Customer Reviews for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR

8 CCD Day/Night Cameras 500GB hard drive Monitor via PC or iPhone
Average Customer Rating:
2.688 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
5
7 of 16(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Review 1 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:January 18, 2010

Disapointed in this product

Pros: low cost
Cons: not worth the money., water down system, not reliable
"This system is a total disappointment! The unit appears to be cheap and not durable. We have had it for a few days only and it has been malfunctioning.
We will attempt to return the unit."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:January 20, 2010

Steep learning curve..buggy features

Pros: works with iphone
Cons: poor ui, buggy
"I am sorry to say that this product was nothing more than headache after headache. The unit works perfectly fine out of the box, but that's not where the problem lies...
To start off, I have a lot of experience with security DVRs. I have installed over 10 units ranging from 4 cameras all the way up to 16 including PTZ cameras, hidden cameras and audio recording devices.
I purchased this unit only because I was interested in being able to see the video on my iPhone. My current DVR is about 2 years old and the manufacturer sadly does not support iPhone.
The equipment that comes in the box is pretty straightforward. There are cameras, power supplies for the cameras, and the DVR itself. I didn't use any of the cameras, but they appear decent. One of my clients has a few of these cameras and they work fine. They aren't the best at night, but that's due to the Infrared. There's only 12 IR's per camera if I'm not mistaken. My current setup includes outdoor cams with 48 IR's each- but the cameras themselves are $100 each. You get what you pay for, I guess.
Now on to the setup. Basic configuration is fairly straightforward. Hook up your cameras and you've go video. But this unit was a different from the other units i've worked with. You have to actually press record! Instead of automatically being set to record like most DVRs, this one needs you to tell it to record. But that's just the first time. It can be set in the preferences to do that automatically. Not such a big deal, but unusual nonetheless.
Navigating through the system menus is pretty frustrating with the remote control. Trying to enter IP addresses and such was frustrating because the remote takes a second to register the button press- needless to say I made many mistakes! So i wised up and hooked up the mouse that also comes with the unit. From then on things got easier. However the virtual on-screen keyboard is not very efficient. There are separate screens for small letters, capital letters and numbers. This irritated me, but it was much easier than using the remote control!
It took me over 4 hours to set up my iPhone to work with the unit. Partly because the documentation that comes with the unit is not very Mac-friendly...but that's to be expected. The iPhone viewing works as expected- this is probably the best feature about the DVR. You have to download a program for the iPhone called aViewer. Pretty nifty.
I had a few problems setting up my DVR with dyndns, but after a few hours everything was sorted out. Once again- there is no MAC support for viewing on the internet - unless you've got Parallels or some other virtual PC program- which I don't have. But I was able to access the DVR via PC.
I tried to set up recording via motion detection at the DVR itself. I could not figure out how to do it! I think the only way to configure it is through the PC connection. But when I tried to do it via PC i kept getting an error saying "Other user configuring..." So I eventually gave up on that. It's my opinion that recording only when there is activity saves you ALOT of time when you need to review old footage. Nothing is worse than going over several hours of footage and fast forwarding on 8x until you think you see something and then pressing stop and rewind to review the activity!
Which brings me to my last gripe- exporting. I tried to export 1 hour of footage via my PC connection. By pressing backup, the footage was backed up onto the DVR. I couldn't figure out how to get the video on to a USB stick drive. There was a button to convert the H.264 to avi, but I couldn't get it to work. This was a big "FAIL" in my book. I have had issues in the past where I had to give video to the police- with my old setup it would have taken me about 45 minutes to copy a few hours of video. With this setup it would probably would have taken me all day!
In conclusion- this DVR is great for the price, as long as you don't mind spending a LOT of time learning it's ins and outs. There is also a 8 channel DVR from Q-See that is sold here (QSDT8DP - costco item number 457154). The 8 channel unit totally blows the 16 channel away!!! The menus and functionality of the 8 channel DVR is much easier to set up, use and maintain. I am trading in this clunker for that machine!!!
That's my 2¢!"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Whitmore Lake, MI
Date:April 7, 2010

Keep Away

Model Number: QSD2316L
"That saying you get what you pay for makes perfect sense here. My DVR stopped working numerous times. The DVR has frozen many times. Keep away from this item. It's been almost 1 year since I bought and it has been nothing but trouble. I know someone shoplifted from me and I can't even access my recordings. I learned my lesson that when it comes to video security, don't go with the cheapest price!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle WA
Date:January 21, 2010

3x installation cost

Pros: cheap initially
Cons: very expensive, poor quality, installernet is a con
"This is a barely adequate system in so far as resolution goes. However it costs 3x the price to have it installed. The installation card is a joke. You go online and set up a date and it means nothing. You then have to set up another date after the company contacts you and tells you it will cost $200 per camera to install. ridiculous. Costco should not support installernet!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Glendale
Date:March 22, 2011

No Support

Pros: don't know never used it
Cons: no customer service
"A friend had warned me that I may have problem getting someone to assist me at the Q-See support department, but I took the chances and bought the system anyway. That was a bad decision in my part, I should have listened to him. It's been over two months since I have left phone and email messages and no one has bothered to return my call. If this is indicative I can just imagine how well the system works. Good thing I can always rely on the Costco return policy, because its going back."
Review 6 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Date:January 14, 2010

Seems to be a cost-cut version

Pros: 16 channels
Cons: noisy, inaccurate motion detection, buggy software
Model Number: QSDR16RTCB
"I thought that 16-channel DVR should in general be in a higher end category than 8-channel ones. I was wrong. This seems to be a cost-down version with buggy and ugly software (even has typos in its menu :-). The motion detection setting is back to 1 to 4 levels instead of finer granularity of 8 levels, and is triggering continuous recording at night, or I can have it not trigger at all even if you walk right in front of it. It works to certain extent, but definitely not what I'd expect from a more expensive model. It's also noiser than the 8-channel one."
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Livermore, CA
Date:February 1, 2010

Some big flaws with this DVR

Model Number: All Q-SEE DVRs
"I agree with the pros & cons from other reviewers, but there was one surprising con not listed. You cannot set up this DVR to display the cameras on a rotating basis i.e. show camera 1 for a few seconds, then switch to camera 2, etc. You are limited to showing 1 camera, or 4, or 9, or 16. No matter what kind of display you have, this will burn the image into the screen eventually. I consider this a major flaw, and I would not have purchased the unit had I known about it in advance. The documentation is so poor that you can't figure out the capabilities of this unit in advance."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Lafayette, CA
Date:January 20, 2010

Potentially will regret this purchase

Pros: inexpensive if it winds up working
Cons: keeps locking up, complicated setup, loud
Model Number: QSDR168GRB-500
"I upgraded to this one from the Q-See 8channel DVR version, also thinking I was getting more than just 8 additional channels...WRONG. remote login is less granular. Pokier menus, video quality that seems less crisp, and remote view requires browser security adjustments. All in all, I regret the 'upgrade'....and fear I might have to take it all down and return it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Chico, California
Date:February 4, 2010

Good DVR Buggy S/W

Pros: pro: nice d1 video display/record
Cons: con: buggy s/w and low-end cameras.
Model Number: QSDR168GRB-500
"Bought the Q-See Model QSDR168GRB-500 to replace my 4 channel AVTech DVR. The existing system is a 7 camera with a 4 camera event switcher facilitating only 4 video channels to the DVR. The existing system runs 24x7 and is accessed (viewed) via LAN, WEB, and directly (DVR to TV link) and records only upon an external alarm or video motion detected by DVR.
I ordered Q-See model Model QSDR168GRB-500 from Costco.com and it arrived at my door step right on time. The packaging was excellent and the DVR basic installation went quickly and without a hitch. Was viewing existing camera system in less than 30 minutes and the video was GREAT. In fact much better than from the AVTech DVR it replaced, both the quad view and single camera views on a1080P DLP LED TV (TV upscales to 1080 NTSC inputs) with the Q-See DVR display and record options set at D1 (704 x 480 NTSC). The LAN WEB access worked and due to the ability to set the MAC address it replaced my AVTech DVR e-server function without any changes. All-in-all the DVR hardware exhibited very nice performance.
Then I setup the motion detect, motion areas, alarms, schedules, etc. That is where the excellent impression became tarnished... the software and user interface was replete with anomalies (bugs). Some were non-show-stoppers such as motion mask display incongruities (different size, block counts on TV display vs PC on LAN display for the same camera/channel as well as spaces missing). Naming and pass word very limited and buggy – have to press menu/esc key after “enter” symbol selection to enable the “apply” button... The software was problematic but usable until the system hangs started occurring requiring system DVR restart. That is unacceptable in any surveillance system. I checked with Q-See for S/W update and there was none available and none scheduled to be released.
I did not install the cameras, however I did hook them up to the DVR and their resolution and sharpness were not impressive. In fact had I kept the DVR I would not have used the cameras. In my opinion the cameras could not make full use of the DVRs display capabilities as demonstrated from its display of existing installed cameras... that was the first impression and the best one by far.
I returned the Q-See Model QSDR168GRB-500 system to my local COSTCO store and true to their word the return went quickly and smoothly."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Grand Junction, CO
Date:June 20, 2011

Price is right

Pros: good day camera
Cons: bad night vision, hard to figure out menu
Model Number: QT428
"There is a few problems, one is support, you can't get through, you have a better chance hitting the lotto. As for night vision no way 100 feet, more like 25, not that good. Day vision is great. The menu to get around is so bad, you better have some experience with DVR's if you don't your out of luck, this is when you need to call tech support again good luck! I've yet to hook up to monitor remotely so will see when I get around to that if it works, but the price is right for what you get."
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:connecticut
Date:January 26, 2010

excellent price with all the fancy features

Pros: excellent price has good features, can add 8 more cameras later
Model Number: q-see 16 ch dvr
"came with everything stated. documentation helped a lot when setting up. wasn't too hard. talked to a q-see agent over their website chat and they walked me through some internet setups. i can view over my htc phone, wife can view on her iphone. we're going to check if our home insurance will be lower with this surveillance system."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Miami FL
Date:March 22, 2010

Works well

"ordered the q-see 16 channel dvr with 8 cameras. The DVR works well, i have not had any problems with it, have had the system running for about 6 months. The Cameras offer so-so resolution, but that was expect as such a low price. I bought some extras that offer much better resolution. Remote access works well once its set up. This is not easy, took several calls to tech support but now works perfect. The iphone app has serious problems. Mine rarely works, even on wifi. They clearly need to fix their iphone app (supercam).
For the price i thinks its a great deal, would be better if they fixed the iphone app.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:April 7, 2010

Q-See Review

Pros: affordable security
Cons: installation may be difficult for some
Model Number: Q-See 16 Ch. DVR
"First called a security company and they quoted over $4,000 for a similar system so the Qsee seems to be a very good value. Instructions are not the best but does what is supposed to do. Also, may be a bit more difficult to install for some.
I called InstallerNet and they sent out two techs who did a good job with the installation. NOTE: Cable that comes with system does not go very far so you may want to buy extra cable or purchase from installer. System can be set up to record on motion detection, so only records when something moves which saves hard drive space. Also the cameras do a decent job with very little light up to 25 feet or so and the remote is handy once you get used to system navigation. Overall - Very Satisfied"
Review 14 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2010

Great Value product

Model Number: QSDT88GRTC-320
"I bought this product for one of my professional office, I have to say this item does the job I was looking to do, I was able to install it in few hours, did call the tech support they helped me set up the internet stayed on the phone with me for more than 25 minutes. They have the server, which keeps my email address safe I do not have to pay for it. Overall, I felt I got my money’s worth, I would recommend the product, great quality."
Review 15 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:OAKLAND
Date:January 17, 2010

Very Good and cheap 16 CH system

Pros: menu is simple and easy to follow, quality of display is good on internet, audio is good on internet
Cons: received thousand emails perday coz alot motions
Model Number: QSDR16RTC
"This is very good basic system. It has H264 / Email Ntification / DDNS. and came with 500 GB HDD whihc can last more than 2 weeks of recording time with the highest recording setting. Motion detection works fine. I added an external microphone and the audio is really good quality even listen it on internet. Internet setup is kind of easy and calling tech support was not so bad. They told me they are busy and will call me back, and i got call back within 2 hours and they walk me step by step to setup internet and even they login to my computer. I am gonna get more system. Thanks Q-See and COSTCO for this good system and affordable"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:January 26, 2010

Excellant Product

Model Number: Q-See 16 Channel H.264 Network Security DVR
"Great system with an excellent price! Was a little concerned before ordering because of the reviews, but the price was irresistible. So I had to try it out myself. I hooked up the dvr, 8 cameras and cables. The cameras do its job, and my night vision looks pretty good. it has good sight of who is parking/entering at night. I would say I can clearly see at about 25-30 ft or so. It can see beyond that, but not a defined image. The dvr has 8 more camera points so I can add more cameras later. I will probably try out some of q-see’s other cameras with 80 feet nightvision. I am looking at QSC48030 as an option. Good to know I can add on more later.
No big issues setting this up. It came with a quick start guide on how to set up the internet viewing, and my smart phone, and was quite easy to follow. My settings were easy to input with the mouse that came along. While setting up the internet monitoring, I got stuck at a point. I called up the technical support line and they walked me through it. The support rep gave me his email address if I got stuck again.
When I was setting all my dvr options, I chose to have it record all day. That night I went back and was able to see everything…hours long! I decided to get smart and setup the dvr motion detection instead. Much better! Now my dvr only records when the cameras sense motion. Much easier to search for the specific time and motion I want to see. I didn’t realize when I was ordering this system that it even had email notification. How cool is that? (First day I got too many emails with motion detection images since it sensed every car. So I setup a separate email account just for my dvr motion images, and have it routed straight there. Just a tip for my fellow Costco members).
My son came over on the weekend and I wanted to show him what he looked like parking and coming to the front door. We laughed our heads off. Pretty good entertainment too! I backed that specific event for him on a flash drive to show his kids.
All in all – pretty cool system. Price was a killer deal! I would definitely recommend to anyone.
"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.