Customer Reviews for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft

Ozone Friendly R-410A Refrigerant, Auto Evaporation Function Dehumidification Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.638 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
(out of 116 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
19
84 of 116(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Review 1 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Charleston, SC
Date:June 2, 2010

Works well so far

Pros: smaller than royal sovereign, rapid cooling
Cons: not rated as "energy efficient"
Model Number: CPN12XC9
"After a Royal Sovereign portable AC unit that we had previously purchased from Costco stopped working after using it for less than 2 summers, we decided to try out the Haier AC. We use it to cool the FROG and it cools the room very quickly which we are very impressed with. So far, so good. Only drawback is that it is not an Energy Star product, but none of the portable units appear to be, at least not in this price range. We are also very pleased with Costco customer service - they do an excellent job and there were no complaints when we returned the previous AC. Thanks Costco!"
186 of 187 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Tennessee
Date:June 29, 2011

portable ac unit

Pros: instant cooling!
Cons: annoying display light
Model Number: CPN12XH9
"We were very excited about receiving our new portable ac unit. It was a little heavy. UPS dropped it off in the middle of the driveway.
The window kit has a poor design! It is very flimsy and did not fit properly. The manual encourages you to use duct tape when installing....I think NOT! I have brand new windows and have not intention of putting duct tape on them. I had some weather stripping that seemed to work just fine.
The remainder of the installation was a piece of cake! The air conditioner cooled our upstairs bedroom almost immediately. It is a little loud but it drowns out all other noises. There is a lighted display on the front that glows a bright blue light when it is powered on. We had to improvise to cover that light! Very, very annoying! It was almost like having a lamp on. However, it was worth the comfort from the cool air. My husband taped an index card over the display to eliminate the unwanted light.
All and all, this was an excellent purchase for the price! You can't beat the instant savings when purchasing."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Missouri
Date:June 18, 2011

Great Unit

Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"We found this unit to be the best portable air conditioner option that Costco.com sells. While it is the cheapest and least powerful BTU rating, it outperformed the other three units. We started buying the more powerful units on Costco.com wanting a guaranteed way to keep our room cool at night during the summer. They did not live up to the task. Mildly cool air and inability to lower the room temperature quickly, or at all, were the main issues. They were both Delonghi units and both were promptly returned. This unit cools quickly and gets the job done even in severely hot weather. Buy this one!"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kirkland, WA
Date:September 1, 2010

Good for the price

Cons: remote won't stay in the holster thing
"Reluctantly bought this since living in the PNW, I believe there's no need to buy an a/c for the three warm days we get per year. But the apt I moved into has west exposure and only one window that opens and it isn't in a direction where the breeze comes, so a typical 70 degree day will get over 85 inside very quickly.
Yes, the unit is noisy, but it's an air compressor. It's no noisier than other portable a/c units I've owned in the past and quieter than some window units I've heard over at a friend's house. If you're sitting right next to it or behind it, you're going to hear it. Put several feet away from you, you can talk at a normal level and hear the tv and what-not. Like another reviewer said, it's just white noise, really.
Air blows out cold and cools down the room in a decent amount of time. I'm actually using it for a 650 sq ft apt and it cooled down the main warm area very effectively. The design is pleasant enough and makes it not as much of an eye-sore as some other units on the market. It actually comes with a really good warranty for repair and replacement in the event you don't feel like dragging it back to Costco for a return."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:June 9, 2011

very good ac unit

Pros: cools great, great price, easily movable
"We have had ours about a year now and it works great. We have it upstairs in our loft and it cools the upstairs and downstairs on 75 and under days, we are purchasing one more to keep downstairs for our 85+ days this summer. I love that I can attach it to the window or take it out and lock the window with ease whenever I want. So much better than a window unit. There is the noise of the ac unit, but no different than any other we've ever had. We've noticed its quite a bit quieter by placing a small decorative type pillow on top of the unit. Happy to purchase another and highly recommend."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Antonio, TX
Date:June 17, 2010

Very Good as expected

Pros: sleek cold and reasonably quiet
Cons: window panel is flimsy and the manual is poor
"Unit fired up cold as ice and ran nicely. It was as quiet as I would expect considering it is a self contained compressor and blower unit, It is as quiet or more so than a window unit. Many reviews complained it was loud or sounded like the fan was hitting, my guess is that they did not raise up the air output louver on the top of the unit. The louver is in an almost closed position when it is shipped and MUST be lifted to allow the fan to blow freely or otherwise it does sound awful. The manual does not mention anything about opening the louver but it should. The window panel is a little cheap also. If not for the panel and the poor manual I would have given it 5 stars."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Francisco
Date:June 28, 2011
Pros: build quality, cooling fantastic, price, warranty, portability, appearance. clean lines modern look., easy set up., easy to clean plastic surfaces., dimensions: not that big as some complain., weight: easy to lift won't dred moving day.
Model Number: Haier Commercial Cool CPN12XC9
"I can see why this sold out last year, it's a great air conditioner and that it comes with CostCo's two-year extended manufacturer warranty makes this a bargain.
Weight: If you live alone on a second floor, and have steps to climb, get a friend to help you get the unit inside. With packing it weighs about 80 lbs, so it's easiest to have two people move it, albeit I used a hand truck to haul it upstairs myself.
Set up: Did not use the manual or quick-start pamphlet. Got it unpacked and cooling in 10 minutes.
Cooling: Most excellent. I have two large pic windows facing east. 30 X yearly it gets 85+ in my place. Beautiful views, but can be an oven, until I discovered A/C (Most residences in San Francisco do not have A/C)
I have been using two 5,000 BTU window A/C units since 1995 (one in LR, one in BR). I wanted something quieter and that did not vibrate walls.
At max cooling this does NOT make so much noise that you regret turning it on. And at night it acts as a white noise machine, softly masking outside noises.
Benefits: Not only is this more powerful than only the largest window units, a portable A/C allows you to cool the area you are in rather than the entire house, if using an older central A/C unit (that use a lot of energy anyway).
Tips:
-- You must lift the front top of the machine for the blower louvers to be exposed. Otherwise you might complain "does not blow much air."
-- This is a self contained unit where the water collected evaporates. If nevertheless concerned, you can manually remove a plug and drain collected water.
-- There are handles on each side. It has four casters. The machine is easily rolled to where you want it, even on carpet.
-- If you lose the remote (easy to use, by the way), the unit itself has the same controls (where the remote mounts on the machine when not in use).
-- The pins on which the remote mounts (so you don't lose the remote) appear delicate. So carefully stow the remote to prevent breaking the pins."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Central California
Date:June 16, 2011

Awesome!

Pros: low price, effective, easy to install, easy to operate
Model Number: CPN12XC9
"Our swamp cooler died, so we were desperate for something to beat the heat until we can get it replaced. I ordered this on Monday, it arrived on Wednesday! It took all of 30 minutes to unpack and install. Plugged it in, turned it on, and the house went from 90 degrees to 75 degrees in under an hour. It claims to cool 450 sq/ft, so I was only expecting it to cool the main living area. Yet, by using the ceiling fan in the hallway, it even brought the bedrooms down to a livable temp during that time! And I love the fact that it remembers the settings when you turn it back on, so my 86 year old mother won't have to do anything but press the On/Off button when I'm not around."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Merced, CA
Date:June 28, 2010

Terrible purchase

"I ordered this and got it shipped right away. As could not deliver to my home during conveint hours I had to arrange to pick it up. Last night it was over 100 degrees here and I spent about 1 hour trying to get it all set up. This weighs about 80 lbs so difficult for a woman to get it out of the box by self. Well the fan worked great and then the compressor kicked on and I thought an airplane engine was going off and something was going to fall out of the sky. The machine made horible noise and acted like going to shake to pieces. I turned it off and then turned it back on. Same thing. So tried again well after about five minutes the loud noise stopped. Apparently the compressor died because could get nothing but hot air out of the machine even though was set to cool. Well needless to say I am frustrated and now have to go stand in line for an hour to return to the store after loading the thing up all by myself. Wont order this again."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2010

Good choice

Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"After reading some of the other reviews I wasn't sure but I got it anyway.
Very good unit about as loud as a fan. The only weak link is the window kit could be made better.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Plano, TX
Date:June 27, 2011

Great value

Pros: good quality, cools quickly, low noise, no water pan to empty, easy to set up
Model Number: CPN12XC9
"The Haier 12,000 BTU I ordered arrived today and I had it set up and cooling in 30 minutes. I purchased a 8,000 BTU unit last year and it works great but I wanted another for a different room. The noise level seems low to me and it cooled off a large room quickly.
The unit arrived in perfect condition and I am pleased with the unit. I used a piece of duct insulation to cover the exaust hose and also used foam insulaton to seal the area where the window closes on the exaust plate. These materials are available at any big home materials company and are not expensive. I would rather buy these materials myself than pay more for a unit with these included.
I have not had any problems with the exaust hook up on my one year old unit and the material seems strong enough to work fine.
I have never had to empty the water pan on my 8,000 BTU unit.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Springfield, OR
Date:June 29, 2010

Best Bang For Your Buck

Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"I had been researching and watching price drops for portable ac units and couldn't find a product that could beat this ac in terms of btu, price, and reliability. Despite all the negative reviews on this product I finally pulled the trigger and boy am I glad I did. The ac is strong, quiet, and cold, and I haven't experienced anything negative about it. I'm glad that I pulled the trigger when I did because I see the item is sold out. Great overall purchase. Thanks Costco."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:September 16, 2010

Product horrible... Stopped working after 2 days

"I kept the AC running for 2 days in a room with some equipment in it, and it died 2 days later..
I have a delongi (spelling?) and its been running for over a year now, no problems.. No wonder Costco ran out of stock on them.."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:June 23, 2010

Product fine, service on warranty, horrible

Pros: blows cold
Cons: using service just get a replacement from costco
Model Number: aaaaaaaa
"Product arrived broken. No problem. Called the manufacturer and made a tech appointment. Was told parts not in stock, will ship next day for 1 day delivery. This was confirmed by 2 people at the service provider, which is not the manufacturer, then was told that the parts will not ship for another day for 2 day delivery. 1 day not possible thru UPS the woman tells me. Company refused to expedite my order and was clearly uncaring. CAlled Costco and they were wonderful as usual. Called the manufacturer back and was told that their system was down and to call back within 24-48 hours. Ordered on the 10th, now the 23rd no AC. Hope to have up and running by the 28th. Product was fine, service thru the manufacturer and their contracted service provider is one of the worst experiences of my life."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 24, 2010

I'm Impressed

Pros: easy to wheel around the house, easy to use, quick to set up, the price is great
Cons: heavy if you have to return it
"This unit was delivered to my door just as promised by Costco. I was surprised that I didn't have to put anything together, it literally works straight out of the box. I thought it was going to take a long time to hook up, but all I did was connect the hose to the unit and then connect the other end to my sliding glass window door using the adapter and turn it on. I was impressed how quickly it cooled the room and could tell it was working immediately. It was 82 degress in my bedroom and quickly cooled it to 70 degrees! I wished I would have had this last summer! I'm not sure if it will cool my entire condo, but I am definitely happy with this product. It was quiet too, no louder than having a fan on in the room. I was able to watch tv with it on and carry on a conversation with my wife."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

too loud.

"work efficiently, but too noisy. can't use it in bedroom."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, GA
Date:June 15, 2010

Great product for beating the heat!

Pros: quickly cools a large room, has a water reservoir that can be manually emptied
Cons: somewhat bulky, need to doctor up the window seal
Model Number: 12K BTU Haier Commercial Cool Portable A/C Unit
"Although I'm definitely not an A/C expert, I did a fair amount of research for portable A/C units priced between $300-$500. The room I needed to cool is our family room, which was formerly a carport that previous owners had enclosed some years ago. Unfortunately this room doesn't receive central air, and with the stifling heat in Atlanta it becomes quite warm. A more permanent solution for our room also has a hefty price tag of around $2K, so we decided to investigate portable A/C units as a more budget friendly option.
We received it 12K BTU Haier unit yesterday, and ran both on high and low for a few hours. Within 15 minutes, it had cooled the ~31ft x 31ft room from 84 degrees F to 76 degrees F (with some assistance from the ceiling fan on medium). The unit is about 6 feet away from the closest seat in the family room, and when running on high it is kind of loud but still easy to carry on a conversation at a reasonable volume. It's not much louder than a window unit in my opinion.
It is rather large and bulky and not the most attractive thing, but it does the job well and fits our budget. With Costco's great return policy to give us peace of mind, we decided to take give this A/C a shot."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Springfield, VA
Date:August 29, 2010

BETTER THAN EXPECTED.

Pros: add a pro
"I purchased this unit for un upstairs bedroom (25x20) that stayed hot even when the whole house was cool. It arrived on time and in good condition, set up in a matter of 5 minutes and I've been happy with it since.
I don't leave it on when I'm out of the room because it's so efficient that the room cools down in 2 or 3 minutes. It makes a bit of noise, but surprisingly less than window mounted units of the same or smaller size.
Buy it!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:NYC
Date:August 20, 2010

Too Loud

Pros: portable, great price, high btu
Cons: loud very loud, occupies a good amount of space, does not cool room quickly, too bulky, watch out for leaks
"Great idea at that time, great price, convenient, but now sorry to have purchased this A/C. It is very loud and when I say loud, louder than any AC manufactured. Also,it takes a while to cool the room compared to my Friedrich. Finally, it takes room. In NYC, you need space. The AC itself is big and then you have the tube for the exhaust. So, why didnt I return it? Too much trouble to pack it up. Now we use it only whenever we have guests to cool the room by the patio.
If you are considering, trust me, do not buy it. You do not really have to move the AC that much and the noise is not worth it. I have to turn it off when I am on the phone or to watch TV. You pay for what you get. The novelty of portable will wear off. Buy another good AC"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:September 12, 2010

Take your chance - 80/20

"Brought on-line and the product came within couple of days, no problem. But once the compressor kicked-in, started having major noise and something broke down inside. I will either go for a replacement or move onto another product. I read through other reviews and looks like 20% of the time you may have a broken product.. hence have the patience to go through the pain. The product looks really good outside."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>