Customer Reviews for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black

Average Customer Rating:
2.812 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
(out of 16 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
7 of 16(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Review 1 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Norco, CA
Date:November 4, 2010

Worst Purchase Ever!

Model Number: Commercial Spin Scrub
"When I needed a new Steam Vac I immediately thought Costco & Hoover. I thought it a fluke on bad reviews. DON'T BUY very poor quality! I'm very disappointed in Hoover."
13 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle, WA
Date:November 14, 2010

Poor Quality

"I bought this carpet cleaner because I have had Hoover vacumns in the past and they have always been good I Couldn't get the water bucket connected to the main cleaner. The cleaner worked at the beginning then after I used it two times it did not suck up the water. I had a water mess on my carpet. I would not recommend this product."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2011

Disgusted with Hoover for 2nd Time!

Cons: 3 uses and it quits working
"This is the 2nd carpet cleaning item we have bought from Hoover and the suction quit working on both. I bought this steam cleaner less then two years ago and used it for the third time today.... The SUCTION QUIT WORKING. AND LIKE OTHER REVIEWERS, I AM LEFT WITH WET CARPETS."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Date:August 31, 2011

This cleaner DOESN'T SUCK!

Model Number: f59159000
"I have always had a hoover steam cleaner, and bought many over the years for family...probably at least 25 of them...sounds crazy, but it's true. Up until the last 2, I'd never had the sucking problem...but now, I'm stuck with two cleaners that are both defective because of this. I have dogs and need quick clean up. I will try again, but this time saving my receipt. dumb, huh? I've got a call into hoover now to see what's happened to their product...it's gotten worse and worse."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Illinois
Date:November 3, 2011

Not happy!

"Although the Steam Vac got the carpet clean, it was a complete mess to fill. There is no way to get the water and solution filled and back onto the Steam Vac without it dumping all over. I would not recommend. Also, this does not have attachments for stairs and upholstery."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Denver, CO
Date:October 9, 2011

Worked for about 5 uses then quit

"In my case the scrub brushes quit rotating. Poor quality product. I do not recommend."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Arizona
Date:August 17, 2011

Save your money

"I was very disapointed with this carpet cleaner. I have it in my car ready to return.
It didn't heat at all, I thought it was a steam cleaner???. I had to go back and forth so many times to pick up the water. Way to much work with a poor result.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2011

motor failure

Model Number: C3820
"I bought this "commercial" cleaner for my home use. I have bought other Hoover Steam Cleaners before and the motors kick the bucket much too soon. I hope this one will last longer because it is for commercial (harder?) use."
Review 9 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2011

Disappointed

"I used the Hoover Steamvac less than 10 times over a one year period. It seems to clean the carpets fairly well. However, this morning when I was using the machine, the suction stopped working. I am now left with a dirty WET carpet. I returned it to Costco and was given a full refund. The Hoover doesn't rank high, but Costco is the best!! I will always buy items like this from them as their return policy is unparalled."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Cleveland, OH
Date:December 10, 2010

Good results

Pros: cleans great, sturdy construction, easy to use
Cons: heavy, no accessory tool included, no indicator when tank is empty
"I bought this cleaner less than a month ago. I have cleaned the carpets in 4 rooms, over two sessions, and had good results. I had pretty bad pet stains in some areas.
Using the cleaner according to the directions, I was very pleased with the performance and the results. The carpet is nearly dry even immediately after finishing. (I have very low, berber-type carpet.) The cleaner didn't eliminate the stains completely, but it did lighten them significantly and freshened up the rooms as well. For general dirt (not pet stains), the results were amazing. The cleaner really lifted in high traffic areas. I am planning to try the detergent that is intended for pet stains to see if that gives better results on my really tough stains.
This unit seems comparable in quality to those you would rent, and I actually prefer this all-in-one design to the rentals that have a tank and hose.
My only complaints are: it's a bit heavy for pushing around the floors; it didn't come with tools for doing stairs or upholstery; there is no indicator (such as a light or sound) when the detergent tank is empty. Both times I used it, I ran out of detergent towards the end without realizing it."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:San Diego, CA
Date:December 6, 2010

Great Carpet Cleaner

Pros: thoroughly cleans carpets, excellent water extraction
Cons: somewhat bulky and awkward
"I have been using the same Hoover Steam Vac that I purchased from Costco 5 years ago and it has always done an excellent job.
You do need to know how to use it properly, and the parts must be installed correctly in order to get good suction. The Hoover Steam Vac extracts water so well, the carpet is nearly dry by the time I'm finished cleaning it. Like the previous review, I also go over the carpet with plain hot water after cleaning with detergent water and my carpets come out looking almost new, and they are 8 years old. I also use it to extract rainwater from an outdoor carpet on my patio--works perfect, the carpet is practically dry when I'm finished sucking 5 or 6 buckets-full of water out of it!!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Alpine, AZ
Date:November 8, 2011

Similar to household unit, and better

Model Number: C3820
"Our experience with Hoover's 5-brush SteamVac was good--very good--and we were pleased to find the commercial unit produced along the same lines. Many parts (including solution and collection tanks) appear to be interchangeable with earlier versions. The 3-pronged power cord (can you spell OSHA?) is overdue! The bulky upholstery hose and attachments are gone, leaving a streamlined, proven carpet cleaner."
Review 13 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2011

Professional Quality Results

Pros: sturdy large reservoir great suction
Cons: no built in upholstery tools
"I bought this cleaner several years ago and have loaned it out to friends and relatives during that time too--one being a professional floor cleaner who needed to borrow it for small spaces on the job. He was amazed and said it cleaned better than his professional equipment. I've always been impressed with the amount of water that is picked up by the machine--the floor really is close to dry when done. For those with problems of no suction...check your tank installation. If it isn't in there just right, there is no suction. Never used the Bissell cleaner, but one of the families that borrowed it has a Bissell and they prefer mine! Tips: Use hot tap water. Go slow so the machine has time to do the work."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carlsbad, CA
Date:November 22, 2010

Use regularly and save $$$

Pros: cleans carpets well
Cons: can be cumbersome to use
Model Number: HVRC3820
"I've used this cleaner more times than I can count. Granted, iit's not the easiest nor the lightest cleaner to use, but used properly, it does a great job.
Some tips on getting great results with this cleaner:
1. Use the hottest water/detergent mix possible. Don't boil it; just use the hottest tap water that you can.
2. Dissolve Oxi-Clean (you can get the 15# size at Costco for a great price) at a ratio of a full scoop along with half the normal detergent per container of solution. Oxi-Clean takes awhile to dissolve so you might want to make up some solution before hand, but it's well worth it!
3. SLOWLY shampoo the carpet in both the forward and back motions with the brushes spinning. Don't over-wet the carpet, but remember, the solution is what's cleaning the carpet.
4. After shampooing, shut off the brushes and SLOWLY go over the carpet with the suction only, pulling back towards you. That is the most effective way to remove more moisture from the carpet.
5. After dumping the dirty waste water, and the solution that's left, put clean hot water in the solution container and go over the same process again, making sure to remove as much moisture as possible the last pass.
We've managed to keep our light beige carpets clean using this process. Sure, they never will be new carpets again, but when they are clean, they really look great.
"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2011

Read the instructions first,very important!!!!

"I am the type of person who never reads instructions before trying a new product or any electronics,because I want to play with it,discover the function by myself.Not with this.Thanks to the reviews I found about it I found out from them that it is important to read the instructions.Even prepared I was kind of blue when I heard a weird sound after like 5 minutes of using it and than it shout down.I thought this is it,it's broken and than realized that it is written in the instructions that it will shout down if dirty water tank is full,just empty it and I guarantee is going to work again.Don't get fulled if you still have plenty of clean water and it shouts of,because you basically suck up the water from the previous patch where it stopped working and the dirty water tank fills up quicker that way.It all makes sense.You will not only have the weird noise,you will also notice no suction and you may have a pound of water with detergent from the upper tank if you don't stop when the sound is kicking in.I bought mine at an outlet store which sells return Costco items for 79 dollars,and it was new just open box,but I feel like a won the lottery with this one.The carpet is almost completely dry at the end what is phenomenal.Hoover is the best!!!!!Just do your homework and read the instructions."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Blue Springs, MO
Date:October 22, 2011

Excellent carpet and floor cleaner

Pros: efficient & easy to use
Cons: doesn't do stairs or upholstery
Model Number: Hoover Commercial SteamVac Carpet Cleaner Black - Item# 492806
"Very basic but good.Smaller and easier to use than ratings indicate. Others we have had were bulkier and more difficult to use. No problems. Much better than Bissell products--we just gave ours away."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.