Customer Reviews for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles

Includes 2 Poles & 2 Sets of Baskets for Trekking or Snow Use
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
(out of 8 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Review 1 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Raleigh, NC
Date:August 22, 2011

Gabel Ultralight, Great Product

Pros: very light. locks securely.
Cons: none
"We went hiking in Park City, UT and Vail CO this summer. We did some pretty challenging trails, and these poles worked exactly as they were designed to. Zero problems, zero flaws, great product!"
Review 2 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Mountain View, CA
Date:August 11, 2011

Handle detached and slid down pole

Cons: poor construction
"I loved these until the handle started sliding down the pole on one of them. Since I have taken some sentimental journeys with these, I may try to the pole myself. Annoying, though, considering they were expensive. The handle grip is apparently just loosely glued in place."
Review 3 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:colorado
Date:June 13, 2011

gabel poles

Pros: easily locked and stay socked. light.
Cons: none
"I have a set of gabels that I have used for 15 years. They broke this snowboard season after much use and abuse hiking backcountry.. That said I would like to respond to a previous review. A person said to mesure from your hands to the floor when horizontal to determine the minimume length. Not true. You want that measurement to be the mid range length because on a steep uphill climb you will want to shorten the poles. And then lengthen on a downhill. Pretty important if you climb and descend mountains. I got my moneys worth and more from gable."
Review 4 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2011

plain walking tip included?

"Seems lightweight and sturdy enough. I've searched the description again but may have missed something-is an attachment missing or not?-I was thinking a walking blunt tip would have been included(?) There are numerous baskets as described for attaching to the bottom for snow but I assumed for everyday walking there would most likely be type of rubberized tip. Not being an avid climber or skiier there may be some info I'm lacking in this dept. What it does have is a sharp tip with a tiny removable plastic guard cover-which appears to be or could be mainly for shipping or storage purposes, though I've kept it on for routine flat walking. Ideas?"
Review 5 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles,CA
Date:January 10, 2011

Poor Quality

Model Number: Gabel Ultalight Trekking Poles
"I will be returning these trekking poles.
I found these poles to be of an inferior quality.
The poles were just to light weight and flimsy.
One pole did not lock in at all, it failed completely.
"
Review 6 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Eureka, CA
Date:August 12, 2010

Measure your body first

Model Number: 478110
"Before purchasing trekking poles hold your arms in front of you parallel to the floor; measure the drop from your hand to the floor. That is the absolute minimum length your poles should be, and for downhill, your poles should be longer. I'm 5'9"; these poles were too short for me.
They are high quality poles."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, GA
Date:June 20, 2010

strong and durable

"these poles are very durable. I love hiking, but have RA and these poles give me the extra support needed to keep up with my favorite acivity."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:White Mountains, NH
Date:May 24, 2010

Great Equipment

Model Number: Gabel Ultralight Trekking Poles
"I just purchased these last week. I used them on a two day hike in the Mt. Cardigan (3,121') area in NH. I am a new hiker participating in the AMC spring hiking program so I am by no means an expert. However, trekking poles in general seem to be a no brainer. I know some are old school and don't use them but most of the leaders at the AMC use them and everything I've read indicates once someone tries them they wouldn't give them up. Great for safety (stream crossings, loose footing, rock faces, etc ...) and they definetly make the hike physically easier by allowing your upper body to assist in the physical exertion of going up the mountain and in lessening the pounding your knees take on the way down. As for this brand in particular I cannot attest to their durability yet however they appear very well constructed and durable and they are amazingly light. I was truly amazed at how well they grip a smooth granite surface when climbing a rock face. The brand is well respected, where it is more widely available outside of U.S.A., and with Costco's great prices I knew I would be getting a great price on the product. Knowing Costco pricing I'll bet these are equivilent in quality to trekking poles costing $100. I will be using them next week on a day hike of Mt Moosilauke (4,802')."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.