Customer Reviews for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft

Ozone Friendly R-410A Refrigerant, Auto Evaporation Function Dehumidification Function
Average Customer Rating:
3.638 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
(out of 116 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
35
3 stars
7
2 stars
11
1 star
19
84 of 116(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Review 1 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:CT
Date:August 23, 2011

Duct tape?

"I enjoy my new A/C unit but have issues with having to use duct tape for the exhaust. Should have made the window exhaust much sturdier and not make the customer rely on a roll of duct tape to make it work right."
Review 2 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:July 11, 2011

Haier A/C

Model Number: Model Number: CPN12XC9
"Only used it 3-4 times, but well satisfied. It is for an enclosed south facing front porch with 22 windows, and cools to "comfortable" within 10-15 minutes.
Instructions a bit confusing as to how to attach to window. I'm not sure I did it their way, but it works.
Would consider another one for another area."
Review 3 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Jersey
Date:July 4, 2011

Works Great - My second unit.

Pros: looks great, works great, remote control
Cons: draining water
"This unit works great and quickly cools down the bedroom that it is in. I purchased the same unit last year for my master bedroom and it is working great again this summer.
It's easy to install and the timer feature on it comes in very handy. You can set the timer to have the unit turn on or off after so many hours.
The only hassle is draining the water out because the drain is at the very bottom so you have to lift it up a little or put it in a bathtub but you don't have to drain it but 2 or 3 times the whole summer so it's not that big of a deal.
It makes the same amount of noise as a window unit but you don't have to put it in a window, look at it hanging out of a window or worry about it falling out. And it is easy to move from room to room because of the wheels. The remote is also very useful and handy."
Review 4 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Show Low, Arizona
Date:July 3, 2011

awesome air conditioner

Model Number: CPN12XC9
"I ordered this air conditioner and received it within 4 days of ordering. the machine installed easily and cools beautifully. We like it so much I am ordering another one today for the bedroom."
Review 5 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Burlington, VT
Date:July 3, 2011

Works great!

Pros: cools very well
Cons: window panel adapter does not secure to pvc panel
Model Number: CPN12XC9
"I have read previous reviews about this product being hard to get out of the box. If you cut around the bottom of the box as it indicates, it is very easy to pull the box over the unit. The only negative comment so far that I have is that the screws do not secure into the PVC panel properly and the window panel adapter needs to be duct taped to the plastic panel (as others have mentioned). Otherwise, the unit cools very well with no issues (I live in Vermont where temps are hot and humid in summer). The unit is loud but so are most air conditioners. Extremely quick (four days) delivery!"
Review 6 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mercer Island, WA
Date:July 3, 2011

Outstanding value

Pros: excellent price and quality
Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"Very efficient! It cools my room fast. Easy to assemble. Stylish and environmentally friendly product."
Review 7 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Paso Robles, CA
Date:July 3, 2011

Best Portable A/C for the price

Cons: none so far
Model Number: 12,000 BTU CPN12XC9
"What noise? Sounds like an A/C to me. people who say that this unit makes a lot of noise are crazy. Bought this 12,000 BTU for my 3 car garage which I converted into a bedroom, The real test for this unit came this weekend when it got to 102F, My garage lowered the temperature to around 78F or 20+ degrees cooler really satisfied with my purchase."
Review 8 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Thousand Oaks, CA
Date:July 3, 2011

It's just "Okay" ...

Pros: it works, remote control, electric bill only went up $15 using it a lot., does not really need a dedicated 20amp circuit., requires dedicated if a 15amp circuit., plugs into 110-120volt (standard house plug)
Cons: take apart to clean inside for air exchange, noisy / loud operation (white noise), ugly giant tubes going to your window
"I moved into a older home with single pane windows (1960's era) with the aluminum trim, and the home did not have air conditioning, so it would get 80+ degrees inside.
Remedy??? I'll buy this Haier 14,000 BTU unit that says it'll cool a room up to 20'x35' (my living room) ... It didn't. Did it blow cold air? ABSOLUTELY!
Now, two years later, I was able to afford to replace all of the windows in my home to Double paned, vinyl, milgards, and now the A/C unit does a bit of a better job. If you have a modern home built after 1990 and you're going to use this unit for a single large room - You'll be okay - BUT the temp in the room is only going to drop maybe 5 degrees max. Does this make a difference? Sure.
Today I use the unit in my small office (the unit has double the power for the 10x11 room size) and I couldn't be happier. Except here's the cons: Two giant tubes have to connect from the window to the unit. The timer on the unit doesn't turn my unit off. It's loud (but they all are and you get used to it). The performance will suffer in consecutive years unless you figure out how to unscrew and open the unit to clean the radiator fins (takes 45 minutes). The outer shell of this thing is all cheap plastic that screws together and then the whole shell is attached to a tray that all of the heavy machinery is sitting on. It's pretty heavy, I have some thresholds on my floor between ceramic tile and carpet and the coasters are not large enough to easily glide over, I have to lift it up the 1/2 inch lip. Basically my point is once you set it up somewhere it's not convenient to move to another room. The plastic makes creaking sounds and one of the screws at the bottom holding that outer shell on the tray broke off after moving it a few times. Also the unit is TOP heavy, not a safety concern because it's short, so it won't topple, but the plastic sort of gives (think bending), and that's what broke the screw."
Review 9 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Date:July 2, 2011

Relief

Pros: does as advertised!
Cons: is heavy but that tells me it is well made.
"Purchased this item for my sons' rec room upstairs. Delivery was quick, installation was simple, and the results were refreshing. This product cooled off their room quickly. It has been 105-110 degrees in Las Vegas and their room was 77 after about a half hour. Great product."
Review 10 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New York, NY
Date:July 2, 2011

Excellent A/C

Pros: price sleek look remote control.
Cons: none so far.
"I just purchased this a month ago. For the price you cant go wrong. It cools the room very fast. Yeah its a little noisy but people have to understand its a portable A/C theres going to be a little noisy. If you cant stand the noise get a window or wall unit. For convienence and move ability this is the choice. I am still a little skeptical about the brand Haier but so far so good. If there happens to be any problems I can just take it back and return it."
Review 11 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 1, 2011

Great Quality For A Great Price

Pros: good quality, cools area quickly, attractive design
Cons: pretty heavy
Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"Easy to install. Fairly quiet for a portable air conditioner. Fan speed does not really effect noise level, noise comes from compressor. Fan moves a good amount of air. Remote control storage is a great feature. Unit built to last, materials are good quality."
Review 12 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:July 1, 2011

Good performance, easy to use, highly recommend

Pros: price appearance functionality
Cons: noise
"Bought this for an updstairs low-ceiling bedroom in Seattle. Purchased on Monday morning and arrived it Thursday w/ express shipping. The unit looks nicer than the other Costco units in the warehouse, and it's functionality is good. No frills, but kicks out cool air quickly. It's loud, but sort of what I expected and not dramatically louder than having two fans in the room. For the price, I would highly recommend."
Review 13 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mount Vernon, WA
Date:July 1, 2011

Does what it should, good bang for the buck!

Pros: looks like a fancy mini fridge
Cons: doesn't hold beer
"Don't expect a portable AC unit to drop the temp 20 degrees and you will be happy. After running an hour it drops the temp about 10 degrees in a 400 sq ft converted attic office, is relatively quite for units like this (just loud enough I can't hear my wife yell at me), looks good (as long as you don't mind a big hose going out your window) has a nice fan that blows fairly far. It was delivered prompt, no problems and would buy another in a second."
Review 14 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Colorado
Date:June 30, 2011

It's all about quality

Pros: design
Cons: quality
"I really like the design of this unit. It has a very small footprint, so it fits into any room unobtrusively. It is also one of the most quiet units I've ever been around. The window mounting kit is sub-standard, but usable.
So why just two stars? It gets one star for each week that it ran before it broke down. I called the local factory authorized repair service and it was repaired, but it took the service tech 3 hours."
Review 15 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:SLC, UT
Date:June 30, 2011

Good quality and great price

Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU Portable
"I placed order on Sunday and received on Wednsday, really fast. The resemble was simple and easy, and the product outlook is beutiful, and when I turned it on, of course it is a little noisy than centrle air conditioner but much better than I expected. Esp. it works great, it cooled down my room in 20 minutes. And it has a seperate controler and mutiple mode options. Great, I would like to recommend it to my friends."
Review 16 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Naples, Florida
Date:June 29, 2011
Pros: works ok, looks decent, has wheels for moving
Cons: high priced, heavy, poorly put together, difficult to install if you are weak or alone
Model Number: the one shown
"Seemed a bit high priced for me & materials not that well made. Looks OK, but was very difficult to install, heavy & hard to remove from box. Window fitting did not accept vent piping, cap cannot come off, so cannot use. Directions do not make sense. Have not yet received power bill, but does reduce the temperature in the room by 10 degrees, which helps a lot. If the piping could fit through the vent properly, it would improve. I am a small female senior citizen."
Review 17 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Philly PA
Date:June 29, 2011

nice unit

Pros: great price
Cons: poor packaging for shipping
Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU
"this unit works great cools my rec room nicely, so far it works great the real test will be this weekend with the upcoming heat wave. I'll let you know if I could edit this later."
Review 18 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Riverside, California
Date:June 29, 2011

Product works as advertised

Model Number: Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner
"This product is the right product for my application. It cools the area in a reasonable time frame and functions as expected. I am happy with what I purchased."
Review 19 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Georgia
Date:June 29, 2011

Will pay for itself in no time

Pros: energy efficient not an eye sore easy assembly, remote control so i don't have to get out of bed!
"I have been using this AC for about 3 weeks now and I track my energy consumption online. My KWH per day energy use has dropped 71% since getting this unit and I am keeping my master much cooler than I was when I was relying on the house AC to cool the entire upstairs. When I get home from work my 2nd level master bedroom (560 square feet) ranges from 90 degree to 98 degrees according to the digital display on the unit. Within an hour it is usually below 80 degrees. I have 4 bedrooms upstairs that are unoccupied so this allows me to cool my master without wasting energy in the other rooms. Obviously this isn't an option for everyone but this unit appears to be incredibly efficient and I am happy to have made the purchase. Plus it was delivered 2 days after I ordered it."
Review 20 for Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Room Air Conditioner Cools Up to 450 sq/ft
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Mesa, AZ
Date:June 29, 2011

Not too Happy

Pros: nice looking, delivered quickly
Cons: draws a lot of power
Model Number: CPN12XC9
"Pops 15 amp breaker unless everything in room is off. Recommend a seperate line be run which is expensive. The span is large. ie. the on and off temp range. Uses your room air to vent to outside. A little noisy for a bedroom."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>