Customer Reviews for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum

Costco Added Value: Mini Turbine Head
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 of 18(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Review 1 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chico, CA
Date:March 10, 2011

Buy It!

"I purchased this vaccum last night. Got it home, super easy setup. I vaccumed EVERYTHING. I have a dog and used to have a super old vaccum, in one time over the carpet with the Dyson, I was amazed at how much my old one missed. It's a must if you have any pets or are just looking for that super clean carpet!"
Review 2 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Studio City, CA
Date:February 14, 2011

Very Upset

Cons: it wouldn't work on low capreting
Model Number: DC23
"I purchased this Canister Vacuum as I had to replace my Dyson upright. This vacuum is going back. I have low carpets in my kitchen & den for my dogs. The only way I could vacuum was by pulling the vacuum back to me, I couldn't push it. It wouldn't work. I'm going to exchange this for another upright. Very disappointed"
Review 3 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Taylorsville, UT
Date:February 10, 2011

Great Purchase

Pros: the suction is great., the automatic cord rewind... i love it., the canister dumps easy and clean.
Model Number: DC 23 Plus Canister Vaccum
"This DC 23 Plus is a great vaccum. I bought it to pick up the dirt off my tile floors, before i use a steam mop.
It has suction!!!!
The Turbine Head amazed me at how well it worked on my carpet.
I love the design, the attachments change out with ease, and the canister dumps so easy.
Did I mention I love this vaccum!
"
Review 4 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:N.Y.
Date:January 29, 2011

Problem resolved!

Pros: easy maintenance great on stairs...
Cons: on/off beater brush button awkward but tollerablel
Model Number: DC23 plus
"Purchased this a few months back. Beater brush stopped turning. Thought it was defective and was planning on returning it, but after breaking out the manual and removing the beater brush I found a tight wind of cat hair that had jammed it. After removing the cat hair, it works like new! Really like this vacuum....."
Review 5 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mancos, CO
Date:November 17, 2010

great machine

Pros: lightweight, keep your hands clean, efficient
Cons: cord could be longer
Model Number: Dyson DC 23 turbinehead
"We use area rugs on hardwood and tile floors throughout the house. The turbine head is quite adequate for all our surfaces, however, we added a hard floor tool, which makes it perfect for our purposes."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Dedham, MA
Date:November 2, 2010

Do not buy if you have deep pile carpets

Pros: cool design canister sits easily on stairs
Cons: not heavy enough to clean deep pile carpets, head is air powered
Model Number: DC23
"So I bought this vacuum after my DC17 started acting up and I had to take it back to Costco. First of all, I loved the DC17, I have Olefin carpets in my apartment, and they have a deep pile, and the DC17 really got under the pile and sucked up an incredible amount of dirt, you could easily tell when you vacuumed, the lines were perfect and the bin was filled every time you vacuumed. My local Costco did not carry the DC17 anymore and they only had the DC14 (which isn't heavy duty enough for me) so I went home to check the website. I found the DC23 and read amazing reviews and got excited about having a canister vacuum again as the head would allow me to get under furniture.
Well when I got it I was immediately disappointed because the head was air powered and you could hardly tell you even vacuumed. There was dust and dirt in the canister but the carpet still had foot prints in it and it really didn't look "dc17 clean." So I ended up taking it right back to Costco because it wasn't right for "my" carpet. I think it's a really cool design and would work really well for a low pile and wood floors but not for a deep pile.
Costco as usual was amazing and took back the vacuum without any issues. Will wait until I can get a DC17 or upgrade to the DC28."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Garden Grove,CA
Date:October 12, 2010

So so..

Pros: light weight, easy to insert tools
Cons: not enought power, loosing power, high price
Model Number: Dyson DC23
"I owned not even one month and it seems loosing its suction power. After several uses it dose not pick up the dust as much as first time.
Today I went to Costco exchanged to Shark Navigator which is 70% less price than Dyson worked better on my carpet.
Dyson was much lighter and some cool features also nice design but I just need more suction power than anything else for Vaccum cleaner. Dyson was easy to change its tools and fits perfectly to body but my new Shark doesn't do that. But I still go for Shark because of it's power and price.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 5, 2010

What women want? I think NOT

Pros: pretty blue
Cons: does not work well
"It is heavy & awkward.
Its best use was reaching under my bed. (only because uprights cannot) Also good for the edges of rooms. After spending $399.00 plus tx I would want my vacuum to actually work as advertised. I did not find it easy to drag the canister. I took it back & bought the upright. The upright is easier to move around yet does not have the power as advertised.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Moran, Wyoming
Date:September 3, 2010

Better than I hoped for

Model Number: Dyson DC 23 Plus Canister Vacuum
"I recieved my Vacuum and it took just a couple of snaps to put it together. I usually vacuum at least 3 times a week so I figured it was not going to see a great deal of dirt or dog hair. I was so so wrong. The canister was fuller than I could have imagined. I wanted to see the next day how much it would pick up...and over the next week I know my carpet and floors are cleaner than ever. Thank you for making a great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Woodbridge, VA
Date:June 8, 2010

Overall a good vacuum

Model Number: Dyson DC23
"We installed hardwood floors in the downstairs of our house 6 months ago, and our old Eureka upright just wasn't cutting it for vacuuming. I decided on this Dyson despite some negative reviews, especially because I figured I could always use the upright for the upstairs carpeting if I needed to and if I truly was disappointed I could return it to Costco without hassle. But I wasn't disappointed at all with this vacuum. It FAR surpasses any upright for the hardwood floors. Excellent suction power (we have a dog and cat, in the middle of shedding season, and it does great). I love the attachments too. The small upholstery brush is great for delicate couch/pillow/curtain fabrics. The mini-turbo head is the best thing since sliced bread for vacuuming the pet hair out of our carpeted stairs and getting the pet beds. And I can't say enough about how the vacuum works on the stairs in general - the canister is designed to rest perfectly on stairs (no more lugging the upright upstairs and holding it while you vacuum). I'm not sure why people complain about it not working well on carpet. It works great on mine, even with all the pet hair. And I'm surprised by how handy it is to have a canister vac for not only getting under furniture on hardwood floors (where the hair and dirt inevitably drifts to), but also for getting under the furniture in the carpeted bedrooms without having to move large, heavy furniture around (I didn't realize how dirty it had gotten under there!)
There are maybe one or two downsides: I find that the canister fills up relatively quickly with the pet hair (one side will fill more than the rest of it, and I never want to risk going past the line even though it's only in one part of the bin); also, the cord is a smidge short, but only such that I have to move where it's plugged in once while vacuuming an entire floor of the house; it doesn't drag around behind you quite as easily as I would like, i think because of where the center of gravity is related to the wheels location. You sometimes have to kind of pull up a bit on the hose to make sure it's up on it's wheels before pulling it along.
Overall, very happy with my purchase. I was hoping it would be worth the money, since it wasn't cheap. I'm glad it was."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Troy, Mi
Date:April 7, 2010

Disapointing

Model Number: DC23 Plus Canister Vacuume
"Bought this to replace a 20+ year old Kenmore canister vac. Very disapointing. We use our vacuume mostly for our bedroom carpeting and the family couch. This Dyson didn't even make it past a few test runs on our carpet. Medium type pile and the air powered brush unit would bog down and stop turning. I had to actually pull the brush head backward to keep it spinning. Bought it on a Wendsday and it's going back on Thursday, will be looking at a Bosch or Mile."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2010

Good Job

Pros: bagless anboth heads have bushes
Model Number: Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
"I have used it for couple of times after I bought it. It is a good vaccume, light, does its job although its sucking power is not as strong as its sound. There is no switch to change vaccume from carpet to floor, instead I have pull/push a thing on the vaccume head, it is a bad design against its idea no bending your body.
Overall, it is a very good vaccume comparing with others. I Like it.
"
Review 13 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2010

Didn't think a vacum could make me this happy

Pros: length of cord constant suction, ease of storage
Cons: no real cons, recommend emptying outside, avoids dirt going in the air at home
Model Number: DC23
"I purchaced my Dyson DC23 about 3 weeks ago and so far I just love it. It does a super job on both hardwood and carpet. I agree with the previous poster that if there are large objects (such as a cherrio) one needs to slightly lift the power head but I find this easy to do. It means that you can accidently vacum up a large object on the floor.
I would most certainly recommend it and find that the Costco price was very reasonable for a vacum of this caliber."
Review 14 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Los Gatos, CA
Date:March 9, 2010

WOULD NOT Recommend

Pros: bagless
Cons: heavy bulky, short cord
Model Number: DC23
"I purchased this vacuum last month and have used it 4 or 5 times. The head is already functioning poorly. I am not able to move around as smoothly as other canister vacuums I have owned and I am really dissapointed. The cord winds up very nicely, but it is much shorter than any other vacuum I have owned.
I thought the Dyson would live up to it's name, but this canister vacuum does not. I am returning it this week. Thank goodness Costco has a great return policy. It is too much to spend on a vacuum that isn't awesome."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Spring, TX
Date:March 5, 2010

Great Job!

Pros: love the self winding cord!, it sucks like no other- a good thing for a vacuum!
Model Number: Dyson DC23 Plus Cainster
"We have 2 Siberian Huskies which equals lots of dog hair... My dyson came while Samarie was blowing his coat! Perfect timing to give my Dyson a workout... I love it! It picks up the fuzz puppies around my house eagerly. The canister is quick & easy to empty as well and holds more than you would think! I like this vacuum so much I am buying a second one to put upstairs! I have a Kirby but it is time consuming and difficult to convert from an upright to a canister. I have hard surface floors all over my house except for the bedrooms. This Dyson works great on the carpet as well. No need for the upright!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manhasset, NY
Date:February 20, 2010

Smart design meets ease of use.

Pros: great for hardwood floors, ease of use, smart sensible design, powerful suction even when almost full
Cons: the price perhaps
Model Number: Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
"Quite simply the best vacuum we've had. Waited for a while for a great canister vac, and here it is"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:February 2, 2010

A bit of a disappointment

Pros: lightweight, easy to use and maneuver, tools are easily accessible, long retractable cord
Cons: price, poor suction
Model Number: DC23
"I purchased this canister vacuum after my Kirby stopped working. I tried the upright Dyson awhile ago and it was so powerful that it ate up my carpet--plus it wasn't self propelling which was a negative for me. When I saw the dyson canister I thought this would be perfect as I figured it would be easy to use --which it is. When I received it I was so excited. It is lightweight and very easy to use. What are the downsides of this vacuum? The suction is poor--and while it does pick up the dirt and dust--for the price I would have expected it to do a better job. When there are cheerios on the carpet this vacuum just pushes them around instead of picking them up. I literally have to pick the vacuum head up and place it over the cheerios in order for them to be vacuumed up. I am now considering a Miele vacuum, which i am told is a cut above the rest. It's a shame that Costco doesn't sell them."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dyson DC23 Plus Canister Vacuum
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Idaho
Date:December 31, 2009

Busted my Rainbow

Model Number: DC23
"2 years ago I burned the motor out of my Rainbow. I spent $450.00 to get it fixed. I am not saying there is anything wrong with that type of machine if you do not mind messing around spraying mud around in your house. The tank must be kept clean after using a few minutes they end up needing fresh water. However this is about the NEW Dyson. I would have been money and Dr. bill's ahead had I only got this machine back then. Cost-co shipped this to my door 3 days after placing the order and I must say it is the best thing since sliced bread. Easy, cleaning and very little time to spend in any up-keep of the machine. As soon as I win the powerball eveyone in my family will be gifted one of these fine vaccum cleaners."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.