Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

Doubles the Range of your Wireless Network
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
52 of 65(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Review 1 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:November 19, 2010

What We Needed

Pros: great tech support
Model Number: 300-N
"The Hawkins Extender did just what we wanted--strong signals throughout the house and porch. Easy to install. The company gave me excellent support on configuring Windows XP to give easy access on my laptop."
Review 2 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA.
Date:November 11, 2010

Great product

Model Number: HWREN1 300N
"The 300N works as advertised and greatly extended range to a room that had 5 walls between pc and wireless router. Placed it where it has (almost) line of sight to both. Five bars, no drops, great speed. If your cable modem or router has drops, make sure you set the router and 300N to a fixed channel 11, then the 300N always comes up when the modem/router does...."
Review 3 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 7, 2010

Died after 3 months of use

Pros: worked for a time and when it worked it worked ok
Cons: not made very well. did not last, made with cheap materials
"It worked great initially but then suddenly died. Tried everything to get it back up working but it would no longer give me a signal. Ended up taking it back. This is a great idea but the product is not very sturdy. I would not buy another Hawking product."
Review 4 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

As advertised

Pros: easy to set up.
Cons: could not connect to newer router
"Quick set up but had to connect it to my old g router."
Review 5 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:November 3, 2010

Very effective product

Model Number: Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
"Instructions are clear.
CD-based installation wizzard works well.
My install was on a Windows XP and worked
The name of the 'extended' network is different; it is a new, Hawking-based name.
"
Review 6 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010

Works great...after manual setup

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: had to call customer service
"I took one star off b/c I had to call the service center to have it manually configured. To my surprise the service center actually helped...I was shocked. After they took me through manually setup the product worked great."
Review 7 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:September 23, 2010

Good but...

Model Number: 300 N
"Easy to follow directions for set up, took 20 min out of box.
Would be perfect to extend range to a fixed computor.
However, I wanted to use my wi-fi Touch all around the house. The Hawking range extender gets its own IP adderss. This means that I have to switch back and forth from the base to the Hawking extender as I move around the house.
"
Review 8 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverlake WA
Date:September 18, 2010

Awesome Product

Pros: works as expected, easy installation, clean web interface for configuration
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking HWREN1
"I purchased 2 of these Range Extenders because I have tried other products and they have not worked as expected. The installation was easy and the results are amazing. I have used them in a couple of environments without issue. A couple of things I really like are as follows.
1. I connected one to my existing home router via wireless which extended my signal of course then I took the second one and connected it to the first one wirelessly and extended it even further. It wasn't clear in the documentation if that would work but it did.
2. Radius server built in so you can control access to your network beyond basic encryption.
3. There is a single Ethernet port on the back of the unit primarily for configuration but I thought I would see if I could plug in a wired device once the network was configured and see if it would talk. It talks and it works perfect if you need to get a wired device on the network where it is difficult or impossible to run wire. I haven't tried plugging in a hub/switch to it to see if it will support multiple wired devices however I suspect it will work like that was as well. And then of course Costco is great too!
I'm a computer / network consultant and I'm sure I will be recommending this product to many of my clients, existing and future!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:September 17, 2010

Incompatible w/ ATT 2WIRE 2701HG-B

Model Number: HWREN1
"Was told by Hawking customer support that this model (HWREN1) is NOT compatible with my ATT 2Wire modem/router. Was told to get the HWREN2. I don't know if Costco carries it. Will return back to the store."
Review 10 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whidbey Island, WA
Date:September 17, 2010

Delighted !

"Delighted with this product. My son who has his room in a separate building with metal siding, 100' from the main house, is able to connect to the Internet now, saving him many trips to the house."
Review 11 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 14, 2010

Quick and Easy Setup

"Setup was surprisingly quick and easy. Product works great!"
Review 12 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Riding, VA
Date:September 13, 2010

Works Great

Pros: easy to install!, works great!
Cons: none
"I'm a techie, though not that strong in network administration. I followed the instructions and the setup CD. Best solution in the beginning for me was to plug the range extender and the laptop both directly into the router for the setup process. Didn't work trying to connect the device on the LAN. Had to be on the router directly for the software to locate the device. Other than that, it took me about 30 minutes maybe. PC is 2 floors away from router. Range Extender is in the middle level. My old PC with the wireless card installed in the back used to get about 11 mbps. Sometimes it couldn't load a web page in 20 minutes and it would often lose the connection altogether. Really sad!!! After I hooked up the range extender, it went to 4 out of 5 bars and is running at about 36-48 mbps. Makes a tremendous difference. Well worth the $$!!!!"
Review 13 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:green valley az
Date:September 9, 2010

Better than Lynksys

Pros: quick response easy setup
Cons: i had to throw away my old lynksys range extender
Model Number: 300n
"I replaced my lynksys range extender with this one. The Hawking range extender is much more powerful. I receive signals as if I were in the same room with my Lynksys wireless router. It was simple to install and is very responsive."
Review 14 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arkansas
Date:September 8, 2010

Reviews really helped me buy this

Model Number: 300N
"We haven't been able to get on the internet at one end of our house or on the adjacent patio. I came across this product, investigated, read the reviews & realized that I had about a 75% chance of being one whose installation goes as expected.
WHOOPEE!!! It works great, installation was no problem with Google's help locating my WEP key. That's my tip. Everything else you'll need to know is already in other reviews. I haven't tested the limits yet but it's great where we didn't have coverage before.
"
Review 15 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Detroit Area, MI
Date:September 7, 2010

Great Purchase

"Had a very poor signal on one side of the house and regularly lost my connection to the router.
I bought this Hawking range extender, installed it in under 10 minutes and my whole house signal is now 80% or better.
I recommended it highly.
"
Review 16 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny Tucson, AZ
Date:September 5, 2010

Works like a champ

Pros: my 2nd hawking's product and they both work great.
Model Number: Hawking Wireless-300N
"If it took me longer than 10 minutes it's because my lips moved as I read the instructions. I followed them by the numbers and not one hiccup. I have a Linksys G router, a 14 year old laptop using a D-link DWL-G650 PCMCIA card. After it was up & running I tried different locations each time unplugging it. It never failed to come up. I shut my router off every night & each morning it finds my router an sync's in."
Review 17 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa,CA
Date:September 1, 2010

REALLY DOES A GREAT JOB

Model Number: HWREN1
"Very happy with the Hawking Range Extender. Had a bit of trouble setting up but worth the time. We have doubled our range and still show all 5 bars ."
Review 18 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Royal Oak, MI
Date:August 24, 2010

fantastic out of the box

"Given the mixed reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect. It turned out to be easy to set up with my Belkin N+ router. Everything was up and running within 10 minutes. I can now use my laptop in the backyard with no problems while my router is in my basement."
Review 19 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 24, 2010

DIDN'T WORK FOR ME

Pros: costco's return policy
"We tried to upgrade our signal to the other side of our home. It seemed simple enough, but when we installed the software it seemed to have a strong signal if we were right next to it. If we moved away from the repeater it failed to send the signal more than 10 feet.We returned it."
Review 20 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010

Really does work as advertised!

"This item boosted the signal from my wireless router from 2-3 bars to a solid 5 bars into a stand-alone garage building ... very impressive!"
1 2 3 4 next>>