Customer Reviews for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits

A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home results in 5 minutes 2-3 month indication of average blood glucose Small blood sample Lab accurate This test is for home use monitoring of glycemic control in patients with diabetes. The percent of A1C in your blood today tells you how well you have been controlling your glucose levels over the past 2-3 months. About 50% of the A1C result is from the past 30 days of glucose levels; about 25% is from the past 30-60 days and about 25% is from the past 60-90 days.* What does your A1C Number Mean?** A1C measures your average blood glucose level over the past 2-3 months. For most people with diabetes, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) recommends that your A1C should be under 7%. One point reduction in your A1C reduces risk of serious complications by 40%.*** Remember that your A1C is your "big picture" measurement. Don't use it for short-term daily blood glucose measurement. If you have any questions about your A1C results, please contact your doctor or healthcare provider. Do not adjust your medication unless instructed to do so by your doctor or healthcare provider. The A1CNow SELFCHECK test is an easy-to-use test to measure your A1C levels at home. By measuring your levels at home, you can be better informed in-between your doctor visits and feel more in control of your diabetes. 2 Test Kit This Kit Contains: 1 A1CNow SELFCHECK Monitor 2 Single-Use Cartridges 2 Shaker Pouches Each containing 1 shaker, 1 blood collector, 1 disposable lancet 1 Extra Lancet 1 Quick Reference Guide 1 Instructional DVD 1 Overview and Helpful Hints *Burtis, C.A., Ashwood, E.R., Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry, 3rd Edition, W.B. Saunders Co., 1999 **Nathan DM, Kuenen J, Borg R, et al. Translating the A1C assay into estimated glucose values. Diabetes Care. 2008; 31:1-6. ***National diabetes fact sheet. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2003. Model: 485752
Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
21 of 30(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Review 1 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

inaccurate and only 1 of 2 tests worked at all

"The first test I ran came out low (4.6)... A good thing if it was true, but sadly this was a false negative...the worst type of test result in health care (ie missing the problem). I was happy to have a second test to repeat when the first was suspect, but the second one only gave a quality error and no measurement. I am a physician and am fully qualified to run the test. I followed the instructions exactly, had the perfect volume for the blood sample, and yet got an error for no reason I could tell. I hope my patients are not wasting their money on this. Get you lab orders from you MD and get the test done right."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Corona, CA
Date:July 31, 2012

easy and simple test

Pros: easy and quick
"The Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK ended up being very easy to use, and helped me get back on track, without waiting to go to the doctors and having lab work done. I use it about once every month or two. This helps me to stay motivated, informed and on track."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:July 9, 2012

Happy & satisfied, as expected

Pros: fast and accurate
Cons: requires precise attention to instructions
"I took the test because I expected a significant improvement in my A1C. Got my expected result, in 5 minutes. My first test failed, but that was likely my procedure that caused it. Costco made an equitable adjustment for me. I have since purchased another Bayer kit from Costco, for future use. I HAVE recommended it and will use it again, in the future"
Review 4 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:CA
Date:June 15, 2012

A1C Two Test in One Box

Pros: test works accurately for me
Cons: expected four individual test
Model Number: Bayer A1CNow
"The details are accurate but most users of this test are likely expecting two A1C test kits of two test for a total of 4 test. Read the description carefully."
Review 5 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Los Angles
Date:April 23, 2012

Disapointed

Pros: you get results
Cons: it is good to check only twice, canot buy additional strips
"It did give result on the second try only. and it was all over and I had to throw everithing afterwords.
It is not like a regular meter that you could buy new strips.
You might as well go to a lab...
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:February 29, 2012

Not Accurate For Me

Pros: easy to use
Cons: not accurate
Model Number: Item # 485752
"As many of the reviews said, I took my time reading through the unit's materials and watched the online video, so I am confident I ran the test as well as possible. This tester said I had a 6.3 A1C, but the result from my blood draw the next day was a 7.2. Not nearly accurate enough, even with the caveats in the unit's literature. I will probably return the package to my local warehouse with the remaining tester."
Review 7 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2012

good product

"Using this helps me manage blood sugar levels more rationally"
Review 8 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:November 23, 2011

Bayer A1c is accurate and easy

"I've been working with my MD to extend my visits to every 6 months and use this to check my A1c in between. This same model is used in many physician offices so I trust it works well. I've even had a lab drawn A1c right after doing this home and they were the same. Easy to use. Worth the money."
Review 9 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bay Area, CA
Date:October 27, 2011

Quick and Easy

Pros: do it yourself, simple
"Comes with 2 kits and video link for instructions. It's very simple and a good way to know where you're at without having to go to the time, expense and bother of going to the doctor, then to the lab."
Review 10 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:October 21, 2011

Money Saver

"I have used this for the past couple of years. It keeps me from having to go to the doctors to have my A1C checked. I just keep track of the results and show them to him."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Date:October 17, 2011

A1C test

Pros: much cheaper than mini-clinics who use this kit
Cons: only two tests
"I had the same A1C test performed at the local pharmacy mini-clinic...and it cost $84
The nurse used this exact kit
Doing it on my own saves over $60...plus if you consider that this kit allows you to perform TWO tests...the savings are $144 dollars
"
Review 12 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Harrisonburg VA
Date:October 10, 2011
Model Number: Bayer A1CNow model 3030
"This is my second Dual Pack A1C meter.
The first one worked fine and is accurate. It was lower by 0.1 from reading taken at a Medical Lab with in 2 days.
"
Review 13 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:October 8, 2011

Unexpect ed

Cons: only 2 tests
Model Number: A1C Now
"I assumed that the testor would provide many tests as other blood testers. It only provides 2! I did not see that in the information of the product."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pahrump, NV
Date:September 27, 2011

I like it!

Pros: much cheaper than lab, very convient
"The Bayer A1C meter worked as advertised and was not hard to use. If your used to using a gloucose meter you wont have much trouble. The price is right and much more convient than getting a lab test after paying for an office visit to get the OK."
Review 15 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2011

A1C works at home

"Save $50.00 on this test if you can do it yourself. Follow the good directions EXACTLY and get good results. Have used
this test 14 times in 3 years. Save $50.00
each time compared to a Doctor's office.
"
Review 16 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2011

A1C diabetes kit

"Worked fine. One of the items from a previous kit I ordered didn't work. I called Bayer and they pointed out the item was outdated. took the remainder of the previous ordr er to costco and they refunded me."
Review 17 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2011

Not Reliable Enough

"I took the Bayer A1C measurement on May 4. Seven days later I had a lab test done as a part of a doctor exam. The difference was .04 of 1% with the Bayer test being on the low side. I construe this difference to be an unacceptable variance for something as important as this measurement is. My doctor commented that the home test is not to be relied upon.I have to agree based upon the test comparisons."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011

self empowerment

Model Number: 3030 1 Kit
"Product allows you to test this key measure of your blood sugar level whenever you want. It's easy to use and directions are comprehensive. In spite of objections by some members of the medical community to A1C self testing, the fact is the more information you have about how efforts (diet, exercise, medication) to control your disease are progressing, the better those efforts will likely be."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Wisconsin
Date:May 11, 2011

Fast and easy to use

"This Home A1C test system is very easy to use and provides fast results. The instructions for use are clear and the included video makes it almost fool-proof. It seems to be a reasonable cost for people who pay their own medical expenses or have high deductibles. The only question for me is how accurate is it compared to the lab test."
Review 20 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:WA state
Date:May 2, 2011

It Works - A1CNow SELFCHECK

Pros: saves travel to doctor or lab
"Simple to use - results were fast and clear. BUT it could be hard to read instructions or screen print out if you have impaired vision. Be sure you can read and handle the equipment, or have somone to assist you with this test."
1 2 next>>