Customer Reviews for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator

Running 4600 Watts / Peak 5000 Watts
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
(out of 12 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Review 1 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Virginia City, Nevada
Date:January 1, 2011

Wish I hadn't bought it

Cons: hard to start and loud
Model Number: Champion 71307 5KW Propane
"1. I have had this generator for six months.
2. It came with a bad pressure regulator. (Champion sent me a new pressure regulator.)
3. It is always hard to start, regardless of the temperature, and requires playing with the choke while it is cranking. I don't advise trying to start it manually.
4. The noise level measures 78 dBA at 23 feet with a Protek SL1700 Sound Pressure Level Meter.
This is about 10 dB louder than most portable generators, which are generally at most 68 dBA at 23 feet. The 10 dB difference means it is subjectively about twice as loud.
A whole house generator such as the Cummins Onan RS20A (20KW) is only 62 dBA.
5. I test it every week or two, wearing hearing protectors. The only extended use of this generator will be at the End of the World.
6. If I could get this 217 lb monster on my truck by myself I would return it."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Riverside, IL
Date:June 30, 2010

Good, with flaws

Pros: lpg, powerful, 240v
Cons: tricky to start, loud
"The generator works well. It is powerful and has all the features I need. The main one being that it runs on LPG. I seldom need a generator, but when I do, I don't want to worry about spoiled gas and a gummed up carburetor. I have it wired into my house using a breaker interlock and an outdoor generator plug in. It is capable of running everything except the electric range and AC units.
The only issue is that it is tricky to start. I have to hold the linkage of the governor in the middle of its range to get the engine to catch. This happens if the engine is warm or cold. With the electric start, I can live with it. I have tried two units, both have this issue. A friend ordered this unit a couple of months ago and has the same problem."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Bellingham WA
Date:January 28, 2010

F.Y.I.

Model Number: 71307
"Mine arrived within a week, went together easily. It only has wheels in front, so moving it around is not easy, it's VERY heavy. They sent a bunch out with faulty regulators in the gas line. If your's sounds like it's gasping for fuel and then dies after a few seconds, don't waste your time, just give them a call. The service person I talked to answered the call within a minute, identified the problem and said a new gas line would be mailed the same day. I'll update or post a new review when it arrives."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Calif.
Date:January 16, 2010

Just OK

Model Number: 71307
"A lot noiser than I expected. I have to hold the throtle positioner in a closed position to start the engine. Other than that it seems OK."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Glen Burnie,MD
Date:March 6, 2010

Easy to use Generator

Pros: clean exhaust
Cons: noise
Model Number: 71307
"After having a nightmare with shipping
I recieved the generator in good shape.
The set up was easy and the unit works
very good.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Toxaway, NC
Date:August 2, 2010

Well Designed and Built

"The product appears to work very well, tried it for a few hours to power our mountain home in western NC. Easy to assemble, the multi-funtion gauge provides voltage, hours, etc. Generator looks and feel strong I would recommend to position the choke half way from "run" and "start" for better starting, then switch over to "run" once running."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kentucky
Date:August 12, 2010

excellent product

Cons: none that i can tell
Model Number: 71307
"I was able to attach wheels, add oil, hook up propane and start in less than 1/2 hour after receipt. It should do the trick when needed. I don't have to worry about gas going bad or getting spilled, what a relief."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Princeton, NJ
Date:March 19, 2010

Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator

Model Number: 71307
"I got the generator delivered in 3 days. from the moment I open the box, it took no more than 15 min to set it up. Right now it is running without a flaw."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:South Texas
Date:July 27, 2010

So far so good.,.

Pros: easy to start, arrived in very good condition
Cons: insufficient wattage, extension cords a hassle
Model Number: Champion LPG 71307
"I received the generator in good condition with nothing broken and I was able to assemble the few pieces such as the wheels, connections rather quickly. I was surprised that it came w/o any oil but it makes sense since it would make a mess if it spilled.
I was finally able to test it out a few days ago due to an power outage. I just had to add the oil and connect the propane tank. I was grateful that other users had made a note about moving the choke/run switch to the middle when starting up because that did the trick. It would not start up on full choke. Apart from that the generator started right up. I ran it for an hour and connected a 10,000 BTU portable a/c and a lamp. I only ran it for an hour because the electrity was turned on after that so I don't know how long it will run on a 20lb propane tank.
All-in-all I was very pleased with it. I intend to install a power transfer switch to the circuit box because one of the down sides was running electrical extensions all over the place. The other down side was that I wish this generator had more wattage because all you can really run on it is a small a/c and perhaps a refrigerator, I had to sacrifice the low wattage because I really wanted a propane unit. Reason being was because during the IKE hurricane, it was hard to get gas and I didn't want the hassle of having to store it. I would have given it 5 stars if it would have had more wattage,
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Silver Spring, Maryland
Date:August 18, 2010

weak warranty

"Have not yet tried/connected this generator but reading through the warranty and talking on phone w Champion, I find the warranty to be troubling. The first problem is that if you have in mind to convert this generator to Natual Gas they don't have their own kit but will tell you the web site to get one. Then you get a hint of trouble and when you dig a bit they transfer you to someone who will tell you that if you convert the generator it will void the warranty.They will consider this an unapproved modification. I tried getting an answer to this by email before it was shipped but they didn't respond. Email system told me that my message was deleted without being read. You should also know that the terms of the warranty say that even if the warranty is valid transportation charges for repair or replacement are the sole responsibility of the purchaser.The warranty is weak not only in the area of freight charges but the usual old language saying they are not warranting the product for merchantabilty or fitness for a particular purpose. Based on the warranty alone I would hesitate to recommend a prouct from a company that would make me pay for freight on a product that was defective.."
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Geneva, IL
Date:July 27, 2010

Made in china, but worth it

Pros: propane
Cons: angle of lifting handles
"Read previous reviews before I purchased it. How quite do you expect a 9HP engine to be. It's no louder than comparable gas engines. Just because it runs on propane doesn't make it quieter. I just wish they offered it in a 6500KW. This is my second posting, I haven't seen my first one yet. Some people may find display confusing, as it shows HRS. HRTZ & Volts but you can not adjust anything, so way have display, especially when it's showing volts @ 242 and HRTZ @ 63 people may think something is wrong. Never had a starting issue when following directions to the letter, which are on the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Champion Eco Friendly Propane Powered Generator
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Colfax, CA
Date:March 3, 2011

Satisfactory buy!

Pros: easy to assemble, clear instructions
Cons: a bit louder than expected
Model Number: 71307
"With clear instructions it was easy to assemble and get it going, ---provided you got some 10W30 oil ahead of time...
The choke needed only to be set halfway and then it started without hesitation.
Power is stable and for the 220V, there's indeed 110V on both legs (I've seen 160 and 60 on other brands!!). Still heavy to lug around and it would have been better if the wheels were positioned a bit more to the middle for better weight distribution. Also a bit noisier than I would have thought, but still, it's cute too!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.