Customer Reviews for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard

Includes Paddle, Dry Backpack, Pump and Pressure Gauge
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
(out of 25 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
21 of 25(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Review 1 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Date:June 29, 2012

Not Bad For The Money

Pros: good for the money
Cons: not for advancing in the sport., paddle is a joke
"I purchased this hoping it would do the trick for this new sport I am in love with. My reaction was pretty good for the money but if you plan on taking your board into choppy water or want one to keep up with you as your skills improve, this isn't it.
I tested it out with an SUP instructor who said he found it to be better than expected for such a low price. This would work if you just want something very casual to keep around for the kids or anyone else who just wants to dabble in the sport.
However no matter who you are the paddle has to be replaced. I am 5'7" and it was too short and very heavy."
Review 2 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:March 27, 2012

blow-up surfing

Pros: compact for easy travel
Cons: not good in the ocean
"If you are thing of trying to ride waves with this i.s.u.p. i would recommend the hard model that Costco sells. In calm water it is great . But in waves its fins flex sideways and will not let you trim the wave. Even with inflation at 12psi it is very flexible."
Review 3 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:southern california
Date:September 28, 2011

Really enjoying this isup

Pros: portable, inexpensive
Cons: hard to pump up with the given hand pump
"I am really happy with my purchase. I took a chance because of Costco's great return policy and I am glad I did.
The portability is terrific. This is a great beginner paddleboard. One day when I have the funds, I will purchase a "real" paddleboard but for now this so fun.
I take it into bays and harbors. Soon I will take it along the shore at the beach as long as the waves are small. Going to try it out in the lake soon.
I bought another paddle because the one that comes with it is too short for me and I bought a 12v 2-stage pump to blow it up.
It is a huge drag to pump this thing up and takes a lot of effort to get it to 12psi. I can do it but it is a lot of work. I had to add hose clamps to the given hose because the ends of the hose popped off while pumping. The electric pump works like a dream and I look forward to many more outings with my inflatable paddleboard.
Did I mention HOW FUN this thing is????
I would absolutely buy this again and again. I don't know why the other isups on the market are so expensive... the sevylor is great."
Review 4 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2011

Love it

Pros: love the portability as i have a small sedan.
Cons: the last 2 psi goes best with 2 people pumping.
"I was test driving rental inflatable SUP's and having so much fun, started looking to buy. The prices were a little steep for me, so went to Costco and found this one. I knew I could return it if I wasn't happy. Everyone who sees mine wants to play on it, all sorts of shapes and sizes. Not a problem. I too had to buy a taller paddle, but keep the one that comes with it for the smaller people. My small dog is also a passenger(with a life vest) . We now have 2 of the Sevylors in the household, and have taken them to many locations, not in the ocean yet. It is a great core workout too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2011

This is cool!

Pros: portability/storage, board/paddle construction, price
Cons: inflating to proper psi
Model Number: Sevylor Somoa
"have only used a couple of times but love it. very stable, well built and durable. i am having a problem with inflation despite following the directions. once you inflate by pump, you must remove the pump to insert the pressure gauge but i can't find a way to do it without loosing air. once i insert the gauge. they should have incorporated the gauge in the pump! i called Coleman and spoke with someone who insisted i was missing a part to the gauge and sent me a duplicate of what i already had. Recommended pressure is 10-12 psi but because of loosing air to check, don't think i've been able to read more than 8. instead i just pump till i can't pump any longer & call it good but this is not recommended. even at 8 lbs psi it's pretty stiff & stable. i especially like how you can deflate it w/ the pump to the point it begins to roll itself up.
I read reviews about the paddle (very nice carbon-fiber) being too short for many folks. At 5'5'' that wasn't a concern, it was the perfect length for me! If i had a boat on a buoy this would be a great way to ferry.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Lake Tahoe California
Date:August 18, 2011

Love the Board!

"My grandkids LOVED the paddleboard ...so much so, that we bought a second one...everyone,all ages and sizes, love the boards.
I'd read they were iffy for larger people, but our grandkids are NOT little kids...grandson is 6"8"..and had to buy him a special paddle, but his sister and the other grandsons are all 6'+ and they did fine with the ones that came with it..It was the hit of the summer at Lake Tahoe.
It is a devil to blow up. the inflator tube keeps coming apart, but the boys were strong and kept at it!!! I heard that the fins are delicate...so I ordered an extra 2 sets of fins and an extra inflator...and all's well!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:California
Date:August 13, 2011

BMW board, Yugo pump.

Pros: excellent construction board, compact storage
Cons: poor quality hose connector
"Great quality board, awesome compact design, and works like promised at 11-12 psi (to get to 12 psi takes some effort), however the pump hose unglued from the connector fitting around 9 psi after the 5th use, and made it very difficult to inflate to 12 psi. Luckily, we bought two, and used the other hose for higher psi pumping. Overall, great board, but pump hose kills the 5 star rating."
Review 8 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:California
Date:July 11, 2011

Ok if you never deflate

Cons: difficult t inlfate properly
"This board is hard to inflate and get it up to the recommended PSI and if you don't it's not stable at all. It's terribly hard to deflate also. I'd bet most that have liked this board have only used it once and inflated it. There is nothing easy about it. I'd rather haul around a foam top board then deal with the inflate/deflate process. I have a Fiberglass board and there is just no comparison. This is a waste of money and I’m glad it was not the first SUP I ever rode or I may have not progressed in to the sport."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Florida
Date:July 7, 2011

Great beginner board and great price

Pros: portable, comes with traction pad, 3 fins
Cons: supplied pump is lame
Model Number: Samoa
"I also own the Costco Wavestorm foam SUP and an epoxy board. This was purchased for its portability. Pumping it up with the supplied pump is a waste of time. Its gets to 8psi quick enough but the hose detached from the fitting and required two people to hold in place, 50 pumps would add another 1/2 psi. The fix-take the supplied guage and screw off the guage assembly retaining the fitting and use a regular air compressor-14psi instantly.
Once inflated its a lot of fun and surprisingly taut even in waves. I let my kids surf it as the danger of contact is greatly reduced. Also mine came with an 80" paddle. I was gonna try/return but have decided to hold on to it..
It paddles pretty well and we get a ton of compliments on it especially when people hear it is inflatable.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2010

It's awesome for the price

"For the price this board delivers. Yes the paddle is too short for anyone over 5'5", but for the price big deal. Also, if you're close to 250lbs then you're probably too big. My brother is 6'2" - 250lbs and it really is the maximum for this board. You MUST pump it up to 12psi or it will not handle correctly and it's VERY hard to get it to that psi. So put ALL your weight into pumping it up and you'll be good to go.
This is a great board and is really fun."
Review 11 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:NJ
Date:August 22, 2010

Not perfect, but worthwhile

Pros: easy to store and transport
Cons: difficult to pump, wouldn't use in the ocean
"First of all, this board is VERY hard (nearly impossible) to pump and get to even 10 psi. Since I saved so much by purchasing it at Costco, I bought a $200 automatic pump that connects to my car battery (worth the money).
Also, at 5'7, the 72" paddle was too short, so I dropped another $80 on a taller paddle, to avoid straining my shoulders. So, in order to fully enjoy the product, I spent another $280. Also, I would never use this board on the ocean as it would be too bouncy - I have much easier access to flatwater, so when I can get out on the ocean to catch waves, I rent. Another minus is that the fins are very difficult to put in, so I just leave them on when deflated, which makes it much harder to roll-up the board.
As for the plusses, I have limited storage space at my house, so it would be a struggle for me to find a place to fit a hard epoxy board. Also, I hate driving with things strapped onto or hanging out of my car, and this board fits easily into my car. Other inflatables cost around $1000 (C4 and ULI), and according to a C4 dealer I know, the Sevylor is produced at the same factory as the other two, and he believes the quality to be about the same, perhaps the pricier ones being built with stiffer materials. He said the valves on all inflatables are known to fail eventually, but fortunately this board is available at Costco, and the more expensive ones aren't..."
Review 12 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ventura, California
Date:August 19, 2010

Great Portable Board

Pros: very portable, good accesories, solid
Cons: paddle a bit short, carrying handle not very good
"In general a great board at a very good price. Highly portable, can stuff it in the trunk. It deflates to about half the size of a set of golf clubs. Quick to inflate, very quick to deflate.
Probably not recommended for surfing. Doesn't glide as good as a stiff board, but it does pretty good.
About the same weight as a solid board, the handle is not that good for carrying.
It will start deflecting a bit once you get near 200lbs+ but not that bad. Pumping to 12lbs will require you to use your weight on the pump, that last few pumps seem to take 150lbs+ of pressure on the pump. Paddle is strangely short, but a very nice 3 piece breakdown style."
Review 13 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:sea
Date:August 13, 2010

great board

"amazing this inflates to a solid board. great fun, we have used it every day since receiving . would highly recommend!"
Review 14 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Austin, TX
Date:August 13, 2010

Solid Beginner SUP

Model Number: Sevylor Samoa
"Picked this thing up on sale here at Costco. Can't beat the price and free ship.
As for the board, it is very stable. I've ridden a number of traditional boards and it does just fine. It's a bit slower, but that just means you get a better workout. The key to the Samoa is to get it to or above 10psi (your feet will NOT be under water). I'm 6'/200lbs and it's fine for me. The board does not track as well as others with larger fins, but that's to be expected. As for travel and storage, can't be beat. The paddle included is a bit short, but just go pick up another one for $80 with the money you saved.
Overall, solid value for an entry level SUP."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Burlingame, CA
Date:August 12, 2010

Great portable board

"Decided to get this board to take on a trip to Kauai. First tried it out at home (SF bay area) and found it to be a bit bouncy (I think I needed to pump it a bit more) but stable. When in Kauai, took it out to the ocean and handled very well. Inflated it to 10psi as it was a challenge to get it to 12psi. Overall, great transportable board. A little bit hard to pump all the way. I needed a bit of help from the hubby! Works excellent going down the rivers."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2010

Great water toy for the whole family

"bought one for the extended family to use at our lake house. it has been a hit with everyone from 7 to 60 and has taken its place alongside the kayaks and canoe as one of the day's regular activities.
the 30 and under set just climbs on and goes, us older folks need a bit more time to control the balance but everyone has gotten the hang of it.
as mentioned by others this board is solid. no one can believe it is an inflatable. easily supports up to 300 pounds (we had two young couples using it tandem).
the included paddle is short for the 6' tall paddlers. i bought a longer one online from a kayak site for another $100. not absolutely necessary but probably worth it if you are going to be paddling for more than 10-15 minutes.
have not used it on the ocean so i can not comment on suitability for that use.
inflates easily, holds the air well.
no complaints, just a lot of fun."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sacramento, CA
Date:August 6, 2010

Not a great paddleboard

"I purchased this as a starter board after reading the other reviews. The board has quite a bit of upward curve both in the nose and tail thereby putting more pressure in the middle of the board where one stands. This caused the board to flex in the middle while standing on the board. I am 6 ft and 190 lbs and my feet were in the under water and the board was very unstable due to the extra pressure in the middle of the board due to the curve and flex. I am returning it to Costco."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New London, NH
Date:June 30, 2010

Great SUP board/kit - Fun Fun FUn

Model Number: Sevylor Samoa Stand Up Paddle Board
"Purchased this board/paddle/kit combo after reading all the reviews. Was a bit skeptical of the "inflatable" aspect of the board...but let me tell you, this thing is ROCK SOLID!!
Kit came with a 72" Sevylor Paddle and contrary to the other reviews, the paddle was just fine and perfect size for me and my wife (5'8" & 5'5")
Kit is easy to setup and a absolute blast to ride. We are using this on a lake so wont be seeing much "wave" action, but it did the job and it did it well!!
This thing is awesome. Ended up buying a pair for me and my wife...she was EVEN more skeptical because it was "inflatable" but she ate her previous comments once we hit the open water.
Great product!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2010

Fantastic

"a great package and activity--at fifty one years old and not ever having surfed I was up on morning lake glass immediately, didn't fall except by choice to practice remounting from water, and was putting all my body weight and strength into strokes within half an hour.
having read up on the sport i bought a paddle ten inches taller than me for flat water; my daughters use the shorter included paddle. the complaints about the paddle for me are moot at this price--it's a freebie--find somebody shorter to use it and feel good about it--families should have a couple of paddles of different length.
only good words and vibes about this package."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sevylor® Samoa™ Inflatable 10' Stand Up Paddleboard
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Date:June 23, 2010

Comfortable to paddle, Great price, good to share

Pros: great second board to share with a friend, flexibility is good for your feet and knees
Cons: included paddle is made for a 5'2" person., pad ends before the tail and you slip when surfing, pump hurts hands on last couple of psi
"I picked this up as a spare board for friends to join. I also like to use it on flat water paddles that are longer than 2 hours. The board does have flex and that makes it easier on my feet and knees.
I have tried this on small knee high waves and it will catch them but the pad stops just short of the tail which makes it slippery back there when trying to do cut backs on the wave.
It gets 4 stars instead of 5 because of the short paddle included. At 72" that barely works for someone that's 5'2". They really should have included the 80' version. Also the pump needs some padding to get it up to 12psi. It only takes me about 6 minutes from empty to full but my hands keep the marks from the plastic on the pump. use gloves or a shirt
Overall impression:
I want one or two more of these to share with family and friends. Just gotta track down a bigger paddle.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>