Customer Reviews for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven

Stainless Steel Finish
Average Customer Rating:
2.588 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
(out of 34 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
15
14 of 34(41%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Review 1 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:SF
Date:January 19, 2011

Heating Element Stopped Working!

Cons: burns out after 6 mos.
"Like many people here, the top heating element stopped working after 6 months. Before that, it was great, but we're going to try to return it to Costco since I don't trust it anymore."
Review 2 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:December 29, 2010

Causes global warming

Cons: too hot exterior
Model Number: TSSTTVCA01
"The exterior of the case gets very hot. The book says to keep everything else, including the power cord, six inches from the oven when it is operating. The oven is 17 inches wide, about 12 inches deep, and 10.5 inches high. This means it requires a counter space of 29 inches across and 18 inches deep (plus 16.5 inches above) according to the manual for safe operation. We are worried about heat damage to our cabinets above the counter and nearby appliances, and will return it tomorrow. I do not know how it passed UL testing."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Georgia
Date:December 3, 2010

Works for us

Pros: convection cooking - does a good job
Cons: toasting could be faster
"Based on the other reviews, we must be the lucky ones. I bought the oven in the store before reading the negative reviews. However, ours has been working for a year with no problems. Does a great job of convection baking and a decent job of toasting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 29, 2010

Not the best.

Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"I had this 6 months before the door stopped working on it. They claim it's easy to clean, but I didn't find that to be at all true. I mostly bought it for the broiler, which works, but be prepared to have it take a good deal longer than a regular oven. A regular steak takes 3 times as long. I will be returning it to Costco because of the malfunctioning door to try another brand (I hope.)"
Review 5 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
Date:November 25, 2010

Not a good buy

Pros: inexpensive
Cons: thermostat is not accurate
Model Number: TSSTTVCA01
"This is my first convection oven. I turned the temperature knob to 400 degrees, preheated 7 minutes and put the pan of cornbread batter in the oven.
I deducted 30% cooking time per instructions. The bread was quite brown on the outside and not done on the inside.
I then put an oven thermometer inside and heated the oven again to the 400 degree mark on the dial. The thermometer went off the scale (WAY too hot!), and I still smell that chemical burning off smell which should have been gone after I followed the directions for preparing the oven for the first use.
Also even when turning the temp dial down to 325 degrees the temp went over 450 then cycled off and went to below 350. Not the even temperature promised by convection ovens.
I will be returning this to get a refund."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:VA
Date:November 17, 2010

hate it!

"This was given as a gift to us. I hate this toaster oven. It takes up a tremendous amount of counterspace. It has a stupid bell that rings when it is done or you turn it off manually. I have tried to cook biscuits in it and the middle doesn't get done. You can burn stuff easily if you don't pay attention to how long you set the timer for. My daughter has burnt many things, bagel bites, and quiches in it. I do not recommend buying this oven. Do your research and find a better one."
Review 7 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Springfield MA
Date:October 31, 2010

A useless product

Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"I bought it with great enthusiasm, but the upper heating element stopped working after i month of purchase. I want to get rid of this piece of trash which is occupying space in my home. The User Manual says, DO NOT RETURN TO THE PLACE OF PURCHASE, and the nearest service center is in Salem MA."
Review 8 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Encinitas
Date:October 3, 2010

Worthless Product!!!!!

Model Number: Oyster 6-slice Convection Counter top
"Like many of the other reviews, the top burners stop working 6 months after we bought it. I thought I could still used it. But than after about a week or so the front bottom burner stop working as well... DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$$$$!"
Review 9 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Cruz, CA
Date:October 2, 2010

Nice convection-toaster oven if it still worked

Pros: works well when it works, nice exterior style
Cons: upper heating elements no longer work., can't toast broil without upper heating elements
"Like some previous reviews, the upper elements no longer glow hot red and the oven is out of warranty. I have never had a toaster oven burn out prematurely like this--an obvious defect in the design. Prior to the malfunction, the toaster had served my family well. I plan on steering clear of the Oster brand. Nothing lasts forever but my expectation is that the toaster oven ought to last longer than it did."
Review 10 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Gaithersburg MD.
Date:September 26, 2010

Not durable, poor product.

Pros: worked well, nice size, interior light
Cons: broiler fails prematurely
Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"Lasted maybe a year than broiler element quit working( just after warranty expired ;) ). A little noisy, but that didn't bother me. Generally worked well before broiler element went out."
Review 11 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:September 7, 2010
Pros: makes great toast, great as an extra oven, comfortably holds 6 slices of bread
Cons: exterior overheats and stays hot after use, not recommended in a household with kids, the timer is difficult to regulate, difficult to clean
"This product is more an oven than a toaster. Having said that it is a great toaster once you get the hang of how it works. After a while you get to know how many minutes it takes to toast bread as opposed to a bagel. Although I do keep an eye on it, most toasted items come out perfect. I hadn't planned on using the oven but it really works great for heating bread and rolls and cooking small items and re-heating left overs that I want to remain crispy. The reason this product does not get 5 stars from me is that the exterior of the Product gets very hot and stays that way for about 15 minutes after use. If you accidently grab the door to keep it open, you could get burned. this product could cause problems in a home with kids. The timer is difficult to regulate. It is diffucult to clean because there is no removable door or crumb release, and you must wait until the unit has cooled down."
Review 12 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2010

Cheaply made

"Unlike other reviewers, who had the top element burn out in a few months, for us it didn't work right from the start."
Review 13 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:san francisco
Date:July 26, 2010

Use w/ an oven thermometer

Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"I've only used this oven a few days and, while it does exactly what I'd hoped—toast/roast/bake small quantities of food quickly using less energy—I have to confirm that temperature settings bear no relationship to actual oven temp. However, using an oven thermometer pretty much solves the problem: the temp readjusts quickly so with a little trial and error, the oven seems serviceable."
Review 14 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Mammoth Lks. CA
Date:July 21, 2010

Hate this thing

Pros: looks nice
Cons: burns or undercooks
Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"This unit is so inconsistent, ONLY toast is at all predictable. I use a toaster oven for roasting small amounts of fish or meat, baking cookies, and hot sandwiches daily. I have used several toaster ovens successfully over the years, but I've had this one 3 mos., and I'm getting rid of it. Heat, even at the same setting, is completely unpredictable. Broiler works, however. Back to Quisinart---you get what you pay for."
Review 15 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Wilmington, DE
Date:June 2, 2010

Not a good quality toaster oven.

"Top element stopped working just after a year. So much for the warranty. When it worked , it worked good; mainly used for toasting."
Review 16 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Everett, WA
Date:May 16, 2010

Best - for the price

Pros: small size
Cons: does not fit a pizza
"It's smaller then our previous B&D (which lasted less then a year) but at half the price with an interior light I was sold. Everything works as designed."
Review 17 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 10, 2010

Awesome for the price.

"I have had a Oster Toaster oven for along time now and it has been very reliable. The only down fall was it took awhile to make toast. My daughter purchased this one and said that it made toast very fast, so I thought I would buy one. Awesome! It made toast so fast. It cooks everything faster. The convection oven cooks really fast so make sure you lower the cooking time or you will burn it. Love it.Great Price too. $10.00 cheaper if you go into the store."
Review 18 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Palo Alto, CA
Date:May 9, 2010

Broke after 6 months

Pros: looks good
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: TSSTTVCF01
"The top elements failed after only 6 months of use. No way turn off expect by turning the timer backwards."
Review 19 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Chandler, AZ
Date:April 20, 2010

The Worst*****

"I received this toaster oven as a Christmas gift to replace my older Oster which still works, but used so much it really looks bad. So i used for a few months and the darn door wouldn't close!! Had to return it and didn't want to buy another one! Costco only has 1 other to choose from and it is all digital so i am afraid to purchase...."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Oster® 6-slice Convection Countertop Oven
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 15, 2010

Noisy

"Works well, but makes noise while cooking.
Broil was quiet. But baking mode sound like a motor with a annoying clicking sound every few minutes. Very annoying while waiting for food to cook.
I do not recommend this item to anyone who is noise sensitive.
"
1 2 next>>