Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

Doubles the Range of your Wireless Network
Average Customer Rating:
4.079 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
(out of 63 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
50 of 63(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Review 1 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Very happy

"Our router and wireless are located in one end of the house and receiving the signal on the other end was almost impossible. Purchased the Hawking, installing was easy and now we have five bar signal all through our home. We highly recommend this product."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 4, 2009

Works like a champ!

Pros: easy to setup, works amazingly well, no more wireless dead spots in my home
Model Number: HWREN1
"I was not able to get wireless service in all parts of my home. I added this range extender and now I get a good, strong signal everywhere. Setup was a breeze. I highly recommend this range extender."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 13, 2010

Technical review of 300-N Range Extender

Pros: best range & technical support of any unit found.
Cons: none found
Model Number: 300 N Range Extender HWREN1
"This is the most powerful and easy to install range extender with excellent technical support I have found! The box contains range extender, 2 antennas, A.C. power adapter, Ethernet cable, setup CD, quick install guide, and mounting screws. Installation is very easy - plug the A.C. power adapter into the range extender and plug it into an A.C. outlet, plug one end of the supplied Ethernet cable into the range extender and the other end into your router, put the CD in your CD player and run the software. The software will ask you for some basic information but is very straight forward. Unplug the Ethernet cable and move the range extender to its new location. The only problem I ran into was that my security protocols were not detected properly (unknown reason but very common in the industry) - I called technical support, they answered very quickly, they were very knowledgeable in diagnosing and resolving the problem quickly. The instructions they gave were very easy even for someone who has no computer knowledge. The range of the extender is excellent it went from 2 bars to 5. Note 1: Range extender installed using a desktop with XP and a Linksys router. Tested on a desktop with a Dlink USB WI-FI adapter with XP and on a laptop using VISTA. Note 2: The unit is very light weight I do not consider this a negative as it is the quality not the weight that counts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:December 4, 2009

Works excellent

Pros: easy setup, great coverage
Cons: seems cheaply made but works!
"I bought this extender a few days back because I have have a 3 level home. I have my wireless router on the top floor so the 2nd floor is spotty and the 1st floor has no reception. I installed this new extender in a snap and now I have 5 full bars on the 2nd floor and 4 bars on the 1st. Such an improvement. if you have a large home, tri-level home, or spotty coverage, I would try this product. I got it shipped right away and received it in a few days from So. Cal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:May 21, 2010

Dont Waste your money

Model Number: HWREN1
"I have tried this product twice with 2 different routers. After spending hours on the phone with a barely understandable support rep, you then get transferred to the Next level guy who is the most pompous obnoxious tech guy that I have ever spoken to. I am pretty tech savy and this guy is truly enamored with his geekhood. Needless to say, the product is "incompatable" with my linksys router. Its also "incompatable" with my 2wire Att modem. My recommendation would be, if it doesnt work right away after the simple set up, take it back and try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 21, 2010

Answer to My Problem

Pros: easy to install, portable
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking 300-N
"I have tried everything to improve my WiFi signal in my long house. I have purchased multiple wireless routers, made antennas with aluminum foil, re-programmed routers to be repeaters, etc. Read reviews of this product a long time ago, but not impressed. They improved installation process. Bought from Costco, Got it out of the box and within 15 minutes my problems were solved. Excellent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland Park, IL
Date:February 4, 2010

Problem solved...finally

Pros: it works flawlessly., you will get the maximum wireless signal.
Cons: absolutely no cons.
Model Number: HWREN1
"About 3 years ago I installed a computer for my wife at the other end of the house. I installed a Linksys wireless G adapter on her deskstop. That's 90+ feet away from the Linksys G router in my study. More often than not, she didn't get a signal, and when she did it was very weak. She never complained, so I only heard about it when one of my sons would get on her computer. My IT guy told me to try installing some large rabbit ear extenders on the router. I didn't hear complaints, so I thought all was well. Well, that barely improved matters. I started thinking I'd have to pay someone to get into the crawl space and hardwire her computer. But first I wanted to install an N router. Research on the internet said that its range would be much better than that of a G. I saw other research that said not to count on that, but I thought I'd try anyway. So, I bought a new Linksys N router, and installed a new wireless N adapter. That did nothing. So, I'm down to one last option before I hardwire, and that's this Hawking range extender. Well, thank you Hawking...problem solved. This thing rocks. Her computer gets the maximum signal at all times now. My son's computer at the other end of the house on the second floor also gets a perfect signal now as compared to the spotty prior coverage. If you have any signal problems whatsoever, don't hesitate to buy this extender. It works as promised. I highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverlake WA
Date:September 18, 2010

Awesome Product

Pros: works as expected, easy installation, clean web interface for configuration
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking HWREN1
"I purchased 2 of these Range Extenders because I have tried other products and they have not worked as expected. The installation was easy and the results are amazing. I have used them in a couple of environments without issue. A couple of things I really like are as follows.
1. I connected one to my existing home router via wireless which extended my signal of course then I took the second one and connected it to the first one wirelessly and extended it even further. It wasn't clear in the documentation if that would work but it did.
2. Radius server built in so you can control access to your network beyond basic encryption.
3. There is a single Ethernet port on the back of the unit primarily for configuration but I thought I would see if I could plug in a wired device once the network was configured and see if it would talk. It talks and it works perfect if you need to get a wired device on the network where it is difficult or impossible to run wire. I haven't tried plugging in a hub/switch to it to see if it will support multiple wired devices however I suspect it will work like that was as well. And then of course Costco is great too!
I'm a computer / network consultant and I'm sure I will be recommending this product to many of my clients, existing and future!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 5, 2010

DOESN'T WORK WITH FIREWALL

"This doesn't work with firewall - all security has to be disabled in order for this signal extender to work. Poor design."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Date:June 3, 2010

Worked well here

Model Number: 300N Range Extender
"Using with Netgear WNR834B router.
Pretty comfortable with set ups like these, but when I had troubles I decided to call Hawking be down with it. Glad I did, as they recommended setting that just aren't printed anywhere. Yes, the customer service rep was hard to understand, but she found the answers I needed fairly quick. End result -- Now have excellent signal with Ipod and netbook on back porch and deck. Bottom line – Use Hawking customer services. That’s what they are there for, and they may save you time and frustration in the end.
"
Review 11 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Round Rock, TX
Date:June 7, 2010

Completely Satisfied

"I have a Linksys Router and instaling the Hawking Range Extender was one of the easiest computer tasks I've ever done! I followed the "very easy to read" instructions, plugged it in and it worked! I am very happy and I went from 2 bars to 5 on my machine. Love it!"
Review 12 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:winston salem, NC
Date:November 30, 2009

great product

"I highly recommend this for extending the range of your system. I tried the netgear plug in system, which did no good. But this little beauty can be installed by your grandmother and works instantly. Just make sure you have a good signal on your laptop prior to settlingit in place. GREAT price here too!"
Review 13 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Bethesda, MD
Date:December 26, 2009

Performs as advertised

Pros: works flawlessly and excellent tech support.
Cons: not really plug and play.
Model Number: Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N Range Extender
"Please understand that the following comments are coming from someone with limited computer hardware/software knowledge. Although not exactly plug and play (I had to call tech support to get it working with my Linksys wireless router), once I got it set up, the WiFi connection throughout my home worked flawlessly. Tech support (by telephone) was extremely helpful, patient and accessible (i.e., I did not have to navigate through an endless voice mail system), although in a few limited instances, I had difficulty understanding the technician's English. My PS3, which has built in WiFi, was able to connect to the internet flawlessly thanks to this product, whereas before, it's internet connectivity was spotty at best."
Review 14 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nashville, TN area
Date:June 16, 2010

Excellent product!

Model Number: 300-N Range Extender by Hawking
"I ordered the Hawking Range Extender Monday night and received it Wednesday, first of all! The whole experience from ordering to receipt was excellent. No better customer service out there! Thank you!
Now for this product: I am SO pleased! I have had a terrible time with my router being able to reach all areas of my home and had given up, when I decided, upon advice from my brother, who is an expert on computers, and who recommended this range extender to me, to purchase it from Costco.com.
I hooked it up today and now my signal problems are a thing of the past! My signal strength is VERY STRONG and I am very pleased. My only regret is that I waited so long to make this purchase. Perfect solution for anyone who has signal strength problems because of distance and walls etc. The price is also great! I've shopped around a lot for this kind of product and Costco.com beat everyone else's price by far and delivered it quickly right to my door!
"
Review 15 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Auburn, WA
Date:June 17, 2010

quick and easy

Model Number: HWREN1
"Setup was painless. 10 minutes max. Hardest part was determining where to put it. Instructions were clear and concise. Everything needed was in the box. Immediate improvement in home wireless network. No more disconnects and weak signals. I have Linksys router and wireless. All areas of home now have wireless access."
Review 16 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Springfield, Va
Date:August 7, 2010

The Range Extender That Didn't

Model Number: Wireless-300N
"I bought this range extender to help the range of my router downstairs and my sons Xbox in his room upstairs. There is only a distance of about 20' and the ceiling between them. I read all the reviews and thought it would be the answer, WRONG. It didn't help at all and I returned to Costco 2 day's later."
Review 17 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlington, VT
Date:February 13, 2010

So far ........So good!!!!!

Pros: easy setup relatively small device
Model Number: HWREN1
"This was so easy to setup, and works great. My weak signal in one room, is now great everywhere throughout my home. With all the wireless devices able to connect to it now.....laptops, ipods and the Wii. Best investment for my home network without trying to upgrade everything to Wireless N."
Review 18 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2010

Really does work as advertised!

"This item boosted the signal from my wireless router from 2-3 bars to a solid 5 bars into a stand-alone garage building ... very impressive!"
Review 19 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Ramon,CA
Date:March 15, 2010

Excellent Product So far

Model Number: Hi-gain Wireless-300N Range Extender
"I had a very hard time to get connected with my kids computers located far end of the house. BUT with this product signal strength was excellent,"
Review 20 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Sunny Tucson, AZ
Date:September 5, 2010

Works like a champ

Pros: my 2nd hawking's product and they both work great.
Model Number: Hawking Wireless-300N
"If it took me longer than 10 minutes it's because my lips moved as I read the instructions. I followed them by the numbers and not one hiccup. I have a Linksys G router, a 14 year old laptop using a D-link DWL-G650 PCMCIA card. After it was up & running I tried different locations each time unplugging it. It never failed to come up. I shut my router off every night & each morning it finds my router an sync's in."
1 2 3 4 next>>