research the Intel I7 chip, you'll find that it isn't the fastest you can buy, but it's about the 2nd fastest. A significant difference between I7 and the rest of the field as far as performance. WAY faster than the AMD's or the Intel CORE.
I haven't loaded anything close to taxing the 12g of memory yet. And the hard drive is at a fraction of capacity.
Overall, I'm very impressed with the performance of this machine, especially for the price. No way you can touch this performance in a Dell, HP, etc for the price.
Bad news is I live in a state without any Costco stores in it. Good news is I live in a state without any Costco stores in it. Online purchase, no tax. Score!
I absolutely recommend this box and would buy it again."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Potomac Fall, Va
Date:November 21, 2009

Customer Support

Model Number: 7425T-41
"have contacted customer support on three occassions. My problem was the machine was not booting properly. I explained to the first customer service rep that the machine was hanging up on the Realtech internect card. His solution was first did I have a printer installed. Disconnect it and try again. When that did not work he had me disconnect all cables and power down the machine. Then power it up and connect the mouse keyboard and moniter cables. He did not wait to see it that fixed my problem. My second try with customer support I was again asked if I had a printer install, a which point I did not. I explained it appeared that the internet card was stopping the boot up. His solution was that I should reinstall Windows 7. I asked if he would wait for the installation. No it would take too long.
Windows 7 would not install. Thus, I called a third time and explained that Windows 7 would not boot the machine. Again I was asked if I had a printer connected. (ZT sytems must not work with printers) No I did not. I explained I thought I was the internet card. He asked me to disconnect from the internet and try Windows 7 again. It booked my machine eventually after striking the ESC button several times. We then checked the status of the internet card. No errors. Thus, the technican stated I would have to wait until Monday for someone to help me. So Do Not plan on 24/7 technical support from ZT systems
"
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:March 4, 2010

Great Computer for the Price

"I've had the computer for about a week now.
12GB of RAM is awesome and the Core i7 920 is very fast. It's a quad-core, hyperthreaded CPU, so it appears as 8 CPUs to your operating system. I was running out of memory on my old 4GB system. The most I've managed to consume (so far) is a little over 7GB of active resident memory. The growing room is nice.
I added a second hard drive to mine. As other reviewers have mentioned, you need an extension cable to do that. (See more on the hard drive below)
Also, as others have mentioned, the BIOS is inexplicably set to attempt a network boot by default. You'll likely want to disable this in the BIOS to speed up boot time.
The graphics card is slow, but fast enough for just browsing. Anything more, though, and you'll want to replace it. I put in an ATI 5670 w/ 1GB.
The motherboard inside is a micro-ATX board, so it's a bit undersized for the case (which is a little wider than a normal PC and a fair bit longer). It's an MSI x58m motherboard.
The downside of the motherboard is that even though there are 4 slots (2 PCIe x16, 1 PCIe x4 and 1 PCI), you can't actually use all of them. The first graphics card's heat sink/fan will cover up the PCIe x4 slot. From there, if you put in a second PCIe x16 card, it will cover up the PCI slot. Or if you fill the PCI slot, you won't be able to add another x16 card.
I don't know if it's true of all of these models or not, but the the RAM that came with mine is capable of running at 1333mhz. The Core i7 920 supports running RAM at this speed, but defaults to a slightly slower 1066mhz. You can adjust the RAM speed multiplier in the BIOS to get 1333mhz speeds.
Speaking of the BIOS, it's extremely overclock-friendly. Although I don't plan on overclocking (except the RAM as I mentioned) and haven't tried it, the BIOS has a multitude of options for overclocking as well as an automatic overclocking mode where it will test your hardware's limits. I haven't investigated how overclocking meshes with the ZT warranty so I'd recommend checking on that before doing it.
Not being a Windows fan, I moved my Ubuntu drive over from my old computer and reformatted the Windows drive that came with the ZT computer. The drive that came with this computer is one of the new Western Digital drives with 4K sectors. You'll need to format it with 4K support under Linux (or XP for that matter) or the drive can be extremely slow. The model is WD10EARS-00Y.
Overall, I'm very pleased with this purchase. The price is fantastic for just the RAM, CPU and motherboard. All the rest is gravy."
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bellevue, wa
Date:December 8, 2009

Problems from the beginning

Model Number: ZT Systems Desktop Core i7
"No manual shipped & outdated European manual shipped re: motherboard. After loading a couple of programs, D drive no longer worked. Could not find the problem. Called tech support, he had to walk me through changing the programming. Called again, Windows loads very slowly, it takes about 5 minutes. No solution given. This might be a good computer for the tech savvy but not for us ordinary users. Spent about 5 hours trying to fix things that should have been correct when shipped."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boulder,CO
Date:March 5, 2010

excellent product, fast and trouble free

Pros: fast cheap for what you get quick restart from hib
Cons: middle of the road graphics
Model Number: ZT desktop core I7 920 12GB ram etc
"I have used the ZT desktop core i7 2.66 computer for 3 months with great results. It is very fast and has been trouble free although adding a second 1 terrabyte hard drive proved to be more difficul than I was expecting. I have read most of the reviews from this year and agree with almost all of the detail in them. I will not repeat here. However the comments about speed and noise are, in my view, B.S.
There is some concern that the power switch does not seem to work correctly. I think it is probably related to restart from deep hibrnation which requires you to press the start button to awake, which happens in 10 seconds.
I also bought the Hannespreee 28 inch monitor which worked out of the box. I am pleased with it also.
I use office and all the other usual PC programs and hae loaded a lot ofother programs with no problems. It is still just as fast. I did not replace the video card although its performance is middle of the road. It is still plenty fast for most business and home uses except for fast gaming."
Review 12 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:October 31, 2009

Good value for the money

Pros: very capable computer
Model Number: 7425Ti-41
"I am a fellow who opens the case before throwing the switch. The quality of this box is entirely adequate for my needs. Perhaps if you want a lot of customer support you might prefer a name brand but I am entirely satisfied with this purchase."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas
Date:December 2, 2009

Be aware

Pros: good specs good design
Cons: after sale support, not enough screws
Model Number: ZT 7425TI 41
"This unit arrived DOA. Opened case, hard drive rack loose in case (screw missing, not found in case) allowing both SATA connectors to contact case and self destruct. Called ZT support and was refused overnite shipping (their dime) on the repair parts. All this because QC failed to do their job. Cutting to the chase, I am returning the ZT to costco and ordering another brand with the same specs. Costco support was good, ZT's support lacking. The computer itself is a great unit with poor service support. For what it's worth, I manage a service department so I know poor support when see it."
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St. Paul, MN
Date:November 8, 2009

Fantastic Computer

Pros: very quite machine, easy setup, tons of ram
Cons: video card is a little weak
"This is a fantastic computer. I purchased from Costco online and it was delivered in a factory sealed box. It was easy to set up. It has amazing specs. The Ram is Kingston Technology
1333MHZ DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 which is great. I am very happy with the computer and Costco online system. I could not have built this machine for a simular price.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cincinnati OH
Date:February 7, 2010

Computer not reliable

Pros: lots of memory
Cons: if only it worked, two computers didn't work
Model Number: 474371
"The first one that I ordered back on Dec 1 would not turn on after the first time. After almost 2 hrs with technical, I returned it to Costco and decided it must of been a lemon.
I reordered the same computer. I don't know what I was thinking!! The second one seemed real good until it kept crashing 7 or more times a week in the past two weeks. Data dumping was the reason. I only had the computer less than 2 months. My IT person agreed with me that for $999 it should go back
I have decided not to buy a ZT computer again. I hope this helps you with your decision."
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:December 14, 2009

Great featurs but quality control problems

Pros: i7-920 cpu and 12gb memory, 1 tb hdd
Cons: under powered ps wrong size for case, case pretty flimsy
Model Number: ZT Affinity 7425Ti-41 (Item #474371)
"System looked promising and reviews were all pretty good. Chose this over comparable HP or Dell offerings based on price point.
Generally I would recommend it. No noticeable rattles or excessive noise when running so pretty quiet. Generally a solid system for the money. Think hard though if you might need to expand.
I liked it but unfortunately experienced three QC issues such that it just had to go back.
(1) System arrived still sealed but without keyboard/mouse. A couple of calls to Concierge service to catch the ZT folks on the east coast. And they then had replacements to me in 2 days. Costco rocks!
(2) needed to install a second SATA II hdd, small problem--the SATA power leads from the 430w P/S were not long enough to reach the drive cage. Even unbundled the end plug still barely reached and the second connector was about 2" short. Not a big issue to use an extender, but clearly a design/fabrication issue at ZT.
(3) Final issue, and why the system went back. Had planned to install a PCI Wi-Fi card. Plenty of slots. Unfortunately, the MB on this one was mounted too close to the backplane of the case. No room for the bracket! I removed the bracket for the card and it then installed and worked just fine, but it just went against the grain to leave it loose/unshielded that way. And I really did not want to have to remount the MB just to fix it.
So system went back to local Costco warehouse--looking at the HP e9280f as replacement.
Again if you don't need to crack the case to add anything--I'd recommend it otherwise look to HP, Dell or even Gateway."
15 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Austin
Date:October 28, 2009

Big Bang for the Bucks

Pros: price for features, could not have built it myself for this price
Cons: bigger video card but for everyday use the 512 is
"Nice machine for the $$'s. Set-up and loded software (personal). Loads fast and 12 gig of RAM eliminates 90% of any lag time. Overall a pretty good system."
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:November 19, 2009

ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz

Pros: very fast and quiet, great value - could not build it for this price, v.12 seagate drive highly rated, lg dvd drive performs well, good mid-range mother board, good sound card, competent help from zt, very reliable - no break downs, best computer value
Cons: low end video card, psu does not have much capacity for upgrades, low -end case
Model Number: Model Affinity 7425Ti-41
"I have had this computer for several months now and I am thrilled with it. In reference to the review that said this computer is noisy and slow - they couldn't be more wrong. It is nearly silent and extremely fast. The i7 920 chip is one of the fastest available. Add to this the fact that you can overclock the CPU and motherboard if you feel the need to. Video card and case are low-end but this is more than acceptable for the price."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 11, 2010

Great Value in mini-tower

"Carefully compared Dell and ZTsystems i7 920 systems at Costco and key advantages of ZTsystems (before purchase) were
1) price
2) mini-tower with 4 5.25" and 2 3.5" drive openings (all Del products have very limited drive openings, even on their website)
Disadvantages were
1) Unknown name, quality and service
2) Office 2007 (Home) not provided and Norton (Anti-virus) very limited protection (60 days I believe)
3) Loss of some front access ports (USB, Firewire)
I have Office 2007 already and prefer another anti-virus over Norton so not having the added software wasn't an issue for me. I also like to use multiple pullout drives (5.25" front access) so that was a definite attraction as well.
I was concerned about the computer not working when I got it based on some of the previous comments, but figured Costco's 90 day policy could allow me to switch to Dell if it didn't work out.
When I got the computer I hooked it up, got my old monitor from my old computer and had it up and running in 5 minutes, no problems.
Spent a while moving my personal files over and re-installing my programs but pretty straightforward (Some things wouldn't install due to Window 7 and incompatability with 16 bit/32bit products (games and old pre-XP software mostly).
Opened system up to put in a pull out drive. I've build my own systems in the past so I have at least some idea of what I was looking at. Found most of the power cables bundled in plastic straps and out of the way on a little internal hook -- cut one of the straps and the power cables were available for a short distance (cut another and they would be completely free).
Drive bays all had plastic quick-install fasteners instead of old fashioned screws -- nice.
Overall I was impressed with the layout of the case and motherboard -- it was nicer than any system I had ever put together.
Provided video card will drop your overall performance ranking from about 5.9 (7.4 on processor/memory, 5.9 on hard drive) to 4.4/5.3, but when I played my most video intense game my frames per second went from 20-30 on my old computer (AMD 64 with GeForce video card) to 60. More than adequate for me, but I'm not an extreme gamer.
Computer came with the CD/DVDs for the motherboard drivers and Windows 7 Home Premium along with the motherboard manuals, all of which I like to get instead of it being on the hardrive.
Interestingly it comes with 2 Multi-GPU Cross-fire video links for hooking up another GeForce 8400GS (if you bought it) but no spare SATA cables (I got 6 with my last motherboard).
Keyboard and mouse are Logitech (which I like) but the typically lower end models. Again, more than adequate for my needs.
Only truly "cheap" thing I noticed was the on/off and reset buttons -- they wobble slightly when you press them.
All of my frustrations with the system have to do with Windows 7, but I don't consider that ZT's problem and it wouldn't be any different on another computer
Overall I'm VERY happy I made the purchase and the hardware operation has been flawless. Windows 7 is OK, with some things that are improvements and some that are very irritating (forcing Outlook associations for email the worst one so far)."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ZT Systems Desktop Core i7 920 2.66GHz Microsoft® Windows 7 Home Premium
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Southern CA
Date:January 13, 2010

Great Value

Pros: very fast, quality components, did i say very fast?
Cons: cheap keyboard and mouse
"I've seen a few negative comments about the case or the power button feeliing cheap, or the power supply and video card being inadequate. There is a full discloser of what is being purchased, so there shouldn't be any surprises. The only surprises I had was how fast this baby is. Although the power supply and video card are not the best one can buy, they are adequate for the average user. Personally, I changed out the video card so that I could play more high resolution games if I decided to do so. I don't find it necessary to have a higher capacity power supply at this time. I had no problem adding a second hard drive and a Blu-Ray disk drive, although I had to buy two molex-to-sata cables because the power supply has only two sata power cables. Again, no biggie; they only cost me a few dollars. Windows 7 has been working just fine, however, I did have to do a system restore two days in a row. I found the culprit to be the Norton anti-virus software which I quickly deleted and replaced with Microsoft's new free anti-virus software (no more problems!). This computer is FAST! It used to take me anywhere from an hour to an hour and a half to convert one of my DVDs to a format for my Ipod. It only took 9 minutes with this beast! I thought of buying one of the more expensive computers with a higher capacity power supply and a better video card, but found that I could replace them myself more cheaply."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>