Customer Reviews for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder

Added Value: 12 Sheets Lubricant
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
(out of 23 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
15 of 23(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Review 1 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Temecula, CA
Date:June 6, 2011

If you like buying a new shredder every year..

Cons: not durably built, poor customer service
Model Number: GQW80B
"..then perhaps this one is for you. I bought after reading good reviews but after 13 months of very light use (1-4 pages at a time bi-monthly), the shredder stopped working. I called GoECO customer service and was told that I would need to buy a new one. When I asked is the shredder only supposed to last a year the rep responded "I don't know, but your warranty is up and your machine is broken." I am thankful that I purchased from Costco so that I can return it pronto!"
Review 2 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:my first review
Date:May 20, 2011

It will drive you crazy!

Pros: looks real pretty
Cons: slow cantankerous (as in stubbornly obstructive
"This will be a great product for someone who has nerves of a dish rag and enjoys tormenting themselves, but if you like to get the job done and move on I suggest spending $10 more and getting the Royal HD1400mx.
All I wanted to do was shred a box of old patient files not spending my day reading each page as I waited for the previous one to finish. This thing should have never been built. (see my review on the Royal shredder).
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fort Myers, FL
Date:February 25, 2011

A little disappointed

Model Number: GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
"This shredder was supposed to take eight pages at a time. That is a stretch. Even if I only feed it five or six pages, it overheats in about ten minutes. Then I have to wait for it to cool down so I just come back to it another time."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego CA
Date:January 3, 2011

Best of 5 owned and delighted

Pros: quiet energy efficient
Cons: basket full light on at 3/4 full
"Eco friendly is a bonus and it is as eco friendly as can be. From packaging to the way it doesn't draw energy when not in use, this is a solid product. I had yet to find a good household paper shredder. I have been thru 5 in as many years but am confident this one will last for years to come. Quiet (relative to paper shredders) and motor doesn't bog down when running a credit card or cd. Purchased in October and shredded hundreds of sheets without issue. The sensor for the basket being full lights at about 3/4, maybe to keep the machine cool?"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 27, 2010

Return Return Return

Model Number: GoECOlife SOHO Shredder
"I had this shredder a little over a month. Paper kept jamming and eventually paper wrapped around the blades in the middle and they bent. Had to return it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2010

It broke

"I had this shredder for less then a year and it's now broken. After my latest document shredding session, some paper got jammed in the shredding mechanism and the shredding blades are actually bent. I hope I can return at Costco without the box and receipt (since it's been a year)."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:October 4, 2010

Eco, hmmm?

Model Number: GoECOLife SOHO 8 sheet diamond cut shredder
"Offsetting the carbon footprint is a great move by the company. Including a canvas bag and mouse pad with the purchase of the shredder was a terrible decision; no thanks!
I give it 5 stars for its aesthetic, 2 points for its function. 0 points for the extra stuff....
As far as the shredder quality goes, it feels like the plastic will break easily if slightly mishandled and the power of the shredder is poor. I should be able to handle and envelope with a sheet or 2 in it, but it can't. I'd recommend getting a commercial grade shredder. This is my first review ever and I felt compelled to get this out...."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:seattle
Date:August 7, 2010

shredder

Model Number: GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
"it shreds multiple sheets and is very quiet. we love it. great for home use."
Review 9 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brentwood, CA
Date:July 10, 2010

Great Shredder

"I bought this recently and very happy with this product! The value and quality is definitely a must buy."
Review 10 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Durham, NC
Date:May 12, 2010

Good but not cross-cut

"It is listed as a diamond cut shredder and I was not sure what that meant. Anyway I purchased it but was a bit disappointed in that it is a strip shredder and not a cross-cut type which is more secure."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:March 10, 2010

Quite, powerful, reliable

"Aside from all its other attributes, this shredder is excellent for cardstock and credit cards. It is actually the best credit-card shredder I've ever used.
Highly recommended."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 7, 2010

Quiet and Efficient!

Model Number: GQW80B
"This is much quieter than my old shredder. The opening isn't much larger than 8 1/2, but I don't have to fully open all that junk mail before shredding it! It easily handles a couple of pages folded into thirds.
Lift off top to empty generous sized bin.
i would purchase this again."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kansas City, MO
Date:March 6, 2010

So far so good

Pros: high end look and feel
"From the picture and the box, I expected this shredder to be larger than I would prefer. It's not, most is the box/packaging. Very sturdy, well made shredder. Quiet, zoomed through stack of papers, credit card, etc..in no time. So far, very pleased."
Review 14 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Portland, OR
Date:March 3, 2010

Too quick to overheat

Pros: easy operation, quiet, nice amenities
Cons: quickly overheats, somewhat finicky lid sensor can prevent operation
Model Number: GQW80B
"Overall, the shredder was great at shredding and easy to run. It never gagged. But after 3 weeks, we took it back. It would only run for about 5 minutes of shredding before it shut down to avoid overheating. We have too much to shred to make that a worthwhile effort. We exchanged it for the $100 Fellowes 12-sheet crosscut shredder in the store. That thing is a shredding monster."
Review 15 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fairfax, VA
Date:March 3, 2010

Cute Designe

"I purchased this about a month ago. Box was really big than I'd imagined but design was cute and the motor was really quite. Plus, it is ECO Friendly, what more can I ask for :)"
Review 16 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Clinton AR
Date:March 2, 2010

Best Shredder Yet

Pros: it's all good
Cons: so far there are no cons
"We love it! This is the best shredder we've ever owned. It out performs much larger models, it's quiet and easy to empty."
Review 17 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WEST PATERSON, NJ
Date:February 27, 2010

QUIET,QUICK, EFFICENT

"AMAZINGLY QUIET, GETS THE JOB DONE.
NICE SIZE, GREAT THAT ITS GREEN. BEST FEATURES I'VE SEEN IN A PRODUCT FOR THIS PRICE. VERY UPDATED COMPARED TO OTHER SHREDDERS
"
Review 18 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Greater Salt Lake City Area, UT
Date:February 27, 2010

Disappointed — Returned

Pros: slide-out receptacle
Cons: difficult paper entry, inadequate dicing
Model Number: GQW80B
"This looked like a great shredder from the pictures but in real life it was a big disappointment.
Feeding papers was a chore because the slot entry was just barely as wide as a standard sheet of paper. This meant that if you were off only just a bit that the paper would not feed — close attention was required. Also, instead of a wide-open maw to receive the paper, there was a flap along the rear of the slot which required feeding the paper in a more horizontal manner instead of just dropping the paper in straight from the top. Feeding a piece of 8.5x11 that's been tri-folded and which wants to flop was a chore.
The actual shredded results were also a bit disappointing (and the deciding factor for returning the shredder) in that the resulting strips were almost three inches long and cleanly sliced along the edges — not really diamond chips as advertised.
We went back to our aging (10 years) Fellowes DM-6C which results in shorter strips which are ruggedly edged and look far more difficult to reassemble."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fremont, CA
Date:February 27, 2010

Good buy for home

Pros: smooth and quiet running
Cons: could use wheels, has no window to see if bin is full, paper slot could be wider
Model Number: GQW80B
"Seems like it is solidly built. Motor and shredder runs smooth which means all the components at least are toleranced well. I had another brand shredder before and it was noisey and eventually the vibration broke the plastic holding the motor. Wheels would be helpful. The paper slot could be wider to make it easier to insert paper, but it was proabably for safety reasons. Definitely could use a window in the bin. You can't see if the bin is full unless you remove the shredder top to check. Competivitive pricing with other small home units (when on sale), but not the best. Still with the Costco extras, a fair price and a quality product."
Review 20 for GoECOlife SOHO 8-sheet Diamond-cut Shredder
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Hermosa Beach, CA
Date:February 26, 2010

Great Shredder

Model Number: GQW80B
"Beautiful design, environmentally friendly and does the job well. Also its the first shredder my wife has allowed in the house due to its aesthetic. Pleased by the price and speedy shipping."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>