Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Barryton Plush Queen Mattress

Sealy Posturepedic Mattress Set Box Spring Included Shipping & Handling Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.661 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
(out of 127 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
12
1 star
23
87 of 127(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Review 1 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, Maryland
Date:January 22, 2010

Thick Box Spring beware

Pros: the look and feel of luxury
Cons: possible delivery problems depending on your home
"If you look at the picture illustrating the set you will get the clear impression that the boxspring is thin. But look at the specs on this because it is NOT thin. It is 9 inches thick while my measurement of the mattress looks more like 12 inches than 14. Problem with thick boxspring is that if your home is like mine it is nearly impossible to get a queen boxspring upstairs. Took about a minute before the delivery man was telling me that I'd have to sign a release before they brought it up. The mattress is not a problem since it bends but think twice about the boxspring if your staircase is one that may be a problem. We were very close to not being able to get it upstairs. Some damage to wall which was not the fault of the delivery people ... just a cost of pushing it beyond what was normal.
We have noticed no unusual smells as reported by other reviewers. This was for a guest room so it has not been used yet but it looks very tempting.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:NY, NY
Date:January 15, 2010

Worst mattress ever

"This has been the worst mattress I have purchased and my wife has purchased in her life. Good luck to the reviewer who has reviewed this mattress after 2 days??!!
I have had mine for a year and a half and it should be illegal to sell these "mattresses"
I will never buy a Sealy again.
After 6 months, there started to be indentations that we initially ignored and accepted as 'break-in' but then the dips would go beyond the normal acceptable use. There would be a hump in the middle and dips all over the place.
This bed cannot be rotated and be turned upside down when we realized that it was starting to cause body impressions. However, you can turn the mattress 'around', but then you will be sleeping on your partner's body impression anyway.
My wife and I are definitely both under 160lbs! We are not huge people!
Do yourself a favor and and do your research online for a mattress, as opposed to just lying on a bed in a mattress store.
The price is right here, don't get me wrong, but sometimes, 'cheap is expensive'.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newark, DE
Date:January 11, 2010

Pretty good mattress

Pros: not too heavy, latex layer, great pricing
Model Number: Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
"Although I have had the product for 2 days only but I feel like writing the review, since there are no reviews yet. I bought the mattress from the store and then I had to U-HAUL it home. Setup was easy as the mattress is not that heavy, which is a great thing as compared to "Whole Memory Foam" mattresses. I like the Mattress height and it also seems very comfortable. I purchased it because of a small latex layer in it and of course the price. I weigh about 200 lbs. and I don't sink into the mattress. It supports my weight well."
30 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tigard, OR
Date:January 22, 2010

Great mattress

Pros: comfortable, supportive
Cons: smell
"I got this mattress a couple days ago. I'm an EMT and have bulging discs in my back. I figured the memory foam layer would help.. it has. My back pain is vitually non-existent. Yes there is a chemical smell but I got lucky and I hardly noticed it when I got it and after a couple days it's not there anymore. This is by far the best purchase I have made for myself. If you dont mind the inital smell.. get this bed! It's like sleeping on a cloud."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA.
Date:March 16, 2010

Great Bed

Pros: great bed
Cons: none
"I was nervous when Iordered this bed because some of the reviews were bad but I was thrilled once my purchase arrived. It is NOT true the bed does NOT smell bad. All new products have certain chemicals within them to preserve the integrity of the product. Just open a bedroom wind; it's no big deal like some people wrote. The bed is deep, tall, comfortable, plush and amzing. I've never owned such a great bed! Great buy, value, & quality. Hope this helps!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mpls. Mn.
Date:June 19, 2010

barrington queen mattress

Pros: best buy for the $
Model Number: 481532 barrington postopedic plush queen
"We have this about a month now for spare Bedroom and also so I could use after surgery so I dont disturb wife . Best buy we have ever made on a mattress in 40 years Barrington Postopedic Queen for the price very comfortable no smell as others say . Great height for ease of getting in and out . We have Streans & Foster plush 18" thick mattress plus boxspring $ 1800.00 worth and if I had to compare the Barrington plush queen to it the Streans & Foster plush would be a low 9 and the Costco Barrington Plush queen # 481532 would be a Strong 7. For not trying this out in the store and Costco you have a 1 year return if it goes bad We are 99.9 % Happy with this product . Both no flip over type only rotate."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California, CA
Date:January 15, 2010

Best Chemical Order Since....

Pros: soft, comfortable
Cons: chemical smell, nauseated, headaches & dizziness
Model Number: 480681
"The first week we woke up nauseated and with headaches do to the strong chemical smell of the mattress. Its been eleven days and the smell is still there but not as strong as the first week. We still like our mattress becaues it's comfortable and soft, but it would be better without the smell."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northville, MI
Date:January 27, 2010

Extremely Comfortable - good decision!

Pros: great value and comfort
Cons: self set-up....
Model Number: Barryton Queen
"Very pleased with the purchase, no odor issues once out of the plastic for a couple of hours and none at all the first night. Very comfortable. Soft surface cushioning but good underlying and edge support. Did not try it out in the store before buying! - relied on others' reviews... Brought it home from the warehouse on the roofrack of a Saturn Outlook (Arcadia/Enclave/Traverse) - took about an hour to tie it down safely! Checked before purchasing with the local township-contracted garbage collection people and was suprised to find they do take mattresses and box springs as long as they don't get wet/heavy - they were gone the next day! Did have to buy new sheets as the mattress overall thickness (14" stated, 13.5" measured) was a few inches thicker that the previous one. Comparing competitive prices for similar products - Costco provided a great value - and less to buy in-store than the online price (which did include delivery though)."
Review 9 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 14, 2010

Great Mattress-Great Price!

Pros: price return policy if you dont like it, thick mattress
Cons: none other than having to move out the old one.
"Replaced a 15 year old mattress with this one. This is the first time I have bought a mattress without really being able to lay on it first and going off of word of mouth. Mattress is really thick at 14" compared to my old one. We did have a slight smell upon unwrapping the box spring, but not too bad. when we put on the bed skirt and then mattress on top, we did not smell it at all. Bed is very comfortable. I was afraid it would be to soft, but it was not for me. My wife really loves it and said she woke up with no back pain at all. if you don't need delivery, check you local costco-we got ours for $100 less than the web price. We also had two people in the store come up to us as we were buying it telling us how good it is, which was very comforting. A great deal, don't hesitate!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:February 8, 2010

Very soft bed

Pros: good quality bed, if you like soft beds this is for you
Cons: body sinks into the comfort layer, gets hot due to the memory foam, hard to move around on the bed
"Although I'm very impressed with the quality of the mattress, I am going to return my mattress because the bed is too soft for me.
When I first tried out the bed, my entire body sank into the bed. I thought it would be more comfortable, but my backaches did not go away. I think my preference is with a firm bed that does not allow my body to sink in.
Kudos to Costco.com and their return policy."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:LA
Date:August 16, 2010

Not for me!

Model Number: Barryton Plush
"I purchased this mattress a couple months ago and I thought it was a decent mattress at first. Slept fine the first week. Noticed bed makes noise when I move but it could be from the bed frame and nothing to do with the mattress. Anyways, about 2 weeks ago I noticed my arms ache throughout the day and when I go to the gym, one of my arm aches a lot when I lift weights. I was going to go see my doctor to see what was wrong with me but decided to see what has changed in my life. The only thing that really changed was the mattress. I sleep on my side a lot, especially on my left side which is the side that aches the most at the gym. Anyways, I decided to force myself to sleep on my back throughout the night to see if it helps. Well, the aching has reduced a lot and doesn't ache as much when I go to the gym. I'm either going to return the mattress, get a memory foam topper or use it in my guess bedroom. Had a memory foam topper on my old mattress which I gave away with the mattress. Wish I kept it. It may be OK for your body but killing my shoulders."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island NY
Date:January 17, 2011

great purchase

Pros: great price and comfort
Cons: slight odor
"picked this up 10 days ago after seeing it in the coupon book. I was a little leary after seeing the reviews but based on the price for the features I decided to give it a try.
Yes, there is an odor when you first get it out of the bag which lasted for a day before disappearing - i suspect it is from the memory foam layer. The mattress is amazingly comfortable, both my husband (who prefers pillow top) and I (who prefer firm mattresses) agree it is the perfect balance. We have not slept this well in years.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NJ Doctor
Date:May 16, 2010

Excellent for Spine/Disc/Joint Issues

Pros: this mattress is excellent for spine/disc/joint is, great price for what you get.
Cons: **this mattress will not be good for those who nee
Model Number: 481532
"This mattress is excellent for spine/disc/joint issues. It gives extremely well to pressure points allowing you to sleep better & enabling the body to "repair" and loosen muscle spasms. It has been the first time in years that I have slept through the night AND woken with minimal pain compared to the usual. My past brand name tempured/memory foam mattress did not achieve this, and the Barryton mattress does not retain the heat my memory foam mattress did. I found this mattress to be more comfortable than the most expensive ones found in the mattress stores. I also did not have misfortune of having a chemical odor with my mattress and I do have an extremely sensitive sense of smell."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2010

too marshmallowy

Pros: no hassle return
Cons: toooooo soft, phone order people knew nothing about mattresses
"first did research at consumer report - turns out very difficult to compare apples to apples as different mattress companies call their mattresses different names - overall they said costco had best return policy - knew not to get pillow top and didn't want foam
With 4 kids - didn't have time to go to dept/mattress stores and lay on bed for 20min and all that stuff - picked costco because they had best return policy - no pro-rated return - full refund no matter what
but as soon as i sat on it it - it felt too soft
while my husband thought is was ok - when I would get in bed when he was already on it - I would roll into the middle into him - just too soft - trading it in for one that has firm in the name and will review that after I have it awhile
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Washington State
Date:December 29, 2010

So Far Excellant

Pros: quality and price
"Purchased Christmas Eve for 9 year old daughter. It does have a very odd odor right out of the bag. I believe this will go away with time since they are packaged air tight in a plastic bag? This could be some sort of flame retardant? The bed is extremely comfortable and based on the price and warranty I have no complaints. I am sure it will last the 10 years."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:PA
Date:October 3, 2010

Comfortable and Great Quality!

Pros: comfortable, soft, big, sturdy, great quality, low price, supportive
Model Number: 480681
"We were not sure if we should buy this set because of the inconsistency of the reviews. However, the entire experience was awesome for us!
The contacting from the delivery company was exact to what the site says it will be. They were professional as can be. The set arrived in perfect condition, they simply wanted to see the room and then they brought it in and set it up carefully.
The mattress is incredibly comfortable! It is very soft, but you do not -sink- down into it. You can make a minor imprint of your body. But, that cushions around you and feels great. I weigh approx. 145 and my husband approx. 175.
I hear nothing when I move on it. There is no heavy shaking when my spouse moves. No creaking at all.
There is no smell whatsoever. We placed clean sheets on it right away and slept on it that very night. It has been a couple weeks now. Regular queen sheet set sword perfect for us. The top sheet could stand to be bit bigger. But, overall, a good fit.
The only thing I just didn't realize was how tall the set really is. We have a regular metal frame. But, this is a higher bed. I don't hop exactly. But, it is tall. But, fancy! We are used to it and actually really like it now. It's very lush.
The "hottness," seems irrelevant. It may be a bit warm if it's warmer in the house that night. But, I've barely noticed it and the one night I may have, I just kicked off the top comforter and fell right back asleep.
Every night's sleep has been great! The price is amazing and there is nothing cheap about this set. I would highly recommend it. It's soft and comfortable, yet supportive. Go for it! The return policy seems great. But, you won't need it!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Anoka, MN
Date:November 8, 2010

Poor Quality, Great return policy

"The mattress was great at first but after a year the mattress has a large dip in it. I am very light and find it hard to believe that this bed already wore out. Costco's return policy is great though and will continue to shop with them."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:March 20, 2010

Super Fast Delivery

Pros: fast delivery, soft, comfortable, great return policy
"We ordered our mattress and 4 days later it was delivered. The bed is very soft and comfortable. We are very pleased. Some of the other reviews said that their mattress had a really bad smell, but we did not experience that at all."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas
Date:January 17, 2010

Amazing deal for a Sealy Posturepedic

Pros: plush but also supports my back well, price and costco return policy
Cons: has a smell for the first few days
"This Is a great deal for a mattress set of this quality. We shopped at other local stores and a Reserve set like this was double the cost. Best sleep I have had in years!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barryton Plush Queen Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:October 3, 2010

The Most Exceptional Mattress I've Had So Far!

Pros: comfort/price ratio is unbeatable!
Cons: so comfortable that i can sleep on it forever!
Model Number: 481532
"I received this queen bed set at the end of last month after ordering it 3 weeks ahead, which was within the time expected. First of all, the natural smell left from manufacturing of this product goes away very quickly as opposed to the common belief of others. Also, I am convinced that Costco offers the best delivery service ever. From now on, I will buy most of my future home sets from Costco. Plus, you can rest assured with the guaranteed return service if you are not quite satisfied, but I don't think I will choose this option unless anything unexpected happens. I am really sure that once you go for this bed, you're never gonna choose others in its class. If you don't count on my experience, you can go to one of the warehouses and try lying on it, then you will see the difference. I think this model of Sealy is being produced only for Costco, which makes it unique and full of benefits. I encountered no back pains or any other uncomfortableness even though I am quite sensitive to change of beds. Besides, this bed goes very well with the comforters, fleece bed sheets and pillows sold in Costco web site as well as in warehouses."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>