Customer Reviews for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits

A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home results in 5 minutes 2-3 month indication of average blood glucose Small blood sample Lab accurate This test is for home use monitoring of glycemic control in patients with diabetes. The percent of A1C in your blood today tells you how well you have been controlling your glucose levels over the past 2-3 months. About 50% of the A1C result is from the past 30 days of glucose levels; about 25% is from the past 30-60 days and about 25% is from the past 60-90 days.* What does your A1C Number Mean?** A1C measures your average blood glucose level over the past 2-3 months. For most people with diabetes, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) recommends that your A1C should be under 7%. One point reduction in your A1C reduces risk of serious complications by 40%.*** Remember that your A1C is your "big picture" measurement. Don't use it for short-term daily blood glucose measurement. If you have any questions about your A1C results, please contact your doctor or healthcare provider. Do not adjust your medication unless instructed to do so by your doctor or healthcare provider. The A1CNow SELFCHECK test is an easy-to-use test to measure your A1C levels at home. By measuring your levels at home, you can be better informed in-between your doctor visits and feel more in control of your diabetes. 2 Test Kit This Kit Contains: 1 A1CNow SELFCHECK Monitor 2 Single-Use Cartridges 2 Shaker Pouches Each containing 1 shaker, 1 blood collector, 1 disposable lancet 1 Extra Lancet 1 Quick Reference Guide 1 Instructional DVD 1 Overview and Helpful Hints *Burtis, C.A., Ashwood, E.R., Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry, 3rd Edition, W.B. Saunders Co., 1999 **Nathan DM, Kuenen J, Borg R, et al. Translating the A1C assay into estimated glucose values. Diabetes Care. 2008; 31:1-6. ***National diabetes fact sheet. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2003. Model: 485752
Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
(out of 30 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
21 of 30(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Review 21 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ohio
Date:May 28, 2010

Not Accurate

"I really was hopeful this product would be a tool I could use but unfortunately the reading generated by it was substantially lower than the one done at the hospital lab service which normally does my labwork. Bayer product said 6.7 but the lab said 7.6 and I rechecked both. Both tests done on the same day.
That's too much discrepancy for me.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lakewood, WA
Date:July 9, 2012

Happy & satisfied, as expected

Pros: fast and accurate
Cons: requires precise attention to instructions
"I took the test because I expected a significant improvement in my A1C. Got my expected result, in 5 minutes. My first test failed, but that was likely my procedure that caused it. Costco made an equitable adjustment for me. I have since purchased another Bayer kit from Costco, for future use. I HAVE recommended it and will use it again, in the future"
Review 23 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:SF Bay Area
Date:May 29, 2010

Question Accuracy

Pros: convenient, inexpensive
Cons: inaccurate (low)?
"I tried this home test a few weeks after having a laboratory A1C test. The lab reported 7.1 and the home test came out 6.4. I'd like to believe the home test value but it seems to read low. Based on my daily monitoring of blood glucose, it is not believable that my 3 month average could come down that far in two weeks. I will try again on the day of my next lab A1C."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2011

self empowerment

Model Number: 3030 1 Kit
"Product allows you to test this key measure of your blood sugar level whenever you want. It's easy to use and directions are comprehensive. In spite of objections by some members of the medical community to A1C self testing, the fact is the more information you have about how efforts (diet, exercise, medication) to control your disease are progressing, the better those efforts will likely be."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2011

Not Reliable Enough

"I took the Bayer A1C measurement on May 4. Seven days later I had a lab test done as a part of a doctor exam. The difference was .04 of 1% with the Bayer test being on the low side. I construe this difference to be an unacceptable variance for something as important as this measurement is. My doctor commented that the home test is not to be relied upon.I have to agree based upon the test comparisons."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellingham, WA
Date:February 29, 2012

Not Accurate For Me

Pros: easy to use
Cons: not accurate
Model Number: Item # 485752
"As many of the reviews said, I took my time reading through the unit's materials and watched the online video, so I am confident I ran the test as well as possible. This tester said I had a 6.3 A1C, but the result from my blood draw the next day was a 7.2. Not nearly accurate enough, even with the caveats in the unit's literature. I will probably return the package to my local warehouse with the remaining tester."
Review 27 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Stockton, CA
Date:January 23, 2010

Correction to Previous Review

Pros: as accurate as a lab.
Cons: refills not available.
Model Number: A1CNOW
"Refills are NOT available in ANY form for this test kit. Only the professional models have refills which must be purchased at the same time as the kit for very high prices and can only be purchased by professionals. As long as you realize that this kit comes with two tests then you throw it away and buy another, it is fine. You have no reason to test more often than every three months anyway, so this is good for at least six months."
19 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Huntley, Illinois
Date:June 17, 2010

A home test kit that works

Pros: easy to use, accurate, convenient
Cons: none apparent
"I was tested on this kit and a week later was tested at a lab and the readings were within one tenth of a point of each other so that confirmed to me the accuracy is there. I hate having to go to a lab and wait on results when I can, at home, get an accurate reading that tells me how I'm doing long term managing my blood sugar. You get two tests out of this kit and then it's a throw away. I'm please with the ease of use of the product and this test kit will be, for me, a compliment to the daily testing I do."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Maryland
Date:January 10, 2011

Good Product

Pros: convenient-easy to use
Cons: disposable
Model Number: Bayer A1C
"In my opinion the device produces accurate results and you do not have to go to the doctor's or to the lab and waste most of you day. I test my AIC every 3 months according to my doctor’s advice. The results were checked with lab and unit on my first test. Lab was 7.3 and the kit was 7.2. This matches up with my averages given by my daily blood sugar levels. Test results were within one week of each other and should not have changed too much either way. I plan on buying another unit. Would like a meter that you can purchase additional testing supplies."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Bayer A1CNow® SELFCHECK At-home A1C System, 2 Single Use Test Kits
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2012

inaccurate and only 1 of 2 tests worked at all

"The first test I ran came out low (4.6)... A good thing if it was true, but sadly this was a false negative...the worst type of test result in health care (ie missing the problem). I was happy to have a second test to repeat when the first was suspect, but the second one only gave a quality error and no measurement. I am a physician and am fully qualified to run the test. I followed the instructions exactly, had the perfect volume for the blood sample, and yet got an error for no reason I could tell. I hope my patients are not wasting their money on this. Get you lab orders from you MD and get the test done right."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2