Customer Reviews for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV

Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Dynamic Contrast Ratio: 50,000:1 Brightness: 500 cd/m2
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
(out of 18 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Review 1 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:buda, tx
Date:March 23, 2010

Good TV

Pros: good picture good sound great price
Cons: none
Model Number: v0400e
"We've owned this set for 4 months now. For the price, this is a great TV. We bought ours for a gameroom, and it is perfect for this setting. The audio is loud enough that we did not need external speakers, and we have three gaming consoles hooked to it (Ps2, ps3, wii), as well as an hdtv antenna for over-the-air tv. The built-in TV tuner picks up all the local digital channels in austin TX area, as well as 3 analog low-power spanish channels."
Review 2 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle,Wa
Date:March 7, 2010

Perfect Balance - Price vs Performance

Pros: decent features available
Cons: vizio back light incorporated into bezel
Model Number: v400e
"I gave this TV five stars for its balance of features and performance vs its price. I am not easily satisfied with just any electronic device. My Blueray movies and HD games look fantastic on this TV. My laptop which I run through a HDMI looks amazing. The text is clear, crisp, tight.
Of course, there are many TV's with a " better" picture, needless to say they cost more. I paid less for this TV than the online price at their warehouse.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:So Cal
Date:February 19, 2010

Great T.V.

Pros: great picture, great price
Cons: response time when turning on the t.v., hook-up for cables/wires/plugs in awkward position
Model Number: V00400E
"I bough this t.v. over a week ago. Set-up was a breeze. Took just a couple minutes. Picture is great. I noticed that there were some complaints about the remote not being recognized by the t.v. I'm not sure if this is in regards to all remotes or just the remote that came with the t.v. I have been using my cable remote with it and had no problems.
There are just a couple things that I don't particularly like. 1.) The response time turning on the t.v. seems too long. 2.) I don't like how the cables/adapters/plugs hook up to the back of the t.v. They are in an awkward position. Once everything is hooked up it is no longer an issue so I can deal with that.
The price at my Costco was cheaper than the online price. Overall I am very happy with the t.v. for the great price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grand Blanc, MI
Date:February 12, 2010

Great TV at a great price!

"Purchased this TV just before the "Big Game" and was shocked at how great the picture is. Paid even less than the online price at my local warehouse.
Found complaints about sound to be false. If your a serous technophile aren't you going to hook this up to a surroundsound system anyway? Will continue to make most/all of my electronics purchases at Costco because of price and especially return policy."
Review 5 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Date:January 30, 2010

Great Picture and Price

"Very pleased with this one. I have had it for about a month and I have no complaints. This is a noticeable improvement over the 37" Vizio LCD I purchased from Costco 18 months ago, for about the same price.
90day return policy and a three year warranty with Manufacturer+Costco+AmEx combined warranties."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ocean Park, WA
Date:January 26, 2010

VIZIO VO400E Excellent Purchase

Pros: easy set up, excellent value, great picture
Cons: "on" response time, menu navigation
Model Number: VO400E
"I unexpectedly needed to replace an ancient JVC television that died after many years of reliable service. I found this VIZIO at our local Costco for an exceptional price that fit well within the budget. It was very simple to set up and all my existing components connected easily, including the equally ancient JVC VCR and the brand new ROKU XR box for streaming Netflix and other services. The TV has very good sound/projection that is much appreciated because it is used in studio environment where there are other noise sources, and this TV can be heard over that chaos without turning the volume way up.
The response time from turning it on to viewing a program is kinda long, but once the picture is there - WOW what a great picture! My only real con on this TV is that the menu for finding things like the sleep timer or the picture size is not intuitive and takes (IMHO) too many click throughs.
This is a great basic TV, it doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles - or the price point that comes along with it. It doesn't have screen-in-screen, a wake-up timer or a universal remote. If you need any of these features, you might want to look into a different brand/model.
Note for programming Universal Remotes to use with this TV -- I found an online entry that suggested trying the generic LG codes listed for your UR and this worked for me."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Boston, MA
Date:January 23, 2010

Excellent value

Model Number: VO400E
"Bought this a week ago. Incredibly easy set up. Wonderful picture especially on live sports and blu-ray.
Basic model no picture in picture"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Denver, Co.
Date:January 22, 2010

Highly Recomend this TV

Pros: contrast ratio & picture quality
Cons: remote is very basic only clock is on guide, access to sleep timer
Model Number: VO400E
"I actually came across this TV while I was at Costco to purchase the 32" SXVT series. They had this one on a display sale & the price was way too good to pass up. Glad I chose this one for size & quality of picture is FANTASTIC! While this one does not have PIP/POP(which I never use on my other LCD, so not a big deal for me) it has a very high quality picture. I have it connected to only regular cable, no HD Box, but I do get several HD channels & is wonderful. DVD's via HDMI is very nice, this will be the Movie TV from now on."
Review 9 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:January 15, 2010

Good Picture But ...

"Picture qualilty is wonderful. There is only 1 AV input vs. two in most comparable TV's. Also, the hook up for the cables and audio/vido wires is in the most awkward n thoughtless location. Very poor design consideration."
Review 10 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Miami
Date:January 7, 2010

Best Deal Out There

"As TV the image quality is incredible, blacks are black, colors are perfect. And as a computer monitor this is the best one there is. I got it at the local costco at a lower price. My other Vizio is the 37" (as good as this one, only smaller)."
Review 11 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:January 5, 2010

Best HD TV out there

Pros: turning it on
Cons: having to turn it off
Model Number: Zizio VO400E
"Bought the 37" Vizio @ Costco online on 11/29/09. After three weeks I still had no TV. Costco offered me the 40" Vizio VO400E at a fair price so I agreed. Good things come to those who wait! I wanted one of the Vizio VO models after reading the rave reviews for its price-point. I can't comprehend how magnificent this TV is. The sound is very impressive with the true HD - it is loud all by itself which seems to be a drop off with most HD flat panels in this price-point. Buy this TV and you will not be disappointed, add in the Costco extended warranty and it is a no-brainer! Vizio Rules!"
Review 12 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bridgewater, NJ
Date:December 31, 2009

Good TV

Model Number: Don't have it handy
"Wasn't going to buy a TV but we needed a new one for our bedroom, the price was incredible so I bought it. I heartily recommend this TV great picture right out of the box and easy to follow instructions for hooking it up. Neither my wife or I had ever heard of Vizio before but we wouldn't hesitate to buy another one. Can't beat the 3 year warranty when purchased with an AMEX card either."
Review 13 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Connecticut
Date:December 29, 2009

Great value

Pros: very good picture
Cons: none yet
Model Number: VO400E
"Bought this to go in our bedroom. Love it.
Very good picture. We use it with ATT Uverse
and it looks great.
I love the downward facing inputs since it fits closer to the wall, smart.
"
Review 14 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2009

Remote Control Failed after two days

Model Number: VO400E
"Two days after purchase, the remote control was unable to power on the television. Once the tv is on using the side-panel buttons on the tv itself, the remote was performing normally, including powering off the tv. But it is unable to power the tv back on. At one point the tv stopped responding completely to the tv. A web search revealed other vizio owners also complaining about the remote not functioning properly. The TV itself seems to be functional, but I am unsure whether the problem is with the remote control or with the TV's IR sensor."
Review 15 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Northern California
Date:December 21, 2009

Best value for full HD

Pros: works well as monitor and tv, warranty
Cons: no universal remote though it is not useful to me, connection sockes face down from the bottom
Model Number: VO400E
"Could have had a Sony Bravia that is in raincheck at another store for a similar price but chose this one. This has similar styling and connectivity as the Sony, but comes with 1 yr warranty from Vizio and extended to 2nd year by Costco and to the 3rd year by AMEX. Can't beat such warranty for this price, also my 32" vizio has been loyal to me for the past three years.
Use as TV as well as monitor with DVR in Windows Media Centers. As a monitor it provides crisp fonts which the 720P was lacking. With the TV it works great with Over The Air Antenna for HD, have no cable. Have no HDMI devices but my PC is connected through HDMI. Have not tested out the component input yet.
Sound is good though use my Amp thru optical output, hence don't really care.
On the downside
No universal remote, though it is not useful to me.
The connection sockets are facing down on the bottom instead of on the back facing out. This makes connecting a bit cumbersome, but that is a one time hastle I can live with for the price.
Overall quite please with the purchase.
"
Review 16 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alexandria, VA
Date:December 16, 2009

Very good value

Pros: set up was easy as pie
Cons: no picture in picture (from what i can tell)
"I disagree with anyone who says this TV isn't worth every penny. The picture is amazing and set-up was a piece of cake! The lack of picture-in-picture knocks it down to 4-stars...but maybe I just can't figure it out.
The TV is very light - the picture is chrystal clear - the sound quality is what you would expect from TV speakers. Overall - a solid B+ TV - an A+ value.
PRO: Easy set-up - awesome picture
CON: I can't get the Direct TV remote to turn off the set - it turns it on fine and controlls the volume fine...maybe it's just me.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Jose, CA
Date:December 15, 2009

Picture definitely inadequate

Model Number: VO400E
"This TV does not have auto adjustment as do most HDTVs now. There is a factory setting, and then all of the other settings, which there are many, have to be selected and set individually. Even after spending some time trying to redo the many, many setting, the quality of the picture was still blurry"
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for VIZIO 40" 1080P LCD HDTV
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Waltham, MA
Date:December 14, 2009

OK for the price

Pros: lightweight, enery consumption, sound quality, 2 years warranty through costco
Cons: standard definition picture quality
"We bought this TV for my GF as a christmas gift and I hooked it up to DirecTV standard def (480i) and the picture was not good. I guess this is not made to adjust for standard definition. I did see this TV in Costco connected to Bluray and it was pretty good.
The TV is very light for its size. One person could easily set it up. We did have to leave the box on the curb as it would not fit my car (honda accord). So be prepared to get a truck or minivan or something big enough to make it fit.
I do have a panasonic 46" plasma and I am leaning towards the plasma. I will hook up my PS3 to this TV and see what kind of performance I get and I will update this review soon
Happy with the costco TV buying experience. Why buy TV's elsewhere....costco has a good selection (not the best) and pricing that is very competitive."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.