Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

Doubles the Range of your Wireless Network
Average Customer Rating:
4.079 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
(out of 63 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
50 of 63(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Review 1 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Very happy

"Our router and wireless are located in one end of the house and receiving the signal on the other end was almost impossible. Purchased the Hawking, installing was easy and now we have five bar signal all through our home. We highly recommend this product."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN area
Date:June 16, 2010

Excellent product!

Model Number: 300-N Range Extender by Hawking
"I ordered the Hawking Range Extender Monday night and received it Wednesday, first of all! The whole experience from ordering to receipt was excellent. No better customer service out there! Thank you!
Now for this product: I am SO pleased! I have had a terrible time with my router being able to reach all areas of my home and had given up, when I decided, upon advice from my brother, who is an expert on computers, and who recommended this range extender to me, to purchase it from Costco.com.
I hooked it up today and now my signal problems are a thing of the past! My signal strength is VERY STRONG and I am very pleased. My only regret is that I waited so long to make this purchase. Perfect solution for anyone who has signal strength problems because of distance and walls etc. The price is also great! I've shopped around a lot for this kind of product and Costco.com beat everyone else's price by far and delivered it quickly right to my door!
"
Review 3 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 13, 2010

Technical review of 300-N Range Extender

Pros: best range & technical support of any unit found.
Cons: none found
Model Number: 300 N Range Extender HWREN1
"This is the most powerful and easy to install range extender with excellent technical support I have found! The box contains range extender, 2 antennas, A.C. power adapter, Ethernet cable, setup CD, quick install guide, and mounting screws. Installation is very easy - plug the A.C. power adapter into the range extender and plug it into an A.C. outlet, plug one end of the supplied Ethernet cable into the range extender and the other end into your router, put the CD in your CD player and run the software. The software will ask you for some basic information but is very straight forward. Unplug the Ethernet cable and move the range extender to its new location. The only problem I ran into was that my security protocols were not detected properly (unknown reason but very common in the industry) - I called technical support, they answered very quickly, they were very knowledgeable in diagnosing and resolving the problem quickly. The instructions they gave were very easy even for someone who has no computer knowledge. The range of the extender is excellent it went from 2 bars to 5. Note 1: Range extender installed using a desktop with XP and a Linksys router. Tested on a desktop with a Dlink USB WI-FI adapter with XP and on a laptop using VISTA. Note 2: The unit is very light weight I do not consider this a negative as it is the quality not the weight that counts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:December 4, 2009

Works excellent

Pros: easy setup, great coverage
Cons: seems cheaply made but works!
"I bought this extender a few days back because I have have a 3 level home. I have my wireless router on the top floor so the 2nd floor is spotty and the 1st floor has no reception. I installed this new extender in a snap and now I have 5 full bars on the 2nd floor and 4 bars on the 1st. Such an improvement. if you have a large home, tri-level home, or spotty coverage, I would try this product. I got it shipped right away and received it in a few days from So. Cal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Chicago, IL
Date:August 11, 2010

Great product

Model Number: 300N
"Don't believe the other bad reviews for this excellent product. I have been an IT network admin for the past 20 years and this product delivers. This is a GREAT product to extend the signal of your existing wireless router. You place this extender at the weak end of your wireless router and it repeats the signal throughout your house. Prior to this product I couldn't get a signal on my 1st floor or basement. I could only get a signal near my existing wireless router. I have an 8500 square foot house and this extender gives me a signal all over my 2nd floor, 1st floor, basement, and my surrounding yard.
It works great with any existing firewall. The easiest way to connect this to your present network is to wire it in to your router using Ethernet, manually set up the settings and then place it wirelessly near the weakest point in your present wireless network. Great product!
"
Review 6 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverlake WA
Date:September 18, 2010

Awesome Product

Pros: works as expected, easy installation, clean web interface for configuration
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking HWREN1
"I purchased 2 of these Range Extenders because I have tried other products and they have not worked as expected. The installation was easy and the results are amazing. I have used them in a couple of environments without issue. A couple of things I really like are as follows.
1. I connected one to my existing home router via wireless which extended my signal of course then I took the second one and connected it to the first one wirelessly and extended it even further. It wasn't clear in the documentation if that would work but it did.
2. Radius server built in so you can control access to your network beyond basic encryption.
3. There is a single Ethernet port on the back of the unit primarily for configuration but I thought I would see if I could plug in a wired device once the network was configured and see if it would talk. It talks and it works perfect if you need to get a wired device on the network where it is difficult or impossible to run wire. I haven't tried plugging in a hub/switch to it to see if it will support multiple wired devices however I suspect it will work like that was as well. And then of course Costco is great too!
I'm a computer / network consultant and I'm sure I will be recommending this product to many of my clients, existing and future!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 4, 2009

Works like a champ!

Pros: easy to setup, works amazingly well, no more wireless dead spots in my home
Model Number: HWREN1
"I was not able to get wireless service in all parts of my home. I added this range extender and now I get a good, strong signal everywhere. Setup was a breeze. I highly recommend this range extender."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Riding, VA
Date:September 13, 2010

Works Great

Pros: easy to install!, works great!
Cons: none
"I'm a techie, though not that strong in network administration. I followed the instructions and the setup CD. Best solution in the beginning for me was to plug the range extender and the laptop both directly into the router for the setup process. Didn't work trying to connect the device on the LAN. Had to be on the router directly for the software to locate the device. Other than that, it took me about 30 minutes maybe. PC is 2 floors away from router. Range Extender is in the middle level. My old PC with the wireless card installed in the back used to get about 11 mbps. Sometimes it couldn't load a web page in 20 minutes and it would often lose the connection altogether. Really sad!!! After I hooked up the range extender, it went to 4 out of 5 bars and is running at about 36-48 mbps. Makes a tremendous difference. Well worth the $$!!!!"
Review 9 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland Park, IL
Date:February 4, 2010

Problem solved...finally

Pros: it works flawlessly., you will get the maximum wireless signal.
Cons: absolutely no cons.
Model Number: HWREN1
"About 3 years ago I installed a computer for my wife at the other end of the house. I installed a Linksys wireless G adapter on her deskstop. That's 90+ feet away from the Linksys G router in my study. More often than not, she didn't get a signal, and when she did it was very weak. She never complained, so I only heard about it when one of my sons would get on her computer. My IT guy told me to try installing some large rabbit ear extenders on the router. I didn't hear complaints, so I thought all was well. Well, that barely improved matters. I started thinking I'd have to pay someone to get into the crawl space and hardwire her computer. But first I wanted to install an N router. Research on the internet said that its range would be much better than that of a G. I saw other research that said not to count on that, but I thought I'd try anyway. So, I bought a new Linksys N router, and installed a new wireless N adapter. That did nothing. So, I'm down to one last option before I hardwire, and that's this Hawking range extender. Well, thank you Hawking...problem solved. This thing rocks. Her computer gets the maximum signal at all times now. My son's computer at the other end of the house on the second floor also gets a perfect signal now as compared to the spotty prior coverage. If you have any signal problems whatsoever, don't hesitate to buy this extender. It works as promised. I highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:May 21, 2010

Dont Waste your money

Model Number: HWREN1
"I have tried this product twice with 2 different routers. After spending hours on the phone with a barely understandable support rep, you then get transferred to the Next level guy who is the most pompous obnoxious tech guy that I have ever spoken to. I am pretty tech savy and this guy is truly enamored with his geekhood. Needless to say, the product is "incompatable" with my linksys router. Its also "incompatable" with my 2wire Att modem. My recommendation would be, if it doesnt work right away after the simple set up, take it back and try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 21, 2010

Answer to My Problem

Pros: easy to install, portable
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking 300-N
"I have tried everything to improve my WiFi signal in my long house. I have purchased multiple wireless routers, made antennas with aluminum foil, re-programmed routers to be repeaters, etc. Read reviews of this product a long time ago, but not impressed. They improved installation process. Bought from Costco, Got it out of the box and within 15 minutes my problems were solved. Excellent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:December 26, 2009

Performs as advertised

Pros: works flawlessly and excellent tech support.
Cons: not really plug and play.
Model Number: Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N Range Extender
"Please understand that the following comments are coming from someone with limited computer hardware/software knowledge. Although not exactly plug and play (I had to call tech support to get it working with my Linksys wireless router), once I got it set up, the WiFi connection throughout my home worked flawlessly. Tech support (by telephone) was extremely helpful, patient and accessible (i.e., I did not have to navigate through an endless voice mail system), although in a few limited instances, I had difficulty understanding the technician's English. My PS3, which has built in WiFi, was able to connect to the internet flawlessly thanks to this product, whereas before, it's internet connectivity was spotty at best."
Review 13 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:OR
Date:June 20, 2010

Time waster

Model Number: HWREN1
"I bought the Hawking Wireless Range Extender last week. I went through the quick install guide and got to the end where it says to save settings and reboots the range extender and it gives me a msgbox that says "No response. Please try again!"
I tried going directly to the range extender with the IP address 192.168.1.240 and get a can't display page error message. I tried many other things, changing the IP address and nothing worked. I tried resetting it to no avail. Actually, it reset 1 time after many attempts and could never get it to reset again. Support tells you to hold the button for 30 seconds, not 10 seconds like the instructions say, but it didn't matter if I held it for 10 or 2 minutes. It just wouldn't reset.
Support had me try many different things and nothing worked. The support is in India and difficult to understand. She really didn't listen to much of what I told her.
All in all, a waste of money and a huge waste of time. I read reviews of easy setup and works great, but no such luck for me. They suggested I bring the unit back to Costco and exchange it. That's not happening. I'm getting a refund as I had enough frustration trying to get this thing to work.
Good luck to anyone else buying this unit. I hope it works better for you than it did for me."
Review 14 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:June 3, 2010

Worked well here

Model Number: 300N Range Extender
"Using with Netgear WNR834B router.
Pretty comfortable with set ups like these, but when I had troubles I decided to call Hawking be down with it. Glad I did, as they recommended setting that just aren't printed anywhere. Yes, the customer service rep was hard to understand, but she found the answers I needed fairly quick. End result -- Now have excellent signal with Ipod and netbook on back porch and deck. Bottom line – Use Hawking customer services. That’s what they are there for, and they may save you time and frustration in the end.
"
Review 15 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Arkansas
Date:September 8, 2010

Reviews really helped me buy this

Model Number: 300N
"We haven't been able to get on the internet at one end of our house or on the adjacent patio. I came across this product, investigated, read the reviews & realized that I had about a 75% chance of being one whose installation goes as expected.
WHOOPEE!!! It works great, installation was no problem with Google's help locating my WEP key. That's my tip. Everything else you'll need to know is already in other reviews. I haven't tested the limits yet but it's great where we didn't have coverage before.
"
Review 16 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 7, 2010

worst experience ever to install

Cons: add a con
Model Number: Hawkins Extender 300N
"I have Verizon FIOS internet hookup, and needed to obtain stronger signal for laptop in other area of house. I spent about six hours attempting to install, talked repeatedly to Verizon and Hawking tech service, back and forth, and finally a tech from India representing Hawkins said I had defective product. I ordered the same product again, and had a similar experience spending an additional 3 hours. Thank God for Costco return policies. Don't waste your time on this product!"
Review 17 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:June 8, 2010

Lightning Fast Setup!

Pros: easy set up, actually works
Model Number: HWREN1
"Costco delivered this item 4 days after I ordered it. If not for the weekend, I probably would have got it in 2 days. The range extender was easy and quick to setup. It took me literally less than 10 min to get this going. I connected this to a Netgear dual-band wireless N router. I initally got another WAP from Netgear, but the setup was a nightmare. If you are looking for an extender that will not break your bank account, buy this and you'll be happy. I know I am!"
Review 18 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 29, 2010

Product works great

Pros: works great
Cons: could give better instructions
Model Number: Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
"I bought this as my router is at one end of the house, and I needed internet access at the other end. The instructions were not the best, but i called the 800 number and they were very polite and helped me get it set up in no time. He did tell me that if my existing router channel changed it would disconnect the extender, which after 3 days it did. I then had to go to my router and change the channel and make fixed. It has now been working without any interuption."
Review 19 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Northern Virginia
Date:July 29, 2010

Don't Waste Your Money

Cons: add a con
"I had a heck of a time connecting this Range Extender to my Wi-Fi and was only able to do it after restricting the connection to the g specification (couldn't get it to work with the n specification on my Wi-Fi). Even after connecting, it barely extends the Wi-Fi coverage and the connections is considerably slower than when connecting directly to the Wi-Fi router. There has got to be a better product out there..."
Review 20 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny Tucson, AZ
Date:September 5, 2010

Works like a champ

Pros: my 2nd hawking's product and they both work great.
Model Number: Hawking Wireless-300N
"If it took me longer than 10 minutes it's because my lips moved as I read the instructions. I followed them by the numbers and not one hiccup. I have a Linksys G router, a 14 year old laptop using a D-link DWL-G650 PCMCIA card. After it was up & running I tried different locations each time unplugging it. It never failed to come up. I shut my router off every night & each morning it finds my router an sync's in."
1 2 3 4 next>>