Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set

Copper Bonded 5-ply Base
Average Customer Rating:
4.311 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
(out of 74 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
5
63 of 74(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Review 1 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corvallis, Oregon
Date:November 23, 2010

Worth the research!

Pros: gorgeous finish, heavy weight, induction compatible, dishwasher safe!, sizes we use
Cons: no side cladding
"I was oh-so-close to paying a ridiculous amount of money for the highest end
SS cookware. I did a ton of research online and at an upscale kitchen store before I bought this set. I figured with Costco's return policy, it was low risk and I could take it back and get the other set if I was unhappy.
Wow! I have had this set for 3 weeks now and used most of the pieces for a wide variety of cooking. I could not be happier with the quality and performance of these pieces. No problem sticking (others have already provided great tips on this) and perfect, even heat. The pans take a little longer to heat up on my Electrolux smooth cooktop, but I have had excellent control and results. I knew I wanted to replace my hard anodized Cal***lon with SS and do not miss it a bit. I can get a great sear and a low temp gentle simmer with the same pieces.
This is an unbelievable price for the quality and performance--I do not think the serious cook will be disappointed."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Outside Tucson, AZ
Date:January 10, 2011

Great Cookware

Cons: no 12 inch frypan and no way to get one.
"I just replaced my 8 year old set of anodized Costco pans because the non-stick surface had a lot of nicks and scrapes. I love the stainless steel; I was dubious about it because I thought it would be difficult to clean. It is not; I have cooked rice in the small pot twice, no spray or oil/butter in the rice and the wash up was easy. There was a pattern on the surface where the rice grains were, but a little Barkeepers Friend took care of that. I always have BKF on hand for my smooth glass cook top anyway. These pans are heavy, so if you have carpal tunnel syndrome or other hand or wrist problems which make it hard to hold heavy items, they might not be for you. The lids fit tightly, with no steam coming out. I browned short ribs and they came out beautifully; again the pan was easy to clean. I would be first in line if Costco sold larger fry pans to match this set. The set looks great on my pot rack, too. Don't hesitate to invest the small amount of money on this great set."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Francisco, CA
Date:March 3, 2010

Needs larger base and surface area -

"In the market for a decent set of cookware for a 2nd set. Everything about this product is near perfect. One sole problem with the base and cooking surface area led me to return it. The other, which should be an improvement, making it fully bonded or full-clad. I cook professionally, so I'm fairly picky with my cookware.
Pros: Generous copper base. Heavy Duty cookware, with a very nice weight. Great Handles, Hard to beat Price. Great Heat Distribution/Retention, if used properly. Induction Friendly. Lips and Lids are great.
Cons: Bases. The bases are the sole reason for returning the product. I understand there is a biz perspective and cost issue with materials, but if Costco would only make the set's bonded material wider and offer more base real estate and cooking surface, it would win me over the rest of the bunch in the same category, even All-Clad.
I currently use both gas and electric in my kitchens. My Kenmore Elite electric range doesn't accommodate just about every piece of this cookware. The electric range has a set surface area, and the cookware falls short, ending up heating the handles and sides of the pot, scorching the sides.
So Costco, if you are reading this, please add more base and cooking surface area, instead of fluffing and flaring the pan to add a visual oommpphh. And if so, make it full-clad and totally bonded. Your product will surely knock the socks off the others. I am willing to pay the extra $$$ and I'm sure there are many others who feel the same.
I'd still recommend this to others if they don't mind the the cooking surface, I was really hoping this set would work out for me... Just not for electric range users, and cooks who need surface area.
Now I'm off to the Cuisinart Multiclad Line."
28 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Washington, DC
Date:March 5, 2011

Did not hold up....

Pros: easy clean-up
Cons: clad will split
"Just a heads up this product has been discontinued and a newer product replacement comes mid April from Tramontina that is non-stick with silicone handle covers. My saute pan, the stainless clad has started to separate/split from the copper core! Went to use this am and noticed it rocked on the glass range top. Inspection showed the separation between the two core layers. Shaking the pan you can hear the weld "speck" like a grain of sand shaking inside! Just what I thought the weld has come apart! This set is only a few months old too....no abuse either. Thank g-d I didn't throw away my All Clad Pro Set. They all go back to Costco......this is a do not buy post. Sad but true.....this is why made in a America stands for something. These are made for Tramontina in Thailand just not up to the task cookware for any price."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:February 8, 2011

Absolutely Top Quality Cookware

Pros: even & fast heat transmission
Cons: sharp edges
"I had been considering these stainless steel pots & pans or the non-stick set for several months. Based on the reviews I chose these, and after one week I am very satisfied. So far, I’ve used the pans for cooking fish, chicken, and filet mignon (where I used the casserole pan for both searing the sides and cooking in the oven). I’ve also used the pots for ravioli, mixing (powdered) mashed potatoes, and steaming vegetables. The cookware transmits the heat faster than any of my previous sets (I have a gas stove which makes things even faster) – so this cuts down on overall prep time. When heating over the stove, the handles have remained remarkably cool. There has been absolutely no problem with sticking. I have only needed to let the cookware soak in soapy water (Kirkland Signature environmentally safe dish soap, of course) and it wipes clean with a sponge.
One caveat is that the outer edges of the pans and lids are sharp. Exercise caution, or you could easily cut yourself."
Review 6 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Date:May 5, 2010

Beautiful set but many rust spots after first use

Pros: how it looks
Cons: rust spots after first use
"I really liked the look of these pans. The 5-layer SS/Al/Copper/Al/SS was the main reason why I wanted to give this set a shot, especially since most of the reviews are good.
Unfortunately, after using 3 of the saucepans for the first time to boil water (after washing them in warm soapy water, drying them off, and boiling at low heat as recommended in the directions of use), 2 of them got rust stains with a halo in the inside (bottom). Just after one use!
I am not an expert at how stainless steel cookware is expected to react, and I welcome all comments and suggestions, but I do believe that this should not have happened.
It's a bummer because it seems like a very heavy and sturdy set, and it looks really gorgeous. Maybe just a defect in production? I'm not sure if I will return it or get an exchange."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny SoFla
Date:February 2, 2011

Best value in the universe

Pros: too many lids!, too much value!, very nice assortment, workman like feel, too pretty to get dirty, great for ceramic - the bottoms are perfectly flat, mine was available in-store
Cons: doesn't chop ingredients or sharpen knives, not seen on late night infomercials, the beautiful copper ply tarnishes with use, "crazy eddie" would not sell this low!
"Right now, alien civilizations everywhere are boarding trans-galactic transports in record numbers to buy this cookware.
This set is *that* good.
The price is *that* low.
Get yours before they land!
This five-ply copper-cored set is a superb value but more importantly cooks *exactly* like the finest cookware available elsewhere (5-ply copper core).
No lie: Without the Kirkland brand on the bottom, an equivalent set will cost much, much more. I saved 90% over the cost of an equivalent set; even on the web.
Properly used , it makes non-stick coatings (and all their special tools, chips and health-effects?) unnecessary. Stove-top prep to oven-finish this is for cooks that care.(OK...I admit: I'll still use non-stick for omelets...So does Bobby Flay; missing a flip on a 4 egg omelet is not a pretty sight).
The 5-ply copper core is the secret. Without it, too many scallops in a pan will drown the "sear" because the liquid cools the pan. The same thing happens with meats and poultry. To overcome this we often cook with too much heat to compensate.
Dial back the heat, let the pan come to temperature, and saute more scallops, brown both sides *equally*. Fry eggs without sticking (if butter browns, your pan is too hot).
Sometimes better equipment can make you a better cook. This is one of those times. If you compare too, don't stop until you find 5-ply copper-core. Have a shovel ready to pick your jaw up off the table when you see the price."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, Washington
Date:February 22, 2011

Excellent Quality Cookware!!

Pros: professional quality, beauty, price!!!
Cons: can't think of any.
"I thought I wanted a 10 inch All-Clad fry pan, because I had heard it was the best, and it certainly must be good to be THAT expensive right?. I went into the gourmet kitchen store and held it in my hand and absolutely hated it. The edges of the handle dug into the heal of my hand and it actually kind of hurt. Also, it felt like it was going to turn, you know, right over. The weight was distributed wrong. I was immediately turned off to that brand. I don't care how good something is supposed to be, if it isn't comfortable for me to use, I won't use it, and i certainly won't spend that kind of money on it. Well, the very next day, as if it were fate, I was shopping for my normal groceries at Costco and came across this beautiful set. The weight felt good, the handles were super comfortable and it was just gorgeous to look at. I was totally skeptical when I saw the low price though. So I took a photo and came home and did some research. I read all these reviews, (thank you) did some comparisons with some other brands,and went back and got it. Although all I needed was a 10 inch fry pan, I ended up replacing my 17 year old three ply stainless, copper core cookware with this set. i boxed up my old set for my teenage daughter's hope chest and haven't looked back. So far, I have made Shrimp Scampi (the entire reason i wanted a 10" fry pan to begin with), Thai Peanut Chicken, Chicken & Gravy, Spaghetti, and a few more little things I can't remember. Thanks to the advise here in the reviews, i have not had one problem with food sticking. Get the pans good and HOT before putting anything in there, and you'll be fine. I have always used hard anodized skillets but I love these fry pans because they get SO MUCH HOTTER!!! frying up ground beef takes a fraction of the time and the texture is way better, smaller pieces of meat, than it was in my non-stick. Just beware of your temperature. I have a gas stove and after bringing things up to a boil, I have to keep it down on low or med low for cooking. Much more energy efficient! At the higher temps its easier to sear in flavor without drying out chicken. Super yummy. I like the lids. They fit very well and almost have a suction effect. some of my other cookware has glass lids, which I have never really understood because they steam up so bad you can't really see through them anyway. I haven't had the heart to run them through the dishwasher yet, but I hear its completely safe to do so. My resident dishwasher has no complaints about the meals or about the clean up!"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:July 7, 2010

Great Value!

"We purchased this set in October '06 and it looks as good as it did the day we took it out of the box. I have used Calphalon and Emeril non stick in our other home. I use Bar Keeper's Friend for clean up; cleans the copper and the SS very nicely with minimal effort. There ARE times when one needs a non stick pan--I have two saute pans just for those time--eggs for instance :). I was worried about using all SS but I have been extremely happy with all of these pots! It would be great if there were some "open stock" options--bigger stock pot for one and maybe one more saucepan."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:N. California
Date:August 26, 2010

I CONCUR ITS GREAT

Pros: even cooking, well made, induction suitable, no teflon to chip into your food, 18/10 lids & handles
Cons: heavy, must take extra care with food sticking
"This is a really nice set of cookware with all the pieces needed to cook just about anything. (Although I would have liked a wok instead of the steamer pan) and I love that they sandwiched in a layer of copper for even heat distribution. I was using Calphalon before this set which was non stick it cost me 500.00 for that set, Im happier with this set, one because Im not having to worry about telfon chipping off into my food, and surprisingly it is easy to clean. JUST DONT TURN UP THE HEAT excessively and it will clean just fine. If I find that food starts to stick or has already stuck, I put a lid on it and allow it to steam the food particals off the bottom, and voila no problem! I also bought this because Im changing my electric range to induction, and it is induction ready.
It is heavy, but that equates to a sturdy well made set. I like the broad handles on each lid which makes it easier to grab and take off. Also there is little to no heat transferance to the handles so you don't have to grab a pot holder every time you want to move your pan or grab the handle to stir. Finally they are pleasing to the eye, shiny clean and industrial looking. With a little care it will be beautiful & functional for a long time.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Eagle Point OR
Date:February 11, 2011

Conducts heat, cooks great, cleans up good

Pros: work great on glasstop electric stoves, holds the heat for cooking and serving
Cons: all metal lids (vs glass)
"We got a new black glass stovetop and it's been havoc on cookware. Bottoms must be very flat and burners have been warping pots to woks. This cookware did the trick! No warping the utra thick and heavy bottoms. They do conduct heat better so cook on a lower temp; serve in the cooking pan and food will stay hot all thru dinner. We have very hard water but spotting has been very minor. The lids and handles are often cool enough to handle w/o hotpads, but check first. The larger fry pan (still small) is so heavy it's hard to hold one-handed. Steamer works great and the top pot doubles as a great colander.
On negatives, glass lids would be much better. I like to see when the rice is about to boil over. I have some glass lids from a previous set that I often substitute. Eggs do stick. The small saucepan is too small for use on glasstop stoves. Sometimes there's an impression in the pot of what was last cooked, like little rice patterns. Scrub extra if you care.
I'd like to think these are 'healthier' but I still feel the need for non-stick type cookware and a big frypan but overall these are real keepers.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2010

cooking with stainless steel

"just a note on food sticking. with stainless steel you have to heat the pan before adding any oil. hold your hand over the pan to gauge the temperature and when it's hot enough add oil. food will not stick if you do this."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2011

The best cookware set we've ever had

"When I told my wife that I was planning on replacing our expensive Calphalon cookware set with a Kirkland-branded cookware set, she was skeptical, to say the least. What most people don't realize, however, is that Kirkland is a "private label." Manufacturers typically have extra capacity in their manufacturing plants. And if that capacity sits idle, they simply lose money on that idle time / equipment. So, they will go to places like Costco and say, "Hey, how about we sell you a ton of our product, at super-discounted prices, and you put a new brand on it, so that nobody knows that it's actually our brand?"
(I used to work at one of those hoity-toity management consulting firms, and know firsthand about a bunch of super-high-end brands that manufacture stuff with their extra plant capacity, and then distribute that stuff via Costco, under the Kirkland brand, for 1/5th the price you'd pay if it were under their original brand.)
So, knowing this, I knew that we were getting a $1,000+ cookware set for less than $200!!! The quality is amazing - after all, you're getting a set that would otherwise cost $1,000+ under the original brand name.
So long as you don't mind having the brand name read "Kirkland" on the bottom of your pots and pans, you will be getting AN AMAZING cookware set. It cooks evenly, the cookware retains heat fantastically, and my wife and I are able to pursue our fantasy of becoming chefs with this excellent cookware set."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NC
Date:April 19, 2010

Returning for a second time...

"I bought this set in Jan of 2009 with high expectations. After just 3 years my nonstick Calphalon had seen better days so I wanted something that would stand the test of time like my mother-in-laws set (30 + years) and her moms set (55+ years). Obviously that meant staying far far away from no stick. This set had good reviews so I had high hopes. Shortly after receiving them I realized the rivets were leaking when I boiled liquid so I took them back. Now, not even a year later I was boiling water and heard a couple funny pops. It definitely wasn't my stove, but actually the bottom of the pot coming off! There is an obvious gap around half of the pot! Thankfully there is a lifetime warranty b/c these will be going back this week so I can buy something different."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nevada City, CA.
Date:September 17, 2010

Great Cookware

"Love cooking with my new stainless steel set. No problem with sticking. The key is HOT pans and COLD food. Check for adequate heat by allowing one drop of water to bead, sizzle and dissipate - then add oil and food. You will experience minimal sticking which washes away with very little scrubbing."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Island, NY
Date:March 25, 2010

UNBELIEVABLE POTS

Pros: affordable, professional grade quality, beautiful
Cons: the copper gets discolored
"I purchased these pots 2 weeks ago and since then I have been asking myself what took me so long to buy professional grade cookware. I've been using nonstick for as long as I have been cooking and that's a long time. I was tired of replacing them. These pots performed well above and beyond my expectations that I went out and bought a second set. The only thing that bothers me is that the copper gets discolored with use. However, a little Brasso solves that problem. I am extremely happy with my new pots. Cooking with a lower flame took some getting used to. But with proper use you really shouldn't have any problems. They are very easy to clean and they come out of the dishwasher like your taking them out of the box for the very first time. One last thing, You definitely cant beat the price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pullman, WA
Date:May 19, 2010

surprised by negative reviews

Pros: many--see review
Cons: heavy: not for senior citizens
"I logged on to costco.com to find the current price of this set, because I want to buy one for a vacation home. It does seem that there has been a manufacturing problem with a recent set (leaking around the handles) but I believe that other problemsmentioned result from failure to read the instructions.
I bought my set somewhere from 3-6 years ago and they look like new.
I have had no problem with the cladding. Instructions say not to use them above medium heat, and you don't need to: they retain and distribute heat so well. If I want to "jump start" I will use high heat for a short period of time to heat the bottom of the pan quickly but soon decrease the heat.
I don't use salt in a cold pan, so it has not pitted.
If I get stains from starchy foods (e.g., rice) I just use vinegar as instructed or wait until I cook something acidic (tomato sauce).
I use a scouring pad--safe for non-stick cookware, so not the highest grade--to remove clinging bits of food, but that and soaking makes these pots easy to clean. If you want to steam your hamburger for tacos, buy nonstick cookware. If you want to BROWN it, buy stainless steel. The trade-off is worth it if you love good food.
Lids fit well and the lip makes pouring spill-proof.
I wipe them dry when I wash them, and they look like new. I still receive compliments on the set.
I'll buy another set, and if they leak around the handles, I'll return it until I get a set from a batch that's well made. Otherwise I have faith in this product."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 6, 2011

Another Excellent Costco Product

Pros: that base is heavy, handles are excellent (much better than all-clad)
Cons: sides of pots are a little thin
"A friend convinced me to upgrade from non-stick to stainless steel, and I LOVE this set.
First of all, they're even easier to clean that non-stick. The bases are so thick, you don't burn things at the bottom, the way you do on thinner, non-stick pans.
Second, the handles are great. I don't like All-Clad handles, thin and awkward. These are heavy, sturdy, and rounded ... very easy to pick up.
The set is also terrific ... none of those pieces that you wonder, when will I ever use THAT?
The only slight negative is that the sides are a little thin. If you start something on high heat, the sides will get hot before the base does. So, you can boil things from the side, instead of from the bottom.
But, all in all, an excellent set of cookware at a great price. I'm really glad I bought it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Originally from SoCal
Date:November 23, 2010

So far, so good

Pros: incredible value
Cons: two pieces arrived in undesirable condition
"I purchased this set last week after much research. I was disappointed the set did not have glass lids, also I was disppointed that the reviews stated that the handles get hot. I opted on this set and decided that it was the best value/quality for the money, despite it not having two features I was originally looking for. So far it seems to perform well and clean well.
I will say that I was disappointed about a couple of things: 1) one of the pans arrived with three deep scratches on the bottom. My mom suggested that I buy another set and replace that piece and then return the other set...may still do that; 2) one of the lids arrived with two small rust spots. I used BKF and it came off, but if there are more problems with rust, I will return.
One of the reasons I opted for this set is that I am a firm believer in Costo's quality and their return policy. I have been shopping at Costco in SoCal since it first opened and I have been a loyal customer ever since. I figured that this set was definitely worth the chance. So far, so good."
Review 20 for Kirkland Signature™ 13-piece Stainless Steel Cookware Set
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Concord, CA
Date:August 27, 2010

Didn't Work for Me

Pros: good looking.
Cons: heavy, food burned and stuck
Model Number: 402582
"This cookware is quality built and really good looking. Based on others reviews, many have excellent results cooking. Some, haven't had good results. I fit in the later group. I have tried low heat, and all of the recommended procedures, and almost everything sticks.
I bought a competitor's stainless set which have not stuck any food since day one. Maybe a problem with the alloy or something."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>