Customer Reviews for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In

1250-Watt High Power One Touch Sensor Cooking & Reheat Easy-to-Use Pop-Out Dial
Average Customer Rating:
1.842 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
(out of 19 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
9
2 of 19(11%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Review 1 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montana
Date:February 28, 2010

Pop-out Dial Problems

Cons: dial only allows timing with 10 second increments, pop-up dial started malfunctioning in 1 yr
"I had a Panasonic microwave previous to this one that worked for over 10 years. After a little more than a year the dial on this model stopped working properly. The oven still cooks fine if you use the quick minute buttons. The other thing that I don't like about the dial is that if you need to set it for more than a minute it only goes in 10 second increments. For example if you want to cook something for 2 minutes and 5 seconds you can't. You would have to either cook it for 2 minutes or 2 minutes 10 seconds. That is very annoying. This model is available with buttons instead of a dial. I would recommend the button model. My issue with this model is the malfunctioning dial."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:April 10, 2010

Unreliable

Pros: works great for 1 year.
Cons: after a year it's malfunctioning and unreliable.
Model Number: Panasonic Inverter Micro
"Worst microwave I ever bought. Worked OK for about a year, and now the dial doesn't work right and you have to slam the door hard if you want to run it. If you close the door normally it won't start now.
Extremely disappointing, unreliable, junk."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:March 29, 2010

Panasonic Microwave

"I had this product for over a year and now it stopped working. I would not recommend this product. The center dial looks like a cool design but it was hard to dial to the right time. I got used to the dial but it was not my favor thing. I am kind of glad this product died, now I can get a standard key pad microwave."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bend, Or.
Date:March 10, 2010

Great Microwave

"This is a powerful microwave oven and so easy to use even for us old folks. It has a deep cavity and most all my dishes fit nicely. We especially like the extra minute button and it pops corn to perfection. We use it on the countertop and would surely buy another one when and if this one ever fails. We have had it for many years and use it almost every day."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2010

Doesn't last

"I rated this poorly because the circuit board burned out after about three (3) years. The microwave oven itself worked great while it worked, but it should not have failed after a short time.
The display faded (dimmed) for about four (4) days then failed completely. Working to get parts to fix it, but will purchase a different brand."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Alameda, CA
Date:November 16, 2010

Dead after 3 years

"Seems to be a trend with this model - it worked fine until it died last week.
My last microwave lasted 15 years - guess it really is true that they don't make them like they used to"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Enfield, CT
Date:December 7, 2010

Great when it works

Pros: cooks well and large size
Cons: poorly designed latch mechanism
Model Number: NN-SD967S
"We learned the hardway. After 2 Panasonics and 1 GE that came from the same factory and had the same latch mechanism we finally got smart.
We love the size and the way it cooks. But the latch mechanism dies at 12-13 months. We finally wised up and got it at Costco. We're now covered by the COSTCO LIFETIME WARRANTY. When this one dies we'll simply take it back and get a new one!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2010

Never again!!!!

"I also am shopping for a new microwave after purchasing the Panasonic 1300 Watt microwave at Costco 3 years ago. Not happy. I had to bring out my 17+ year-old much smaller, less powerful, but highly reliable Kenmore microwave from the basement to finish cooking potatoes the other night. They just don't make them to last anymore. Don't buy Panasonic"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Sunnyvale, CA
Date:October 2, 2010

Cannot open

Cons: door does not open
Model Number: NN-SD697S
"Great microwave until the day I was going to Eurpoe for a month. I put in breakfast to heat. I could not open the door. A month later on my return; no way to open door. $50 to have someone "look at it". After 2 years, this is ridiculous. The food is still inside."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Atlanta
Date:November 14, 2010

Died after 3 years

Pros: fast cooking
Cons: engineered to die at year 3
"Same as other reviewers. Great microwave when it ran. Loved the fast defrost. Then started flashing on and off. Now dead box at about the 3 year mark. Almost like it was timed to expire on a certain date."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 21, 2010

Get a Sharp Carousel

"This unit comes in a great package, and the controls are well conceived. The problem is in the power unit itself. I've bought 4 of these paperweights over the years, not counting a 5th which was dead out of the box. If you get one that works ... you'll be very lucky if it's still working after 3 years. I have a $50 Casio that's still working after 10 years. Don't let the exterior fool you like it did me ... if you like big paperweights, get a rock and use the purchase price for a night on the town."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Golden, CO
Date:November 26, 2010

sub par

"This microwave also just stopped working at the 3 year mark. It had good heat and the defrost worked reasonably well. The push/pull button to set time is NOT intuitive and the seconds count up by 1 second until you hit 15 and then it only goes up by 5's. This is annoying in the first minute as some things really only take 22 sec, not 25. I am in search of a replacement and it will not be this microwave."
Review 13 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Longmont, CO
Date:November 10, 2010

So far so good

Pros: even and fast heating
Cons: the dial to set the time is hard to set accurately
"We've had this microwave for 4 months so far, and it has worked fine. So many electronic devices have a short lifetime now, that it is hard to find any device that gets all rave reviews.
Hopefully this microwave will serve us well for many years.
The 'dial' isn't my favorite way to set the time, but you do get used to it.
Does seem to heat evenly, and heats stuff faster than our old Sharp model."
Review 14 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:December 23, 2010

Very Disappointed

Model Number: 1300W
"We have really enjoyed our Panasonic microwave for the past 3 years. It is sleek, powerful, and easy to use. That said, we returned from out of town yesterday and the thing is completely dead! It is likely the same issue as all the other reviewers have commented on. I will be taking this back to Costco. Clearly this is a problem with this unit. I would not recommend it to anyone."
Review 15 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2010

Nothing lasts anymore

Cons: short life
"Wow what a piece of junk. Lasted like all the rest of the reviews maybe 2 1/2 years .Had timer problems just not good will not bye Panasonic again built to breakdown as you can see with all reviews !!! Costco will get this one back"
Review 16 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:September 18, 2010

What a waste

"This product worked great in terms of the ability to work as a microwave. Unfortunately, it died just short of 3 years. I wouldn't recommend this product due it it's short life."
Review 17 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:September 11, 2010

Stopped working after 3 years

"It looks like everyone else had the same problem I did. This stopped working out of the blue yesterday, and I won't be buying another Panasonic."
Review 18 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:September 21, 2010

same as below (3 YEARS AND OUT)

Pros: woked great when working
Cons: lasted about 3 years and done
"Worked great for about 3 years. Glad I purchased at Costco because it goes back today. I will purchase another as long as I can return."
Review 19 for Panasonic Stainless Steel 2.2CuFt Microwave Countertop or Built-In
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern Cal
Date:December 3, 2010

Another One Bites The Dust

"Woke up to a DOA after about 3 yrs. We are down on Panasonic after this short life span."