Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush King Mattress

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Barryton Plush King Mattress

Sealy Posturepedic Mattress Set Box Spring Included Shipping & Handling Included
Average Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
(out of 87 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
21
58 of 87(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Review 21 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:February 26, 2010

Awesome Mattress!!!

Model Number: Barryton Plush King Mattress
"Just replaced my Select Comfort "Sleep Number" mattress with this one.
One word - AWESOME!
Blows away the much more expensive sleep number bed.
First night ... no back pain!
Don't waste your money on one of those overpriced "air mattresses"!
Experienced many problems (defects) with the sleep number bed plus experienced many aches and pains with it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Monroe, WA
Date:February 15, 2010

Pleasantly surprised

Pros: price comfort
Cons: none yet
Model Number: Barryton
"I can pretty much sleep on anything, but my husband has a bad back. He couldn't sleep on our old mattress anymore because it was failing and he felt like he was sleeping in a hole. He is sleeping very comfortably now. I feel like I am sleeping on a pillow. It's very comfortable."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spokane, Wa
Date:February 15, 2010

Mattress is the best deal and sleeps great!

"We purchased this mattress about a week ago and I love it already. No more aches and pains(this coming from a pregnant woman) and my husband no longer complains of shoulder pain. This mattress is a steal for the price! The mattress is soft yet firm and provides adequate support from head to toe. Really glad we purchased this mattress."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, Colorado
Date:August 27, 2010

Quintessential Review of Barryton Plush King !!

Pros: "heavenly bed "clone, unbelievable price
Cons: if you do not like a heavenly bed, if you want a rock hard mattress
Model Number: In Store item#480682-Barryton KING
"If you are confused by the one star to five star reviews on this thread, I will make it perfectly clear to you. If you have ever slept on a Westin Hotel "Heavenly Bed" and loved it, then this mattress sleeps exactly the same, even though this is not a pillow top like the Westin bed. My grown daughter and her husband, as well as myself and my wife, bought the exact same mattress, which is now called Meadow Hill Luxury Plush King, 4 years ago. As is customary for pillow tops, the pillow top breaks down within 5 years. This was the case for both beds. There were deep depressions in both Meadow Hill mattresses. Costco's fantastic policy took them back! Anyone who says that the Barryton sleeps like a hammock has got to be working for or connected with high priced competitors. The only way this bed could be compared to a hammock is if a two ton elephant were to sleep on it. It sleeps exactly like The Heavenly Bed advertised at The Westin Hotels (Plush on the top for about 3", then firm underneath that). The feel one has is a very solid expensive feel. Out of the four of us, my wife and I think we died and went to heaven. My son-in-law prefers a harder mattress. You notice I did not say firm, because this mattress is soft and firm. Now only my daughter said that she slept "hot". She believes it is due to the polyester mattress pad that she bought, whereas her former bed had a 100% cotton mattress pad. Although she slept hot, she also loves the mattress as much as my wife and I do. We got this mattress for $699 (after the discount), not $799. The additional discount was due to buying it at the store and not on the internet. The internet site has $100 built-into the price to allow for delivery. We picked up the mattress ourselves at the store in a pick-up and saved the delivery charge. The mattress specials like this one are carried in the stores for $100 less! This is the finest mattress we have ever owned, and we have owned over 7 in our lifetime. Forget the fantastic price. This mattress is the best mattress at ANY PRICE!! Oh, by the way, it comes wrapped in a very thick clear plastic wrap, AND IT DOES NOT SMELL!"
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:September 27, 2010

Poor Quality

Pros: good price
Cons: poor quality
Model Number: 481483
"After six months, the mattress developed a depression where each person slept, a metal piece poked through the side (assumed to be a spring) and a 3/8" hole appeared at the binding due to poor sewing. Replaced with a more expensive mattress set from Costco. Costco customer service and return policy are excellent. Mattress was picked up but only because replacement mattress was purchased from Costco."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:texas
Date:July 30, 2010

And the search goes on....

Pros: good value. plushy comfort
"My husband and I started our 'perfect bed hunt' about 6months ago...our search was prompted by just good ol' aches and pains from our old mattress...we were miserable in the morning. We were more comfortable sleeping on the couch! We went to several mattress/furniture stores and read reviews to find what would hopefully be an incredible investment that provided plushy comfort and good support.
Even went as far as to make a graph of all the beds that landed in the top 5 with varying details that divided one from the other(I had to do this since the whole mattress world is a mystery in itself). I was so disappointed by the overall reviews of spring-coil mattresses (typically they feel great at first but within a few months-1yr ridges/dips/pressure points begin to occur).
But my husband is a tradionalist to his core and could not see anything beyond a coil mattress...so we decided on one of the top ranked coil mattresses...the Barryton. Bought new pillows too!
The first nights were great! We woke up without all the aches/pains...the bed is definitely plushy comfortable but it just isn't exactly what we are looking for. After a months time...my husband confesses that he's not very happy with the mattress. He thinks it sleeps a little on the warm side and although we fall off to sleep easily..it seems ,at night, we're back to the tossing and turning.
THANK GOODNESS FOR COSTCO'S RETURN POLICY!!! Best in the business(and trust me...I've done the research!!).
We've now ordered the Pure Comfort Grand...should be here soon...review to follow."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2010

Research before u buy

Pros: worth the price
Cons: plush it is... so do not buy if u need a firm
Model Number: 481483
"We like a firm mattress and this for sure is not. Comfortable for the price point but be sure what you are looking for. The return policy did make a decision for buying it, but a mattress is always a hassle to return."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, Ca
Date:September 4, 2010

How could something so fluffy be so uncomfortable

Pros: price
Cons: too soft no support
"For the first 5 minutes I though this was going to be the coziest cushiest sleep I ever had, but that was soon replaced with a feeling of sinking into a thick marshmallow with no support and being trapped for the night. This mattress is so soft that it is difficult to move. We sleep on our sides a lot, and use 2 pillows under our heads - with this bed our shoulders sink so far into the bed that even one pillow is uncomfortable. We both weigh about 150 pounds at 5'8" and 5'9" - so we are not squahing it down with a huge weight.
I will never order another bed online. Great service and return policy from Costco, but it still takes a month to get it delivered, figure out if you like it, and get it returned. I wish Sealy and others would stop playing gavmes with consumers and make matresses consistent across retailers so that they could actually compete on price and service.
"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Barbara, CA
Date:September 14, 2010

Really? A new mattress can be this uncomfortable?!

Pros: not a single one.
Cons: loud, dents easily, uncomfortable
"This mattress is terrible. We bought this a few months ago and hated it within a week or two, but couldn't believe it could be this bad. It is noisy and uncomfortable, and within weeks there are two huge dents from where we sleep that don't go away. THANK GOD FOR COSTCO'S RETURN POLICY!!!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA
Date:August 10, 2010

Awful!!

Pros: return policy
Cons: too soft
"This bed has got to be the worst ever!! We only bought from Costco for their fabulous return policy and this thing is going back!! My husband has neck and back pain from side sleeping and I have lower back pain from sleeping on my stomach. This bed is way too soft. The memory foam left us with a hump in the middle and we are not big people, I weigh 150 and my husband 190. This said plush, but it is so uncomfortable, I wake up about every two hours in this bed and never feel rested. I also have always been a cold person and love my comforter but in this bed, I sweat and wake up with my clothes wet. Awful!! I wouldn't even give this bed to my worst enemy!! For this amount of money, I would have expected a far superior bed."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles
Date:April 19, 2010

Not too Happy with this one

"First week or so was ok... after two weeks of ownership, sagged on the side where I sleep...wake up with a back ache every morning now... a real bummer since now we have to return and deal with that mess. Luckily bought from Costco... not going to get the run around that Sealy will usually try to do."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:March 26, 2011

Good deal

"If buying online, carefully read the estimated shipping time. We got ours after almost 4 weeks of ordering it online. Which is within the time frame listed but it can be very inconvenient.
Also when we finally got it there was a inch square hole in one of the two mattress frames. I didn't make a fuss about it cos we really wanted to sleep on our new King bed."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:February 24, 2011

Terrible Mattress!

Cons: chemical odor, poor quality, sagging
Model Number: 60638531
"We had our king mattress set for about 2 months when we started noticing the sagging where my husband and I slept. You not only sink in, but you can feel the springs poking you in the back. Not to mention the horrible hump down the middle where it sits on the box springs! The hump is too high and firm to sleep on to break in. Now, less than a year after purchasing the mattress set, I would rather sleep in the spare room on our 10+ yr old mattress!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:October 6, 2010

HUGE MISTAKE

Pros: great brand
Cons: sinks in the middle
Model Number: Barryton Plush King Mattress
"I did a lot of research before I bought the King Set at Costco. This set is more than double the price on Amazon and we have always had no problems with Sealy posturepedic before. This mattress was incredible the first month, but it sinks in the middle. I will be returning this and purchasing the Sterns & Foster firm. I hope this one works out. I do love Costco's return policy -- UNLIKE ANY OTHER..."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:September 28, 2010

Worst Mattress I've ever had

"It is lumpy and slopes to the sides on both sides. We've turned it a few times. It's awful."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Dallas, TX
Date:April 2, 2010

Worst Mattress Ever

Pros: none
Cons: you sink in making it difficult to turn over, achy all over, smells bad, very uncomfortable
Model Number: Barryton Plush King
"Extremely dissappointed with the mattress. It has a very strong odor. We aired it out for several days with the fan on and the windows open. It has been 4 weeks since it was delivered and it still stinks. My significant other and I both had sore shoulders and back pain after sleeping on it. We tried to adjust changing pillows nothing worked. We are glady returning it. Costco will pick it up free of charge and send it back to the manufacturer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:February 15, 2010

too squishy

Cons: too soft
Model Number: Barryton Plush King Mattress
"You sink down six inches into this bed and if offers little support. After a week of sleeping on it, my tailbone and shoulder hurt. We're returning this one and getting a firm."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Date:July 10, 2011

Best Buy Ever !

Pros: best sleep @ great price
Cons: none
Model Number: 480682
"This is the best buy ever, I've had mine for 9 months and they still feel like new every day.
Love them so much we are getting another set this week for my daughter that says "it's not fair you have the most comfortable bed".
"
Review 39 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Date:July 9, 2011

Awfull

Pros: was good for a few months
Cons: feels like it is a 10 yr old worn out mattress.
Model Number: Sealy Barrington
"We purchased this mattress in January. The first two months it was comfortable, then valleys formed and it has progressive gotten worse, and now has a very pronounced hump in the middle.. If we wrote this review 5 months ago it would have been a good one. But certainly not now.
Both my wife and I have developed severe back pain. The valleys impede rolling over. This was not a good purchase for us, and thank heaven for the COSTCO return policy."
Review 40 for Barryton Plush King Mattress
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 6, 2011

Nothing good to say about this mattress

Pros: return policy!
Cons: cheap construction, noisy, extremely uncomfortable
Model Number: Barryton Plush King Mattress
"I have a Sealy mattress in my guest bedroom that I purchased from a person who had owned it for 6 months but found it was way to soft. EVERYONE that stays with us comes out in the morning with the same comment: "That is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in."
I wanted that for my husband and I but needed a king size. I was beyond excited to find a Sealy at Costco.
Fast forward months after purchasing this mattress. It is AWFUL. Although they are the same brand, they are not remotely comparable.
This mattress is soft which I wanted, although the inner springs give no support at all. You can hear them crunch when you sit down and there are times when I think I am going to be catapulted out of the bed when my husband gets in bed. I also hear the springs popping. I fear they are going to break and come through the mattress.
I can feel every single movement my husband makes including merely moving his foot. It is so very annoying when you are trying to sleep and you are feeling the vibration in the mattress simply because someone is shaking their foot.
This mattress is going back to the store once I find something that I can sleep on comfortably since I no longer have my old bed.""
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>