Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N

Doubles the Range of your Wireless Network
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
(out of 65 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
12
52 of 65(80%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Review 1 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

Very happy

"Our router and wireless are located in one end of the house and receiving the signal on the other end was almost impossible. Purchased the Hawking, installing was easy and now we have five bar signal all through our home. We highly recommend this product."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:California
Date:May 13, 2010

Technical review of 300-N Range Extender

Pros: best range & technical support of any unit found.
Cons: none found
Model Number: 300 N Range Extender HWREN1
"This is the most powerful and easy to install range extender with excellent technical support I have found! The box contains range extender, 2 antennas, A.C. power adapter, Ethernet cable, setup CD, quick install guide, and mounting screws. Installation is very easy - plug the A.C. power adapter into the range extender and plug it into an A.C. outlet, plug one end of the supplied Ethernet cable into the range extender and the other end into your router, put the CD in your CD player and run the software. The software will ask you for some basic information but is very straight forward. Unplug the Ethernet cable and move the range extender to its new location. The only problem I ran into was that my security protocols were not detected properly (unknown reason but very common in the industry) - I called technical support, they answered very quickly, they were very knowledgeable in diagnosing and resolving the problem quickly. The instructions they gave were very easy even for someone who has no computer knowledge. The range of the extender is excellent it went from 2 bars to 5. Note 1: Range extender installed using a desktop with XP and a Linksys router. Tested on a desktop with a Dlink USB WI-FI adapter with XP and on a laptop using VISTA. Note 2: The unit is very light weight I do not consider this a negative as it is the quality not the weight that counts."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:December 4, 2009

Works like a champ!

Pros: easy to setup, works amazingly well, no more wireless dead spots in my home
Model Number: HWREN1
"I was not able to get wireless service in all parts of my home. I added this range extender and now I get a good, strong signal everywhere. Setup was a breeze. I highly recommend this range extender."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:San Diego
Date:December 4, 2009

Works excellent

Pros: easy setup, great coverage
Cons: seems cheaply made but works!
"I bought this extender a few days back because I have have a 3 level home. I have my wireless router on the top floor so the 2nd floor is spotty and the 1st floor has no reception. I installed this new extender in a snap and now I have 5 full bars on the 2nd floor and 4 bars on the 1st. Such an improvement. if you have a large home, tri-level home, or spotty coverage, I would try this product. I got it shipped right away and received it in a few days from So. Cal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Silverlake WA
Date:September 18, 2010

Awesome Product

Pros: works as expected, easy installation, clean web interface for configuration
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking HWREN1
"I purchased 2 of these Range Extenders because I have tried other products and they have not worked as expected. The installation was easy and the results are amazing. I have used them in a couple of environments without issue. A couple of things I really like are as follows.
1. I connected one to my existing home router via wireless which extended my signal of course then I took the second one and connected it to the first one wirelessly and extended it even further. It wasn't clear in the documentation if that would work but it did.
2. Radius server built in so you can control access to your network beyond basic encryption.
3. There is a single Ethernet port on the back of the unit primarily for configuration but I thought I would see if I could plug in a wired device once the network was configured and see if it would talk. It talks and it works perfect if you need to get a wired device on the network where it is difficult or impossible to run wire. I haven't tried plugging in a hub/switch to it to see if it will support multiple wired devices however I suspect it will work like that was as well. And then of course Costco is great too!
I'm a computer / network consultant and I'm sure I will be recommending this product to many of my clients, existing and future!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tucson, AZ
Date:June 21, 2010

Answer to My Problem

Pros: easy to install, portable
Cons: none
Model Number: Hawking 300-N
"I have tried everything to improve my WiFi signal in my long house. I have purchased multiple wireless routers, made antennas with aluminum foil, re-programmed routers to be repeaters, etc. Read reviews of this product a long time ago, but not impressed. They improved installation process. Bought from Costco, Got it out of the box and within 15 minutes my problems were solved. Excellent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Atlanta GA
Date:May 21, 2010

Dont Waste your money

Model Number: HWREN1
"I have tried this product twice with 2 different routers. After spending hours on the phone with a barely understandable support rep, you then get transferred to the Next level guy who is the most pompous obnoxious tech guy that I have ever spoken to. I am pretty tech savy and this guy is truly enamored with his geekhood. Needless to say, the product is "incompatable" with my linksys router. Its also "incompatable" with my 2wire Att modem. My recommendation would be, if it doesnt work right away after the simple set up, take it back and try something else."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orland Park, IL
Date:February 4, 2010

Problem solved...finally

Pros: it works flawlessly., you will get the maximum wireless signal.
Cons: absolutely no cons.
Model Number: HWREN1
"About 3 years ago I installed a computer for my wife at the other end of the house. I installed a Linksys wireless G adapter on her deskstop. That's 90+ feet away from the Linksys G router in my study. More often than not, she didn't get a signal, and when she did it was very weak. She never complained, so I only heard about it when one of my sons would get on her computer. My IT guy told me to try installing some large rabbit ear extenders on the router. I didn't hear complaints, so I thought all was well. Well, that barely improved matters. I started thinking I'd have to pay someone to get into the crawl space and hardwire her computer. But first I wanted to install an N router. Research on the internet said that its range would be much better than that of a G. I saw other research that said not to count on that, but I thought I'd try anyway. So, I bought a new Linksys N router, and installed a new wireless N adapter. That did nothing. So, I'm down to one last option before I hardwire, and that's this Hawking range extender. Well, thank you Hawking...problem solved. This thing rocks. Her computer gets the maximum signal at all times now. My son's computer at the other end of the house on the second floor also gets a perfect signal now as compared to the spotty prior coverage. If you have any signal problems whatsoever, don't hesitate to buy this extender. It works as promised. I highly recommend this product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Southern California
Date:August 5, 2010

DOESN'T WORK WITH FIREWALL

"This doesn't work with firewall - all security has to be disabled in order for this signal extender to work. Poor design."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orlando, FL
Date:November 19, 2010

What We Needed

Pros: great tech support
Model Number: 300-N
"The Hawkins Extender did just what we wanted--strong signals throughout the house and porch. Easy to install. The company gave me excellent support on configuring Windows XP to give easy access on my laptop."
Review 11 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Orange County, CA.
Date:November 11, 2010

Great product

Model Number: HWREN1 300N
"The 300N works as advertised and greatly extended range to a room that had 5 walls between pc and wireless router. Placed it where it has (almost) line of sight to both. Five bars, no drops, great speed. If your cable modem or router has drops, make sure you set the router and 300N to a fixed channel 11, then the 300N always comes up when the modem/router does...."
Review 12 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Long Beach, CA
Date:November 7, 2010

Died after 3 months of use

Pros: worked for a time and when it worked it worked ok
Cons: not made very well. did not last, made with cheap materials
"It worked great initially but then suddenly died. Tried everything to get it back up working but it would no longer give me a signal. Ended up taking it back. This is a great idea but the product is not very sturdy. I would not buy another Hawking product."
Review 13 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2010

As advertised

Pros: easy to set up.
Cons: could not connect to newer router
"Quick set up but had to connect it to my old g router."
Review 14 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Indiana
Date:November 3, 2010

Very effective product

Model Number: Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
"Instructions are clear.
CD-based installation wizzard works well.
My install was on a Windows XP and worked
The name of the 'extended' network is different; it is a new, Hawking-based name.
"
Review 15 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2010

Works great...after manual setup

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: had to call customer service
"I took one star off b/c I had to call the service center to have it manually configured. To my surprise the service center actually helped...I was shocked. After they took me through manually setup the product worked great."
Review 16 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Virginia
Date:September 23, 2010

Good but...

Model Number: 300 N
"Easy to follow directions for set up, took 20 min out of box.
Would be perfect to extend range to a fixed computor.
However, I wanted to use my wi-fi Touch all around the house. The Hawking range extender gets its own IP adderss. This means that I have to switch back and forth from the base to the Hawking extender as I move around the house.
"
Review 17 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Rosa, CA
Date:September 17, 2010

Incompatible w/ ATT 2WIRE 2701HG-B

Model Number: HWREN1
"Was told by Hawking customer support that this model (HWREN1) is NOT compatible with my ATT 2Wire modem/router. Was told to get the HWREN2. I don't know if Costco carries it. Will return back to the store."
Review 18 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Whidbey Island, WA
Date:September 17, 2010

Delighted !

"Delighted with this product. My son who has his room in a separate building with metal siding, 100' from the main house, is able to connect to the Internet now, saving him many trips to the house."
Review 19 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:September 14, 2010

Quick and Easy Setup

"Setup was surprisingly quick and easy. Product works great!"
Review 20 for Hawking Network Range Extender Hi-gain Wireless-300N
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:South Riding, VA
Date:September 13, 2010

Works Great

Pros: easy to install!, works great!
Cons: none
"I'm a techie, though not that strong in network administration. I followed the instructions and the setup CD. Best solution in the beginning for me was to plug the range extender and the laptop both directly into the router for the setup process. Didn't work trying to connect the device on the LAN. Had to be on the router directly for the software to locate the device. Other than that, it took me about 30 minutes maybe. PC is 2 floors away from router. Range Extender is in the middle level. My old PC with the wireless card installed in the back used to get about 11 mbps. Sometimes it couldn't load a web page in 20 minutes and it would often lose the connection altogether. Really sad!!! After I hooked up the range extender, it went to 4 out of 5 bars and is running at about 36-48 mbps. Makes a tremendous difference. Well worth the $$!!!!"
1 2 3 4 next>>