Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Barryton Plush Queen Mattress

Sealy Posturepedic Mattress Set Box Spring Included Shipping & Handling Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.661 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
(out of 127 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
23
87 of 127(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Review 1 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 1, 2011

I should have kept my old bed

Pros: return policy
Cons: cheap construction, noisy, extremely uncomfortable, springs sound like they are breaking.
"I have a Sealy mattress in my guest bedroom that I purchased from a person who had owned it for 6 months but found it was way to soft. EVERYONE that stays with us comes out in the morning with the same comment: "That is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in."
I wanted that for my husband and I but needed a king size. I was beyond excited to find a Sealy at Costco.
Fast forward months after purchasing this mattress. It is AWFUL. Although they are the same brand, they are not remotely comparable.
This mattress is soft although the inner springs give no support at all. You can hear them crunch when you sit down and there are times when I think I am going to be catapulted out of the bed when my husband gets in bed. I also hear the springs popping. I fear they are going to break and come through the mattress.
I can feel every single movement my husband makes including moving his foot. It is so very annoying when you are trying to sleep and you are feeling the vibration in the mattress simply because someone is shaking their foot.
This mattress is going back to the store once I find something that I can sleep on comfortably since I no longer have my old bed."
Review 2 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:July 1, 2011

Disappointed

Pros: great price
Cons: feels like a trampoline when spouse turns over
"We bought this mattress just over year ago. I didn't like it from the start but my husband did. He's been complaining about it for about six months now. Its not so bad with one person sleeping in it but with two you feel it every time the other turns and the center of the bed sinks down. We usually end up with sore backs from the mattress. I've even started sleeping in the spare bedroom when our oldest son is away at college and feel much more rested when I do. I'm patiently waiting for school to start again so I can get my rest. We aren't large people so that shouldn't have contributed to the problem. The best thing about this mattress was the price."
Review 3 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Olympia, WA
Date:June 13, 2011

Best mattress ever!!!

Cons: wish i had gotten it sooner!
Model Number: 481532
"I had, what I thought, a great mattress that was quite expensive. But this, my very much less expensive mattress, is the best ever! I normally toss and turn and get up several times a night but not now! I sleep right through the night, not one wake-up! It is, by far, the most comfortable mattress we have ever owned. I am so happy I took the chance and ordered a mattress via catalogue. Costco has come through again!!!"
Review 4 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:May 31, 2011

High Stars but RETURNED it

"We bought this mattress after recommendations from 3 different family members who all own and love it. It took a couple weeks to get to our house and did have a strong smell but it left quickly. I looked and felt like very high quality for the low cost. The first time I laid on it i thought it felt like heaven! Plush is the perfect description. However after about 2 hours of sleeping on it I was miserable. I just did not sleep well on it. I tossed and turned every night for 4 weeks until I returned it. I also got hot and felt a bit like I was being sucked into the bed. I personally did not find this comfortable. My husband, however, LOVED the bed and was sooo sad to have to return it but he could see how miserable I was on it. So...this is a great quality mattress BUT it is very soft and plush so if you tend to like a bit firmer mattress (like me) you probably won't like it.
After returning it we order another from costco..the Alanson Queen Mattress Set. This was a very low quality mattress that we did not think was worth the money so we returned that one also. We ended up getting a sealy firm pillowtop that we both sleep great on now.
Costco is WONDERFUL at the return. Went very quick and easy!!"
Review 5 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:May 30, 2011

Great for me, wife not as sure

Pros: excellent support, not hard, costco pricing and return policy
Cons: lightweight females may find it too firm
Model Number: 481532
"I have never had this comfortable a mattress. It is superior in my mind. We've had it for 9 months now. Amazingly, it fixed a pinched nerve problem in my back, which was causing serious knee pain for about a year. Massage and chiropractic visits helped, but did not eliminate that problem. This bed did. I still can't believe it.
My wife isn't as sure. She has had discomfort in her back and shoulders, and generally finds that goes away with very soft beds that I find too squishy. We are thinking that maybe she needs a memory foam pillow to better support her head, and that this may help her alignment."
Review 6 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, Arizona
Date:May 30, 2011

Never knew a matress could feel so good

Model Number: 259961
"I never knew a matress could feel so good, it's soft, yet very firm. I look forward to going to bed every night now and sleeping like a baby."
Review 7 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brookville IN.
Date:May 19, 2011

For the price it is hard to beat.

Pros: good value
Cons: none
"Had this mattress set for three weeks,have'nt had any problems.Had back pain before and after getting this mattress my back pain is almost gone.Does not smell as some other review's reported."
Review 8 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Marquette, Michigan
Date:May 18, 2011

Barryton Plush disappoints ...

Pros: it was delivered within 2 weeks of ordering
"This mattress is EXTREMELY soft! After just one week of sleeping on it, my husband and I both feel as though we're sinking into the center constantly. We will be returning this purchase, one good thing is Costco's return policy!"
Review 9 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:western mass
Date:May 17, 2011

good mattress

"very comfortable mattress. sits high on bed with regular box spring (we like it that way, but someone else might consider the low profile boxspring if offered)
definitely would recommend for someone looking for a plush affordable mattress
"
Review 10 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Reno, NV
Date:May 10, 2011

Better Than Expected !!!

Pros: a bit too tall for older pets to reach.
Cons: love the height of this bed. just slide out :-)
"We purchased this bed as an interim mattress until we decided which "permanent bed" we wanted to purchase. Our full intention was to eventually put this bed in the guest bedroom once we got our new bed. Well, this mattress was so luxuriously soft yet firm enough to support our backs. I've recommended this mattres to our friends and they too love it. They also cannot believe that it is way more comfortable than their $2300 dollar mattress."
Review 11 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:MA
Date:May 4, 2011

LUXURY MATTRESS

Pros: comfy
"I got this mattress for my teenage daughter. She LOVES it. I never noticed a smell with it. It is plush and so comfortable. We priced mattresses before purchasing this one and this one is a STEAL!"
Review 12 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2011

Not for Everyone

Pros: very plush/soft, good price
Cons: hot, cant support heavier people
"Ive had this mattress for about 2 months. There was a chemical smell for only the first week.
As far as the reviews about "craters" and lumpiness I have yet to have that. Im a stalky man, 185 lbs. I dont think this mattress is good for compact people as I sink into the memory foam, and it offers little support.
Also I have had issues with being hot and I tried every combination of blankets and clothing that I can. still Hot so I have to assume its the mattress now.
I think this mattress is made for slim folks that distribute their weight more evenly. I will give it another month and if I cant figure it out, then Im returning. thank you costco for an amazing customer service department. will continue to shop there."
Review 13 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2011

Sagged in the middle

"I have to agree with the reviewers who gave low ratings to this mattress. This is my third mattress purchase at Costco and my first disappointment. The mattress was very plush and comfortable at the beginning but sagged in the middle after less than 2 months use. It is now a back pain nightmare. Costco has indicated that they will take it back. Stay away even if price is good."
Review 14 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Arlington, WA
Date:April 16, 2011

Sags in the Middle

Pros: plush, inexpensive
Cons: sagged, get what you pay for.
Model Number: Barryton Queen
"Bought this mattress in the store based on the preponderance of the reviews and the excellent price.
Almost from day one, the mattress sagged in the middle. I kept it for three months thinking it might take time for the mattress to settle or something. It didn't.
It didn't get any worse either, which leads me to believe the fault is the design / material, rather than a single faulty mattress.
Also, I did experience the chemical odor others have talked about, but it disappeared within a couple weeks.
Costco's return policy is amazing."
Review 15 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:March 23, 2011

Worst Mattress Costco has

Model Number: 481532
"Upon arrival we were very impress with the mattress however after a one week the mattress sides caved in and was sagging in the middle. The support was not there. We are in progress of returning the mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Pearl City, Hawaii 96782
Date:March 23, 2011

Bad nights sleep

Cons: not comfortable seems high in the middle
Model Number: Parryton Pl Queen Mat 6748
"We have had this product for just over a week and have not had one good nights sleep. The way its stitched around the edges makes you feel like you are going to fall off the edge when sleeping on your side. It's high in the middle and when facing that way you feel like you are going uphill. I haven't tried, but I wish Costco would offer take this one back."
Review 17 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Marysville, WA
Date:March 13, 2011

Saggy Low-Quality Mattress

"Mattress began sagging in the middle after a week and I only sleep on it by myself and I weigh 150lbs. Can't turn it over either as only one side is the mattress area.
Box spring is made with matchsticks and I'm afraid I might break the wood when I stand on it to turn the mattress around."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York City
Date:March 9, 2011

TERRIBLE MATTRESS

Cons: avoid
Model Number: #481532 queen Barryton
"No sleep for a week must return;very disappointed that Costco would sell such inferior merchandise;worst mattress ever owned;my unbranded previous mattress after 16 years was certainly more comfortable.my mistake for buying online.Must try out first."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tigard, Oregon
Date:March 8, 2011

Wonderful mattress set

"We bought the Barryton Plush Queen Mattress set for our guest bedroom. Delivery guys were super, and we had no problems with the odor mentioned by some other customers. The mattress is clean, soft, and extremely comfortable. Sleeping on it is a dream. I'd recommend it to anyone."
Review 20 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:March 2, 2011

Great Night Sleep

"We have had the Barryton mattress for 2 weeks now and it is great. As always the Costco service was terrific. We ordered from costco.com and very satisfied."
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>