Customer Reviews for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®

Bonus Value: Premium Pet Carpet Care Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.267 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
(out of 15 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
8 of 15(53%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Review 1 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago
Date:September 4, 2010

It's called SteamVac Pet

"I love this thing. I have a dog that has accidents from time to time, and we were getting a pretty nasty area on our carpet. Having attempted to do some home-made "steam-vac"-ing (with a wet-dry vac and a bucket of hot water--not recommended!) I'm most impressed with how dry it leaves the carpet. Barely damp to the touch right away, dry within an hour or two. So far I've used it on cheapo indoor-outdoor carpet, and a medium-pile area rug. Easy to use (read the directions) and quick dump/refill. Pulled an amazing amount of filth out of my carpets real quick. If you're looking to clean up after your pet (why else would you buy a steam-vac?) This thing is for you. I wouldn't expect it to take red wine out of a white shag, but for pet cleanup it's great. The brushes make a surprising difference.
Haven't tried the hand attachment yet.
Only had it for a day, so I can't speak to longevity, but the cost is comparable to a single visit from professional carpet cleaners (2 bdrm apt), so even if it falls apart on the second use it's still worth it.
The dirty water tank sometimes drips (a tiny bit) on the way to dumping it, so be careful.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Date:February 23, 2010

Big mistake

Pros: had good suction.
Cons: didn't clean carpet
"Fresh out of the box, this carpet cleaner would not dispense enough liquid to clean the carpet. We ran it for 30 minutes, and used only about an inch of liquid from the tank. We made numerous phone calls to Hoover, who told us the parts just needed to "loosen up" and most likely the second or third time we tried to clean our carpets, it would do better. By that time, the middle brush kept falling out. So we took it to a repair shop to see if perhaps we had not assembled it correctly. We expected that this product would live up to the Hoover's historical high standard. The repairman told us since Hoover was bought by Dirt Devil, their products are of very poor quality, and this carpet cleaner is full of cheap parts. Since we had thrown the box away, and started to use some of the cleaning products included, returning it was out of the question. The warranty covered the labor, but not the $29.95 to replace the brush that wouldn't stay in because the top was melted. This product does not meet Costco's usual high standards, and my expectation is that Costco will quit carrying it."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:February 22, 2010

Highly Recommend!!

Pros: effective
"I highly recommend this product. I purchased it last week. I have 4 dogs and a cat in my home.... most of which are in their senior years, so accidents are not uncommon. I own a Kirby vacuum, which I generally love, but the carpet cleaner functionality was just not effective enough. I had used the Kirby repeatedly on a couple of pet urine stains including one particularly large stain; each time the stain was fainter, but also was spreading, almost like it was just moving it around rather than cleaning it up. I used the Hoover Steam Vac this weekend on all my carpets. All my stains are now gone, including the one described above, and my carpets smell very fresh. I love the hand-held attachments that I used for cleaning cloth upholstery, my living room furniture, which gave the fabric a brighter look. This would also be great for stairs, or for just spot cleaning an accident. Some have commented that It is a loud machine, but no louder than the machines you can rent from home improvement stores. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Houston, TX
Date:February 23, 2010

OK for price but not a quality product

Pros: lightweight easy to assemble and use, seems to be cheaply built.
Model Number: F5918900
"I bought this about two weeks ago based on the positive reviews here. I was surprised to find that a lot of the parts are cheap plastic. I worry that the whole thing won't last long. In fact, one part came broken and I called Hoover to get a replacement sent.
Putting it together was easy and using it is easy as well. Did it work well? It was fair. Not all the dirt came out of my carpets but it did an ok job. I needed to refill the tank quite a few times though.
I also tried to clean my sofa. The handheld cleaning device is a bit weak and did not do a good job.
Overall, ok but I would spend a bit more and get a more well-made and powerful one.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Davis, CA
Date:March 19, 2010

Returned; wanted Hoover with Dual V and wide path

Cons: not dual v suction technology, narrow path
"There are too many SteamVac models on the market with subtle differences; I didn't realize until it arrived that this model doesn't have the essential features I want: Dual V and wide path. This particular model can be found elsewhere for less, but because it came bundled with special shampoos (thus making it a "pet" package), the pricing was closer to the better quality model. The Dual V suction extracts more water leaving your carpet dry on 1-2 hours. The wide path means less work. I found the model I wanted for only $20 more, and I would recommend it."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Rancho Mirage, CA
Date:March 22, 2010

Great carpet cleaner

Pros: great results, easy to operate
"The only reason I am withholding a 5th star is that I have only used it a few days, so do not have a sense of its durability. But, so far I am very impressed. First, the carpets are now as clean as I would expect from a professional cleaner, and only after 1 use. This is made even more impressive because these carpets had not been cleaned in over 5 years (embarrassing!). Secondly, the unit is easy to fill/clean. Lastly, the operation is as easy as I could have hoped for. Highly recommended!"
Review 7 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2010

Worked great!

Model Number: F5918900
"You need to follow the setup instructions I suspect that is why the others here are having issues with spills, etc.
Got rid of old stains on carpet in newly purchased house... as per instructions need to go slowly to get better results (this is not a typical vacuum). Did all of the carpet downstairs and it looks a good shade brighter than before. The tanks are small and thus have to be filled/emptied regularly but this is expected with a consumer product. Great product. Thanks Costco!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Fleming Island, FL
Date:February 11, 2010

great product/excellent value

Pros: easy to use with great results
Model Number: F5918-900
"It was easy to assemble and easy to use, and the results were excellent. I am obtaining quality carpet cleaning at a low price, as this cleaner is a great value. My only issue was that the electrical cord exits the cleaner down by the wheels and this made for some irritation as the cord would get in the way of the wheels. However I easily overcame that by looping the electrical cord through the handle and then to the electrical outlet. problem solved."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North Idaho
Date:February 18, 2010

Very Happy

Pros: ease of assembly, very thorough job, cleanup is easy
Model Number: F5918900
"The first cleaner I received was easy to assemble but the trigger that squirts the cleaner wouldn't work. A call to Costco revealed there was a malfunction in the machine. I returned the old one after I was sent a new one, and it works perfectly. This cleaner does a great job, is very easy to clean after using and was quite a good price. The customer service from Costco is excellent, as usual. I would definitely recommend this product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Marin County, CA
Date:August 9, 2010

A non-performer

Model Number: Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge® - Item# 487161
"I have previously owned Bissell Steam Cleaners and was told that Hoover was better made. At first I thought it was very good but the pet stains started coming back after a day or two which never happened with the other steam cleaner. We returned it and bought the Bissell Carpet Cleaner and the stains do not come back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kennewick, WA
Date:March 10, 2010

GREAT MACHINE - REALLY CLEANS

Pros: easy to use and clean
"I have purchased every carpet cleaner known to humankind (top of the line and other) and this unit beats them all! This SteamVac Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge took stains out that no others would---and in one use!! We love this machine and are so glad we bought it. Thanks Costco and Hoover!"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calabasas, CA
Date:February 8, 2010

Very Disappointed

Pros: like the rotating heads if only they worked
Cons: spray mechanism is made poorly, handheld attachments do not work well, overall poor construction
"I am extremely disappointed that Costco would carry an item manufactured so poorly. This Steam Cleaner is a disaster. The spray mechanism did not work in vaccum mode and required the hand attachment to spray the carpets. The hand cleaner did not spin. The "heater" is just hot air from the exhaust."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:UT
Date:April 8, 2010

Defective

"I imagine this would have been a good carpet cleaner had it been fully functioning. The cleaning solution would not dispense onto the floor... The solution dispensed in the hand-held upholstery attachment, but not where it really counted so I had to return it."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2010

broke within 2 years

"Only used it 5-6 times, and after 2-3 years it won't suck. Which sucks! haha. Seriously though, it was not good at old stains when it did work. The Spot-bot is though."
Review 15 for Hoover® SteamVac® Pet Complete Carpet Cleaner with Clean Surge®
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Kennewick WA
Date:January 1, 2010

Hoover Steam Vac

Pros: carpets look like new
"Just received it and used it once and my carpets look great."
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.